Buy the Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens image
 
(based on 49 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Spirit of Photography. Welcome to the next generation of digital SLR photography-the Canon EOS 40D. The via software. By shooting a plain white subject, the photographer can acquire dust position data that is transmitted along with the image (whether JPEG or RAW). Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP) version 3.1 or higher software can then be used to manually or automatically erase the dust spots. It's not one feature, it's a built-in system to minimize the effect of dust in high-resolution digital images.

Self Cleaning Sensor Unit - A key element of minimizing dust is preventing it from clinging to the front surface of the imaging sensor. To combat against this, the EOS 40D features a Canon-designed Self Cleaning Sensor Unit. The low-pass filter at the front of the sensor shakes off dust automatically with ultrasonic vibrations, removing dust from the sensor assembly.

Dust Delete Data Detection - Dust that may still remain on the front of the sensor can also be erased with software included in Digital Photo Professional (DPP) Version 3.1 or higher. A simple test shot of a plain, white object can be taken, using a menu setting. This Dust Delete Data image is analyzed in-camera, and the location and size of any remaining dust is added to any subsequent pictures taken. This data is transmitted along with the image, whether JPEG or RAW, and can be either manually or automatically erased in Canon's DPP version 3.1 and up. This added software option ensures the cleanest possible image, perfect for printing or archiving.

Picture Style settings - With Picture Style technology and the EOS 40D, photographers can recreate characteristics of their favorite films. Color, saturation, sharpness and contrast settings create noticeable variation in the saved image. In addition to six preset Picture Style settings (Standard, Portrait, Landscape, Neutral, Faithful and Monochrome), users can create three additional settings for their particular photographic style.

Picture Style Settings
SettingDescriptionSaturationSharpness
Standard (default setting)Vivid, sharp images; usable in a wide variety of conditions; optimal for direct printing without post-processing.HighSlightly High
PortraitWarmer skin tones, with slightly more contrast than Neutral.Slightly HighSlightly Low
LandscapeExtremely bright, saturated and sharpened images, with emphasis on blue and green color saturation.High Green-BlueHigh
NeutralLow sharpening, contrast and saturation: the ideal starting point for image-editing in the computer.LowNone
FaithfulAccurate reproduction of the subject's colors based on colorimetric data; assumes 5500K light source.LowNone
MonochromeBlack & White images; adjustable contrast, sharpening, as well as color toning and effects of traditional color filters.None (Monochrome)Slightly High

The most diverse composing options available in digital photography - Large 3.0-inch LCD monitor and advanced Live View Function with new options for reduced shutter time lag and quiet operation.

Live View Function is a powerful feature on the EOS 40D. It enables viewing your subjects directly on the huge 3-inch LCD monitor. It's easy to magnify any part of the scene 5x or 10x for precise manual focus. But now, one press of the AF-on button gives instant access to AF; Live View Function returns as soon as the button is released. Users can even choose a grid overlay, perfect for keeping straight lines in your subject straight in your pictures. In the Studio, Live View Function can be used remotely via a computer through the EOS 40D's USB connection, or wirelessly or via Ethernet with the Wireless File Transmitter WFT-E3A attached. Live View Function also adds a totally new method for near-silent shooting, with two silent shooting modes. A new AF ON button, positioned for easy reach with the right thumb, can instantly allow AF whenever it's depressed in Live View Function. (Live View Function is temporarily cleared for AF, and returns immediately when the user's thumb is removed from the button.)

Shooting and Sharing Made Easy - Wide range of accessories, including interchangeable focusing screens, extensive remote control options, and new battery grip BG-E2N.

EF & EF-S Lenses - EOS 40D is compatible with all Canon lenses in the EF and EF-S lineup, ranging from ultra-wide angle to super telephoto lenses. Canon lenses employ advanced optical expertise and micron-precision engineering to deliver unprecedented performance in all facets of the photographic process. Special optical technologies, such as Aspherical, ultra-low dispersion, or fluorite elements are featured in the universally acclaimed L Series lenses, and Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology in select lenses minimizes the effect of camera shake. Through Canon lenses, photographers can truly maximize the quality and liberating performance of the EOS 40D.

Flash Photography - The EOS 40D features the acclaimed E-TTL II flash metering system. With any of the flashes in the EX Speedlite line, E-TTL II provides reliable flash output whether shooting fill-in flash pictures in sunlight, or using flash in total darkness. With E-TTL II, the exact same 35-zone metering sensor used for measuring ambient light is also used for flash metering - giving even finer metering command of the image area. If you prefer a broader area for flash metering, there's a menu setting to change to Average flash metering?where the entire 35-zone area is measured evenly for flash exposure.

Canon's Speedlite 580EX II is perfectly suited to the EOS 40D. It has improved reliability of communications through the direct contacts, has a metal flash foot, and is dust- and water-resistant. Other new features include a PC socket on the flash unit, and an external metering sensor for non-TTL auto flash if desired. With the EOS 40D, you can set most flash settings directly from the camera's menus. It has the same power as the previous Speedlite 580EX (maximum guide number of 190 ft./58m at ISO 100) and, when mounted on the camera, automatically compensates for the camera's sensor size, enabling high output flash, with more flashes per charge. It includes an AF-assist Beam, which works in conjunction with the EOS 40D's focusing system, and automatically sends color temperature information to the camera when the flash fires, for more accurate white balance rendition with flash photography

Software - Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk (Version 15.0)

The EOS 40D comes bundled with an updated Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk, which features powerful software programs designed to extend the EOS experience to the computer. These include Canon's ZoomBrowser EX for Windows? (Version 5.8), ImageBrowser for Macintosh? OS X (Version 5.8), Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.1), the totally new Picture Style Editor (Version 1.0), Canon's EOS Utility (Version 2.1), RAW Image Task (Version 2.7), PhotoStitch, and PTP TWAIN Driver. Each application is designed to perfect captured images and streamline the digital workflow. ZoomBrowser EX v.5.8 and Digital Photo Professional v.3.1 for Windows are compatible with the new Windows Vista operating system, too.

Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.1) - is an image processing program that enables high-speed RAW image processing, high-speed previewing for real-time image adjustment and support for sRGB, Adobe RGB and Wide Gamut RGB color spaces. Because it's CMS (Color Management System) compatible, Digital Photo Professional allows for easy image layout and printing in Adobe RGB in conjunction with Easy-PhotoPrint and PictBridge printers. It also features the Dust Delete Data Detection tool for cleaner images.

EOS Utility (Version 2.1) for Macintosh or Windows - handles the connection between the camera and computer, whenever they're connected via USB. It allows remote controlled shooting from the computer, handles downloading of images from the camera to the computer, and allows seamless linking to either Canon's ZoomBrowser/ImageBrowser or Digital Photo Professional software once images have been copied to the hard drive. Furthermore, it's used to upload settings back into a USB-connected camera.

ZoomBrowser EX (Version 5.8) for Windows and ImageBrowser (Version 5.8) for Mac OS X - are the easy, user-friendly options for viewing and editing of JPEG and even RAW image files. Both allow viewing of numerous types of images including finished TIFF and BMP files. Both also have a variety of search options for finding images, allow re-naming of single images or batches of files, and offer a variety of options for printing without using a separate image-editing program.

RAW Image Task (Version 2.7) for Windows/Macintosh - This software is an integrated component of ZoomBrowser EX (Windows) or ImageBrowser (Mac). It allows processing of RAW images from EOS cameras, including the new EOS 40D, with a variety of adjustment possibilities. These options, as well as the overall color, contrast and look of RAW Image Task, closely mimic the characteristics of Canon's in-camera JPEG processing.

Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens

Standard range zoom lens with an Image Stabilizer and high zoom ratio. With the Image Stabilizer turned on, you can obtain sharp, natural-looking pictures in dim lighting without using flash or a tripod. Very handy for places where flash is prohibited. Uses ring-type USM for swift, silent autofocus and full-time manual focus. Closest focusing distance is 20 in. (50cm).

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 49 reviews)
92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(7), Excellent in low light(3), Fast shutter speed(6), Great picture quality(5), Great resolution(3)
Cons:
Heavy(3), LCD fragile/scratches(4), Loud(3)
Best Uses:
Art(26), Documentary(10), Fun(40), Home(3), Outdoors(3)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(3), Casual user(4), Enthusiast(29), Photo enthusiast(6), Professional(5)
 
A Great Upgrade!
By Photo MomVerified Reviewer from Ambler, PA on 3/2/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

Better buy than 50D. Could be too heavy for some, but I think it feels sturdy.

 
Canon Camera worth it?
By FivefischVerified Reviewer from Saint Louis, MO on 1/8/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Can't get enough of it, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Anything you can think of, Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I have had this camera for about 10 months now. I do not have any complaints. Great settings for the amateur and great advanced settings that you can program and adjust. Highly recommending!

 
GREAT BUY!!!!
By Eddie Young from Arlington, Texas on 12/28/2008
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I do many different kinds of pictures and this camera can do it all! Its probably one of my best investments, 6.5 fps, great image quality, and the body fits perfect in my hands

 
Love this camera
By BrummyVerified Purchaser from Ohio on 12/22/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Cons:
None at this time
Best Uses:
Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This is a nice up-grade to my Canon 20D

 
EOS 40D, what a camera!
By CliffVerified Reviewer from Abilene, Texas on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I borrowed this camera from a friend of mine, as I only have a Canon EOS 10S 35 MM. What an incredible camera the 40D is. This is #1 on my wish list this year. I am amazed at the incredible advances Canon has made since my EOS 10S. Congratulations on a great product.

 
perfect camera
By iceburn79Verified Reviewer from Monrovia, CA on 11/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Shutter Speed, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Macro Photography, Portraits, Sports, Travel, Wedding
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

perfect on every shot, great image and good camera also for beginner.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use camera but...
By DNRVerified Purchaser from San Diego on 10/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Heavy
Best Uses:
Art, School
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

My Canon is less than a year old and has required warranty service twice. The first time both LCD screens needed to be replaced. One had dust behind the screen and the other screen was discolored. The second time I had to send in the camera was due to a faulty error messege that would not go away.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love it
By Marty92 from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is on of the best i have used for the price.

Images shared by: Marty92

see its a great camera!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
CANON 40D
By No. 1 SonVerified Purchaser from Suffolk, VA on 9/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This is my third CANON camera(Pellix, EOS 630)so my experience goes back a ways. Though I have used NIKON and OLYMPUS, I have throughly enjoyed this camera, lens, flash. It was recently used for photography of my International Church Conference and a trip to Disney World following and there were few shots that I did not like. The camera is well designed, especially the thumb wheel. Still there are functions built into this 40D that I have yet to learn, but its going to be fun and an exciting learning process.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
out standing camera
By dwrightVerified Reviewer from jacksonville fl on 9/8/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Loud, Shaky Operation, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

i have used all canon cameras before i wanted to up grade to a better camera

Images shared by: dwright

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best camera I have every used!
By RyanVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 9/5/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I have been using the Canon 30D for a while, and when this camera came along I had to see what the fuss was about. It is a great camera! Canon really out did themselves!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Performs Great Just Some Tweaking needed
By MartyVerified Purchaser from Milwaukee, WI on 8/27/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Live View's Limited Use
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

The 40D performed better than I could have imagined. It is an incredible upgrade from the out of date 30D. Its has the right weight and you don't worry about it just falling apart in your hand. My only problems with the 40D are in the LCD and the live view functions. The LCD shows things after zooming that on printing are shown out of focus that actually are in focus, and live view functions are limited to only manual fxns and I find that the times that I would actually use it would be when I need to trust the camera to do the work with auto fxns. Other than that it is a great camera. I recommend it for all. Canon has never let me down, I bet it wont let you down.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Great Buy
By DonnaVerified Purchaser from Rhode Island on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

Pictures are clear and easiliy enlarged or altered.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
40D brings the smile you've never been
By Louie MVerified Purchaser from Azusa, CA on 8/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I could readily snap a shot in every scene that caught my interest. It's the fastest, reliable and most accurate friend I always bring with.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I really enjoy Canon's features
By Koda RayVerified Purchaser from Hollister, CA on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

really enjoy using Canon equipment after years of using a manual Nikon.

Images shared by: Koda Ray

Alaska

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera and love the lens
By Day LilyVerified Purchaser from Asheville, NC on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

It is more of a professional camera. However it is not difficult to learn, and it is also a camera that anybody can grow with. It is probably one digital SLR you will ever need.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent choice
By ClickerVerified Purchaser from Long Island, NY on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Avail shooting options, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I have loved photography since I was young. I had my first slr in HS, and have taken a few photography classes. I then bought a Pentax K1000. That was my best investment. It was a great camera to really experience what I have learned. Then life got busy and so it was point shoot for everything until Kodak came out with the P880. I saw it in an ad and I decided to renew my love for photography. That was what gave me the itch to buy a real DSLR. I did some research and found that the Canon had everything I would need, and then some. So I decided on the 40D five months ago and I have not been sorry.
This camera is a little more substantial than the P880, but it is easy to handle. The grip is comfortable and the shutter button is in a good spot. The control dials are east to find while shotting and are customizable to your needs
At first I was a little overwhelmed by it. It has so many functions. I made it point to study the manual to familiarize myself with the buttons and menus. It may help to pick up a video on the 40D as I did, which I found helpful.
At first I only used the auto setting for all my shots. Just to get a feel for how this camera operates. Then I would try to take the same shot in another mode say AV or TV using the auto readings as a guide. Now I never use the auto setting anymore. Full Manual mode is a breeze.
I have found it much easier to use the buttons on the top on the camera for the settings. All of your basic adjustments are at your fingertips.
Another great feature is that this camera can be customized to your needs. It has many setup options,whether it be for pro use or just taking pictures at the kids soccer games. It also has ability to save three customized setings for easy use for common situations you may have.
It is fast too. 6 frames per second. I like the auto focus and image stabilizer lenses. Paired up with one of the many Canon lenses you will get rich crisp beautiful pictures.
I am certainly very happy with this camera.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
If you miss old SLR...but love digital
By RobbiesmomVerified Purchaser from Lakes Region, New Hampshire on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud, Weight
Best Uses:
Animal action, Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I purchased this when I got a new puppy. It is very good for getting candid shots from a distance. I love the manual zoom lens for getting exactly where I want to be as quickly as possible. Also, the sports action mode is great for the "athletes-in-motion" scenario. I have taken great shots of dogs doing agility. I love the feel of camera that feels 'real', although this one is a bit heavier than I expected. But, the great grip and control placement make its weight not much of an issue.

Images shared by: Robbiesmom

Brady and Robbie playing

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Edited with Photoshop, Made with Product

 
Great Performer studio/outdoors
By AzharleyVerified Purchaser from San Diego on 7/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

With the unlimited choices in lenses, and the great features of this new canon. You can photograph anything your heart can imange!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Super Camera.....
By GillianVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

Great camera [...]

 
Best camera around!
By KayVerified Purchaser from Griffin, GA on 7/24/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is amazing! I would recommed this camera in a heartbeat! I am thoroughly please with my purchase.

Images shared by: Kay

flowers

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

My dog, Tank

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Great!
By SRowser from Chicago, IL on 7/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

Great!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worthy every penny!!!
By raeandronVerified Reviewer from Houston, Tx. on 7/13/2008
Pros:
Controls well laid out, Picture Quality, Professional contruction, Professional quality, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Live View is clunky
Best Uses:
Documentary, Family Photos, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I would higly recommend this to anyone who carves more power than the entry level DSLR's and who doesn't have the budget to upgrade into a [$]camera. I have been really pleased with the performance, handling, quality, and construction of the 40D. This one is built to last longer than a regular entry level [$] so you can take more pictures. Shutter is rated for 100,000 shot and my Rebels (x,xt and xti)were only giving me 15,000 so I figured for the price a a rebel and a half I could shot for years with no problems with the shutter. This camera is for the Entusiast/Pro who demands are greater than a casual shooter. Are you taken 10,000 pictures a year average or more? Do you want great pictures and a higher ISO? Do you want a easier to use camera with more control? Then you need this camera.

Images shared by: raeandron

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Best
By MooseVerified Reviewer from Milford, MA on 7/6/2008
Pros:
Battery Life, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast Processor, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, Viewfinder Info
Cons:
Tad on the hefty side
Best Uses:
Great for any use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is the best middle of the road DSLR you could possibly consider. This camera is either fully automatic or fully manual, and there is every conceivable adjustment in between! Strong flash, HUGE bright LCD, informative viewfinder, 3 dial positions to save your most used personal manual settings, screaming 6fps exposure rate, long battery life, self cleaning mirrors and image stabilizing lenses. The camera also has a Digic III processor. This is very important for the speed of the camera, and the fact that this particular processor is currently only found on Canon's very high end pro cameras makes the 40d an even better choice. This is an awesome camera all the way around. I would suggest that if you purchase this to go all out on a memory card that is large and FAST enough for the camera. Buy the best you can afford, and I personally found the SD Extreme III cards fast enough, but would like to get an Extreme IV card to see this camera scream. I wish that Canon would have included a remote shutter release though, that is my only gripe. Enjoy the camera!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Camera
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Knoxville,TN on 6/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Focus very fast, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel, Wild life and sports
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I just bought a Canon after having used a Nikon D50 for a couple of years. The pictures are in much sharper focus. This seems to be a great camera!

 
Great semi-pro camera
By Sean GrogsnVerified Reviewer from Fords, NJ on 6/26/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Ease of use, Shutter Speedfps, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not Full Frame
Best Uses:
Fun, Nature, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

With the 6.5 frames per second shooting, you can shoot sports like a pro without breaking the bank. I have this camera coupled with 28-135mm, 70-300mm, and a 50mm lens to do all my photography. it feels solid in my hands and with the two control wheels make it a snap to change settings, in fact I always activate the control wheel.

my only qualm with it is the lack of full frame, but for journalism and sports there is no need to worry.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
happy, but not happy!
By ckangel from Sapulpa, OK on 6/10/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fun, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I love the camera (Canon 40D)so far. I haven't had it for very long, but so far so good. I am disappointed with Wolf. The day I received the camera through the mail I went into a store and found out it was on sale for [$]less. I contacted the internet cs about a refund or even a store credit for the difference. I was told no because they are 2 seperate stores and I would have to return the camera via mail and then go into a store and purchase to get the lesser price. The camera was convinently taken off the internet at that time. Now 6/10/08 the camera is on sale on line we'll see where I get with the csr this time. I let you know.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
i think it best for the money
By tim RVerified Reviewer from frederick MD on 6/9/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
How about a full frame
Best Uses:
Art, Digital art photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

this is a really good camera , i cant be more happier i have it for about 6 month now... never have problem with it , very strong construction.this is all the photos i took with my canon eos 40d [@]

 
Powerful platform
By ejpolsonVerified Reviewer from Forest Grove OR on 6/6/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

Found the documentation and additional included software well worth the choice. Camera is very comfortable to use.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera for next level photography.
By cgammonsjrVerified Reviewer from Chicago on 5/4/2008
Pros:
Comfortable grip, Fast Focus, Fast shutter
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I used the Canon 40D once and fell in love with it. The initial feel, weight and grip of the camera felt perfect in my hand. Then came the fast focus and shutter speed. And to top it all off the quality of the images are wonderful. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to take a serious step in photography.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it... Love it....
By CharlesVerified Reviewer from Tumwater WA on 4/2/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
None that i can see
Best Uses:
Art, Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is great. I upgraded from a point and shoot to a Rebel XTI and then the 40D. Nothing bad to say as of yet. Except that this hobby is expensive.

Images shared by: Charles

On an ok day....

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best around for stock photos in my book
By His_RavenVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, Fl. on 3/23/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Lens versatility, Live view, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, The kit lens
Best Uses:
Portraits, Portraiture, Professional work, Sporting events, Stock photos, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I have worked with a few DSLR's and the D40 seems to work the best for me. I have tried a few other different brands and this one seems the most versatile for my job profession. I work stock photo, weddings, sporting events, beaudoir, and portrait. I like the way it feels. I have small hands and the cam buttons are where I need them to be. It's a weighted camera but the weight is balanced out.

[17 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

 
Rugged performer!
By Zorba from Mount Prospect, Il on 3/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera just feels right!!! The controls are in the right locations (with the exception of the on/off switch). The magnesium alloy body is rock solid leaving you with the reassurance that this bad boy can take a licking. I found the menus quite easy to follow & intuitive. Despite its weight, the camera is well balanced... even with a lens attached. Picture quality is top notch. Even though it only utilizes a 10.1 megapixel C-MOS sensor, it does so with improvements in the microlens design of the sensor & a better processing engine( Digic lll) for improved images & performance... not to mention 14-bit processing. The addition of dust removal is a welcome addition & should prove worthy. Although Canon claims weatherproofing, it is limited to specific areas of the camera & not throughout the camera body as the Nikon D300 has. But it's also [$] less than the Nikon!!! That's the price of an additional lens. Its shutter has also been upgraded to pro levels with a durability rating of 100,000 cycles... not bad. Additionally, the mirror mechanism has been improved with the elimination of the spring mechanism, replaced by a "servo" motor making it much quieter. Despite the fact that I prefer landscape photography, it is comforting to know this camera has the capability to shoot at a phenomenal 6.5 frames per second! At this price point it beats out many, if not all, competitors. Overall, the shutter sound has become more subdued & just sounds "professional". The pentaprism is gorgeous... very bright, giving you the added capability to focus with very little, if any, difficulty. Some people have complained about the positioning of the DOF preview button. They keep insisting it belongs on the right side of the lens. Personally, I like it just where it is. My left index finger falls right where the button is... for me it's "right on". I'm not into "Live View" & don't use it, so I'll reserve judgment on this. But I can say that the new 3" LCD screen is extremely bright & allows for an improved menu. Despite the lower resolution compared to the Nikon D300, I found it to be quite satisfactory in reviewing images & reading the menu. The increase in size, for me anyway, was more important than greater resolution(which is a fine 230,000 pixels). I also added the optional "Battery/Portrait Grip" and found, despite the additional weight gain, it actually made shooting more comfortable. It added more surface area which in turn translated into more grip options for shooting & still felt well balanced. Oh, let's not forget the added benefit of being able to swap out the "proprietary" batteries for "AA" batteries(an adapter that comes with the grip allows this added functionality). Remember, you can almost always find "AA" batteries just about anywhere. This can come in handy should you ever have the immediate need for "juice" in the event you suddenly run of power & have no back-ups or an outlet for re-charging!!! Personally, I like some weight to my gear... it just feels more robust & I don't mind the extra weight. I also found the "rubbery" feel added to the surface area of the camera body & the inclusion of an indent for my right index finger, made holding it a pleasure. The only problems I found were the location of the ON/OFF switch & lack of a protective cover for the LCD screen(something along the lines of what Nikon has for it's LCD screens. Perhaps Canon can take this suggestion to heart & develop a cover that "snaps" on over the screen. Nikon claims to use "tempered" glass for the LCD screen on the D300... that would have been nice on this camera, but, again, there is the issue of a [$] difference in price. Bottom line: If you're looking for great value in a "prosumer" level camera, this is it. It's a lot of "Bang" for your Buck" & should give you years of reliable service & the versatility to take awesome pictures.

[8 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
My First Digital SLR is Awesome!!!
By CindyVerified Reviewer from Cleveland, TN on 3/9/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Customizable controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Action, Fun, Photojournalism, Portrait, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I purchased this camera in January 2008 as my first digital SLR (actually my first SLR period). The layout of the controls is so straight-forward with quick access to everything you might need to change on the fly. The owner's manual is well laid out and it comes with a quick start guide to hit the highlights so you can be out shooting pictures quickly. The included kit lens offers a very usable focal range for many photography situations and subjects. This lens will see many photo opportunities while giving me the chance to see what other lenses if any I will need. I have taken some wonderful pictures with this camera in the past month. I did make one other lens purchase to complement this kit. I puchased the Canon 50 mm f/1.8 lens (very inexpensive) for indoor sports photography and was able to catch some great basketball action shots of my son's school team without even using the flash. This camera is quick, easy to operate, and perfoms well in various lighting situations and should meet all of my photography needs for years. And it has already proven to be the answer to all the CONS of my previous point-and-shoot digital cameras. Before making this purchase, I first had to convince myself I needed a camera that offered so much flexibility and pro features. And after looking back at the pictures I have taken in the past six weeks, I have one regret. I should have made this purchase sooner.

Images shared by: Cindy

Indoor, no flash, 50mm f/1.8 lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
All that a DSLR camera should be
By Monstersdoexist from Tampa, Fl. on 3/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

[...] I gave up my A-1 system for this and never looked back. It goes with me everywhere. Good results shooting the recent Moon Eclipse using a tripod, then got equally good results handheld using the image stabilizer. I did my research and toyed with many other brands and models at the local camera outlet to be sure I was investing wisely. I am confident that I did. Canon is the Best!

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Impressive
By Blessed in FWVerified Reviewer from Fort Worth, TX on 1/16/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I purchased the 40D about a month ago and have not regretted it for a moment. Wonderful camera. It is relatively easy to learn for a camera with this many options. It is also easy to use with well designed controls and a thoughtful layout.

The 28-135 mm IS lens is equally impressive. It is fast, quiet and takes sharp photos.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Puts the fun back into photography
By Tri GregVerified Reviewer from Texas on 12/25/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Heavy, the lens 'knocks
Best Uses:
Action, Fun, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I've been an amature photographer for over 20 years. But, over time, had grown bored with shooting shots and waiting to see how they came out. I just upgraded to the 40D from my 35mm Rebel and absolutely love it. I bought it 2 days before a vacation, and had a blast taking pics - over 1500 of them. I was able to stop car jumps in mid-air with the 6 fps and take dramatic night photos. Now rather than just point and shoot (like I'd ended up doing with my 35mm) I was actually using my photographic knowledge to take better shots. And, I really liked being able to set up a shot and take several settings with immediate feedback. The LCD is fantastic and the range of things the camera can do is phenomenal. Now I want a flash, a 400mm lens and to set up a studio. Could a previous model have me this excited? Possibly. But this camera finally reached a point of having everything I was looking for at a price I could afford. None of the other Canon's did. I wanted to stay with the Canon brand so others may have met my needs - I have no idea.

The only thing I noticed was that it felt like something was loose in the camera when I was walking. I was concerned that it was something loose in the camera. It turned out to be play in the lens area where it expands for the zoom. Once I figured out that the camera was fine, I felt much better.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Look no more Canon #1
By lilrich453Verified Reviewer from Phoenix, Oregon on 11/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

All I can say is as far as I'm concern if your looking for a good quality camera, Canon is the one. All of the features and the ease of use make Canon #1 in my books. These cameras take some of the most beautiful pictures I have ever seen.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
love this camera
By michicoVerified Reviewer from spokane washington on 11/13/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
in low light, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Sporting events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is wonderful. I have children and wanted it for sports to portraits. In the sports mode i catch almost every step they take it is awesome. In the portrait mode it takes wonderful pictures too. If you are in low light it tends to be sluggish. I hope with a flash this will take care of this problem.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great sports camera lens combo
By Drewrogers from Algonac on 11/4/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

So far I have taken about 400 indoor sports photos. I've needed to push the ISO to 1600 to keep the shutter speed at an acceptable level. The IS lens also helps. I've taken most photos around 1/125th of a second. I've created posters up to 22" x 28" with acceptable results. The best feature is the acceptable noise level at ISO 1600.

Images shared by: Drewrogers

Gym Shot

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Assembly Picture

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this camera
By CJVerified Reviewer from Missouri on 11/4/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Studio and portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I'm going from another brand of DSLR to this one. I've been using a friend's 40D to see if I like it and the same shots on my DSLR are just not as good. The skin tone is better and the image is more crisp.

[4 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice camera not best I have used though
By DrRPh from Fieldale, VA on 11/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
A 30D on LCD steroids
Best Uses:
Fun, Over priced consumer, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I dont shoot photos for a living, but you dont have to in order to be passionate. My favorite photos are still made with black and white film. I love film always will. This camera is fast, and will not let you down if its your first digital camera. Buy over a Rebel, or a D40 or D40x, but consider a D80 or D200 first. A D80 body only and better lens would be a great starting point. May even choose a D40 and great lens first. Read reviews by Ken Rockwell at [...] for insight into how to choose a good camera.

[1 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not quite there yet.
By El Crusto from Florida on 10/25/2007
Pros:
Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Not well constructed
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

Very nice prosumer DSLR but build quality leaves a lot to be desired. Ergonomics are cumbersome & images, although sharp, have a plastic quality. I could not recommend this camera to a friend. Perhaps an enemy.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best camera yet
By ChuckVerified Reviewer from Oak Lawn, Illinois on 10/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is an upgrade from my Canon 400D (XTi).
For anyone considering the 40D as an "upgrade" I can tell you to do it without hesitation. This is a much bigger improvement than I beleived to be possible.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT! AWSOME! EXCELLENT!
By shutterly amazedVerified Reviewer from norfolk va on 10/20/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This is the best starter camera out there right now!! My friend has a 5D and I personally like the RAW image feature better on this one. The price doesnt hurt either.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By Tmac2Verified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 10/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Studio and Wedding
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

Spent a few years using a friend of the families professional equiptment, and decided to finally invest in an upgrade of my own. Great camera. All to feel of the 5D (well almost) at a fraction of the cost. Great skin tone, a real problem with lower grade cameras. Very versitle, from weddings to quick shots of my daughter. Great Camera

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
One Outstanding Camera!
By WhitecrowVerified Reviewer from Frisco, TX on 9/30/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Live view feature, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Self cleaning sensor unit
Cons:
I haven't found any
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

I swore I would never use the word "awesome" to describe a camera. Well, the 40D is one AWESOME camera. The 40D is just the perfect merger of the relatively) inexpensive price of the XTi,and the features and capabilities of the 5D and higher. Alas, it still has a 1.6x crop factor, but that is truly insignificant. [...]

Images shared by: Whitecrow

335

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, 8868

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
"It's one Awesome Camera" Kudos Canon !
By Scott B.Verified Reviewer from The Colony, Texas on 9/23/2007
Pros:
Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
3" LCD needs more Pixels
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

If you are an advanced amature or better this is an awesome DSLR, as your main unit or as a backup.
Awesome colors in JPEG & even better in RAW. Fast FPS speed & fast focusing ! Tons of features & settings. The best DSLR I've ever owned, period ! Also lots of OEM & aftermarket accessories. Don't delay, you've just got to go get one, you'll have a blast with it ! Like I said it's " AWESOME " !!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
the best
By h20_manVerified Reviewer from tulsa oklahoma on 9/14/2007
Pros:
Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, I love this camera, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR w/ EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Zoom Lens:

This camera is awesome, I have much to learn. I have had it a week it seams like everyday i find something new it can do. i would have to recomend this camera to anyone wanting an quality camera at a great price.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.