Buy the PowerShot G9 Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
PowerShot G9 Digital Camera image
 
(based on 34 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
Take Creative Command of Your Images. Given the success of Canon''s highly acclaimed G Series, it''s no surprise that ambitious photographers have been eagerly anticipating the next model in its evolution. The wait has paid off handsomely with the introduction of the PowerShot G9. In image quality and functionality, the G9 stands above the competition with 12.1 megapixels of resolution, a 6x optical zoom with Optical Image Stabilizer, and RAW mode for the ultimate in creative control. Sophisticated design and high-quality construction complement the technology and make the G9 a camera to be reckoned with.
  • The PowerShot Powerhouse: A class-leading 12.1 Megapixel digital camera with unique Canon DIGIC III Image Processor, 6x Optical Zoom and Optical Image Stabilizer.
  • Full range of shooting and recording modes including JPEG + RAW for the ultimate in creative control.
  • Optical viewfinder plus large high-quality 3.0-inch PureColor LCD II screen for bright, accurate color with greater viewing from a wider angle and with an anti-glare, anti-scratch coating.
  • Genuine Canon Face Detection Technology sets the focus, exposure and flash automatically, leaving you free to compose a group, capture an unguarded moment, or coax the perfect smile. Plus the new Face Selector Button lets you select the primary face.
  • Compatible with a wide range of accessories including EOS Speedlites, Canon supplementary lenses and a waterproof case.
  • Print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloading, plus ID Photo Print and Movie Print with select PIXMA Photo Printers, CP and SELPHY Compact Photo Printers.
With an unprecedented level of power, control and elegance, Canon''s new PowerShot G9 is the most advanced PowerShot camera ever introduced. This compact, 12.1-megapixel gem incorporates Canon''s most advanced technologies for speedy image capture and processing, plus the cleanest, largest image files ever to come among its class. With a 6x Optical Zoom with Genuine Canon Optical Image Stabilizer, Canon''s DIGIC III Image Processor with Face Detection AF/AE/FE, a stunning 3.0-inch PureColor LCD II screen and the ability to save both JPEG and RAW files, the PowerShot G9 offers no-compromise, SLR level performance that goes just about everywhere. It''s the perfect camera for brilliant photography every day.

The PowerShot G9 offers best-in-class resolution with an all-new Ultra-High Definition 12.1-megapixel CCD sensor with lossless RAW capabilities. Combined with Canon''s DIGIC III Image Processor, the G9 creates tremendous image files that can be printed poster-size, offer more than enough resolution for cropping and offer unlimited post-processing possibilities with RAW files and Canon''s Raw Image Task software. With RAW files, no matter what setting is used for a shot, parameters such as color balance, noise reduction, exposure and sharpness can be revisited and changed on a computer screen. The G9 is designed to speedily process image data, capturing both JPEG and RAW images simultaneously so each image is saved quickly and the camera is ready to capture another shot right away. You can enjoy image quality and performance on par with professional digital SLR cameras without the bulk.

With a Canon 6x optical zoom lens (7.4-44.4mm f/2.8-4.8) with a 35mm film equivalent of 35-210mm, and Optical Image Stabilizer Technology, the PowerShot G9 is suitable for almost anything including landscape, action, portrait and macro photography. It can focus from 0.39 inch (Macro mode) to infinity, and utilizes Canon''s superlative TTL AF system. It sports Canon''s exclusive Optical Image Stabilizer that detects and effectively cancels camera shake, perfect for shooting in dim lighting situations, indoors without a flash and at the end of the zoom range. In addition to Canon''s Optical Image Stabilizer, the G9''s zoom lens incorporates many of Canon''s most sophisticated optical technologies to achieve nothing short of Canon clarity: consistent brightness and sharpness throughout the zoom range. Precision-engineered elements reduce and correct aberrations, while Canon''s SR coating technology virtually eliminates ghosting. Simply put, this lens, paired with the G9''s 12.1-megapixel CCD sensor is a perfect match.

While elegant and simple to use, the PowerShot G9 hosts a number of sophisticated technologies: Canon''s Face Detection AF/AE/FE analyses the image, finds faces, tracks them and selects the appropriate focus for them. It controls exposure (and flash) to ensure proper illumination of both the faces and the overall scene, eliminating the common problem of backlit or overexposed faces. Also the G9 has a new Face Selector feature which you can manually choose and keep focusing on a specific face within the multiple faces in the frame. With an ISO Dial, it''s easy to change ISO settings up to ISO 1600. There''s even an Auto ISO Shift feature to ensure the best exposure possible and a Red-eye Correction feature that corrects red-eye during playback.

  • XIII Image Processor
    The DIGIC III Image Processor is the latest iteration of Canon''s own DIGIC technology and delivers superior image quality, ultraresponsive performance and extended battery life. DIGIC III Image Processor provides a speedier interface plus more sophistication in instant image analysis and correction.
  • Superior AF
    The PowerShot G9 features Canon''s newest evolution in focus: AF Frame size selection. Now you have a choice of either normal or small AF areas, which makes it easier to achieve sharp focus in very specific areas of the frame. Combined with Face Detection, 9-point AiAF or with FlexiZone AF, the choice of focus point size greatly enhances your options for any given situation.

No PowerShot camera has ever offered the instinctive, easy to use and yet powerful interface of the PowerShot G9. A true extension of your eye, the G9 has a Mode Dial, a control dial and an ISO Dial for instant ISO setting changes. The G9''s improved 3.0-inch PureColor LCD II screen offers a tremendous live preview of your image with all shooting data displayed. It even offers a real-time histogram to help fine-tune exposure and it can display the camera''s ISO, aperture and shutter speed. The G9''s Image Inspection Tool has been enhanced to enable you to check critical focus points immediately, with detected faces and focus points displayed prominently during playback. You can even choose to resize the images in the camera, for faster transmission or to clear up space on your memory cards.

While the PowerShot G9 is a robust, adaptable and powerful camera in its own right, Canon offers a number of Speedlite flashes and optional accessories to enhance and extend the G9''s capabilities. Thanks to its built-in hot shoe, the PowerShot G9 works seamlessly with Canon''s EX Series Speedlite flashes and has access to their features through the camera''s LCD. The G9 can use FP flash, FE lock, FE compensation, and even manual flash metering (with Speedlite 580EX II attached), extending the G9''s use as a powerful, creative photographic tool. The G9 is also compatible with wide converter and tele converter lenses, and Waterproof Case. Moreover, connect the camera to a PictBridge compatible printer, and print large-format stunning images directly from the camera just by pressing the Print/Share Button. There''s almost nothing the PowerShot G9 can''t do.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 34 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(17), Easy to setup(23), Easy to use(8), Excellent in low light(6), Fast shutter speed(4)
Best Uses:
Art(15), Documentary(7), Fun(21), Home(6), Office(3)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(7), Enthusiast(21), Professional(4)
 
Point and Shoot like a Pro.
By Ju Ju BeanVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

The camera has the easiest manual functions that i have found on a point and shoot camera. It changes visual exposure on the LCD screen to help you choose the proper exposure. The ISO is easy to control, and the RAW files are great. Vintage classic style and very strong. I am very happy with the camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Closest point & shoot to an SLR
By TeresaVerified Purchaser from San Francisco on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Affordable, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Compact size for ability, Controls always close by, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Many Options, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Macro shots, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

You can shoot in raw (unless you're in auto mode). It has so many features that you can continually learn more and more about it. It's compact enough to carry it with you at all times. I've been using it for months now and can't find anything even remotely wrong with it.

Images shared by: Teresa

Close up on beauty

Image Thumbnail
 
Wonderful!
By deedeeVerified Purchaser from Columbia,South Carolina on 7/31/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

After reading numerous other reviews I bought this camera and love it! I am a bad camera person and know nothing about them. After years of using [$] throw away cameras and comparing my cruise "pictures" to my professional photographer cousin's cruise pictures I decided I wanted a good camera. Even he was impressed with this one. I had taken pictures of my husband and printed them within 10 minutes of receiving it! With no help! Buy this camera, you will not be disappointed.

 
i would buy this product again
By ronVerified Purchaser from southbridge, mass on 7/31/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, I use the camera for wed, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

this camera is a great buy for money.

 
This is a Camera!!
By DeadEyeDocVerified Purchaser from Mesa, Az. on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

This is a camera one can grow into, for me it will take quite a while, I've got a lot of room to grow! I love this camera, does everything you ever wanted, and was afraid to ask for! Beautiful LCD screen, easy to handle, fairly small, easy to hold, and takes fabulous pictures!

 
GREAT CAMERA [...]
By BVVerified Purchaser from UPLAND CA on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I have purchased and used this camera and it is great. [...]

 
Canon G9 = Great Pictures
By LindaVerified Purchaser from Sarasota, Florida on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I used this camera on safari in Africa and had pictures that were as good as any body on the safari. I bought the wide angle and zoom lenses.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
i would buy this product over and over
By pomVerified Reviewer from batroun,lebanon on 7/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time, Small LCD Screen
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

i mostly use it outdoors on the beach and occasions. it just captures the real essence of the moment like no other camera.

 
good to see me look like me on low light
By kc5hsa from tulsa ok on 7/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

has real buttons for things i need,has red-eye correction in camera works well you need it with flash so close to lens angel true for all cameras addon flash thank you will fix this The flash covers pretty evenly in dark clubs it feels like it will not fall apart.kc5hsa

 
takes great pictures
By katiejo from Columbus, Oh on 7/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction, Wonderful pictures
Cons:
Just a little heavy
Best Uses:
family, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I use the camera for taking pictures of my grandchildren and my pets. They always take very clear photos.

 
What a camera?
By Don the photographer from Aurora, IL on 7/21/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I upgraded from a Canon G6 to a G9 based on excellent results with the G6. The camera will be used for family gatherings and nature photography including vacations. Stills and video clips of both "scenary" and grandchildren are used. This was enjoyed with the G6 but will be indescribably better with the G9 because of the much brighter LCD, the 30 frame/sec movies, and the higher resolution. The controls are much more straightforward and the array of special "scene" settings more complete. The compactness of the camera is a plus, too.

 
I chose Wisely!
By BanjokingVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, FL on 7/20/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Large LCD Display, Live View Framing LCD, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I was considering going to an SLR and was looking at lower priced ones such as Sony a200, or Nikon D40, when I discovered that none of the SLR cameras had the three main traits I wanted until in the $800 range. I wanted Live View LCD while framing a shot, Large 2.7 or 3" LCD, and Short Lag time between shots. I stayed with the compact point and shoot format and chose the Canon G9 because is was only [$]and had every thing I was looking for plus many, many other features. When in Auto mode, everytime you push the button you get a picture, no waiting, no delays.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great travel and daily companion camera
By laceladyVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 7/5/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Famliy candids, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

Awesome camera, just came back from Istanbul and used it indoors, low light, underground, etc. and the shots are clear, crisp and fantastic. I wanted a camera that I could carry on me at all times and travel with safely and the G9 does all I wanted and more. Image quality is great, rivaling my Canon 40D that I use in my photography business. Absolutely love the G9 and highly recommend it.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
What an awesome camera! Takes A-1 pixs!
By poleclimber007Verified Reviewer from Aroostook county, Maine USA on 6/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, small to carryeasy to use, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Great in a crowd, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

love the rechargeable battery, and its user friendly charging unit. I use my camera every day.I can catch a butterfly in flight or an eagle soaring toward the forests: baby smiles and grandmas watching their grandbabies.If the memory card isn't in the camera, it won't record the pixs. (operator error!)

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Digital SLR power without the heavy bag!
By rjawa from Marin County, CA on 6/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, One of a kind, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I have the canon EOS 5D and love this little powershot for it's ease in giving me instant gratification.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Stuff!
By Diver grrlVerified Reviewer from Maui, HI on 5/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

Fabulous camera! Easy to use and takes amazing pics with great quality. You can shoot in RAW if you like. Has manual and automatic features and the pictures come out very clear. You can also order an underwater case and shoot all kinds of marine life. There's a underwater option on the camera as well. Lost my first one on a drift dive, and am getting ready to purchase a new one, because I had so much fun with it.

[8 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great all-around camera!
By Artist formerly known as RuthVerified Reviewer from W.S. N.C. on 4/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I bought this camera after reading other reviews and am not disappointed! I wanted a smaller, strong alternative to my rebel and the G9 delivers. I can do most of what I could do with the rebel, but it fits in my pocket. Plus the 12 megapixels is so impressive for shooting my painting subjects (animals). I would recommend this camera to anyone looking for the perfect digital camera.

Images shared by: Artist formerly known as Ruth

The first shot with the G9!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[8 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW
By ANGCKVerified Reviewer from Escondido, CA on 3/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Easy to use, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

After searching for weeks, I finally found this gem.
I bought it and couldn't be more excited. When I opened the box, all I had to do was insert the memory card and battery and it was good to go! The features on this thing are incredible! My favorite thing is the options you have. I like that it has settings for all types of situations like foliage, and fireworks! wwoooww those disneyland firework photos came out great with this camera!! One of the things that really caught my attention with the features was that the ISO adjustment is on a dial on the top, so it saves a ton of time. But the main reason I bought this was the awesome pictures that came out of it! All of my friends are jealous when we go out and I whip out my camera. The images are crystal clear and I can print them really big thanks to the amazing 12.1 mega pixels!!!
The zoom works really good as well. I can take close up pictures of people from far away. You know, like paparazzi style so they can't see me
hahaha

I really do love this camera and plan on using it FOREVER.

Images shared by: ANGCK

At the beach

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

another beach scene

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW love it !
By parkave cowboy from seattle on 3/5/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I am very happy with this camera no disappointments at all.Canon G9 is the way to go.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera All Around
By Josh from Seattle, WA on 2/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy to Keep Clean, Pro manual controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Distortion, Lens intrusion
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I use this camera when I travel because I cannot fit my larger equipment in my carry on. The Canon is most useful when hiking, walking, and traveling. The tough rugged design ensures it will operate if dropped while in a backpack.

Other than the lens intrusion in the viewfinder and the distortion when blown up, I would recommend This camera to anyone. There isn't a compact camera on the market that matches up to it.

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
wonderful things come in small packages
By 65-GT350 from Moraga, CA on 1/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Built in lense cover, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Good looking, Large clear view screen, Larger CCD, Manual Controls, Optical stablization, Optical ViewFinder, RAW Format, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Combination controls
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I will be upfront that the only reason I did not purchase an SLR is am lazy. I am tired of carrying camera bags with a spare lense. When I covering a turn at a automotive race, it can be tiring holding the extra weight while you wait or track the cars around the track for the action shot. On day trips, there was not safe place to store in my SUV so I always had to carry the bag with me. However, with these prosumer compacts I can fit the camera bag in the console storage.Is use the camera outdoors and indoors, scenic, macro for flowers and insects, nature, animals, aquariums, and action - automotive sports. I have a G3 which I love but I wanted something with higher optical zoom and megapixals but yet not lose any functionality. Played with Sonys but I prefer the quality and color of photos from the prosumer cannons. The compacts with extreme optical zoom (e.g. S5IS) did not seem to take as nice a photo when blown up, were a little slower, lacked an optical view finder, smaller CCD, and near the size of an SLR. I thought that I would miss the flipout screen that my G3 has but you can actually view the large screen on the G9 from all angles so I can take photos with camera held above and below my head. The 6X optical zoom covers most of what I am looking for and I am considering purchasing the telephoto lense attachment. I read some people think it is too heavy. However, relative to the features and capabilities of the camera, I think the camera is very compact and not heavy at all. I found the long zoom compacts to be more on the borderline heavy side. Furthermore, I am not planning to carry it in my shirt pocket. I fits fine in some of jacket pockets. The one thing that can be a challenge is learning to work the controls when a combination of actionsa required. It would have been little nicer if the optical view finder was a little larger. With the limited room for hand placement on the camera this can be challenge at times, but I am just learning. I did have one problem with the camera, when I went to format the new SD card the card failed and shut down the camera. Prior to formating the card the camera was able to read the available memory on the card so I am unclear as to why the card failed. I never had a brand new quality card fail when it being formated. I waiting for the [...] to get their shipment of new G9s so I can switch this one out just in case. Nonetheless, when I installed a new card same size, speed and manufacturer, it formated fine so the problem could have been the card (1 in a million).I took the camera to the acquarium and was very pleased with its ability in low light conditions without a flash. I also like the ability to save photos in RAW which is what my G3 did. Battery life is good and I prefer not carrying a bunch of AA batteries. I plan to purchase a spare battery. I think that should be good enough to last a long weekend.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Blew me away!
By Alex newVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 1/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Crystal clear pictures, Nice attractive build
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I have had this camera for less than a month and already love it! I had been searching for a good point and shoot for a while and I looked for no other than CANON. The pictures that you get out of this camera are astounding and unbeatable!
What I really like about this camera is that it isn't a dinky little pocket camera; you actually feel like you're holding a piece of equipment in your hands. and 12.1 megapixels?! gotta love it!! I took this on my latest vacation, and couldn't stop using it. The zoom on this camera is amazing! It still mantains clarity when zoomed all the way out!! I love the camera's abilities to reduce camera shake(for those of us who's hands can't really replace a tripod.)I'm pretty much in love with this camera!!

The only things I don't like about it are the low light usage(sluggish) and the shutter speed( i can't exactly capture moving objects too well)
But I found myself not really stressing over that after I saw most of the pictures showing up perfect!!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Camera, Rivals Any DSLR
By PhotodudeVerified Reviewer from Orlando, Florida on 12/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Good lowlight performance, Great Battery Life, Has Camera RAW mode
Cons:
No include remote
Best Uses:
Anything you photograph
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

The camera offers a novice a great camera to grow into while the more advanced shooter will be so pleased with the quality of images. While shooting on automatic will yield images with accurate, vibrant colors full of detail for close crops and enlargements there is also complete manual controls to further enhance the shooting experience. One major benefit of the camera is being able to shoot in Camera Raw mode. The previous version had omitted this function and after complaints Canon brought it back. Not everyone will shoot in RAW but true enthusiasts will welcome this option. Canon, however, had included a wireless remote with the last version and does not include one with the G9. I totally love this camera. It goes eveyrwhere with me and many times I leave my DSLR at home.

Images shared by: Photodude

Gorgeous Fall Folliage

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Improvement Over My Old G6
By Minerva33 from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, hobbies, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I can't begin to tell you how much I am enjoying learning how to use this camera!

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Holy Cow!
By StalwartVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, Arizona on 10/19/2007
Pros:
Amazing Quality, Bright LCD, Control, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Light weight, Photo Printing, Poster Printing, RAW, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Software
Best Uses:
Art, Crazy moments, Details, Indoor Photography, Macro shots, Outdoors, Portraits, Short movies, Technical Photos, Travel, Underwater photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, prosumer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I'm an enthusiastic enthusiast who has rediscovered the joy of photography.

The color accuracy, noise free enlargements and lifelike prints from the Canon G9 are superior to anything I've seen from any other enthusiast/prosumer camera, (including most DSLR's). Even the movie modes work better than expected.

Some unexpected surprises:

The G9's face detection system truly works, (don't snub your nose at this feature either...) give it a chance and save the metering and people posing headaches.

The 3" hi-res screen resolution is better than I hoped, at all viewing angles, and is (almost) smudge proof.

Try using the digital zoom, (don't laugh) it does a mighty fine job when the safety zoom feature is activated and only reduces the resolution slightly... surely fine for small poster printing... and it does extend the zoom quite a bit.

A sad bit of news though, the bundled software is disappointing. You are (almost) better off sticking with the standard OS programs for viewing and light retouching. Why would Canon not team up with a photo editing software vendor to offer a prosumer editing/raw processing program? At this price it is sad to see such an oversight.

FYI: I tried the Canon G7 and Panasonic LX2 and the printed enlargements were noisy, and somewhat flat looking. Not so with the G9 under like conditions.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Camera Especially for Print Wk
By Big Robert [@]Verified Reviewer from Palmdale, Ca on 10/13/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Business Owner, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

This is a great camera and you can't go wrong with it. However, it's too heavy to use as an all day pocket camera (go with the Canon PowerShot SD950).

In my situation, I have the Nikon D40x for the good photo work and wanted a light weight (high mega pixel...for print work) pocket camera for the travel & easy to carry stuff and the G9 doesn't fit the bill.

Now with that said, if you want just one camera to do double duty, then the G9 is a great camera!

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Its the best in the market right now..
By Ana from Jersey City , NJ on 10/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Captures details, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Good flash, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

Hi , I researched a lot cause I wanted to buy a really good camera , so that I dont have to bother about upgrading it in a year or so..and Canon G9 fit the bill perfectly...It is a powerful camera and easy to handle..i cud start taking pictures almost 5 min after i bought it ...Not only that..everyone i have sent the pictures too , now wants to change thier camera..It is really that good..and the details in the photo are awesome...

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I will buy one more
By erineVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas NV on 10/5/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

Best camer i seen in a long time

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great little camera
By Tex-piVerified Reviewer from Austin, Tx on 10/2/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

Great for investigators, easy to carry and use in most situations I come across. Great detail on photos, helps make the case.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Camera
By Phil of Texas from Houston TX on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

Camera provides everything a prosumer would want-it's small enough, feature-laden and powerful enough to do almost anything a DSLR can do-without the added bulk.
The ability to handle Canon speedlight flashes and the lens accessories make the package even more applealing. PS: The pictures are the best digital photos I have ever taken! Way to go Canon!

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quality and value
By SeabareVerified Reviewer from SW Florida on 9/24/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

I would buy a 2nd Canon G9 just to have as a spare i like it so much. It is a bit bigger than a pocket cam but i love it. It's great having the option not to be fully automatic and use the manual settings . Great 3 inch LCD sreen and a view finder plus IS

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great photos in digital zoom
By Tom from Austin, Texas on 9/21/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Resolution, Zoom clarity
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

Lots of features, easy to use.
Great quality pictures.
You won't be dissapointed!

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a great camera.
By inalam from Baton Rouge LA on 9/18/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

Very good camera for beginners

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon G9
By Canon man from Texas on 9/10/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use
Cons:
None that i noticed
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot G9 Digital Camera:

Good bang for the buck upgraded from the G5 nice features easy to use. A small problem with redeeye but be fixed with software

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.