Buy the Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) image
 
(based on 43 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Explore Photography. Canon's new EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera
Canon's new EOS 50D bridges the gap between the novice and the seasoned pro with a perfect combination of high-speed and quality. It features an APS-C sized 15.1-megapixel CMOS sensor for tremendous images, new DIGIC 4 Image Processor for fine detail and superior color reproduction, and improved ISO capabilities up to 12800 for uncompromised shooting even in the dimmest situations. It features a refined 3.0-inch Clear View LCD (920,000 dots) monitor, supercharged Live View Function with Face Detection Live mode, plus a number of new automatic Image Correction settings and HDMI output for viewing images on an HDTV. Pick up the EOS 50D and you'll experience true digital inspiration!

Improved Image Quality
The EOS 50D Digital SLR camera's 15.1-megapixel CMOS APS-C size image sensor has been improved thanks to the use of newly designed gapless microlenses over each pixel to reduce noise and expand sensitivity up to ISO 12800. The faster processing speed of the camera's DIGIC 4 image processor contributes to the fast 6.3 frame-per-second (fps) continuous shooting capability (for bursts of up to 90 Large/Fine JPEGs or 16 RAW images on a UDMA CF card), to give shooters the tools they need to capture that perfect moment in perfect clarity.

The Canon EOS 50D camera provides ISO speeds from ISO 100 up to ISO 3200 in 1/3-stop increments, along with two high-speed settings - H1 and H2 - of ISO 6400 and ISO 12800, respectively. Along with a wide ISO range, Canon gives shooters more tools to help maximize clarity and color. The EOS 50D Digital SLR camera offers multiple levels of noise reduction during high-speed shooting. Users can choose from one of four settings- Standard/Weak/Strong/None - to help reduce digital noise that can result from poor lighting conditions.

As part of the camera's internal image processing, the Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR camera conducts peripheral illumination correction, which automatically evens brightness across the image field, making an image of a blue sky even toned throughout, a function previously accomplished through post-processing software on a personal computer. Thanks largely to the DIGIC 4 processor, this automatic adjustment can be made in-camera during shooting with JPEG images or corrected in post-photoshoot processing with RAW images through Canon's Digital Photo Professional (DPP) software, which is supplied at no extra charge.

Helping to ensure each picture's subject is clearly visible, Canon's enhanced Auto Lighting Optimizer analyzes the brightness of subjects and automatically adjusts dark images so that they appear brighter, perfect for subjects in shade or in backlit situations. The Auto Lighting Optimizer on the EOS 50D Digital SLR camera has been updated not only to optimize images while they are being taken, but can also optimize images post-capture, during playback, to help ensure the subject of each image does not appear too dark. This is especially helpful when an amateur photographer uses the camera, because post-capture enhancement can help maximize image quality without the need of a computer.

A significant upgrade to the Canon EOS 50D camera is its large, clear 3.0-inch Clear View LCD screen which features 920,000 dot/VGA resolution, four times the pixel count of the EOS 40D camera's screen, for better clarity and color. To help show off those fantastic shots, the EOS 50D camera includes an HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) output to display crisp, clear images on a High-Definition TV. The EOS 50D recognizes the needs of today's photographers, and the faster processing speed of the DIGIC 4 processor helps support UDMA cards for faster writing of image files.

The camera is also equipped with a high-performance viewfinder featuring 0.95x magnification and the same high-performance Autofocus (AF) system as the EOS 40D camera with nine cross-type sensors for accurate target subject acquisition with lenses possessing maximum apertures of f/5.6 or faster and a high-precision diagonal center cross-type AF point that's effective with f/2.8 and faster lenses, helping photographers ensure better focus of their targets. The AF Microadjustment feature, originally introduced last year with the Canon EOS-1D Mark III professional digital SLR camera, has also been added to the EOS 50D for maximum control over focusing precision.

Canon Gets Creative For Advancing Amateurs
Canon is taking steps to give advanced amateurs more flexibility with a new CA Creative Full Auto setting on the EOS 50D Digital SLR camera's mode dial. This new setting goes a step beyond Full Auto, by allowing users to make adjustments before shooting while still in an Automatic mode, without needing to know the meaning of technical terms such as aperture, shutter speed, etc. In this mode, the camera menu on the back screen spells out options in common language for average photo enthusiasts, allowing them to blur the background or lighten or darken the image. These easy-to-comprehend image options will help amateur photographers improve the shots they are capable of taking, while helping them learn new techniques. When in the new CA mode, users will be able to adjust flash settings, brighten or darken images, blur the background, set the camera's drive mode, and select a picture style directly on the camera's LCD screen.

Better Live View
For photographers who prefer to frame their shots using the camera's 3.0-inch Clear View LCD screen, Canon has improved the Live View function of the EOS 50D Digital SLR camera to include Quick Mode AF, Live Mode AF, and Face Detection Live Mode AF that detects up to 35 individual forward-looking faces for better focus and clarity when taking group or portrait shots. The camera's Quick Mode AF setting flips the mirror down and carries out regular phase-detection autofocus, while the Live Mode AF and Face Detection Live Mode AF use the camera's CMOS image sensor for contrast detection autofocus. Two detailed grid displays have also been added to Live View shooting as optional settings for easier composition.

Two Small RAW Formats
In addition to the RAW and JPEG image capture modes that photographers are accustomed to, the EOS 50D Digital SLR camera now offers more manageable resolution settings and file sizes with two sRAW recording formats, sRAW1 and sRAW2. At the sRAW1 setting, resolution is 7.1 megapixels with a file size that is approximately 25 percent smaller than a standard 15.1 megapixel RAW image. With the sRAW2 setting, resolution is 3.8 megapixels at less than half the file size of a standard RAW image, retaining all of the flexibility and creative possibilities associated with full-size, conventional RAW images. The EOS 50D is the first Canon Digital SLR that allows the use of RAW and sRAW settings in Basic Zone as well as Creative Zone shooting modes, even further improving the camera's flexibility.

EOS Integrated Cleaning System
The Self-Cleaning Sensor Unit for the Canon EOS 50D has also been upgraded and now includes a fluorine coating on the low-pass filter for better dust resistance. The Self-Cleaning Sensor Unit uses ultrasonic vibrations to shake dust particles off of the low-pass filter in front of the sensor each time the camera is powered up or shut down. The second part of the system includes a software component where sensor spots are mapped and saved as Dust Delete Data that is attached to the image file for removal during post processing using Canon's DPP software.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 43 reviews)
95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(22), Fast shutter speed(12), Great picture quality(17), Image stabilization(9), Large clear LCD(39)
Cons:
Loud(4)
Best Uses:
Art(25), Documentary(3), Fun(27), Landscape/scenery(12), Photojournalism(10)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(16), Pro photographer(7), Semi-professional(6), Semi-pro photographer(12)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome camera!
By MichaelVerified Purchaser from Orlando, FL on 6/14/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I bought this camera to take action shots and at 6.5 fps it delivers!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A DREAM CAMERA!!!
By AlenVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 6/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I'm totally blown away by this machine! I do travel photography, cityscapes, landscapes, architecture, nature and commercial. There's nothing this camera can't do! Love it's speed, super control over noise, and functionality!

Wait till you upload the pictures to your computer and see how truly breathtaking they are!

Khayya Cannon! (Long Live Cannon!)

 
Canon 50D
By PBRVerified Purchaser from California on 5/25/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, GREAT clarity on LCD, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud, Loud shutter speed
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I upgraded from a Canon EOS Rebel and in comparing the two, it is obviously night and day! This is wonderful for portraits and very easy to use!

 
Awesome for the price
By LightgirrlVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 5/19/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I love this camera! I bought it to take action shots of my dogs dock diving.It has really fast shutter speeds. It is really the best for the price.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Useful Back up
By Lava DaveVerified Purchaser from Keaau HI on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction, Very user friendly
Best Uses:
Landscape, Photo documentation
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Sales and service were excellent. I use this camera as a back up to my DI MK III. It comes close in quality of product so as to keep my finished projects usuable.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
AWESOME!
By sammyjnrtwins06Verified Reviewer from Joliet, IL on 3/15/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I have had this for a week now and I LOVE IT! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great camera!! I was going to go with a Nikon and am kind of glad that I didn't. This one is lighter than others and has some great features. So far, nothing bad to report!

 
Suprised upgrade from 1d MkII
By Right Shot PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 3/13/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I thought I wanted the 5D MkII but decided I really don't want to shoot video with my slr. The cost difference allows you to buy a great lens like the 50mm 1.2 L which takes the camera to the max. This camera isn't as durable as the 1D MII but my days of jungle photography are past and I need quality and control that a pro camera offers. This is a perfect cross over to PRO camera at an affordable price. The new 15 megapixel sensor (more than enough for any thing I do) along with the automatic dust removal system are things I really appreciate over my 1D MKIIs.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
An excellent high level dSLR
By BillyVerified Purchaser from Chesapeake, VA on 1/26/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

image stabilization is good
shutter speed is excellent

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Totally Awesome!
By ACJR1234Verified Purchaser from Columbus, GA on 1/22/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is our latest Canon and definitely the best yet. My wife takes the family photos and I take the sports action shots. Buy yourself the 20-200 lens and you are set to tackle about photo you can imagine. We love ours.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Upgrade From The 20D
By DonVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 1/7/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I used the camera on vacation in California and the camera worked great taking pictures of birds in flight at the beach. Also the color and contrast of the sunsets were exelent.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Camera
By BrentVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 1/6/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is a great camera with excellent features. I find it even easier to use than the XT/XS series cameras. [...].

 
Great camera!!
By A Friend with a CameraVerified Purchaser from Nashville, Tennessee on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is an amazing camera with lots of applications to be discovered

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
LONG LIVES CANON
By LAKEDAVVerified Reviewer from 06010 on 12/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

THE BEST THING ABOUT IT IS A CANNON............

[6 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
YUCK !
By DANNY KAMINVerified Reviewer from Houston, Texas on 12/14/2008
Cons:
Soft images
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

REALLY surprised at the inferiority of the 50D. Shot the 10D and 20D forabout 5 years ? Received the 50D as a birthday present and was excited to have it. Then I used it this weekend to shoot stills for a stage musical. Such a real disappointment. Were I not so heavily invested in a system of Canon lenses I would move to Nikon in a heartbeat. Anyone who has been a shooter for a long time knows to a certainty that as soon as you purchase a camera or a lens the market depreciation is both sudden and a financial loss. If you're not invested in Canon...run to Nikon. I shot a Nikon side-by-side with the Canon 50D for this musical ( both with different focal length lens) and the difference in the performance was hugely different in favor of the Nikon. Anyone want to purchase a Canon system out there ? Read what others are saying about "soft focus" ANDdelay in focusing it ? BELIEVE IT.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great upgrade from the Canon 20D
By diaposVerified Reviewer from New York on 11/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is a great upgrade from the 20D. I love the big screen in the back; I basically coulnd't see anything in the smaller screen on the 20D in the sunlight.

I also noticed that my battery was being depleted on the 50D faster ant it was on the 20D, but I was still able to get around 200 images before losing about 2/3 of the power.

The only bad thing was that it locked up on me. I was able to focus by pressing the shutter button halfway and I could hear the lens moving and I saw the circle inside the camera so I know that the subject was in focus. However, I couldn't press the shutter button to take the photo. The subject was stationary and the light wasn't changing. I tried it inside and then, outside. I turned the camera off and on a few times which didn't resolve the issue. I removed the battery and put it back in and that solved the problem. I had no problems for the remainder of the day.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Greatly Improved Features
By HikerManVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 11/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Fast 63 frames per sec, Great Image Quality, Higher ISO with Low Noise, Strong Construction
Cons:
None builds on the xxD
Best Uses:
Landscape, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The 50D is a great backup to my 1D Mark III. It lighter weight and 1.6X lens factor mean I can use it and a 12 - 15X zoom lens when backpacking without adding significant weight to my backpack. I really like the expanded ISO range and the brighter LCD. This camera suits my needs well.

Images shared by: HikerMan

Moonrise Over Grassy Ridge

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Sunrise From Standing Indian Mountain

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
50D from 10D
By GViadoVerified Purchaser from Oxnard, Ca on 11/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I jumped from a 10D to the 50D. Really big difference. Unfortunately I have nothing else to compare it with other than my 6.3 MP 10D. I just love the solid feel of this camera. I found that the microadjustments for the focus makes a big difference. I have two lenses (28-135mm and 50mm 1.8f). I was able to calibrate them without sending the whole thing to the manufacturer. The image quality on the LCD screen is outstanding. The only negative I have with this camera is that it is alot louder than my 10D. By the way, no error 99 yet (knock on wood).

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Welcome Upgrade from the 30 D
By TomVerified Purchaser from Santa Clarita, Ca on 11/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Image Quality
Cons:
Plastic battery hinge
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This is an upgrade to my 30 D and it was well worth the wait. I am able to use all the accessories from my 30D such as the battery grip and lenses. I did prefer the metal spring-mounted battery door hinges on the 30 D over the plastic hinges on the 50 D, but find the advances features and image quality of the 50 D far outweigh the minor hinge issue. I just wish I had waited two weeks to buy it. Canon dropped the price by $100 via rebate. You can take terrific photos with this camera right out of the box and also spend weeks reading the manual and understanding all the features.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Upgrade!
By Joe MVerified Purchaser from Knoxville, TN on 11/6/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Solid construction and takes great pics straight out of the box!

[12 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Check reviews before purchasing
By photo grapherVerified Purchaser from NY on 11/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Soft noisey photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I used the 40D for a year, purchased the 50D based on positive user reviews here and at other online merchants, but as soon as I started taking photos with the 50D I noticed it had more noise and was softer than the 40D. Within a few days, people and review sites started posting comparisons and they all showed the same. The 50D does have a much better LCD, does handle colors slightly better, but has more noise in photos than the 40D at ISO400 and up, as well as softer images. Taking softness and noise into consideration, you're not getting the clarity you should with 15mp, when compared to the 40D's 10mp. Even when downsizing photos to a smaller, web-sized image, more noise artifacts were visible in the 50D. Since I mostly shoot concert photography, I did not feel this was a worthwhile upgrade, so I returned the 50D and purchased another 40D. If you shoot outside or in bright light you'll have better use of the 50D, but I don't think you're getting a great use of those 15mp. The 5D is 12mp and produces sharper images than the 50D - yes, it has a larger, better sensor - but my point is to show how you're not quite getting the most out of the 15mp on the 50D. You're paying for 15mp, but how useful are they? If the 50D were 12mp, then producing sharper images with less noise than the 40D, I would have found that to be a worthy upgrade. The battery also drains faster in the 50D because of the LCD upgrade, if you use LCD much. So the 50D may be great for some, but I'll wait to see what's next.

 
Great camera, own a few canon cameras
By dagwoodVerified Purchaser from Phila. Pa. on 11/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

weddings,kids events,family affairs,fun photography

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera, worth the upgrade
By JenVerified Purchaser from Crystal Lake, IL on 11/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Error 99- firmware update
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I love this camera! I did get the Error 99 that everyone is talking about and need to do the Firmware update. I haven't done this before so I am a bit nervous. I am so glad that I bought this camera, it was a nice upgrade from the 30d.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
EOS-50D Review
By JAGVerified Purchaser from NY on 10/29/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Lots of functionality
Cons:
None
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I consider myself as an experienced photographer of 20 years and I keep relatively up to date with technology. I have purchased my last two cameras from Ritz and have had a good experience -[...].I purchased the 50D as an upgrade to the 20D for these reasons:1. larger 3" LCD screen - it was difficult for me to see the image on the LCD after the shot due to outdoor lighting conditions and menu items are very small on the 20D with the 1.5" LCD.2. sensor dust removal system on the 50D - the 20D had none and sensor dust was a continual problem.3. Live view on the 50D was a curiosity which I had higher expectations. Otherwise, functionality (aka bells & whistles) on the 20D are timeless excellence - I will use it as my spare EOS body. I have used the 50D for 2 weeks now and found image quality with the new Digic 4 to be excellent. Alot of the added functionality may be useful for some, but I shoot mostly in Ap/Tv priority - after a while, you use what you like most. I do like the big clear LCD with a new shooting screen where you can change certain parameters before you shoot. It seems to have much improved visibility in daylight. I like the sRaw and image quality choices since at 15Mp, file sizes can really fill up a computer and since the majority of my shots are not intended for fine art, I like the ability to shoot at lower res w/o sacrificing quality.The Live view functionality is a bit of a dissapointment, since I had much higher expectations - I thought it would function similarly to a point and shoot, but NOT! The Live View function actually flips the shutter up and seemingly needs to activate the shutter every time you do an autofocus in which the screen goes black (in fast focus mode.) And did I mention, in Live View you don't press the shutter button half-way to autofocus, instead you have to press an autofocus button located conveniently but its not intuitive. From what I see, Live View may be only useful for stationary subject matter like landscapes/portraits and macro work with a fixed tripod/subject only. I do like the grid though.Overall a great DSLR and an upgrade from the 20D, but I think Live View could be perfected.JAG

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again
By WillieVerified Purchaser from Iowa city, Iowa on 10/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

As a semi-pro photogapher I find the Canon 50D meets my needs very well. It gives me a wide range of shooting modes and settings to meet any problems that would keep me from getting that perfect photo.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
EOS 50D Awesome SLR Camera
By CeeJayVerified Purchaser from Safety Harbor, Florida on 10/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Takes great pictures
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Family, Fun, Nature, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Found this camera at ritz.com. Had the model previous to this and loved it, so knew I would love this one too. I wasn't dissappointed. It has a really big display screen .

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
BUY IT!
By ChemOsabiVerified Reviewer from Rockville, Maryland on 10/26/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Lightweight, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Canon really stepped up with this camera. Put the f2.8 70-200 is usm L lens on this camera and enjoy the incredible pictures you will get. I cannot say enough good things about this camera. sell your old camera and buy one. You will not be disappointed. Most of my pictures are of Firefighting activities in low light and undesireable conditions. The 50D is the best camera I have ever owned.

Images shared by: ChemOsabi

University of Maryland Fire Rescue Institute

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
All it's made out to be
By Photos by RonVerified Purchaser from Greeneville, TN on 10/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor Cleaner
Best Uses:
Landscapes, Portrait
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The 50D camera is the same as the 40D except 15.1mp vs 10.1. The sensor cleaner is slower than the 40D.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Masterpiece!
By Rabbi7 from Orlando,Florida on 10/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This's truly an upgrade from the 40D , just the image Quality is worth the upgrade. I have the Canon 40D as well, and comparing it to the 50D is like Day and Night. I've taken both out on Photo Shoots along with my Nikon D300, and 50D has the best Picture Quality of all the Cameras. Shooting at higher ISO is also superb, all the way to 6400 with no noticeable grain or noise. I believe a Bat can see the difference in image Quality compared to the 40D or NikonD300!

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent camera - would buy again
By mcgeorgeVerified Purchaser from Wake Forest, NC on 10/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This being my first SLR camera, I did a TON of research before purchasing it. I got a Canon 17-55 f2.8 to go with it as a general purpose lens and I am very pleased with both.

I contemplated getting the Nikon D90 over the Canon 50D and I'm glad I went with the 50D. They are comparable in the quality of photos they can take, however, the 50D has MUCH better build quality and in my opinion is more comfortable to hold and operate than the D90. The D90 has video capability but I've seen it work and it is a useless novelty.

The 50D is very easy to use even for a novice like myself. The menus are well thought out and are easy to access and execute. I find myself able to change settings very rapidly as I chase my kids around in different lighting conditions.

Speaking of lighting--I enjoy shooting in low light w/out flash and this camera does a great job with its high ISO settings. This is useful when I need a faster shutter speed in low light like when I'm chasing the kids around. The 15.1MP is also very useful as I am not the best at composing shots yet so the higher megapixels allows me to crop for better composition. I've heard many people say having more megapixels isn't that important but I disagree (unless you are a pro and take perfect shots every time).

I have not had time to explore all the features of the 50D yet but I am confident this camera will serve all of my needs as I grow into a more advanced photographer.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Huge Improvement Over 40D
By TBPhotographerVerified Purchaser from Toledo Bend Lake, Louisiana on 10/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
What's not to like
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Since this camera was to replace my Canon EOS 40D, I set up a tripod and shot both cameras using the same lighting, lens, settings to compare them. The 50D had very slightly better pictures with less noise - but given the drastic size increase - about 20% more piture area - 50% more pixels - the detail was much better. I shoot a lot of macro and telephoto shots where the frame is not filled with the image - more pixels means that when I crop I still have lots of picture remaining.I really like being able to add copyright information into the camera and have it automatically included in the EXIF info for each picture. The new 12800 ISO means the ability to take pix in very dark or fast circumstances - albeit there is a lot of noise. I think the ability to register Lens Correction Information for Peripheral Illumination Correction can be really good to help corners of pictures and hope to implement that soon.I sometimes shoot in bursts and this camera will shoot about double the number of highest quality burst images compared with the 40D - at 6.3 frames per second!If you've used a 20D, 30D, or 40D you will readily use this camera - only a few minor changes and mostly that's the menu. The live display could be valuable sometimes I suppose - but I doubt I'll ever use it. Still, it's nice to have just in case.I always trade up as soon as a new Canon is released and sell the old one on[*]. That makes the cost of owning the latest and greatest pretty reasonable. Trade up - you'll love this one!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Got it Right
By Allen MaestasVerified Purchaser from Corrales, New Mexico on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Excellent Functionality, Great live view, Low noise, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Nature, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

What I like about Canon, is they listen to their customers. They took the 40D and refined it,giving it more pixels, easier to use menus, a better LCD, and overall better functionality. And they did all of this without changing the physical characteristics from the 40D, making it an easy transition. Nice job Canon!Allen Maestas[@]

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Camera
By click happyVerified Purchaser from southern CA on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Lightweight, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The increased iso capability in the 50D over pervious models is a huge bonus. Great for low light situations, and ideal for weddings where no flash is allowed. So far I am pleased with it's performance and the added features over my old 20D.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Camera Body
By WeihuaVerified Purchaser from MN on 10/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
No remote flash trigger, Not compatible with RC-5
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Cannon 50D is a very good camera. It does everything Canon claimed.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Update
By Brosephotography[...]Verified Purchaser from Larimore, ND on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The 50D has nice improvements from the 40D, not sure it's really worth the $300-$500 price difference, but it's just part of having the newest equipement. The items I like most are the better LCD screen, option for small raw, dedicated live preview button, and fine focus lens adjustment. I wish it had more customizable buttons and that the auto ISO had a selectable low and high range. The high iso noise is decent, I would estimate about 3/4 to 1 stop better than the 40D and I feel the color accuracy is better also. Overall it's a nice evolution.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing camera, love it
By creative freedomVerified Purchaser from wisconsin on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I love this camera, dont know what I did before I got it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Is it worth it?
By borkapVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I recently upgraded from a 30D.

Pros:
I like using liveview through a laptop for telescopic shots.
The autofocus has drasticly been improved.
The larger and higher resolution screen is superior to anything else I got my hands on.
Good solid feeling body. It doesnt feel like a toy.
great control locations same as 30D etc

Cons:
It uses a newer version of RAW that has not yet been added to the adobe stable of products.
It has a pretty loud shutter.
Use of live veiw will drain your batteries.


So is it worth it? Absolutly!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon 50D
By kingbirdVerified Purchaser from Arizona on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

Wow!!! The Canon 50D is an incredible camera. I have been using the very reliable and durable 20D for the past two years and the 50D is ten times better. I also used to shoot film with the EOS 3, which I believe excelled the 20D. However, the new 50D outdoes the EOS 3.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon Eos 50 D Hits the SPOT ! Dead ON !
By CinqgVerified Purchaser from Wilmington, DE on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Lightweight, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Super fast Frames per Sec
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Everything, Fun, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

With the higher Pixels when I crop a sports shot the resolution is still great whereas the 12 MP Sensor left the shot with 3MP the 15 MP leaves the shot with 3.75MP almost 1/3 more resolution. With the price having come down with almost every new model this is an amazing camera that would have been $7000 5 years ago. With the higher ISO levels and the advanced noise reduction the low light sports shots are coming out even better.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Updated from 20D to 50D - Wow!
By denzilla171Verified Purchaser from Mountain View, CA on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I'd been waiting for a camera to come along that was enough of an upgrade to justify replacing my trusty 20D and the 50D is it. I do product photography for pay and travel photography for fun and the 50D suits both. The best features are: faster focusing, big LCD screen, improved auto white balancing, the Live View option, and of course 15 million pixels is not too shabby either!!

My only complaint, and it's a small one, is that even though the 50D is much quieter than the 20D, it's still got enough snap to be noticed in quiet situations...

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding speed and resolution.
By RandyVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

The 50D offers numerous improvements that are certainly worth the upgrade–or the outright new purchase–depending on your priorities. After having experienced the quality and depth of color in the new LCD screen it will be very difficult to go back to the 40D and to other comparable models in its class.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding camera for the Buck
By RobVerified Purchaser from Manning, SC on 10/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

This camera is very Fast. If you are into wildlife or sports photography... this is the one you want. the 3" LCD is a great advance over the 40D.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
50D, I'll take it!
By LisaVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 10/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I would definitely recommend this camera. Its an affordable price range and good fps. The only thing that I'm weary about is how to change the aperture. I've only found one way to change it. And it seems less easy than other cameras I've used.

[3 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
What I expected for many years!
By Roberto LauferVerified Reviewer from Sao Paulo - Brazil on 9/9/2008
Pros:
Perfect for use
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 50D Digital SLR Camera (Body Only):

I was waiting for that performance at that price for many years

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.