Buy the Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) image
 
(based on 57 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Just Announced - Expected Body Only Delivery, December 2008!

High Performance for High Expectation - EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR with 21.1 Megapixel Full-frame CMOS Sensor and Full HD Movie Recording

Canon's update to the wildly popular full frame EOS 5D is here, and it's better than ever. The EOS 5D Mark II has a stunning 21.1-megapixel full-frame CMOS sensor with DIGIC 4 Image Processor, a vast ISO Range of 100-6400 (expandable to ISO L: 50, H1: 12800 and H2: 25600), plus EOS technologies like Auto Lighting Optimizer and Peripheral Illumination Correction. It supports Live View shooting, Live View HD videos, and more. It can shoot up to 3.9 fps, has 9 AF points plus 6 AF assist points, a new 98% coverage viewfinder, a 3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots/VGA) and a rugged build. Full-frame shooters rejoice!

Highest ISO Range to Date
21.1 Megapixel Full-frame CMOS sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion (16,384 colors/each of 3 primary color), wide range ISO setting of 100-6400 (expandable L: 50, H1: 12800 and H2: 25600).

The EOS 5D Mark II features a huge, full-frame sensor. A 21.1-megapixel CMOS sensor delivers images of up to 5616 x 3744 pixels. And since it is full-frame, all lenses will deliver the angle of view they would on a 35mm camera without a conversion factor. This comes in handy especially when shooting with wide-angle lenses. For the flexibility to shoot in even the most dimly lit situations, the EOS 5D Mark II offers Canon's highest ISO sensitivity to date, ranging from 100-6400 (expandable to ISO L: 50, H1: 12800 and H2: 25600). Thanks to improved noise reduction technologies, images shot even at highest sensitivity will be remarkably smooth.

HD Video Shooting with Live View Function
Full HD Video capture at 1920 x 1080 resolution for up to 4GB per clip with HDMI output for HD viewing of stills and video.

The EOS 5D Mark II is the first digital EOS to offer recording of Full HD video in Live View Mode. Capable of shooting clips almost half an hour long at full 1080 resolution, the EOS 5D Mark II does amazing double duty, making it possible to shoot broadcast quality video on your camera by simply changing settings. The advantages move way beyond the ability to shoot on your SLR - the wealth of high-speed lenses and shooting accessories that make EOS photography so remarkable can be used in shooting video. Where interchangeable lens video cameras cost thousands of dollars, with the EOS 5D Mark II their operation, including HDMI output, is simply an added bonus to a remarkable camera.

State-of-the-Art Image Processing with Power and Speed
Next generation DIGIC 4 Image Processor for faster processing of fine detail and color reproduction as well as reduced image noise.

The EOS 5D Mark II's sensor is backed up by Canon's DIGIC 4 Image Processor, which speeds up all operations making a number of new features possible. Processor intensive operations like Face Detection Live mode, HD video recording and lighting and lens peripheral optimization are all possible thanks to the DIGIC 4 Image Processor. The EOS 5D Mark II also offers full 14-bit A/D conversion. The analog output from the image sensor is converted into a digital signal via 14-bit conversion instead of the previously used 12-bit conversion, resulting in significantly finer tonal gradation for better prints.

DIGIC 4 Image Processor
Developed to maximize performance between capturing and recording stages of digital photography, Canon's DIGIC 4 chips use advanced signal processing technologies to enhance captures from Canon's CMOS sensors. Sophisticated processing algorithms help to speed up all operations, including write times to UDMA cards.

Lens Peripheral Illumination Correction
Canon's exclusive Lens Peripheral Illumination Correction takes into account any light falloff in the corners of the frame and corrects it, making for a perfectly exposed image. Correction data are detected automatically on a number of Canon lenses and can be entered manually through included Canon EOS Utility software.

Cutting-Edge Autofocus
High performance with 3.9 fps continuous shooting, new shutter with a durability of 150,000 cycles and improved weather-resistant body.

The EOS 5D Mark II has a sophisticated AF system consisting of 9 user-selectable AF points, along with a total of 6 additional vertical and horizontal AF assist points. The central AF point is cross-type, and is sensitive to vertical lines at an aperture of f/2.8, horizontal lines at f/5.6. The AF system is also sensitive to its light source, and can compensate for focus errors that can occur when multiple sources illuminate a scene. AF points can be chosen by the photographer using the 5D's multi-controller or preferred control dial. Plus, the EOS 5D features a dedicated AF ON button.

More Features in Live View Mode
Live View Function for stills (Quick, Live and Face Detection AF modes) and video.

With Live View Function on the EOS 5D Mark II, you can zoom in and navigate the composition 5x or 10x normal size. There's even a grid overlay. Live View focusing modes include Quick mode, Live mode and Face Detection Live mode. The EOS 5D Mark II's Live View Function also makes videos in Full High-Definition. Shooting is at a frame rate of 30 fps. Sound is recorded either through the camera's built-in microphone or through an external microphone connected to the camera's microphone input terminal. Playback modes are available in the camera, and all Live View AF features can be used in shooting video.

Huge, High Resolution Screen
3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots/VGA) monitor with anti-reflective and scratch-resistant coatings for improved viewing and smudge protection.

The EOS 5D Mark II has an all-new 3.0-inch Clear View LCD that features high-resolution 920,000 dots/VGA for far more detail than any previous EOS Digital LCD. A number of new features enhance usability: a new anti-reflection and water-repellant coating provides a clearer and more smudge-resistant surface and a light sensor mounted below the screen enables automatic brightness adjustment in accordance with ambient light.

Full-Frame, Dust-Free Images
Updated EOS Integrated Cleaning System specifically designed to work with a full-frame sensor.

Canon's Integrated Cleaning system includes a cleaning unit designed specifically for the EOS 5D Mark II's full-frame CMOS sensor. The camera's low-pass filter even has a new fluorine coating upon its surface to help repel dust. Dust that makes it past the EOS 5D Mark II's sensor cleaning system is easily removed in post processing using DPP software's Dust Detection Delete function, which can remove dust spots automatically from single or multiple image files.

Self Cleaning Sensor Unit
A key element of minimizing dust is preventing it from clinging to the front surface of the imaging sensor. To combat against this, the EOS 5D Mark II features a Canon-designed Self Cleaning Sensor Unit. The low-pass filter at the front of the sensor shakes off dust automatically with ultrasonic vibrations. The EOS 5D Mark II also has a coating on the front surface of the low-pass filter to increase its resistance to dust sticking to the sensor.

Dust Delete Data Detection
Dust that may still remain on the front of the sensor can also be erased with software included in Digital Photo Professional (DPP) Version 3.3 or later software. A simple test shot of a plain, white object can be taken, using a menu setting. This Dust Delete Data image is analyzed in-camera, and the location and size of any remaining dust is subtracted from any subsequent pictures taken. This data is transmitted along with the image, whether JPEG or RAW, and can be either manually or automatically erased in Canon's DPP software. This added software option ensures the cleanest possible image, perfect for printing or archiving.

Shooting and Sharing Made Easy
Compatible with over 60 Canon EF/EF-S lenses and most EOS System accessories.

EF & EF-S Lenses
The EOS 5D Mark II is compatible with all Canon lenses in the EF lineup, ranging from ultra-wide angle to super telephoto lenses. Canon lenses employ advanced optical expertise and micron-precision engineering to deliver unprecedented performance in all facets of the photographic process. Special optical technologies, such as Aspherical, ultra-low dispersion, or fluorite elements are featured in the universally acclaimed L-series lenses. And Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology is featured in select lenses to minimize the effect of camera shake. Through Canon lenses, photographers can truly maximize the quality and liberating performance of the EOS 5D Mark II.

Flash Photography
The EOS 5D Mark II features the acclaimed E-TTL II flash metering system. With any of the flashes in the EX Speedlite line, E-TTL II provides reliable flash output whether shooting fill-in flash pictures in sunlight, or using flash in total darkness. With E-TTL II, the exact same 35-zone metering sensor used for measuring ambient light is also used for flash metering - giving even finer metering command of the image area. If you prefer a broader area for flash metering, there's a menu setting to change to "Average" flash metering - where the entire 35-zone area is measured evenly for flash exposure.

The Canon Speedlite 580EX II is the ideal step-up accessory for powerful flash shooting with the EOS 5D Mark II. It has excellent flash power (maximum guide number of 141 ft./43m at ISO 100), and is the perfect way to get great flash pictures when you can't get right up to the subject. The 580EX II is also great for bounce flash, with its tilting and swiveling flash head. It automatically zooms the flash head to cover lenses ranging from 16mm up to 105mm or longer with the EOS 5D Mark II. Of course, it works with the camera to provide full E-TTL II automatic flash exposure. And the 580EX II has a powerful AF-assist beam, which allows the camera to autofocus even in total darkness on subjects as far as 32 ft. from the camera.

Wireless File Transmitter WFT-E4A
This Wireless File Transmitter was made for the EOS 5D Mark II. It's compatible with Wi-Fi Protected Setup to connect easily to a wireless LAN access point for secure image transfer. Sending a batch of photos wirelessly is easy with the WFT-E4A as images can be stored in selected folders and the entire folder can be transferred at once. It retains the same features as the WFT-E3A including great handling for vertical shooting and wireless transmission (802.11b or g) to Macintosh or Windows computers for distances of up to 492 ft. (150m).

Software

Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk (Version 19.1)
The EOS 5D Mark II comes bundled with an updated Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk, which features powerful software programs designed to extend the EOS experience to the computer. These include Canon's EOS Utility (Version 2.5), Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.5), ZoomBrowser EX for Windows? (Version 6.2), ImageBrowser for Macintosh? OS X (Version 6.2), the Picture Style Editor (Version 1.4), PhotoStitch (version 3.2), WFT Utility (version 3.2). Each application is designed to perfect the captured images and streamline the digital workflow.

Compatible Operating System
Windows: Windows XP SP2/Windows Vista
Macintosh: OS X 0.3 or higher

EOS Utility (Version 2.5) for Macintosh or Windows handles the connection between the camera and computer, whenever they're connected via USB. It allows remote controlled shooting from the computer, handles downloading of images from the camera to the computer, and allows seamless linking to either Canon's ZoomBrowser/ImageBrowser or Digital Photo Professional software once images have been copied to the hard drive. Furthermore, it's used to upload settings back into a USB-connected camera.

Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.5) is an image processing program that enables high-speed RAW image processing, high-speed previewing for real-time image adjustment and support for sRGB, Adobe RGB and Wide Gamut RGB color spaces. Because it's CMS (Color Management System) compatible, Digital Photo Professional allows for easy image layout and printing in Adobe RGB in conjunction with Easy-PhotoPrint and PictBridge printers. It also features the Dust Delete Data Detection tool for cleaner images.

ZoomBrowser EX (Version 6.2) for Windows and ImageBrowser (Version 6.2) for Mac OS X are the easy, user-friendly options for viewing and editing of JPEG and even RAW image files. Both allow viewing of numerous types of images including finished TIFF and BMP files. Both also have a variety of search options for finding images, allow re-naming of single images or batches of files, and offer a variety of options for printing without using a separate image-editing program.

Picture Style Editor (Version 1.4)
Canon's Picture Style Editor enables photographers to create custom Picture Style profiles that can be used to customize the appearance of JPEG and RAW images captured with EOS Digital SLR cameras. Picture Style files created with Picture Style Editor can be loaded into the EOS cameras that support Picture Style and may also be used when processing RAW images in Canon software applications Digital Photo Professional, ZoomBrowser EX (for Windows) and ImageBrowser (for Mac).

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 57 reviews)
98% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(26), Easy to use(14), Fast shutter speed(13), Good value(31), Great picture quality(21)
Cons:
Pricey / poor value(4)
Best Uses:
Art(14), Fun(10), Landscape/scenery(18), Photojournalism(13), Portraits(19)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(4), Pro photographer(9), Semi-pro photographer(8)
 
Luv It
By BG PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Fairfield, Ca on 6/25/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Great camera. Buying 2nd one today

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Remarkable!
By JustenVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas on 6/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

It's painfully obvious that Joe H from San Diego has never been anywhere near this camera and he's only making this review to talk trash and defend the faith of his beloved Nikon! Dude, why would you buy a camera that costs close to [...] when you KNOW what the FPS is beforehand? Also, why do you need blazing fast frames per second when you shoot landscapes and portrait's?! What do you do.... aim your camera at a tree and blast away in hopes of getting a good shot? This is not a sports camera and isn't designed to be. It's a camera that is incredible for shooting landscape, portraits, weddings....etc, with amazing sharpness and low light performance! It also has a great build quality (not pro, but what does at this price) and upgraded weather sealing from the original 5D. Joe H, go back to your D200 where you can "Spray and Pray" the next time you see an interesting rock that might run away!

 
Love this Camera
By Alexander the designerVerified Purchaser from Manhattan NYC on 5/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is an upgrade replacing a well-worn Digital Rebel. I am very happy with this camera.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Remarkable Camera - wish I were smarter!
By Perfection SeekerVerified Purchaser from Cottage Grove, Oregon on 4/14/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Image Quality, Huge flexibility, Inspires confidence, Live view and HDMI output, Mirror lock up a plus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Learning Curve, Need CS4 for raw files, Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Portraits, Rugged fieldwork, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

A truly ideal camera for a photographer such as me who needs both a tough "hiking" camera and a versatile studio camera and demands outstanding image quality. It takes a bit of time (and mental agility)to get to understand all the features but the results are worth it.

Images shared by: Perfection Seeker

Trestle Creek Falls: almost impossible light

Image Thumbnail

Tags: EOS 5D Mk2 at its best

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Below Expecations
By FrankHVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 3/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Cons:
Anemic FPS, Mediocre build quality, Megapixel Madness, Poor Weather Sealing
Best Uses:
Landscape, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Great low light performance, but overall a very disappointing upgrade to the original 5D. It offers a couple of things really not needed (more 24MP and video) and falls short on things that really are needed. I think more people would have preferred a camera in the 15MP range with 8fps performance vs. what Canon actually delivered. Instead of real performance increases they offered smoke, mirrors and a lot of hype.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Imazing ISO quality
By KristiVerified Purchaser from NEWHALL, CA on 3/16/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Wow...I shot a picture at ISO 1600, and it looked awesome. Great in low-light situations.
Best Camera on the market for the money. Picture quality is spectacular.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I've just played with it & fall in love
By KamranVerified Reviewer from Monterey, Ca on 3/14/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor In Low Light
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

It's a great camera

 
This camera is the best!!!
By Andrea from East Orange, NJ on 2/17/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The most important about this product is that you can have the best picture.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Spectacular low-light capability
By Jan MVerified Purchaser from Ontario, CA on 2/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Aside from my given expectations for this product (more megapixels, better low-light capability and less blown-out highlights), I was astounded at the actual performance in the very low light of a local aquarium. With no computer enhancement, the photos at ISO 6400 are phenomenal, at 12800 acceptable.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Significant Improvement Over the 5D
By PorschephileVerified Purchaser from San Clemente on 1/26/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I have been a Canon user for close to 30 years and like everything else in technology, they just keep getting better.

I sold my original 5D to buy this camera and it is a better camera. The live view and video options just make it more versatile and give you more options for capturing the moment. The construction of body is also much better. It feels more rugged.

I also own the EOS 1DsMII and the 5D was my back up camera or when I didn't want to deal with the weight and bulk of the bigger 1Ds body. Now the 1Ds is my back up body!

 
I would buy this product again and again
By mibbyVerified Purchaser from Walnut, CA on 1/20/2009
Pros:
Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Use for Products and landscape.

 
Nice improvments on the original 5D
By Gary the turnerVerified Purchaser from Hampton Bays, NY on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Great update on a great camera. Firmware update took care of a few small issues mentioned on some reviews. If you liked the original 5D you will love this one. Basically the same, but more resolution and a self cleaning sensor. Being able to use the LCD display while shooting is a plus. While I don't use the HD movie mode, I'm sure some will find this handy. But remember this is a still camera.

 
Great body - you wont be disappointed
By fotojafariVerified Purchaser from Minneapolis, MN on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Image Quality, HD Movies, Low Noise At High ISO, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Excellent upgrade from the original 5D. The only thing I wish would have been updated is the AF, though this camera isn't intended for heavy sports use - for portraits and the like, AF is very solid. Live View/ HD videos is a huge upgrade, and the low light performance with high ISO's holds up well to the original 5D.
For its intended purposes, you can't really beat this camera.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing camera!
By Haight PhotoVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Commercial photography, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I agree with pretty much every positive comment listed on here by other reviewers.

The only problem I have is with anyone who lists 'Price' as a con. Yes, it is an expensive camera, but its a very high end and very well built camera that is more than capable of producing professional photographs. You can't get that kind of quality for cheap. This camera is a great value and I think it is completely unfair to call its price a 'Con'. I purchased the kit version myself because I wanted the L series lens that came with it, and I'm more than happy with both the lens and the camera's performance. I've had this camera for about 2 months now and I've already used it on about 12 paid professional gigs and have been very impressed with all the results so far.

Bottom line in my opinion: If you think PRICE is a 'Con' for this camera, you have no business owning one of them anyways!! Get a Rebel. But if you're not afraid to invest a little money into an insanely high quality camera, do yourself a favor and pick up an EOS 5D Mark II!

 
Lotta Camera
By JL in New YorkVerified Purchaser from Westchester, NY on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I've had the camera two weeks, and with winter socking the east coast, I haven't had a lot of time with the camera yet. That said, I often find myself in very low light situations. This camera makes worthy images at 25,600 ASA! The image files are huge, offering extensive cropping options. It's hard to imagine a job that isn't going to benefit from this camera.

Images shared by: JL in New York

very dark jazz club - ASA 25,600!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

ASA 200 Beautiful Detail, NO NOISE

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Camers I have ever owned!
By CzaruniaVerified Purchaser from Jupiter, FL on 1/13/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I have not had a chance to run it thru the mill, but so far it seems like the 5D Mark II is as good as they get, familiar but unexpected awesome image quality and usefulness of all the controls.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic dSLR
By Pro_Canon_UserVerified Purchaser from VA on 1/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
No Cons
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Great camera.

Will be used as a backup to my 1Ds Mk III and will replace an older 5D with 140K shutter actuations.

I'm especially looking forward to putting the HD video capability, as well as expanded ISO, to good use in my work...PJ for the USAF.

 
Love it!
By DonVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 1/9/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Price
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I’m a hobbyist and prior to the 5DMK2 I owned the 5D. The 2 main reasons I upgraded; 14bit and 21mp. The 14bit gave me a wider and smoother tonal range and the 21mp was all about the details. I’m not a fan of SLRs doubling as a video cam, but I may change my mind. So far the 5DMK2 has exceeded my expectations and the only dig was the price, but it was worth it.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
going big-time now! :)
By Photo FreakVerified Purchaser from Bellevue, WA on 1/8/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I just got the camera as the next step in my business. I look forward to getting to know all the "extras" on the 5D that the 30D does not have! So far... it seems like an excellent purchase!

 
EXCELLENT CAMERA!
By MalVerified Reviewer from Holland, Michigan on 1/7/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The only thing I can say about this camera is, WOW. its amazing!!!

 
Truly A Breakthrough
By tonyVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 1/6/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

As an HD camera for low budget indie moviemaking, this is a milestone development and the current leader for its price, technologically and creatively. The small size, light weight (compared to camcorders), full sensor and lens interchangeability are major benefits that outweigh the remaining constraints.

Complete depth of field control is now available, allowing for more creativity. The low light capability is impressive and allows more situations where natural light is all that's needed, reducing production logistics. Lighter weight (less costly) cranes and jibs can be used where heavier duty equipment was needed before. Excluding lighting gear, the equipment required to engage in basic movie production can now fit into a single backpack. This camera causes a beneficial ripple effect through all aspects of indie movie making.

The major restriction is the audio capability. The audio quality is excellent, and stays in synch with the video apparently without timecode if audio is recorded directly to the camera simultaneously with the video recording. Though external stereo input is available, the camera records in auto levels mode and cannot be overridden at this time. The issue that arises with this is in silent moments, when the auto gain introduces noticeably louder hiss as it compensates to pick up sound. For the most part this can largely be corrected in post, but the ability to set audio levels manually is most desired.

The video is 1920x1080p at 30fps or 640x480 SD; no other choices. The 30fps vs. 24fps debate continues; personally I have no issues with 30fps, but of course more options are always preferred.

There has also been a debate over the camera's ability to lock exposure so that the ISO setting does not automatically react to changing light conditions. This capability exists and is very easy to activate. The "*" button, when pressed after video recording is on, locks the exposure for the duration of the take. If Canon introduced a similar control for audio levels, that would be great.

For me, to get 5 stars I would wish for 24fps, variable video recording speeds for slow motion, video timelapse settings, manual audio level control, some kind of in-line audio output to headphones, and a split audio/video output to feed to separate A/V devices. This would nearly complete the production package for me. For all this I would give it 10 stars.

Overall I am extremely happy with this camera. I feel it has the potential to perform at professional levels for movie production, excluding only theatrical release quality. It can achieve 80-90% of what the Red camera offers, for instance, for less than 1/12th the cost. That is an incredible bargain.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice camera if working
By digitaladamVerified Purchaser from Massachusetts on 1/6/2009
Pros:
Good Value

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

After receiving the camera I took few test pictures than err 20 showed on the screen .This error 20 prohibits take a picture. The camera had to be powered down to go back to normal, but sometimes even this did not help.I sent the camera back [...]for replacement.

 
Amazing new camera body.
By PeterWilsonVerified Purchaser from Big Bear, CA on 1/6/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The new 5D is an amazing new camera body. I was hesitant to buy it at first, but after seeing some reviews I went ahead and made the jump and I am SO glad I did. You will not be disappointed with the new 5D, it is a spectacular choice for a very professional tool.

 
So Close to Perfect
By FodzVerified Purchaser from Winston-Salem, NC on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Battery Life, Durable, Good Value, High Quality, Lowlight Ability, Near Film Quality Video
Cons:
Audio
Best Uses:
Advanced Videography, Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I have to admit, I bought it for the video function. And it didn't let me down. As a film student, I needed an affordable, yet high quality camera to keep me competitive at school. I don't know about it being completely affordable (I spent a good chunk of tuition money on this), but it sure is high quality and didn't necessarily drive me out onto the streets.

But to video 'well' (a subjective term), you have to remember to do certain things regularly. Yes, you can lock exposure (though you don't have manual control over aperture, shutter speed, or ISO), but is unlocked immediately once you stop recording, so you have to remember to lock it again later. Also, the camera has a recording limit of 12 minutes, which in itself isn't a problem, but at that point the camera gets so hot you have to turn it off anyway just to let it cool down before it bursts into flame.

I have not tried to manually white balance yet, so I can't talk about that.

Oh, and though I knew I couldn't expect much out of the onboard mic, I was disappointed to find that if you manually focus while recording, it sounds like sandpaper. Loud sandpaper.

And a practical note: you might as well pretend that autofocus for video doesn't exist, because it isn't very good, and you shouldn't be using it anyway.

The battery life is actually quite impressive, since it forces you to use the LCD screen to take video. You can get over an hour out of it.

The file sizes are huge, but it's HD so what do you expect. I used up 40 GB on my hard drive the first night I had this thing. A 4 GB card will hold roughly 500 photos, but if you plan on doing video, you almost have to invest in a 16 GB card.

And all this talk about not being able to hold the camera still when taking video is not necessarily true - I do just fine. But being an aspiring cinematographer, that's sort of something I have to be good at.

The actual photography aspect of this camera is god-like. Amazing low light abilities, although the highest ISO setting looks like you took a picture of a television screen.

I did not experience any of these problems I've heard about, like the black dots or the blue flashes every four seconds or jittery frames on videos.

The camera body is sturdy and large, much more comfortable than my old Canon Rebel XT.

Overall, I'm very pleased. Will take a little more patience and routine to take good video, but that's a small price to pay. And I like the fact that my video camera is now small enough to fit in my bookbag.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Still Experimenting
By HeisVerified Purchaser from St. Mary's City, Maryland on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Landscape photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The biggest positives are:
Full frame sensor and color reproduction

I haven't seen the black dot issue crop up yet, but I was having some exposure problems with a sunset. The meter was jumping all over the place even metering on the same exact composition, so that was a little strange. Overall, the photos look spectacular, however.

Images shared by: Heis

Sunset reflection

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[9 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Never Ever: Rent, borrow or use this...
By gbrummettVerified Purchaser from Mesa, AZ on 1/1/2009
Pros:
Great LOW ISO Performance, Great Rear LCD, Video
Cons:
A little slow, No Popup Flash
Best Uses:
Low light photography, Wedding photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Never Ever: Rent, borrow or use this Camera, if you do, you will have to own it. It's that good!

I have had my Canon 5D Mark II for a little over a week now. And I'm having a hard time putting it down.

I tried switching back to my Canon 40D and the very first thing you notice is how small, dim and fuzzy the viewfinder on the 40D is compared to the 5D Mark II. Especially if you are older you will really appreciate being able to easy see and read information in the viewfinder not to mention you can actually manually focus with it. It reminds me of my switch from the Canon Rebel XTi to the 40D. It's that big a difference.

The Images are huge and quite simply stunning. Plus I find that I can get away with very low noise all the way up to 3200 ISO on the 5D Mark II where the 40D was very noisy. In fact I would not hesitate to say the 5D Mark II photos have less noise at 12,800 ISO then the 40D does at 3200 ISO. That's a full 4-stop advantage, nothing to sneer at that's for sure.

The other thing I am liking is the fact that Canon has addressed three of the most common complaints about the old 5D.

1. Vignetting or peripheral lighting issue
2. Dust on the sensor
3. The rear LCD

1. Vignetting:
You can either have the 5D Mark II auto-correct peripheral illumination on board for JPEGs or adjust images using Canon's Digital Photo Professional (DPP) software that came with your Mark II. I have noticed on the full framed 5D Mark II my Canon 24-70 F/2.8 L lens with the peripheral illumination correction turned OFF the 5D Mark II images will severely vignette or be dark in the corners when shot wide open (F/2.8). It's almost like looking through a dark tunnel. It's especially noticeable shot wide open with the sky as a background. Auto-correct to the rescue!! With the peripheral illumination correction turned ON it's almost magical the darkening in the corners is gone! If you want you can even shoot in Raw mode and adjust the amount of Vignetting or darkness in the corners for effects such as when shooting portraits and you want to emphasis the person in the middle of the photo. Just open the Raw photo in DPP and click on the NR/Lens / ALO tab and select Lens Aberration Correction Tune and adjust the peripheral illumination to suite by dragging the slider or entering and amount. Or select all the photos in a directory and you can correct all your photos at once.

2. Dust on the Sensor:
The old 5D was a dust hog, no-one ever said it was not. The new one though it has a sensor twice as large now as a new fluorite coating and ant-dust shake. I did get some dust on my sensor after going out and switching lens in the field shooting birds but un-like my 40D I successfully blew off all the dust using my Firefly Digital Dust sensor cleaner. This new fluorite coating must make it much harder for the dust to stick to the 5D Mark II sensor then the sensor on my 40D.

3. Rear LCD
This has to be seen to be believed. The rear LCD is so sharp and so bright its shocking. The one on the 40D is now just OK. And I could never be sure if I got the shot or not. On the 5D Mark II you can zoom in an check fine focus. The only thing you may want to turn off is the auto light level adjuster so when walking in and out of shaded areas the brightness level does not change when the ambient light levels change. Some people may like it some may hate it. I like it myself as I can now see the image out in the sunlight unlike on the 40D where it's totally washed out. Thing is Canon lets you decide and you can turn it on or off. When off it stays the same no matter the ambient light.

Bottom line:
Bottom line is if you own a big L lens collection and do any shooting at all in the dark without flash and don't have a full framed camera the 5D Mark II is a must have addition! You don't need to read any further.

Pros:

Great menus, sharper, brighter, easier to read then 40D
Video, did someone say video? I love it! You will need a tripod!
Fantastic rear LCD that you can check actual photo sharpness
Super low light high ISO photographic tool with 4-stop advantage over 40D
Feels great in your hands, the grip texture is easy to hold and is well balanced.

Cons:
No Built in popup Flash
A little slower shooting then the 40D
Huge files: you will need larger memory cards and a larger hard drive
Ultra large bright sharp viewfinder makes my 40D finder seem dim and tiny
Hum... I'm thinking..


First few days:

This Canon 5D Mark II review is written from the perspective of coming from a Canon 40D.

Well, it looks a lot like my Canon 40D but the controls on the back are on the left instead of the bottom.

Has a similar feel and weight to me at least maybe just a touch bigger and heavier then a 40D. Focus is better in low light for sure. Looks great with a Canon 17-40 F/4 L lens mounted. Maybe a little more rubbery grip on the grip.

This will be a much easier transition coming from the Canon 40D to the Canon 5D Mark II then my transition from the Rebel XTi to the 40D as the control placement and use are very similar unlike when I switched from the Rebel to the 40D and everything was in a different location.

Setup:

Put the strap on while I'm waiting for the dead battery to charge.

Ok battery is charged now, put it in, turn it on and set the time and date.

Then plug into the Mac and set my preferences under the styles and choose my lenses under the peripheral illumination correction. Very nice and very easy.

Put in the owners Information and copyright info. Gotta love that it's automatically on every photo now!

Menus:

Menus are a little different, but hey they are much sharper, this LCD is really sharp and bright!!!

Who the heck put 10 images as the default for skipping on review!!! That's another one of the first changes to go!

Set camera to RAW and away I go.

Canon 85mm F/1.2 L II lens:
The 5D Mark II full image sensor is where this lens belongs. Not only can I shoot inside in crowded spaces now but the auto-focus on the 5D seems to be better then the 40D in low light and focuses the 85mm F/1.2 lens with authority.

LOW ISO:

Holy cow 6400 ISO I can shoot at F/4.5 in a dark room!!!! Took some night shots in and outside of the house and downloaded. Booted up DPP and WOW!

Photos are great at 3200 ISO. Once converted to 17inch JPEG's the photos are AWESOME!!! The night shots of my Christmas tree at 3200 ISO on my 40D are almost unusable. But with the 5D Mark II they are fantastic. But my 24inch iMac seems a little slower looking through the photos... In fact it seems to be crawling!

Auto ISO:

FINALLY!! A useable Auto ISO setting. It was so wrong on the 40D starting at ISO 400 and never budging from it. There you are at 1/8000s at F/22 on the 40D and it finally decides to go to something below ISO 400! Not so on the 5D Mark II. It starts out at ISO 100 where it should be! And it runs the rule of lens focal length meaning it tries to pick a shutter speed at or above the length the lens is zoomed to. For instance if you zoom to 60mm it will pick 1/60s for the shutter speed with as low an ISO and open an F stop as possible. NICE for wedding photography.

Too bad you can’t change it though; I would love to be able to have ISO 50 on the bottom and ISO 6400 on the top. ISO 6400 is totally usable! Why they didn’t do that I have no idea. When I’m shooting in broad daylight at F/1.2 you NEED ISO 50. It’s also no good for sports or wildlife as you need a faster shutter speed. But it is very useable when shooting near motionless people and that takes a load off when shooting a wedding where you often don’t have the luxury of checking your ISO.


Black Dots:

After several hundred night shots I finally got a single photo with black dots by shooting at 25,600 ISO at night around some Christmas lights. You have to zoom in to 200% and pixel peep to see them.

12-20-2008 Update:

Video:
I for one never thought I would be in this love for video. But this camera is awesome, low natural light great Bokeh low depth of field video. Just in time for the holidays. The only thing is after viewing the videos back on my iMac computer no matter how steady you hands are you will need a tripod. The tiniest movements when playing back on a computer or TV seem to be magnified no matter how steady I try and hand hold the camera.

12-24-2008 Update:
I'm out on a vacation trip to Texas right now and am finding my 5D Mark II to be a much more useful photographic tool over my 40D with one exception. Birding in bright light my 40D still rules. 6.5 FPS vs 3.9 FPS makes a difference and the cropped sensor is great for extended reach. But, in low light no flash shots for Christmas celebrations especially outside Christmas lights hand held the 40D will just not do the 5D Mark II rules!

12-30-2008
I'm going to have to buy larger Compact Flash Cards my 8GB card only holds about 267 shots when the 5D Mark II is set to Raw only. But it's worth it especially for high ISO shots. My 3200 ISO shots look as good as the 800 ISO out of my 40D. And at times I'm hard pressed on-screen to tell 1600 ISO from the 5D Mark II to the 100 ISO out of my 40D. It's that GOOD!

 
Stunning video
By OdisphincterVerified Purchaser from Lafayette, LA on 1/1/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Amateur photography, Family video
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The photos coming off this camera are stunning just like its predecessor, the 5D. The 1080p video blows the mind. I like the bigger display.

 
Amazing Bang For Your Buck
By GmanVerified Purchaser from LA, CA on 12/31/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Cost is a little high if you're not making money as a photographer, but is really packed with features. Incredible low light ability even with my f4 lens. Really impressed by it's HD video ability. I feel like I'm not worthy of this camera (yet.) I need to really study the manual to feel like I'm getting the most from it. Truly incredible camera. Will be at the top of the DSLR list for a while.

 
Canon EOS 5D Mark II - Is a Star!
By ijakVerified Purchaser from San Diego on 12/31/2008
Pros:
Amazing, Breakthrough, Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
landscape, Models, Photography, Portraits, Short Video Sentences, Single Camera Movie
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This tool has amazing image quality, and the detail with the 21 mega pixel full frame sensor just blows me away.

As an incredible bonus, the video quality is something that film students will turn into amazing projects. I predict a whole new genre of low budget video/films that will be brought into existence because this camera exists.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply the Best
By smimageryVerified Purchaser from Dickson, TN on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Excellent Image Quality, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
Expensive, Only 39 fps
Best Uses:
Astrophotography, landscape, Nature, Parties, Portrait's
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Having owned the 20D and 40D, this camera far surpasses both of them. I have gotten images that were impossible for the previous 2 owned. Video mode is great if you own manual lenses and an adapter to fit them on a canon camera. Although even if you use EF lenses it still cannot be beat. Bottom line, this camera will not let you down. Some have had the "BLACK DOT" problem. I have tried with mine and they do not exist in my copy. Build quality is top notch. Handling is excellent. If I dropped mine and it broke in half I would go out and buy a new one.

 
Most versatile prosumer camera out there
By Modest MonkeyVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality, Movie Mode
Best Uses:
Home Movies, Short films, Weddings
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Besides taking fantastic crispy clean 21 Mega Pixel Canon pictures... the camera does has a movie mode... not just any ordinary 'video' feature, it's the real deal... take a 100,000 dollar hollywood camera and put it all of the quality into this small versatile camera and you've got the best thing money can buy.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon 5D Mark II -- Amazing Light Range
By BennettVerified Purchaser from Fremont, CA on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Amazing in Low Light, Auto ISO, Durable, Fast for bright light, Good Menu Organization, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
Complex, Expensive, LiveView Not Fully Doc'd
Best Uses:
Any photo subject matter, Auto ISO supports AV Mode, Fast for bright light, Large print or deep crop, No Flash in low light
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is the first time I ever had a camera that took more than a little bit of time to learn to use! But it is worth it. Whether getting good exposures in dim light without a flash and acceptable noise levels, or using auto ISO to maintain a selected f-stop while safeguarding the minimum shutter speed to control camera shake, or going up to a shutter speed of 1/8000 to maintain a large aperture or stop action, the exposure management of this camera is a big advance. To be clear though, it takes a lot of experimenting (more than I have yet done) to set your expectations about such things as the conditions under which noise will become so problematic that flash (with all its limitations) is actually better, or when auto-highlight protection may produce worse rather than better net results. I also think that learning to make solid use of the Live View / Movie mode will require considerable experimentation. So, on balance, if you are willing to invest in a lot of experimenting, this is an astounding tool, but if looking for a camera more straight-forward to just pick up and shoot with (under a less broad range of conditions), the original (Mark I?) version of the 5D may be the better choice for you. This is more a different model than an upgrade. I believe that the original 5D will continue to have its own place.

Images shared by: Bennett

Example in moderate indoor lighting with no flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Best Camera Ever Owned
By GeorgeVerified Purchaser from Grant Alabama on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to use, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
Diagrams Pics in Manual
Best Uses:
Proffesional Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is a great camera. The best I have ever owned. It is a little heavy compared to my Rebel XTI but not bad. The pics/diagrams in the users manual are kinda small and hard to use but not real bad.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By MaxxnasVerified Purchaser from Bethlehem, PA on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, High Quality
Cons:
Expensive

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I was waiting for a camera to upgrade my existing Canon 5D. I was just about to purchase the EOS 1Ds Mark III when Canon released the 5D Mark II.

Since all my cameras are Full Frame it was important for me to keep in the same family. I added an "L" series 16-35mm lens and the pictures are breathtaking.

The Pros:
- 21 MP Full Frame
- Better Weather Sealing
- Sensor Cleaning (had problems with the older 5D so this was a plus)
- HD Video (Saves me the trouble of bringing a camera and a video camera to location)

The Cons:
- Only 1 CF Card Slot so have a big card. If you're shooting video then I recommend at least a 16 GB Card (I use the SanDisk)
- Battery Life is drastically lower then the original 5D. With a bigger display and more features this is to be expected
- The camera cannot communicate with the battery in the BG-E6 Battery Grip. Although it reads the battery level, it displays a message that it cannot communicate. I'm not sure why this happens and hopefully Canon will correct it in future firmware updates.
- No headphone jack. If your doing any type of video with external or wireless mics you're going to need a seperate sub-mixer or Monitor box to monitor your audio.

 
A plus for creative photography.
By RobertVerified Purchaser from Greensboro, Nc. on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Best images available, Good Value, High Quality, Matches quality lens, Maximum capability, Versatile
Cons:
Not a small camera
Best Uses:
Available light photos, Telophoto-wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Allows me at apply my SLR experience since 1966.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exceeded my expectations
By ScottVerified Purchaser from San Antonio, TX on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Professional photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Best camera I've ever owned. Worth the wait. Believe the hype.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I am in love with Canon
By The StudioVerified Purchaser from Broooklyn NY on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Canon seems to be the industry leader in high end digital slr's. I am a wedding photographer and i have used 10D,20D,5D and i eagerly awaited the arrival of this one. I does all Canon says it does, with a much larger screen and better tonality. The only con, I really don't see why they had to add video to the camera package. Overall, a very good deal a a very good price.

 
The best camera I've ever owned.
By BrittonVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Full frame, Nature night photograpy, Video clips, Wedding photoghaphy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Wedding photography for Photography by Britton

The High ISO makes it great from shooting in low light. It's awesome. I just used it last weekend in a wedding and they images amazed me!!! The large resolution makes it great for editing images and printing poster size prints.

The only thing that I'm not sure I like about it is that Canon went and made a NEW battery so that you can't use your old batteries from your other canon camera. So you have to go out and buy all new batteries

 
Finally Arrived
By ShakerVerified Purchaser from Lahaina, Hawaii on 12/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Camera does everything expected and more. Great Job Canon

 
Great Camera
By SandyVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 12/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Great for professionals
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is a great new product. It is good for professionals as well as a serious hobbyist. The value for the price is terrific!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
BETTER THEN I EXPECTED
By Big LouVerified Purchaser from Hilton Head, SC on 12/23/2008
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Still do not like the location of on/off switch.Camera will be used mostly for nature photography

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Everything expected and even more!
By ramVerified Purchaser from Northfield, IL on 12/19/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Film clips, Landscapes, Macro, Replacement for prior 5D, Social events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Proamateur using as replacement for prior 5D. Awesome range of improvements and enhancements at lower price. Better weather sealing, color-accurate supersharp LCD, improved menu system. Endless feature list and even better battery. Amazing value as SLR with HD video an added bonus! Highest quality workmanship consistent with Canon.

 
Canon+21mmpxls+[$]= Enough said!
By Mac the shooterVerified Purchaser from Oceanside, CA on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I use the 5DII for a varied amount of demanding photographic purposes. Canon has set the bar high with many previous models, but has once again out done themselves with the 5D Mark II!

 
This is the camera to beat!!!
By H the techieVerified Purchaser from NYC on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Awesome backup cam
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is the cam all my friends are expecting to get...Top of the line tech and easy usage.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exceeds expectations
By plantguyVerified Reviewer from N. California on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, High Quality
Cons:
Software is lackluster
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The image quality is stunning; detail is just fierce. This camera is built to take it where ever you have to go with confidence. Grabs shots in very low light settings. Ready for anything.

Great versatility is built into the core of this machine. The menus are better; navigating them is quick. In-camera corrections for common lens aberrations saves a step in processing images.

Big screen for reviewing is crisp and clear; zooms way in if you need to check details, and live view capability is very handy. Battery lasts for a remarkably long time. Self-clearing sensor reduces worries about cleaning.

Nigling little things: its very easy to bump the mode dial out of your chosen mode - I wish it locked. On/off switch design is the same old awkward one. Canon's provided software is in-elegant and could use a complete make-over; almost no one serious about images uses it. Video mode isn't very user-friendly.

Great Camera! Props to Canon

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great choice among full-frame DSLRs
By AliVerified Purchaser from SF Bay Area, CA on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Moved up from the 40D to 5DII. The 5DII allows me to shoot at 1600 or 3200 ISO without hesitation. I love the large viewfinder, and the high-res LCD display. I also appreciate the ability to go really wide thanks to full-frame.

Image quality is amazing. 21 megapixels is a lot of pixels, providing a lot of detail and giving you the ability to crop to your heart's content if needed.

The movie mode, which I consider a bonus feature, is a great opportunity to learn new skills and hopefully create some amazing stuff. Haven't played with that too much yet.

The price is not cheap, but it is very competitive when compared with other DSLRs in the market. I think the 5DII has the best price/performance ratio among full-frame DSLRs.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Big Bang for the Buck
By Mr. AVerified Purchaser from Savannah, GA on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I have the 1Ds mark 3 for [$] and you can not tell the difference in the raw files in quality without looking at meda data. This camera is [$] !!!!Nothing more need be said.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great professional camera
By brosephotographyVerified Purchaser from Larimore, ND on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
Weddings Landscapes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Would have liked the camera to have dual compact flash drives and 5 frames per second plus more crossed type focus sensors and higher flash synch/less blackout time, but realise Canon was trying to keep the price down. Really like the quality, full frame sensor and the low-light ability. The feel of the camera is very good and sturdy. The buttons and shutter sound are much better than the xxd series. Over all a very nice all-around camera, it's nice to have the option of the smaller raw setting because the files are huge and for most things 21mgpxls are NOT needed. It's nice to have the option though.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome New Digital Camera
By boomerVerified Purchaser from Saratoga Springs, NY on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Good Value
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I have been waiting for this camera for some time. It met my expectatin that is for sure !

Images shared by: boomer

winter wonder land

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Icey Tree, Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great
By BMVerified Purchaser from Newport, RI on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Best camera in its class

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Product of the Year! 10 out of 10!
By TonyVerified Purchaser from Miami, Florida on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Stills HD 1080p Video
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Full frame, 21 Megapixel, 1080p HD video, Digic 4 processor, VGA LCD, Fully featured! and much, much more!!!!!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Camera!
By ElliotVerified Purchaser from North Carolina on 12/14/2008
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Very Pleased. Works flawlessly.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Canon 5D MkII, a Great Improvement
By OlgaspockenVerified Purchaser from Portland, OR on 12/14/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

What is great about this camera is that more photographs can be made without a tripod because one can shoot up to ISO 6400 with very little noise. This is a great improvement over the 5D, which I have been using for 3 years. At 21 MegaPixels, a RAW image can be converted to a TIFF of 120 MB. This translates to very large prints with minimal degradation. There really isn't anything negative that I can say about this camera. It also shoots HD video, which is really cool, although this aspect of the camera is unimportant to me.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
AWESOME Camera!
By darinfVerified Purchaser from San Diego, CA on 12/14/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is really amazing. I have shot a wedding and several portrait session already and I am totally impressed with the images.

The video is also incredible considering the price of the camera.

Yes, it's not perfect, but it's the best video you can get at this price. The short depth of field on video makes it look so much better than any other video camera out there unless you spend a LOT more money.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is good for HD and Camera
By JayseupVerified Reviewer from La Crescenta, CA on 12/14/2008
Pros:
High Quality
Best Uses:
My life style
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

All in One, Nothing better than this Canon 5D Mark II

[1 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Doesn't get any better than this!
By james the photographerVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati, Ohio on 12/9/2008
Pros:
High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is a great camera.

[5 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

 
files not compatible with CS3
By reeVerified Reviewer from earth on 12/6/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Buyer beware this looks like a great deal on a monster of a camera but the expense does not end here. Photoshop CS3 can not recognize the file format so you MUST upgrade to CS4! CS4 on a PC is impossible!!! You MUST upgrade to a MAC!! [*] There are work-a-rounds but they are very time consuming. You can convert the file formats with the canon software and then process with CS3 but wow who has time for that? CS4 will also need a video card driver update. The 5D also does not include spot metering as in the 1DS Mark III... Not a bad camera by far but just be prepared for some additional expenses.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.