Buy the Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone) image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)

Refined and stylish 8.0 Megapixel Digital ELPH with 3x Optical Zoom and Optical Image Stabilizer.
With 8.0-megapixel technology at its heart, PowerShot SD1100 IS Digital ELPH brings you high resolution images that maintain their sharpness and vivid impact even when they're enlarged and cropped. The 3x Optical Zoom is a clear winner when it comes to getting up close and personal. And Canon's invaluable Optical Image Stabilizer reduces the blur of camera movement, even in tricky low light situations.

Enhanced Canon Face Detection Technology automatically sets focus, exposure, flash and white balance for greater shooting freedom.
Canon's powerful Face Detection Technology delivers even better results with the new SD1100 IS Digital ELPH. The Face Detection Technology continues to recognize faces in a scene, and concentrate exposure (daylight or flash) and focus upon them. But the SD1100 IS Digital ELPH adds more: Face Detection WB means the camera concentrates upon faces when calculating white balance, for the best possible skin tones. Face Select and Track lets the SD1100 IS Digital ELPH user highlight one face among several in a scene, and the camera concentrates on that person, even as they move around the scene. And Face Detection Technology is a powerful contributing factor in Canon's new Motion Detection Technology.

Motion Detection Technology automatically reduces blur by calculating subject movement and selecting ideal exposure and ISO settings.
Life doesn't stand still for picture-taking. That's why Canon included its advanced Motion Detection Technology in the PowerShot SD1100 IS Digital ELPH. This sophisticated feature works in the background to instantly evaluate how fast your subject is moving. Then it automatically selects and sets the optimal exposure and ISO settings to keep everything looking sharp and clear. When you need higher ISOs for action-stopping shutter speeds, Motion Detection Technology provides it. But when no movement is detected, it allows lower ISOs for excellent color and detail. So whether you"re shooting a bride walking down the aisle, a ballet recital or even a child's soccer game, you can relax and shoot with confidence knowing you've got the picture you intended.

2.5-inch PureColor LCD II for bright, accurate color with better viewing from wide angles.
The PowerShot SD1100 IS Digital ELPH gives you large 2.5-inch LCD screen for excellent control when framing your shots. Canon's PureColor LCD II offers more spectacular color, resolution and contrast even when viewed at an angle (compared to PureColor LCD). The screen is highly durable and easy to see in any light with a scratch-resistant, anti-reflective coating. It also features Night Display for easy viewing in low light-a perfect feature for gathering friends and family around to see your images.

DIGIC III Image Processor for sharper images and improved functionality.
With DIGIC III, your images boast superior quality, the camera operates at top efficiency and battery life is enhanced. What's more, DIGIC III enables Canon's Face Detection Technology and Red-eye Correction to give you better, more true-to-life people shots. Simply press the Shutter Button halfway down, and the camera automatically pinpoints the faces in the scene and chooses the ideal focus point. The camera controls exposure settings and flash to keep every face looking bright and natural. Red-eye Correction can be handled in-camera, in two ways. The entirely new Red-eye Correction during shooting uses the Face Detection Technology to recognize and remove red-eye from flash images as they're taken, before the file is written to the memory card. It's also possible to correct red-eye during image playback, using simple settings in the SD1100 IS Digital ELPH's menu.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(4), Easy to setup(5), Easy to use(5), Large clear LCD(6), Simple controls(5)
Best Uses:
Family photos(3), Fun(5), Travel(7)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(3), Photo enthusiast(3)
 
I am no regreting, very good buy
By JanaVerified Purchaser from Richardson, Texas on 1/6/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Family Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone):

Very small pocket camera, very handy, I own it for 2 weeks, so far no problem, I upgrated my 2 MP Canon camera to this one.I am very happy with choice.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice camera
By CurenderoVerified Purchaser from San Diego, CA on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy To Use, Great Picture Quality, Looks cool, Strong Construction
Cons:
Too many functions
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone):

A very nice upgrade from my SD 550. Lighter and faster, it does almost too much. Canon has packed the menus with so many options, most of which nobody will ever use, that it is difficult to change basic features in the morass of choices. Pictures come out looking great, it is very fast with little lag.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Performance, easy to use
By Engineer SteveVerified Purchaser from Plano, TX on 11/6/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Fast start up, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Short flash range
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone):

Very fast turn-on and very little shutter lag. Multiple resolution choices to match SD card size (small or large) and need for detail. Took it on a trip to France. Took great pictures indoors with fairly low light and no flash. Flash range is pretty short -- about 12 ft / 4 meters maximum for decent exposure, but when flash disabled, works well in churches and museums. Outdoors excellent without flash (see samples - 3 Megapixels), even in low dusk light. Battery life was OK -- took about 280 pictures before needing recharge, with minimal use of preview option for shots taken. Image stabilization worked well for me but some blurring when wife used the camera.

Images shared by: Engineer Steve

Paris, Champs Elysees west from Arc de Triomphe

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Paris, Eiffel Tower from Arc de Triomphe, dusk

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great Little Camera
By fkVerified Purchaser from Sierra Vista, AZ on 10/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone):

The camera is rather new and hasn't been used very long, but I have been delighted with the ease of the setup and the size and clarity of the LCD window. It has been a pleasure to carry in a case that slides on a belt and simple to turn on and click. I would heartily recommend it for daily use and travel.

 
Love My Powershot SD1100 Digital Camera
By ShauntiVerified Purchaser from Baton Rouge, LA on 10/6/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone):

I (and all my coworkers and friends)love my new camera. I got the day of my birthday party and it was the highlight of the party with it's bright LCD. My pictures were preferred over the camera guy's that was there...lol!

 
Great value, great camera.
By kel88Verified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 9/23/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to use, Picture quality
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone):

love this camera. Great value. I wish the controls were more solid. I feel the plastic parts are a little flimsy.

 
Awesome!!!!
By Hotnessence!!!!Verified Purchaser from Raleigh, NC on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone):

It works wonderfully and all my friends were so jealous. Even when my friend dropped it when the lens was out it still worked! The only thing is when you want to record a video it doesn't have a light(or maybe I haven't figured it out yet). But other than that it's awesome and easy to use. The zoom is great too. Great quality for an even greater price.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
no idea
By sue79Verified Purchaser from Cranston,Rhode Island on 7/31/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone):

Honestly, I could not possibly tell whether this camera proves to be better than the other three canon cameras that I had already bought starting from whe I was still working in Saudi Arabia with the manual type one up until the last two digital ones I bought with Ritz camera store in the last three years because when I started to operate the camera I receive from the mail my excitement turned into frustration because the camera I received had a factory defect. I was glad I did not have it packed in a gift package otherwise my daughter to whom I would have given this camera as a gift will be very frustrated the way I feel right now. I was glad I order it ahead of time and decided to check it before actually giving it to her. I know each and every manufacturer has it's own failure as we say no one is perfect. [...]

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I always trust Canon Cameras
By Zette from Cranston, Rhode Island on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot SD1100 IS Digital Camera (Golden Tone):

From the very first time I was financially able to buy a camera canon has always been my brand of choice. My first was when I was working in Saudi Arabia and at that time manual type and not digital camera were in the market. Then five years ago I my kids bought me a camera as a birthday present the model I cannot remember but it was a 5 megapixel digicam almost similar to the A530 in appearance. Then I got myself another 1 a Powershot A630 6 megapixel of which both so far I have no complaints. Now I saw a higher megapizel cam in this model SD1100 IS which I much much higher in funtionality in term of picture taking for a frequent but non professional user like me. I also love the golden tone color of the camera

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.