Buy the Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens image
 
(based on 36 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Just Announced - Expected Body Only Delivery, December 2008!

High Performance for High Expectation - EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR with 21.1 Megapixel Full-frame CMOS Sensor and Full HD Movie Recording

Canon's update to the wildly popular full frame EOS 5D is here, and it's better than ever. The EOS 5D Mark II has a stunning 21.1-megapixel full-frame CMOS sensor with DIGIC 4 Image Processor, a vast ISO Range of 100-6400 (expandable to ISO L: 50, H1: 12800 and H2: 25600), plus EOS technologies like Auto Lighting Optimizer and Peripheral Illumination Correction. It supports Live View shooting, Live View HD videos, and more. It can shoot up to 3.9 fps, has 9 AF points plus 6 AF assist points, a new 98% coverage viewfinder, a 3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots/VGA) and a rugged build. Full-frame shooters rejoice!

Highest ISO Range to Date
21.1 Megapixel Full-frame CMOS sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion (16,384 colors/each of 3 primary color), wide range ISO setting of 100-6400 (expandable L: 50, H1: 12800 and H2: 25600).

The EOS 5D Mark II features a huge, full-frame sensor. A 21.1-megapixel CMOS sensor delivers images of up to 5616 x 3744 pixels. And since it is full-frame, all lenses will deliver the angle of view they would on a 35mm camera without a conversion factor. This comes in handy especially when shooting with wide-angle lenses. For the flexibility to shoot in even the most dimly lit situations, the EOS 5D Mark II offers Canon's highest ISO sensitivity to date, ranging from 100-6400 (expandable to ISO L: 50, H1: 12800 and H2: 25600). Thanks to improved noise reduction technologies, images shot even at highest sensitivity will be remarkably smooth.

HD Video Shooting with Live View Function
Full HD Video capture at 1920 x 1080 resolution for up to 4GB per clip with HDMI output for HD viewing of stills and video.

The EOS 5D Mark II is the first digital EOS to offer recording of Full HD video in Live View Mode. Capable of shooting clips almost half an hour long at full 1080 resolution, the EOS 5D Mark II does amazing double duty, making it possible to shoot broadcast quality video on your camera by simply changing settings. The advantages move way beyond the ability to shoot on your SLR - the wealth of high-speed lenses and shooting accessories that make EOS photography so remarkable can be used in shooting video. Where interchangeable lens video cameras cost thousands of dollars, with the EOS 5D Mark II their operation, including HDMI output, is simply an added bonus to a remarkable camera.

Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Standard Zoom Lens
This easy-to-use standard zoom lens can cover a large zoom area ranging from 24mm wide-angle to 105mm portrait-length telephoto, and its Image Stabilizer Technology steadies camera shake up to three stops. Constructed with one Super-UD glass element and three aspherical lenses, this lens minimizes chromatic aberration and distortion. The result is excellent picture quality, even at wide apertures. Canon's ring-type USM gives silent but quick AF, along with full-time manual focus. Moreover, with dust- and moisture-resistant construction, this is a durable yet sophisticated lens that meets the demands of advanced amateur photographers and professional photographers alike.

State-of-the-Art Image Processing with Power and Speed
Next generation DIGIC 4 Image Processor for faster processing of fine detail and color reproduction as well as reduced image noise.

The EOS 5D Mark II's sensor is backed up by Canon's DIGIC 4 Image Processor, which speeds up all operations making a number of new features possible. Processor intensive operations like Face Detection Live mode, HD video recording and lighting and lens peripheral optimization are all possible thanks to the DIGIC 4 Image Processor. The EOS 5D Mark II also offers full 14-bit A/D conversion. The analog output from the image sensor is converted into a digital signal via 14-bit conversion instead of the previously used 12-bit conversion, resulting in significantly finer tonal gradation for better prints.

DIGIC 4 Image Processor
Developed to maximize performance between capturing and recording stages of digital photography, Canon's DIGIC 4 chips use advanced signal processing technologies to enhance captures from Canon's CMOS sensors. Sophisticated processing algorithms help to speed up all operations, including write times to UDMA cards.

Lens Peripheral Illumination Correction
Canon's exclusive Lens Peripheral Illumination Correction takes into account any light falloff in the corners of the frame and corrects it, making for a perfectly exposed image. Correction data are detected automatically on a number of Canon lenses and can be entered manually through included Canon EOS Utility software.

Cutting-Edge Autofocus
High performance with 3.9 fps continuous shooting, new shutter with a durability of 150,000 cycles and improved weather-resistant body.

The EOS 5D Mark II has a sophisticated AF system consisting of 9 user-selectable AF points, along with a total of 6 additional vertical and horizontal AF assist points. The central AF point is cross-type, and is sensitive to vertical lines at an aperture of f/2.8, horizontal lines at f/5.6. The AF system is also sensitive to its light source, and can compensate for focus errors that can occur when multiple sources illuminate a scene. AF points can be chosen by the photographer using the 5D's multi-controller or preferred control dial. Plus, the EOS 5D features a dedicated AF ON button.

More Features in Live View Mode
Live View Function for stills (Quick, Live and Face Detection AF modes) and video.

With Live View Function on the EOS 5D Mark II, you can zoom in and navigate the composition 5x or 10x normal size. There's even a grid overlay. Live View focusing modes include Quick mode, Live mode and Face Detection Live mode. The EOS 5D Mark II's Live View Function also makes videos in Full High-Definition. Shooting is at a frame rate of 30 fps. Sound is recorded either through the camera's built-in microphone or through an external microphone connected to the camera's microphone input terminal. Playback modes are available in the camera, and all Live View AF features can be used in shooting video.

Huge, High Resolution Screen
3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots/VGA) monitor with anti-reflective and scratch-resistant coatings for improved viewing and smudge protection.

The EOS 5D Mark II has an all-new 3.0-inch Clear View LCD that features high-resolution 920,000 dots/VGA for far more detail than any previous EOS Digital LCD. A number of new features enhance usability: a new anti-reflection and water-repellant coating provides a clearer and more smudge-resistant surface and a light sensor mounted below the screen enables automatic brightness adjustment in accordance with ambient light.

Full-Frame, Dust-Free Images
Updated EOS Integrated Cleaning System specifically designed to work with a full-frame sensor.

Canon's Integrated Cleaning system includes a cleaning unit designed specifically for the EOS 5D Mark II's full-frame CMOS sensor. The camera's low-pass filter even has a new fluorine coating upon its surface to help repel dust. Dust that makes it past the EOS 5D Mark II's sensor cleaning system is easily removed in post processing using DPP software's Dust Detection Delete function, which can remove dust spots automatically from single or multiple image files.

Self Cleaning Sensor Unit
A key element of minimizing dust is preventing it from clinging to the front surface of the imaging sensor. To combat against this, the EOS 5D Mark II features a Canon-designed Self Cleaning Sensor Unit. The low-pass filter at the front of the sensor shakes off dust automatically with ultrasonic vibrations. The EOS 5D Mark II also has a coating on the front surface of the low-pass filter to increase its resistance to dust sticking to the sensor.

Dust Delete Data Detection
Dust that may still remain on the front of the sensor can also be erased with software included in Digital Photo Professional (DPP) Version 3.3 or later software. A simple test shot of a plain, white object can be taken, using a menu setting. This Dust Delete Data image is analyzed in-camera, and the location and size of any remaining dust is subtracted from any subsequent pictures taken. This data is transmitted along with the image, whether JPEG or RAW, and can be either manually or automatically erased in Canon's DPP software. This added software option ensures the cleanest possible image, perfect for printing or archiving.

Shooting and Sharing Made Easy
Compatible with over 60 Canon EF/EF-S lenses and most EOS System accessories.

EF & EF-S Lenses
The EOS 5D Mark II is compatible with all Canon lenses in the EF lineup, ranging from ultra-wide angle to super telephoto lenses. Canon lenses employ advanced optical expertise and micron-precision engineering to deliver unprecedented performance in all facets of the photographic process. Special optical technologies, such as Aspherical, ultra-low dispersion, or fluorite elements are featured in the universally acclaimed L-series lenses. And Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology is featured in select lenses to minimize the effect of camera shake. Through Canon lenses, photographers can truly maximize the quality and liberating performance of the EOS 5D Mark II.

Flash Photography
The EOS 5D Mark II features the acclaimed E-TTL II flash metering system. With any of the flashes in the EX Speedlite line, E-TTL II provides reliable flash output whether shooting fill-in flash pictures in sunlight, or using flash in total darkness. With E-TTL II, the exact same 35-zone metering sensor used for measuring ambient light is also used for flash metering - giving even finer metering command of the image area. If you prefer a broader area for flash metering, there's a menu setting to change to "Average" flash metering - where the entire 35-zone area is measured evenly for flash exposure.

The Canon Speedlite 580EX II is the ideal step-up accessory for powerful flash shooting with the EOS 5D Mark II. It has excellent flash power (maximum guide number of 141 ft./43m at ISO 100), and is the perfect way to get great flash pictures when you can't get right up to the subject. The 580EX II is also great for bounce flash, with its tilting and swiveling flash head. It automatically zooms the flash head to cover lenses ranging from 16mm up to 105mm or longer with the EOS 5D Mark II. Of course, it works with the camera to provide full E-TTL II automatic flash exposure. And the 580EX II has a powerful AF-assist beam, which allows the camera to autofocus even in total darkness on subjects as far as 32 ft. from the camera.

Wireless File Transmitter WFT-E4A
This Wireless File Transmitter was made for the EOS 5D Mark II. It's compatible with Wi-Fi Protected Setup to connect easily to a wireless LAN access point for secure image transfer. Sending a batch of photos wirelessly is easy with the WFT-E4A as images can be stored in selected folders and the entire folder can be transferred at once. It retains the same features as the WFT-E3A including great handling for vertical shooting and wireless transmission (802.11b or g) to Macintosh or Windows computers for distances of up to 492 ft. (150m).

Software

Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk (Version 19.1)
The EOS 5D Mark II comes bundled with an updated Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk, which features powerful software programs designed to extend the EOS experience to the computer. These include Canon's EOS Utility (Version 2.5), Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.5), ZoomBrowser EX for Windows (Version 6.2), ImageBrowser for Macintosh OS X (Version 6.2), the Picture Style Editor (Version 1.4), PhotoStitch (version 3.2), WFT Utility (version 3.2). Each application is designed to perfect the captured images and streamline the digital workflow.

Compatible Operating System
Windows: Windows XP SP2/Windows Vista
Macintosh: OS X 0.3 or higher

EOS Utility (Version 2.5) for Macintosh or Windows handles the connection between the camera and computer, whenever they're connected via USB. It allows remote controlled shooting from the computer, handles downloading of images from the camera to the computer, and allows seamless linking to either Canon's ZoomBrowser/ImageBrowser or Digital Photo Professional software once images have been copied to the hard drive. Furthermore, it's used to upload settings back into a USB-connected camera.

Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.5) is an image processing program that enables high-speed RAW image processing, high-speed previewing for real-time image adjustment and support for sRGB, Adobe RGB and Wide Gamut RGB color spaces. Because it's CMS (Color Management System) compatible, Digital Photo Professional allows for easy image layout and printing in Adobe RGB in conjunction with Easy-PhotoPrint and PictBridge printers. It also features the Dust Delete Data Detection tool for cleaner images.

ZoomBrowser EX (Version 6.2) for Windows and ImageBrowser (Version 6.2) for Mac OS X are the easy, user-friendly options for viewing and editing of JPEG and even RAW image files. Both allow viewing of numerous types of images including finished TIFF and BMP files. Both also have a variety of search options for finding images, allow re-naming of single images or batches of files, and offer a variety of options for printing without using a separate image-editing program.

Picture Style Editor (Version 1.4)
Canon's Picture Style Editor enables photographers to create custom Picture Style profiles that can be used to customize the appearance of JPEG and RAW images captured with EOS Digital SLR cameras. Picture Style files created with Picture Style Editor can be loaded into the EOS cameras that support Picture Style and may also be used when processing RAW images in Canon software applications Digital Photo Professional, ZoomBrowser EX (for Windows) and ImageBrowser (for Mac).

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 36 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(27), Fast shutter speed(20), Great picture quality(27), Image stabilization(22), Large clear LCD(34)
Cons:
Heavy(6), Poor in low light(3)
Best Uses:
Art(23), Documentary(7), Fun(22), Landscape/scenery(18), Macro photography(6)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(13), Pro photographer(9), Semi-pro photographer(11)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon 5D Mark II - Love it!
By 5D Mk2 ConvertVerified Purchaser from Lompoc, CA on 2/16/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not Weather proof
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

Great camera, so many features! Got mine in December, still working to master all of the possible controls and options. Used it on a couple of trips so far, awesome for no-flash photos of egyptian mummies in low light. I swear this thing manufactures light- the images look better lit than naked eye. Awesome for landscapes, pretty much anything else I've used it for. I have detected a little bit of noise in my lowest light conditions - but I blame that on operator error more than any camera fault - I'm sure I'm not using all of the controls/options to the fullest. Going to be my main camera for a LONG time! [...]

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great!
By rwVerified Purchaser from Eugene, OR on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This is an unbelievable machine. I have nothing bad to say about it.

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buy this Camera!
By Haight PhotoVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, HD Video, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

I agree with pretty much every positive comment listed on here by other reviewers.

The only problem I have is with anyone who lists 'Price' as a con. Yes, it is an expensive camera, but its a very high end and very well built camera that is more than capable of producing professional photographs. You can't get that kind of quality for cheap. This camera is a great value and I think it is completely unfair to call its price a 'Con'. I purchased this kit version myself because I wanted the L series lens that came with it, and I'm more than happy with both the lens and the camera's performance. Not all of the 'L' series glass lives up to the 'L' name or is worth the price, but the 24-105mm is a solid and diverse lens built with quality glass & housing. I've had this camera for about 2 months now and I've already used it on about 12 paid professional gigs and have been very impressed with all the results so far.

Bottom line in my opinion: If you think PRICE is a 'Con' for this camera, you have no business owning one of them anyways!! Get a Rebel. But if you're not afraid to invest a little money into an insanely high quality camera, do yourself a favor and pick up an EOS 5D Mark II! I don't regret purchasing mine one bit.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for a new photographer
By Juice the PhotomanVerified Purchaser from Saratoga, Ca on 1/13/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

To photograph my family.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE IT!
By JulioVerified Purchaser from Westminster, MD on 1/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

I love this camera. The quality of the pictures is amazing. It has all of the capabilities that I could ever need. I highly recommend it!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Camera EVER!!
By Business ManVerified Purchaser from Denver, CO on 1/6/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

I use this camera with my real estate company and my photography company. This is by far the best camera EVER built.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Kit
By jaxunkVerified Purchaser from Ellenton, Florida on 1/5/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

Controls are not as well placed as the Nikon, but the quality is superb. I have been shooting Nikon since early 1970's and the 5D Mark ii won me over.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
good stuff
By jbruntVerified Purchaser from los angeles.ca. on 1/5/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Stopmotion animation, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

i like it

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
awesome camera
By SanroseVerified Purchaser from Edison, NJ on 1/4/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Pets, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

I totally love the camera [...] I highly recommend the camera and Ritz.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Serious image quality
By JackVerified Purchaser from Tucson, AZ on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

Wow! This is one heck of a camera. I'm a fine art photographer. Besides obvious image quality what I like best about this camera is its intuitive conytrols, especially if you have used Canon cameras before. This camera has the best color fidelity of any camera I have ever used. Low light image capture is incredible. I just took indoor portraits of my grand daughter without flash and the results were astonishing at ISO 2500. Very low noise at high ISO speeds. Build quality appears to be excellent. The 24-105mm f4 Canon IS lens that comes packaged in kit form is an ideal all around lens for this body. I'm especially impressed with its low perspective distortion at 24mm. Negatives are weight and size. This camera requires a good carrying mechanism to avoid neck and back aches after a day's shooting. In my case, being 69 years old, I felt it after 45 minutes. I also wish the shutter was a bit quieter. It has a clunking sound that seems to fit in with the heaviness of the camera. Past SLR cameras that I have used other than Canon are Olympus and Nikon.

Images shared by: Jack

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great pictures (and video), Ok design
By Joe MografiVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Cons:
Bad Ergonomics, Heavy, Poor construction
Best Uses:
Art, Film, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

Like all Canons, the image quality is excellent, but everything else is a distant second. I had purchased a Nikon d90 before this, and the ergonomics and functionality were intuitive. So switching to this camera is a little annoying. All the flaws in design of the camera stand out like a sore thumb after using a well thought out Nikon camera. Also, although most of the camera body is metal, the battery door next to the hand grip is plastic and flexes under the weight of the camera...making the camera feel cheaper than it really is...it just doesn't inspire confidence in a camera that costs this much.

Other than that, and the lack of manual controls on the video mode, it is an outstanding camera.

 
Whole new ball game!
By S.T.Verified Purchaser from Boulder, CO on 12/30/2008
Pros:
1080p video wDOF control, Bright LCD, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, L glass, Strong Construction
Cons:
Final Cut Studio
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel, Video
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

Seeing Reverie by Vincent Laforet forced me to order this camera. I've been a still photographer since childhood, but was always disappointed by what was available at reasonable cost and/or portability in video gear. Unless you aspire to Blair Witch/Cloverfield cinematography, the depth of field flexibility and Canon L lens availability of the 5DII completely change the game.

BUT DON'T SELL YOUR NIKKOR AI LENSES! For years I've been resisting getting rid of my old manual-everything Nikkor glass. Accidentally, great move. The old manual Nikon glass works perfectly (with appropriate adapters) for 5DII video and gives a little more control vs. the auto-everything video mode on the camera.

The spectacular full-frame still performance is almost a given, but bears mentioning. Large prints without dithering or up-scaling are a nice touch. The new sensor tech incorporated in the 5DII even beats the 1Ds. More resolution without more noise - the holy grail of light gathering. Be sure to read the Canon White Paper on the 5DII and the 50DII.

 
Great Camera
By VinceVerified Purchaser from Marina CA on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This is a great camera for Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits and Travel. Great Image out of the camera if you have the money it is a gerat upgrade.

 
Excellent!
By chrissyloveVerified Purchaser from Coeur d Alene, ID on 12/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

I photograph mostly children and families in natural light. The high ISO availability is wonderful. I have used it just a few times in the last week and am very pleased with the quality of pictures.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
canon 5d mark II
By shootaroundVerified Purchaser from Cleveland, OH on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is a wonderful tool to add to your camera bag. Not only does it shoot true HD video, but it's a great still camera for most professional applications.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A wonderful product...
By Magical MikeVerified Reviewer from Annapolis, MD on 12/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Functional for weddings, Great Image Quality, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is wonderful. The ONLY drawback it may have is its lack of autofocus points (or the lack of more than the previous model had...9. But, most people will be fine with that number (I am one of those people)...The review that "Tom Terrific" left saying it should be lower at this point... totally wrong. It just came out, its better than anything Nikon or Sony offers. It beats the Sony A900 away due to two things, the ISO is better and there are many more lenses to pick from on Canons shelf. [...]

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Extremely satisfied with the results
By Mr. 3DVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 12/18/2008
Pros:
21 megapixel, Bright LCD, HD Video, High ISO performance
Cons:
Video Mode is 1st gen
Best Uses:
Documentary, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

The high ISO sensitivity is great. As a result, night shots are getting phenomenal. I have taken lots of shots in 1/8th (without a tripod) and they were all sharp (even though this might be coincidence?).
The LifeView mode with the integrated zoom functionality comes really handy when focusing manually in some conditions.
The integrated video mode has an excellent 1080p result (when buying a pro video camera which matches this quality, you have to invest much more). However there are some problems: 1.) You need IS to keep the image stable without a tripod and in this case you cannot use the internal microphone due to the noise of the IS (it's only mono anyway). The same applies to the automatic focus. So you should calculate into the price a good mic as well. 2.) The auto focus in conjunction with Video is ... a Pro feature, not a consumer feature. Before taking a clip you need to focus, then take the clip. Therefore you need to know in advance what you want to capture - changing the focus while filming has to be manual and needs lots of experience, so you will most probably not do this (at least without editing out a lot). Don't expect to take the camera as a point and shoot video camera - it won't work.
Just in case: Please note the EF-S lenses won't work with this camera.

 
Superb Feature Combination
By ThystoniusVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Feature Set, Great Image Quality, Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Art, Field Work, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

Beyond all the hype that came with this camera, my reason for getting this camera was its feature set. If I am out away from civilization of walking around a city, I do not want to take three camera bodies with me. What I wanted is one high quality camera that I could depend on with a feature set that was robust enough to handle the changing scenes.

I am particularly impressed with the low light capabilities of this camera. There is no getting around a little sensor noise at the higher ISO settings, but I was surprised how well I could compensate for that in RAW processing at the speeds that I was using. I don't think that I have ever made a print using 3200 from a digital camera. With the 5D2 I have a couple solid shots at 6400 that I could probably print up to 8 X 10.

The focus speed is not quick, it is not lightning fast, but it is OK. This is exacerbated in low light. However, if you have a Canon strobe (580 or 430) both do have the focus lighting which I found to help immensely in low light (I had the strobe turned way down and covered up, so I was just using it as a focus light). I strongly recommend either the EG-D or the EG-S focus screens if you will be doing any manual focusing through the viewfinder.

Since everyone is all hot for video, I will mention that I was very surprised by the video quality. Having that in camera ability with two button presses is really nice. It takes some practice to hold the camera while taking video as the camera it is optimized for still shots.

What makes me the most confident in my purchase of this camera is actually the lack of changes in some areas. There were many things that didn't need changing about the 5D body, viewfinder, controls, etc. I would have liked to have a second CF slot, but not at the price of a major change to the body layout. My point is that they seemed to have spend their engineering dollars (or Yen) in the right areas, and didn't reinvent things that didn't need it. They may have skipped some things that could have used updating, but that is not a compromise, that is the evolutionary process. When I am fifty miles from the nearest road, I don't want a camera that was just recently "redesigned from the ground up". I want designs that are a little more mature, and this camera so far seems to be a good balance of both worlds.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comparison to Nikon
By PhotoguyVerified Purchaser from Ventura on 12/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Great Image Quality, Great LCD menu, Gret image, Image Stabilization, Large file size, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Inconvenient focus select, No protection for LCD, Ontrols not convenient
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

The Nikon on-off switch is well placed near the shutter button, convenient to turn on. The Canon has a rotating switch on the lower right- not as convenient. Nikon provides a clear plastic protection over the LCD; Canon does not. Nikon has 2 wheels easily accessible for controlling F stop and shutter speed. While canon has 2 wheels the second is on the camera back. The back wheel is not as convenient. On the Nikon, the focus point moves easily by a tilt switch. Canon provides multiple means to access the focus points using the LCD screen and the top screen using a wheel. This is somewhat awkward since the movement of focus point is not direct but must go through all points. Canon has an automatic mode but the focus point is random. The 21 mp image clearly is superior to 10/12mp. The file size is 120mb compared to about 60mb. The image at 300 dpi is about 13 by 18 compared to 8 by 12.Canon provides free software to control the camera which Nikon does not. The Nikon menu is a complex tree. The Canon menu is simpler.The canon shows a control summary

Images shared by: Photoguy

Canon 5D mark ii

Image Thumbnail

Nikon D200

Image Thumbnail
 
Amazing Image Quality
By To Win ImagesVerified Purchaser from Niwot, CO on 12/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is a great step up for a serious hobbyist or semi-pro looking for superb full frame image quality at a competitive price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this camera, so light!
By Nonna BVerified Purchaser from San Diego on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is very amateur friendly, it is also very light to carry around.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
EOS 5D Mark II Simply Incredible
By HammerVerified Purchaser from Raleigh, NC on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

The Canon EOS 5D Mark II is an incredible camera. Its over 21 megapixels created some images for an advertising agency enlarged to 30x40 and looks tack sharp. I only wish there was a shutter release button on the bottom right of camera for easier vertical shots. I also wish there was a built-in flip up flash for times you don't really want to carry an extra flash. For the money you can't beat this high caliber camera. When even compared to Nikon's D3 it still doesn't have as many megapixels. When compared to the Nikon's D3X it doesn't record movies in 1080 I and it costs 8,000. Purchasing the Canon 5D became a no brainer and I would highly recommend this camera to anyone who needs a high performing professional camera.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of the best camera on the market
By ChadVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Quality, Strong Construction, Video Capability
Cons:
Limited video controls
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This is one of the greatest cameras I have got my hands on. Canon has really raised the bar with this camera allowing us to take true HD movies at 1080P as well as very high ISO images in low lighting without much noise. When other cameras produce grainy results around ISO800 this camera can easily take images at ISO3200 at the same quality of ISO400 on other cameras. This is one of the best reasons to get this camera. Image quality is amazing and it's got all of the great controls of the original 5D plus an upgraded firmware with a much more functional menu system.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome
By KentVerified Purchaser from Chapel Hill, NC on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

I'm blown away. This camera is incredible.

 
Excellent product
By RanjeetVerified Purchaser from San Rafael, CA on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Macro Photography, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

The camera produces one of the best images so far, but i must warn you the camera raw images are not yet perfect. Some units produces excellent quality. Canon has accepted the fact that there is some problem with the black dots issue which this camera produces. Besides that the camera is awesome

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon 5D Mark II - Excellent Camera!
By Scouter1807Verified Purchaser from Dallas, Texas on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

I have the Canon 5D and just could not wait for an upgrade to Live View, Movie capabilities, and a larger Pixel count (while not giving up quality). The original 5D was perfect, the Mark II is perfection! While giving me video - I never expected 1080 quality! Just fantastic. The camera is fast - and I rarely need a flash. In Auto-ISO - the camera is "smart" and provides a very good photo! I highly recommend this camera!!

Images shared by: Scouter1807

Me and my 5D!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product

 
HD Video quality is great
By BigErvVerified Purchaser from Vallejo, CA on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape, Macro Photography, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

My background is shooting portraits in a studio as well as shooting videos of karate competitions. I purchased the 5DM2 so I wouldn't have to bring two different types of cameras on location. Sitting on a tripod and shooting a subject at a fixed distance, the video quality is amazing. I have a VIXIA HF100 that I use for shooting video and it pales in comparison if the shot is setup correctly. With the 5DM2 I can easily move to manual focus and accurately select the area I want in focus and keep it there. The ability to isolate your subject from everything makes videos more intimate and personal. With a regular CONSUMER HD cam, manual focus is somewhat difficult to achieve quickly if you are trying to get focus on an off-center subject and keep it there. In low light, 5DM2 noise is almost non-existent. It can capture the moment exactly the way you see it.

A problem with the 5D in video is the lack of good autofocus tracking, but if you are used to focusing manually, it isn't an issue. My biggest gripe is not being able to have IRIS control in video. Everything is shot wide open. Adjusting exposure in video mode only changes ISO sensitivity. Hopefully a firmware upgrade will solve this issue. The on-board mic also picks up plenty of noise from an IS lens so you have to turn IS off or use an external mic if you want useable audio.

Ideal video setup with this camera: Tripod, fluid head, off camera mic, L lenses or primes.

Photo wise, it's great. Low noise at high ISO. 1600 is the old 400, 3200 is the old 800. 3200 is very usable.

 
Canon EOS 5D- MarkII BEST ON THE MARKET
By 1ScoutmasterVerified Purchaser from Orlando, Florida on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Macro Photography, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

Compared with all other brands including Nikon,
Sony a900 etc. This is the best for the money
and well worth it.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Canon 5D Mark II Rocks!!!
By wanders01730Verified Purchaser from Bedford, MA on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Documentary, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

The HD video capability is just an added benefit. The low light performance is unsurpassed...this is the first camera I've ever owned where the camera could see more in low light than I could with my naked eye!!!

I waited more than a month with this on back order after it was announced. Hopefully, if you order it now, it won't take that long.

Images shared by: wanders01730

My grandaugter at the highest ISO is not too noisy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon 5d Mark II
By vpj123Verified Purchaser from Phoenix, Az on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Quiet, Strong Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This is an incredible camera- the best ISO performance of any Canon camera. ISO 6400 on my 5dII looks like ISO 1600 on my 40D. With 21 mega pixels cropping is a dream!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Photograph in near darkness
By SbsiegelVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, high iso, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Night, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

In the it is a new camera I am still evaluating its functions and capabilities. However the ISO values are so high that I have been taking pictures at night in rooms with hardly any light at all. 60 Watt bulb in the next room is enought to illuminate a subject with remarkable range of tones.

Images shared by: Sbsiegel

a 20 Watt bulb and some xmas lights

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nothing like a 1D but still a great deal
By clic::studio photographyVerified Purchaser from Miami, Florida on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

Great camera for the price. Having a 21MP sensor for [$] is unheard of.My 1Ds Mark III has the same MP count and costs $8000.Now, the cheaper price comes with limitations:The focus points are just 9, compared to the 45 on the 1D.The camera doesn't come with a built-in grip (available for an extra $300)The grip is a must. Specially because the body of the 5D is too small to hold long and/or heavy lenses with just one hand. Even with the optional grip, the feel and handling are not the same as having a built-in grip.The video quality is excellent, provided you use a tripod and stationary subjects. The AF is useless. It takes seconds to focus and most of the time it misses. Manually zooming and focusing is close to impossible without a tripod. I am a strong guy but holding the camera away from me to view the LiveView LCD tires your arms in just a few minutes.Having done comparison tests between the $8000 1Ds and the $2700 5D2, the image quality and noise levels seem to be 10% better on the 5D due to the newer sensor but the focus is just not sharp or fast enough, even at lower aperture values.The bottom line: I got my 5D last week and sold it on eBay 3 days later.I won't use the video and the body of the camera is too small and not as ergonomic as the 1D series. I will wait till next year when Canon releases a real professional camera replacement with the new 1DV or whatever they will call it. I still recommend this for the pro-sumer photographer or the one that can't afford the real thing (1Ds Mark III)Cheers

Images shared by: clic::studio photography

ISO 1000 comparison

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

ISO 1000 comparison 2

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Best Camera I've ever owned
By Brian in SJVerified Purchaser from San Jose,CA on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use
Cons:
Possible Black dot Issue
Best Uses:
Art, Macro Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

The high ISO quality is unbelievable for a 21mp camera. The detail captured with a good lens is the best I've ever seen. The quality of the video is amazing, but remember this is primarily a still camera but with a little thought and effort I think the video on this camera can do some amazing things. People need to relax and just enjoy what it can do and not focus on what it can't.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nothing better on the market , period.
By StillSlipperyVerified Purchaser from Saugus, CA on 12/14/2008
Pros:
1080p video, Any photo OR video, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great low light, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, RAW JPEG at same time, Sensor cleaning, Strong Construction
Cons:
Video could be easier
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, DOES IT ALL, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This is the camera I've been waiting for. 21.1 M Pixel images, true 1080p video and a Magnesium alloy body. It even saves RAW AND JPEG images for each photo if you want! I'll probably have to pass this camera on to my kids when I die and I'm sure they will fight over it. Everything is pure Canon quality. Video can be a little awkward to use at first but once you remember that you have to go into live view, then hit AF-on to focus, them hit the wheel-center button to start filming and hit AF-on to refocus you're fine ;-). Unlike the Nikon D90, this can use the autofocus while using video. If you've ever used a Canon DSLR you're set and you'll be comfortable using this wonderful camera. Besides, I can still use all of my EF lenses that I already know and love. Video can be a little shaky without a tripod or monopod because you have to hold the camera out in front of you to shoot and watch the viewfinder but with an IS lens even this is reduced significantly unless you are running after your subjects at full speed. You can't go wrong with this camera. Sell your old 5D now while it's still worth something. Besides, where else can I get a 1080p camcorder that I can use with my Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6 L IS USM and shoot 21.1 M Pixel photos with!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent, Wow high iso's
By huserVerified Reviewer from houston, tx on 12/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Macro Photography, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

This is a excellent step up from 40d, nice sharp lcd, hdmi out excellent for instant view studio shoots.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Shooting pro at the cost of a novice
By OjaiMoabVerified Reviewer from Ojai, CA on 12/10/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Need steady hand to film
Best Uses:
Home, Night shots, Outdoors, Portraits, Shooting in the Rain, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera w/EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM Zoom Lens:

Borrowed my friends from NY and shot some pictures. They look awesome full frame in the raw. Had some trouble with Photoshop in Raw Format! Feels great, auto focus better than in the past. Tons of settings to tweak to get you where you want to go. Suggest spending time reading the manual first. Zoom until you get tired of clicking! WOW talk about being able to zoom and crop to save bad shots. Printed my first huge print on my huge Epson photo printer, and looks like a Hasselblad shot!!!! This camera is a must to both Pros and Novice. Had extra battery in grip think this is a must for long nights and filming. Get the grip! And extra Battery and Charger. No "Black Dots" as stated in blogs if you set thing up correct, that is user error, people should read the manual and tweak the camera. Trying to push things to astronomical ISO is fun but camera will let you push it over the edge. Took Nikon D3 and Canon EOS 5d Mark II and shot side by side, Canon wins hands down, but D3 holds its own, and has it’s own personality that is a flavor you must have too. I own Nikon F5, F4, Nikon D70,D90,D3, Canon EOS 1D Mark 3, lifetime of Nikon lens's, Sigma, etc. also Pentex medium format with lens. The Canon EOS 5d Mark II camera is a must for all. Still waiting for my own to arrive. My friend had to pull a gun on me to get his back after 2 days of me shooting with it and got it in the rain (rain proof!!). [...]

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.