Buy the Powershot A630 Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Powershot A630 Digital Camera image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)

High-end Features - Highly Affordable. PowerShot A630 not only boasts show-stopping 8.0 megapixel resolution, but is packed with a full range of high-performance features previously found only on Canon's higher-end cameras. The result is an affordable camera that produces truly superior photography. The high resolution is complemented by a 4x optical zoom that brings the world up close, and you'll see it all clearly on the big, bright 2.5-inch Vari-Angle LCD monitor. The 21 shooting modes make photography easy, fun and creative, and are joined by great functionality like expanded ISO settings that let you shoot in low light without blur.

Step up to powerful new specs Affordable digital camera with 8.0 Megapixel resolution and powerful Canon 4x Optical Zoom
You may have thought you couldn't afford a camera with 8.0 megapixel resolution, but the PowerShot A630 makes it possible. All your shots will show a stunning level of detail, and when you want to crop in close and enlarge, you'll do it freely, knowing that the resolution level can support it.

Get the shot you want with a powerful 4x optical zoom and genuine Canon optics. Not only does the zoom get you up close quickly, but Canon optical technology ensures that your shots are bright, clear, and alive with true, vivid color.

See the image in a big monitor Large 2.5 inch Vari-Angle LCD monitor with wide viewing angle for easier on-camera viewing and optical viewfinder
The camera's 2.5 inch vari-angle LCD monitor gives you the big picture, whether you're shooting, reviewing or showing off your images. This high-resolution screen offers a crisp, clear picture and wider viewing angle to make shooting, playback and using the camera's menu functions especially convenient. Clear and bright, it also features Night Display for easy viewing in low light. The vari-angle design lets you swivel the LCD monitor 180? to the front of the camera and display either a mirror image or a non-reversed image so you can shoot from just about any position.

Canon innovation enhances your experience A high-performance camera with 21 shooting modes, 9-point AiAF, ISO 800 and High ISO Auto to reduce image blur and expand low-light shooting capability
With 21 shooting modes, you're ready for whatever shot comes your way. For example, 10 Special Scene modes make many challenging shots like snow, beach and fireworks easy, and even include Color Accent and Color Swap to let you customize and play with color.

Shooting Modes - Advanced presets for the best possible photos under certain conditions.

Auto - The camera chooses all the settings so you can concentrate on your subject.
P Program - Access advanced exposure compensation features while shooting mostly automatically.
Av Aperture-priority - You define the aperture to either isolate your subject or have clarity throughout the entire picture, and the camera will choose the corresponding shutter speed.
Tv Shutter-priority - You select the shutter speed to stop or blur action, and the camera finds the appropriate aperture. With slow exposure times, Canon's noise reduction system activates to ensure low image noise.
Manual - The ultimate in creative control, you set ISO speed, exposure compensation and white balance.
C Custom - Define and store your own settings to achieve the effects you prefer.
Portrait - The camera sets a large aperture, focusing the subject and artistically blurring the background to make your subject "pop."
Landscape - For front to back sharpness, the camera sets a small aperture.
Night Scene - For impressive sunset or nightlife shots, the camera properly exposes the background and uses slow-sync flash for the subject.
Stitch Assist - Build awe-inspiring panoramas by neatly aligning sequential images.
Movie - Shoot in VGA and QVGA (30 fps/15 fps for up to 1 hour or 1GB) or QQVGA (15 fps for up to 3 minutes). Special Scene Mode
Foliage - Capture brilliant shots of autumn foliage, greenery and blossoms.
Snow - Shoot clear snow scenes without darkened subjects or bluish tint.
Beach - Get clear shots of people at a sunny beach without darkened faces.
Fireworks - Grab brilliant images of skyrocketing fireworks.
Underwater - Capture underwater images with reduced backscatter effect. (Note: Optional Waterproof Case WP-DC8 required for shooting any underwater images) Indoor - Reduce blur and improve color accuracy when shooting handheld indoors.
Kids & Pets - Reduced focusing time freezes fast-moving subjects, so you won't miss those special shots.
Night Snapshot - Get natural-looking pictures with brighter backgrounds and subjects lit by flash.
Color Accent - Choose to retain a single color in your image while other colors turn monochrome.
Color Swap - Select a color and replace it with a color you specify for special effects.

The 9-point AiAF lets you place your subject almost anywhere in the frame and achieve razor-sharp focus. The PowerShot A630 also features ISO 800 and High ISO Auto settings that reduce the effects of camera shake and sharpen subjects in low-light situations with high shutter speeds, giving you greater flexibility for shooting.

Advanced imaging technology improves every photo - DIGIC II Image Processor and iSAPS Technology for superior image quality, fast operation and low power consumption

DIGIC II Image Processor - Canon's DIGIC II Image Processor is designed to improve processing speed and image quality, so DIGIC II provides markedly faster startup, autofocus and playback, plus it assures that every image is more colorfully vibrant.

iSAPS Technology - iSAPS Technology is an entirely original scene-recognition technology developed for digital cameras by Canon. Using an internal database of thousands of different photos, iSAPS works with the fast DIGIC II Image Processor to improve focus speed and accuracy, as well as exposure and white balance.

A variety of movie-making options Movie Mode recording with sound at 30 fps VGA (640x480)
With a highly flexible movie mode, you can create the movie that's perfect for any application. Select from VGA (640 x 480 pixels) and QVGA (320 x 240 pixels), with frame rates of 30 fps and 15 fps for recording up to 1 hour or 1GB. Plus Compact Movie Mode (QQVGA; 160 x 120 pixels) records at 15 fps for up to 3 minutes. The PowerShot A630 also supports the USB 2.0 Hi-Speed standard, so you'll enjoy the fastest possible data transfer speeds when using a USB 2.0 Hi-Speed compatible computer.

The complete print solution Print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloading, plus ID Photo Print and Movie Print with Canon CP and SELPHY Compact Photo Printers

The PowerShot A630's Print/Share button makes direct printing easier than ever. Simply connect the A630 to a Canon CP, SELPHY or PIXMA Photo Printer or any PictBridge compatible photo printer, press the lighted Print/Share button and print! Also use the Print/Share button to transfer images to a computer (Windows and Macintosh).

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
89% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Casual user(3), Enthusiast(9)
Pros:
Accurate colors(11), Great resolution(10), Nice features and settings(10), Simple controls(8)
Best Uses:
Everyday(10), Low light(4), Outdoors(11), Portraits(8), Sports/action(5)
 
"A600 Series keep getting Better"
By rhfjrVerified Reviewer from Southern California, Thousand Oaks on 2/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls, Unbelievable Battery Life
Cons:
People want to borrow it
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Repair Documentation, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

The only negative about this is the price is lower now than when I purchased it.

 
Great camera
By Kari from Minnesota on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

It works better than my old kodak camera! And great for self-portraits with the 360* screen and self timer!

 
wonderful camera!
By Cindy from Arlington, MA on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
lens cover gets stuck
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

This is my first digital camera, and I'm not a picture-taking fanatic by any means. I got it because of a trip I was taking, and my friends told me I just HAD to take pictures. It's easy to use (if I can manage it, anyone can!) and the pictures are great.
One problem I have had is that the lens cover got stuck; I didn't notice immediately and had some pictures with big black bands in them. I can open and close it manually--but that means I have to look each time to see if it has opened before taking the picture. To be fair, I was in a very dusty environment. I haven't taken it to a camera shop yet to learn how to clean the lens; I think that is the problem.
The pictures show an incredible amount of detail. In some cases, I see more in the pictures than I was seeing with my eyes! Other photographers on the trip, some of them quite experienced, were amazed at the quality. Being a novice, I took photos in what they claimed was "impossible light"--and got good photos! And most of the time, I was using the Auto setting.
I did use the Night setting for some photos taken at night, and got decent results. There was almost no light except for what I was shooting, so I was quite pleased to get anything.
I'm definitely happy with this camera. I don't think I'll ever go back to the disposable ones!

 
Can’t go wrong with a Canon
By Mom2KadenVerified Reviewer from MA on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

This is the second Canon digital camera I’ve owned and I can’t say enough good things about them. I’ve taken pictures at concert in the dark and still got a sharp colorful picture. The shutter lag isn’t perfect but it’s better then many others in it’s class. It is a little heavy because it uses 4 AA batteries but personally I prefer that. I like knowing if my batteries die all I have to do is run to the nearest drug store. Overall I’ve been very happy with this camera. It takes beautiful quality images.

Images shared by: Mom2Kaden

Concert with very low light and lots of movement

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Lot of detail, good color

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thanks for the photos
 
Powershot A640 10.0 Megapixel
By KoatreeVerified Reviewer from Kaneohe, Hawaii on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Underwater housing
Cons:
Complicated Controls, Flimsy Construction, No videoaudio input jack
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

The Camera is a great product at a good price. It has an optional Underwater housing available at a resonable price that is good for most scuba diving situations. There are too many buttons and features making quick use somewhat difficult. The camera would be close to perfect if the housing was made of a more durable material like Titanium and had inputs for external video and Audio say from a remote helmet of vehicle mounted camera or other video source. The product should eliminate digital zoom altogether and just have straight optical. The fact the the camera operates on standard AA batteries obtainable just about anywhere is a big plus. Overall it is hard to go wrong buying this Model of Cannon because of it's versatility

Images shared by: Koatree

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Canon A630 - Great features, but....
By SpideyVerified Reviewer from Phoenix on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

Love the flip screen -- that's the main reason I got this camera. However, the battery life has been poor for me thus far, and the lens cover has jammed closed twice, forcing me to fiddle with the thin covering in order to get my lens to open. Frustrating. Picture quality is great.

 
Don't leave home without it!
By DoggonefoolVerified Reviewer from Concord, CA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

The controls are easy to use and versatile-they allow you the option to choose creative features such as low aperture settings or faster shutter speeds, or many preset features for when you don't have time to mess around. I took this camera on a two week cruise and it never let me down.

Images shared by: Doggonefool

Stormy Skies

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

San Diego Floral

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great photos, thank you.
 
Not as high preformance
By mal the photo galVerified Reviewer from redlands, ca on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors
Cons:
Low-Quality Pictures, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Outdoors
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

I am disappointed that the camera cannot focus on the subject sharply. I have found most of my pictures to be out of focus and it takes to long to focus on the subject. Fustrating me and the subject.

 
Excellent camera, but pricey [...]
By David the Swede from Miami, Florida on 2/16/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

The 8MP Canon PowerShot A630 may be a bit bulky for a compact camera, but the great physical controls and easy-to-use features will appeal to those who appreciate a variety of settings to capture their photos. [...]

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great all around camera
By Mommy of 3Verified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 1/4/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

I can't think of anything bad about this camera. It takes beautiful pictures, can zoom in very close and has a quick time to take the next picture. I am very pleased. Also LOVE the flip around LCD screen, really comes in handy.

Images shared by: Mommy of 3

This is under the portrait setting. Beautiful

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Good outdoor action shots as well

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[53 of 55 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great all around Camera
By Alli's DadVerified Reviewer from Whittier, CA on 11/19/2006
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Concerts, Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Canon Powershot A630 Digital Camera:

I have nothing but great things to say about this camera. It takes great picures in about any condition I have run into so far (short of going underwater) The Night settings work great, ecspecially in concert like conditions. Close-ups are fantastic. With all of the settings, there is one for what you need. The flip out 360 degree screen comes in very handy, like when having to shoot over your head or even around corners. The screen can be tilted so you can see what you are photographing. The only negitive thing I can say about this little beauty, is that I had the slightest trouble adjusting the size of each photo, and Im sure that would have been easier if I had read the book better. Settings ar easily changed, and deleting is easy as pushing a button. I would recomend the little dynamo to anyone!

Images shared by: Alli's Dad

Using zoom from quite a distance away

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Johnny Ramone Memorial (notice kiss mark)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thanks for your excellent photos.
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.