Buy the EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black) image
 
(based on 61 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)

Incredibly Advanced. Remarkably Simple.

The Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi offers an unbeatable combination of performance, ease-of-use and value. It has a newly designed 10.1 MP Canon CMOS sensor plus a host of new features including a 2.5-inch LCD monitor, the exclusive EOS Integrated Cleaning System featuring a Self Cleaning Sensor and Canon's Picture Style technology, all in a lightweight, ergonomic body. The Digital Rebel XTi is proof positive that Canon continues to lead the way with their phenomenal digital SLRs.

  • High performance digital SLR with 10.1 Megapixel Canon CMOS sensor and DIGIC II Image processor.
  • Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor with new user interface and wide viewing angle. Fast 3 frames-per-second shooting with 27-frame burst and a 0.2 second startup time. High precision, wide area 9-point autofocus system.
  • Picture Style settings for a broad range of control over color, contrast and sharpening. Print/Share button featuring advanced camera direct capabilities for greater user control while direct printing.
  • EOS Integrated Cleaning System featuring a Self Cleaning Sensor Unit
  • Fully compatible with over 60 EF and EF-S Lenses and a wide range of EOS System accessories

Compact and Powerful - High performance digital SLR with 10.1 Megapixel Canon CMOS sensor and DIGIC II Image processor.

10.1 Megapixel APS-C Size CMOS Sensor- Canon's large-area CMOS (Complementary Metal Oxide Semiconductor) sensor captures images with exceptional clarity and tonal range, and offers the most pixels in its class. This APS-C size sensor (22.2 x 14.8mm) has the same 3:2 ratio as film cameras, enabling an effective angle of view that is 1.6x the normal EF Lens focal length. With an effective pixel resolution of 3,904 x 2,598, the EOS Digital Rebel XTi offers superb detail and clarity, even in large prints, and generates finished files that open at approximately 30MB in your image-editing software. On Canon's CMOS sensor, each pixel is captured with fine detail to create images of tremendous depth and resolution, ensuring enough information for even poster-sized prints.

DIGIC II Image Processor- The EOS Digital Rebel XTi is the product of Canon's extensive in-house development: The DIGIC II Image Processor was designed specifically for Canon digital SLR cameras and enhances every aspect of image capture. Information captured by the CMOS sensor is processed and assembled into images of exceptional quality. With the DIGIC II Image Processor on board, photographers can expect natural color reproduction, precise white balance in any number of lighting situations and unparalleled clarity. The DIGIC II Image Processor employs sophisticated signal processing algorithms and works at greater speeds, all while consuming less energy.

Responsive and Reliable- Large 2.5-inch LCD monitor with new user interface and wide viewing angle. Fast 3 frames-per-second shooting with 27-frame burst and a 0.2 second startup time. High precision, wide area 9-point autofocus system.

The EOS Digital Rebel XTi has a brilliant 2.5-inch LCD monitor with approximately 230,000 pixels. All shooting and review information is accessed on the rear LCD monitor, and the wide viewing angle of 160? and brighter, easier-to-read menus give the new Rebel XTi LCD monitor an obvious advantage.

Display Off Sensor- When composing images, the Digital Rebel XTi's external display turns off automatically thanks to the newly developed Display Off Sensor. This new sensor detects the photographer's face against the back panel of the camera, and turns the screen off to prevent the LCD monitor's brightness from disturbing the photographer's eye while looking through the viewfinder.

Speedy Operation- With a startup time of 0.2 seconds, the EOS Digital Rebel XTi is ready to go the instant it's brought to the eye. And the Digital Rebel XTi's shutter can record images as fast as 1/4000 seconds and as long as 30 sec., plus bulb at up to 3 fps for 27 consecutive shots. It synchronizes with Canon Speedlites at 1/200 seconds.

9-Point AF- The EOS Digital Rebel XTi has a high-precision 9-point AF system for speedy and accurate focusing in any situation. Conveniently located on the back of the camera for thumb-controlled action, Canon's cross key buttons enable instant choice of the 9 focus points, or allow the camera to choose them automatically. One-Shot is perfect for still photography. AI Servo AF tracks moving subjects, ensuring accurate focus. AI Focus AF switches between One-Shot and AI Servo when subjects are moving and stopping. The Digital Rebel XTi's focusing system functions in metering ranges of EV-0.5 to 18, and displays information on the Digital Rebel XTi's big LCD Display.

Exclusive and Amazing- Picture Style settings for a broad range of control over color, contrast and sharpening. Print/Share button featuring advanced camera direct capabilities for greater user control while direct printing.

Picture Style settings- With Picture Style technology and the EOS Digital Rebel XTi, photographers can recreate characteristics of their favorite films. Color, saturation, sharpness and contrast settings create noticeable variation in the saved image. In addition to six preset Picture Styles (Standard, Portrait, Landscape, Neutral, Faithful and Monochrome), users can create three additional settings for their particular photographic style.

Print/Share Button- Printing and uploading to a computer is incredibly simple with the Digital Rebel XTi's Print/Share button. By connecting the Digital Rebel XTi to a computer via the USB 2.0 port, it's easy to transfer some or all of the photographs in the cameras memory to folders on the computer.

Dependable for Cleaning the Sensor- Strong, lightweight body with the EOS Integrated Cleaning System including a Self Cleaning Sensor Unit

The EOS Digital Rebel XTi not only sports a newly-refined body with better ergonomics and an improved grip, but it also has some of Canon's most advanced improvements in dust reduction. No matter how careful photographers may be to change lenses in dust free areas and to keep their equipment as clean as possible, dust often ends up on their cameras' sensors, creating distracting spots on recorded images. The Digital Rebel XTi's integrated hardware and software solutions make trouble with dust a thing of the past. The Digital Rebel XTi is the first digital EOS SLR camera to feature this important technology: by ensuring the sensor is free of dust and debris, the camera delivers a cleaner image.

Self Cleaning Sensor Unit- To combat against stray dust that enters the camera and adheres to the image sensor during a lens change, the Digital Rebel XTi features an all-new, Canon-designed Self Cleaning Sensor Unit. The low pass filter cleans itself automatically with ultrasonic vibrations, removing dust from the sensor assembly.

Dust Delete Data Detection- Dust that has been missed by the Integrated Self Cleaning Sensor Unit can also be erased with software included in Digital Photo Professional (DPP) Version 2.2. The Digital Rebel XTi's imaging sensor is able to single out the dust particles on its surface, then plots out their location coordinates within the image. This data is transmitted along with the image, whether JPEG or RAW, and can be either manually or automatically erased in Canon's DPP 2.2. This added software option ensures the cleanest possible image, perfect for printing or archiving

Expandable for your creativity- Fully compatible with over 60 EF and EF-S Lenses and a wide range of EOS System accessories

EF & EF-S Lenses- The EOS Digital Rebel XTi is compatible with all Canon lenses in the EF lineup, ranging from ultra-wide angle to super telephoto lenses, and including Canon's EF-S series lenses, manufactured specifically for Canon?s APS-C sized digital sensor. Canon lenses employ advanced optical expertise and micron-precision engineering to deliver unprecedented performance in all facets of the photographic process. Aspherical optics and fluorite elements, for example, are featured in the universally acclaimed L Series lenses, and Canon's Image Stabilizer technology in select lenses minimizes the effect of camera shake. Through Canon lenses, photographers can truly maximize the quality and liberating performance of the EOS Digital Rebel XTi.

Flash Photography- The EOS Digital Rebel XTi features the acclaimed E-TTL II flash metering system. Whether using its flush-mounted integral flash (guide no. of 43 ft./13m at ISO 100), or any of the flashes in the EX Speedlite line, E-TTL II provides reliable flash output through numerous exposures.

Canon's Speedlite 430EX is perfectly suited to the EOS Digital Rebel XTi. It includes a maximum guide nunber of 141 ft./43m at ISO 100, and when mounted on the camera, automatically compensates for the camera?s sensor size, enabling high output flash, with more flashes per charge. It includes an AF-assist Beam, which works in conjunction with the EOS Digital Rebel XTi?s focusing system, and automatically sends color temperature information to the camera when the flash fires, for more accurate white balance rendition with flash photography.

Additional Accessories- In addition to Canon's EF lenses and Speedlite flashes, many other accessories are designed by Canon to work perfectly with the EOS Digital Rebel XTi. The Battery Grip BG-E3 adds a vertical shutter release, and can hold two NB-2LH Battery Packs for increased shooting capacity. Canon's Semi Hard Case EH18-L can accommodate the EOS Digital Rebel XTi with a small zoom lens.

Software
Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk (Version 13.0)- The EOS Digital Rebel XTi comes bundled with the updated Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk (Version 13.0), which features powerful software programs designed to extend the EOS experience to the computer. These include Canon's ZoomBrowser EX for Windows (Version 5.7), ImageBrower for Macintosh OS X (Version 5.7), Digital Photo Professional (Version 2.2), Canon?s EOS Utility (Version 1.1) and PhotoStitch (Version 3.1). Each application is designed to perfect captured images, and streamline the digital workflow.
Digital Photo Professional (Version 2.2)- is an image processing program that enables high-speed RAW image processing, high-speed previewing for real-time image adjustment and support for sRGB, Adobe RGB and Wide Gamut RGB color spaces. Because it?s CMS (Color Management System) compatible, Digital Photo Professional allows for easy image layout and printing in Adobe RGB in conjunction with Easy-PhotoPrint and PictBridge printers. It also features the Digital Rebel XTi?s Dust Delete Data Detection tool for cleaner images.
EOS Utility (Version 1.1)- for Macintosh or Windows handles the connection between the camera and computer, whenever they?re connected via USB. It allows remote controlled shooting from the computer, handles downloading of images from the camera to the computer, and allows seamless linking to either Canon?s ZoomBrowser/ImageBrowser or Digital Photo Professional software once images have been copied to the hard drive. Furthermore, it?s used to upload settings back into a USB-connected camera.
ZoomBrowser EX (Version 5.7)- for Windows and ImageBrowser (Version 5.7) for Mac OS X are the easy, user-friendly options for viewing and editing of JPEG and even RAW image files. Both allow viewing of numerous types of images including finished TIFF and BMP files. Both also have a variety of search options for finding images, allow re-naming of single images or batches of files, and offer a variety of options for printing without using a separate image-editing program.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 61 reviews)
96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Beginner(8), Casual user(13), Enthusiast(42), Professional(11)
Pros:
Accurate colors(27), Easy to use(3), Great resolution(29), Large clear LCD(22), Nice features and settings(27)
Cons:
Complicated controls(3), LCD fragile/scratches(4), Shaky operation(3)
Best Uses:
Art(14), Documentary(11), Everyday(29), Fun(25), Low light(15)
 
Comfortable handling and gorgeous photos
By TessVerified Reviewer from San Francisco on 12/13/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Great Image Quality, Quiet
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I'm new to the DSLR world and I find this easy to use with great photo results. There's so much to learn but this is the best way to do it.

Images shared by: Tess

Pine Cone for the Season

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
No buyers remorse! Happy Happy Happy!
By lojo from Watermelon Capital of the World, GA on 5/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use and learn, Professional quality, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
View finder would be nice
Best Uses:
Art, Children Photography, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I am a casual user with ambitions of becoming a more serious photographer. I have been unwilling / unable to pay $thousands$ for a camera (while still learning), but this camera has given me the best of both worlds. I am taking action shots of my 2 year old that look like professional portraits, and I have only had the camera for a week. The automatic settings work beautifully for those of us still learning - My husband and my mother were both able to use this camera with only about 30 seconds of instruction. They captured some great shots right away! I have begun to experiment with the manual controls, and I am very pleased with the results. I am very excited about the professional quality of my pictures and the ease of use of my Canon Xti. My husband was a little antsy about my "expensive" camera purchase, but now he wants his OWN Canon Rebel Xti.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon Rebel XTi Has It All!
By NorthFloridaTravelerVerified Reviewer from Orange Park, Florida on 5/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

The Canon Rebel XTi is a great camera for the novice or for the more experienced user. This camera snaps great pictures insanely fast indoors, outdoors, etc. I have only had my XTi for two weeks; however, I have already shot 200 pictures.

 
A great camera!
By jess1178 from Western Nebraska on 5/27/2008
Pros:
Quiet, Strong Construction, Very easy to operate
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

When searching for a new camera I knew I wanted a Canon. I spent many late nights reading reviews. I'm so happy that I chose the XTi. I have nothing but great things to say[...]

 
Worth the buy
By SriVerified Reviewer from Troy,Michigan on 5/27/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Canon XTi rebel was worth a buy.This product has all the good features and still remains very easy to use.For an amateur photographer like me, this was the best choice.

 
GREAT CAMERA
By WEBBINTHEROCKIES from LITTLETON, CO on 5/22/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

This is my first digital SLR. I shoot mostly landscapes. I've been using a Pentax 67 until the meter broke. I love this camera. It's light, super fast and the images are really nice. The lens with the kit isn't the best, but unless you're a pro or can afford a better lens, then the kit lens is OK for general use.

 
I would buy this product again and again
By Bryan from Lake Tahoe on 5/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Haven't noticed any fault
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

this camera has plenty of features, and the learning curve is small.

Images shared by: Bryan

Bug on a Leaf

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Picture of Product, Macro shot of a small bug

close up of budding plant

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Picture of Product

 
The best camera I've ever had!
By GabbybirdVerified Reviewer from Springdale, AR on 5/5/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
No Cons
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I am a preschool teacher and I purchased the camera to take pictures of my students for documentation and for class projects. This camera is easy to use-and takes great pictures. It also holds a lot of pictures and has a long battery life...I've been using it a lot for about a week and still have not had to recharge the battery!

 
great camera
By AndreaVerified Reviewer from Shawnee, KS on 3/27/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Fast
Best Uses:
Fun, KIDS
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

This is our first digital camera. We delayed buying one because we were never impressed by any of the point and shoot cameras. After our 35mm canon camera stopped working we wanted the same quality pictures. After reading all the reviews, we think we picked the right camera. We just have a lot to learn.

 
Watch out for Wolf
By Nutcracker from SKy Valley, Georgia on 1/18/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I replaced a 35mm Rebel and found the camera to be great!I was dissapointed to receive my camera without any memory so it was unusable. I[...]I blame Cannon and Wolf for not advising of the need to purchase memory in addition to the camera. [...]Overall, GREAT CAMERA!!!

 
I definitely recommend this camera.
By The wildlife enthusiastVerified Reviewer from Missouri on 1/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I'm just getting started in the photography world and up until this purchase I had a film Rebel K2 camera and was really happy with it. These are great cameras for the price. It is an excellent way for us "beginners" to be able to afford to get those great shots. This camera can be completely automatic or as manual as you want it to be....perfect for someone starting out. Plus...as I get more advanced (and more funding..ha ha), I can upgrade the lenses and use a wide variety of the "professional" image stabilizer lenses. I've already gotten some great shots with this and look forward to taking it to Montana in a few months!

 
Right out of the box, the camera for me.
By Bladerunner from Brandon, Florida on 12/25/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Right out of the box, the camera was impressive. The learning curve is just my style, easy and relaxed. A great Christmas present.

 
very good camera
By cementguy59Verified Reviewer from mesa ariz on 11/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

the rebel xti is a very good all around camera

 
Great camera
By abcreichVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 9/25/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Capturing my child, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Great camera, but switching from 35mm to digital the lighting is very different so it has taken some getting use to. Also, I could point and shoot with my Canon Rebel 35mm and it was always clear and the color superb, this one the pictures are not always clear. You have to have very little movement and the coloring is not always vibrant.

 
Jumped right into the fire!
By TriceVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 8/17/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction, Versatile, Very popular, Well worth the money, Wonderful photos
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I actually discovered this camera during summer track season 2006. My children are extremely active. While I was busy using my little point and shoot Kodak, that I thought was awesome, but didn't quite catch my kids in action, but caught them after, if I snapped quick enough....one of the other parents was showing off these remarkable photos that caught the children in action and on point. He was actually using the Rebel XT. I was sold on the camera after seeing his photos. I purchased the XT...jumped right into it, head first. I purchased a ton of various lenses (that I could stand to learn from). Nonetheless, it has been my most rewarding purchase for hobby interests. I recently upgraded to the XTI. It's awesome. Now, obviously, I am not as well versed as some, because at this point, I don't see a need to ever upgrade. I figure that I will just keep investing in the lense variety. I went from point and shoot to Digital SLR in a really impromptu moment, and have been completely satisfied. I should be a spokesperson for Canon...since I advertise and brag on the camera so much. I have everyone that I know purchasing this camera. In all seriousness, I have been the reason for at least four purchases of the Canon Rebel XT and one for the XTI :)!!

 
canon eos dslr
By yoVerified Reviewer from newington ct on 8/8/2007
Pros:
Overall really good
Cons:
Slr lenses don't fit
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

light weight, takes a little time to understand if moving from slr to dslr. the fstops/aperatures are different. overall, spectacular pics. i'm dissapointed that i can't fit my canon ae-1 lenses on it and there doesn't seem to be an adapter. that is an added expense if you like telephoto or macro pic-taking. if you like using the auto functions, i wouldn't spend the money.

Images shared by: yo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great for a 1st SLR
By Eric the RedVerified Reviewer from Memphis, TN on 8/4/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I bought this camera right before a trip to Brazil. I had time to read the manual on the plane and then get to using it. I have used film SLR's from Canon before so it was not hard to adjust to this one. The xti takes great photos on all the automatic settings and can do pretty much everything else manually. I agree that you can't use the kit lense- the pictures look washed out. With my Quantaray 70-300 from Wolf Camera it took great shots.

During my vacation I changed lenses as often as my wife changed clothes (which was very often). I did not have any problems with dust on the sensor as other reviewers have mentioned. All pictures were very clean.

If you're deciding between the XT and the XTI this one is worth the extra couple bucks. I couldn't be happier.

Images shared by: Eric the Red

Soccer on Copacabana

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Ouro Pretu

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Rebel with a cause - and many effects!
By John S.Verified Reviewer from Delmar, NY on 7/31/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I hated to migrate from my Canon A2E but the digital age caught up with me. It was logical to stick w/ Canon since I have two nice Image Stabilization zoom lenses which work perfectly on the Rebel XTi .Two days after I recieved the Rebel we went on a 10 day trip; we shot 600+ photos and they were excellent to spectacular! There is no shutter"lag' which made it easy to capture action shots; we used many of the features and found them intuitive( of course, we have owned Canons forever). If I had a wish list it would include "Eye Focus" like the A2E and an easy to use shade for viewing the LCD screen in bright sunlight. Also, while I prefer to use the viewfinder for composing, there are a few occasions when it would be handy to use the LCD to view a shot ( e.g. when you hold the camera over your head in a crowd trying to get a high shot). It is too bad that my older flash, a Speedlite 540EZ is not compatible with the Rebel but the on-camera flash has been more than adequate for most situations. A 4G memory card holds about 880 photos shot at high quality; an extra battery is a nice back-up but a fully charged battery is good for a lot of shots.

 
Good for "prosumer"
By TtMTVerified Reviewer from Columbia, MD on 7/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Small grip
Best Uses:
Landscape, Macro
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

After a hiatus to SLR photography (previously used a Nikkormat & a Canon EOS 10S), I wanted to upgrade my P&S digital to an SLR digital. I chose this due to its features and my familiarity with Canon. There are a LOT of features, and it is easy for an amateur to get overwhelmed, but this camera allows you to use as many or as few as you like; it allows you to "grow into it." Image quality depends a lot on the lens you use, so it may be different for each person.

 
This is my third canon -- need I say mor
By sharon, USN(Ret)Verified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 7/24/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

My brother and I were both military photojournalist. He in the Coast Guard and I in the United States Navy. He is loyal to Nikon and for years he has bragged the better camera. Of course, Canon has always been a good work horse, makes the best lenses and has the best price. The Navy made me use a canon and I am so happy they did. I bought an EOS SLR 15 years ago and now have my first digital. As finaces allow I will continue to upgrade knowing my images are just as impressive as my brother's are.

Images shared by: sharon, USN(Ret)

Sunset in Narragansett, RI

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Awesome bang for the Buck!
By Jake loves his wife......... and cameraVerified Reviewer from Australia on 7/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Ease of use, Great Features, Take Pic's like a Champ, The feel good factor
Cons:
A little shakey
Best Uses:
NatureWildlife pictures, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hanging with the pro's, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

You honestly will not find a better deal unless you can find one laying on the ground. I loved this camera so much I bought two, one for me and one for the wife(So she would stop bugging me for mine :-)The usability and features are that of a professional grade camera, only without the [$] price tag of one. If you find that some of the shots are a bit shaky in low light conditions, get yourself a good stabilization lens or use a tripod. Don't blame the camera for your coffee addiction.

Images shared by: Jake loves his wife......... and camera

A pretty little Kookaburra...whose laughing now?

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

The Oriental lilly

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
lots of dust
By rq from Mn on 7/16/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time
Cons:
The dust reduction system
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

The colors just do not pop out at me they are acurate but not stand out quality. The images come out underexposed and if you like to do a lot of post processing then this camera is for you.I like a camera that takes great color quality from the go and does not need major post processing to make the photo great. Also the dust reduction system does not work I had to clean the sensor many times and you just should not need to. If you swap out lens as I did than you can count on having dust in your photos and need to clean the sensor.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
this is a fantastic product
By BethVerified Reviewer from chicago il on 7/6/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

This is a great camera for the price.

I have enjoyed using it so far.

 
Brilliant
By MeswakeVerified Reviewer from Ann Arbor on 7/4/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

It really doesn't get any better than this in the given price range. The menus are extremely easy to use and navigate and the number of features is more than enough for my use. The shutter lag time is almost nil and the sensor cleaning feature is implemented very well. My girlfriend is a pro and she also loved the camera.

 
returned
By nature buff from MD on 6/18/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, took great stills
Cons:
Needs Image stabilization, Shaky Operation
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I bought the package deal with the non stabilizing lenses and it was not a good experience. It took great stills but if the subject was in motion of the light was low the pictures were horrible. My advice don't buy the package deal lenses. I returned the camera.

 
The smartest purchase I ever made!
By LisaVerified Reviewer from Manchester, connecticut on 6/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I enjoyed using this camera right away! It has many features, but is very easy to use.There is room for me to grow with this camera and improve my skills.

Images shared by: Lisa

fight for first

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Picture of Product, Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Camera
By Chris from Mason, MI on 6/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Great for everything
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I've had this camera for about a month now and it's gotten quite a bit of use. Nice size, weight, and feel. I really like this camera and have absolutely no regrets having bought it.

The only drawback I've found (and it could very well be that I haven't done enough looking yet) is that you can't keep the shutter open for a long period of time (i.e., taking pictures of star trails) without having to sit there holding the shutter release down.

Images shared by: Chris

Hummingbird at the back

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Marigold in backyard

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great Camera
By cd from Peterstown, WV on 5/9/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Great camera - easy to use. Takes great action and portrait shots. Never have red eye!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome camera
By BwaynoVerified Reviewer from Vancouver,WA on 4/19/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD, Kit lens just OK
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

It has a lot of features that take getting use to. The best way is just start shooting and use the owners guide to see that acutal results. Remember, no film so it's right there and you can see what you did instantly. I just wish the LCD also showed the shot instead of having to use the view finder to compose the pic.

 
Light weight body; shoots dark images
By Hired Gun from Chicago, IL on 4/12/2007
Pros:
Automatic sensor cleaning, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Under exposes images
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

After shooting 2,000 images, I find the camera unreliable for getting the exposure correct. Compensating with a 1/3 or 2/3 over exposure doesn't give good results. Also, the Canon external flash, 580 doesn't expose properly with this camera. It is light weight, and the sensor cleaning is a wonderful feature. It was the main reason I moved from a Canon 20D to the XTi.

 
NEED ANOTHER FOR OTHER LENS
By A & D CREATIONS from LOMPOC,CA on 3/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

THIS ITEM TAKES TERMENDOUS PICTURES AND THE QUALITY IS BETTER THAN GOOD. NIGHT SHOT'S WITHOUT FLASH TURNED OUT IN GOOD QUALITY.

 
Love it!
By Geohippo from Ca on 3/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

This is a great camera enjoy having it next to me and ready whenever I need it to take great picturs. And that it does!

 
Great Camera Easy to Use.
By dragonflymleVerified Reviewer from Poland, ME on 3/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
dark pictures
Best Uses:
Everyday, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I really like this camera and am still learning all the fancy features. I was able to take it out of the box and use it on the automatic setting right away...and have been using that setting the most. I am learning how to use the manual settings. Some of the pictures come out dark but I think this may be on the part of the user not the camera.
Overall I love the camera!

Images shared by: dragonflymle

Snowy Day

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Sunlight and shadows to highlight subject

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
One Great camera!
By FreesetterVerified Reviewer from University Place, WA. on 3/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I read evrey review out there and this little camera held it's own with the big boys... you can't get a better camera for the price. Professional quality at a hobbyist price! But get the 17-85mm lens. the best walk around lens. You'll love it!!

Images shared by: Freesetter

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
New Canon Digital Rebel XTi is Great!
By Joyfoto from Caledonia,MN on 3/2/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Fast Shutter, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
haven't found any yet
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I finally broke down and bought a higher end digital. I previous had used 3 canon 35mm and a point and shoot 5mp hp digital. I wanted to be able to use my existing lenses. The shutter speed is fast, the new larger screen is nice. It does seem a bit lightweight compaired to more expensive models but, for the price I don't think you will find better.

 
This is why I love Canon
By KVerified Reviewer from Chelsea, AL on 2/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I love this camera! After shooting with a Canon film SLR, I knew I couldn't go wrong with a Canon DSLR. This camera has great image resolution, and you don't get the harsh edges that sometimes appear on digital point-and-shoots (though I love my Kodak digital point-and-shoot that goes everywhere with me). I have found the menus to be very intuitive, and there are so many ways to customize the camera to your shooting preferences. Some people complain about the lack of the dial on the back of the camera to control aperature, but I find it just as easy, if not easier to push the botton on the back (that's closer to where my thumb rests anyway) and turn the front dial. The ISO ranges from 100-1600, all of which I have used and been very please with. I also love that I can use all of my Canon film gear on this camera. The only thing that would boost this camera would be a mag alloy body, but since I'm not chasing lions through the jungle or anything like that, the current body works fine for me. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone... and already have!

 
great camera
By theloanwolf072 aka wiredVerified Reviewer from oregon on 2/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Accessorys, Complicated Controls, EXPENSIVE
Best Uses:
Anything, Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

this is a great camera i have been using it for about 4 month now and i am still learning how certain things work like on the camera it's self (just found this out) you can go and program 3 user defaults that you can set up to however you like for example you can take the b/w mode and put a filter effect on it so it can look like sepia or have a blue tint to the picture great camera if you are even thinking about getting it just get it and start off with some lower lenses and work your way up as you have the money to spend on this kind of thing

Images shared by: theloanwolf072 aka wired

picture using sepia effect

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

piture using blue tint

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the photo. Very nice!
 
Awesome Camera!
By eos20danVerified Reviewer from Baton Rouge, LA on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Low noise, Nice Features and Settings, Pro quality, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not pro construction
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Great camera! Low noise, fast autofocus make this a perfect camera for low light. It is also great for portraits, or just about anything.

 
Great Camera, Very Impressed
By aahs715Verified Reviewer from Idaho on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I really like this camera. After months of debating about whether I wanted to get a digital SLR or not. I finally took the plung just after the XTi came out. I could not have been more pleased. This camera has been so great to work with. It has been really easy to use even for a digital novice like myself.

 
Ok Inside, Even better Outside
By CletusVerified Reviewer from Provo, UT on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Intermediate user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Complicated Controls, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Great camera for taking pictures of my kids inside with the flash. Works even better in well lit areas indoors and outdoors. It makes artistic looking photos easy. The controls aren't hard, but you have to go through menus to get to the more advanced options. I love it.

Images shared by: Cletus

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
lightweight
By photogal from colorado on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Lightweight, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I purchased this as a back up to my canon d60 [...] No longer my 'backup' this is so much lighter - with more MP - [...]

 
To become professional ...
By yat_uyuVerified Reviewer from TURKEY on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Using for 4 months I am very pleased

 
Excellent choice
By Islandal from Braintree, MA and Lake Winnipesaukee, NH on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Got the initial Rebel and my wife said that she would never be able to figure it out. Had to buy the XTi so I could get to use a camera again. The wife loves and Rebel and takes it everywhere.
Initially Got the Rebel for the SLR features of almost zero time lag in taking the shot. Grandchildren do not like to stay still long.
Have taken great action shots of the grandkids, a hawk flying and diving to the water to grab a fish, Horseshows, snowmobiles and boats in action and lots of sunrises and sunsets.
You name it, you can probably do it with the XTi
Recommend, for sure; every one who is thinking of buying gets the push from me, (have 4 Rebels in extended family)
Have added two image stabilizer lenses for the action shots. Use the 28-135 as the everyday lens and the 75-300 for long range and still get great shots. Very worthwhile addition.

 
Great Camera
By Ernest from Melrose Park, IL on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Good auto focus, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
grip not as good
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

the canon xti is a great camera. once you understand the features and get acclamated to what you can do, this camera can go a long way

 
nice
By Bob the Builder from Memphis, TN on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

It's really neato.

 
More Than I Expected
By Chi-guyVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
A Bit Small to Hold
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I recently decided to make the jump from film to digital and was comparing the XTi with the 30D when deciding on my first DSLR purchase. The XTi seemed like a good choice, but the 30D has some features not available on the XTi, and the 30D has a better build quality and is a bit larger (the XTi is almost too compact for users with larger hands). For me though, these differences didn't warrant paying for the more expensive 30D. When I received the XTi and started using it, I knew I made the right choice. It is a great camera for anyone in the market for a first DSLR. It's feature set is more than enough to fill the needs of a beginner, and it can meet the demands of many more advanced users.

 
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!EASY CAMERA
By JOHN BURTONVerified Reviewer from PORTSMOUTH, VA. on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

VERY EASY CAMERA TO USE. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR THE BEGINNER OR EXPERT. GREAT ACCESSORIES AND EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SUPPORT FROM CANON AND [...]. THANKS

 
Great dslr!
By professional wanna beVerified Reviewer from Herndon, VA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Good Battery Life, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I love this camera! Just upgraded from my film rebel and a digital point & shoot - WOW what a difference. No delays in taking the shot - great for sports, action photos! Love being able to zoom in on the display to make sure it's clear and sharp! My accessories from my film rebel can be used on the digital so was a good deal for me.

 
Great Camera to Jump to
By BluedrakonVerified Reviewer from South Florida on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Easier Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I decided to get a jump to the D-SLR camera from an old Point and Shoot Digital. I have always enjoyed Canon and this was a great starter for those of us that do not have the big $$$ for the higher end Canons.

Images shared by: Bluedrakon

Great shot under low light

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Outdoors shot with the smaller lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Excellent photos.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon's New Baby
By Jim TobinVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Amatuer, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Body is small, Canon Software is plain
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

The Canon EOS Rebel XTi is an incredible camera for its price. [...] The Resolution is fantastic, coming in at 10.1 at a ratio of 4:3, although it does depend on which ISO your using.After 4 months of owning an XTi, I've noticed its extremely hard to use on ISO 1600 just because it's so noisy and grainy. However, This camera simply amazes me when I take Night shots on ISO 100. The color turns out stupendous, and I couldn't ask for more.One main con of mine about this camera, is that the body is relatively small. The body is just barely large enough for my fingers on my right hand to fit around the grip and still take photos comfortably. Also, The Software that Canon Includes is blatantly obsolete, and wont help you by editing pictures, only help you convert you RAW pictures into JPEG's.RAW brings up another point, shooting in RAW on this camera is very rewarding compared to shooting in JPEG. RAW photos are about 10mb whereas JPEG photos come in at about 3.5mb. The detail and resolution in RAW shots are far more superior than JPEG, so its recommended to shoot in RAW, if you see fit.Overall, You get more than your money's worth. Whether your a beginner, an avid photographer, or a professional, this camera will get the job done.

Images shared by: Jim Tobin

Suave Advertisement - School Project

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

2007 Chicago Auto Show - Lexus LF-A Concept

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Digital Rebel XTi, Quality and Value
By LorVerified Reviewer from Twin Cities,MN on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not as rugged
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Great value for the money. I use the Digital Rebel XTi as a backup to my Canon 30D. It's lighterweight, which makes it nice to use with heavier lenses.. but also makes me wonder how much abuse it can handle. The on board flash stinks, but so does every other camera's on board flash.

 
Exceptional
By Trina from Providence, RI on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

This is the best camera I have used. Nothing (except maybe a Nikon) would compare.

 
Leading the pack!!
By freesetterVerified Reviewer from University Place, WA. on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I looked at them all, read every review, and talked to as many pro's I could... I Canon always came up as the best choice for quality, price and ease of us... I have found it to be all that it is cracked up to be. you just can't bet it!!!

 
Terrific digital slr
By scubasdanielVerified Reviewer from Cincinnati,OH on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

Great csmera for someone moving up to a digital slr

 
I would buy this product again
By Grubber from Live Oak, FL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

And I have recommended this camera to all my friends. It is so easy to use and the pictures are so clear and colorful. I am a beginner at taking pictures and am so happy at how beautiful they come out. This camera makes taking pictures so much fun.

 
IT CAPTURES IT ALL!
By Kim Kleen from Chicago, IL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

This camera really captures the effect I want to get in a picture. It's been great for family
gatherings, vacations, and making note cards.
I would definitely recomend this camera.

 
The Finest Camera I have ever owned
By rcangeliVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
A bit small in the hands, Controls kind of close
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

This is the finest camera I have ever owned. It's my 3rd Canon SLR, and the quality of the images, the flexibility, and speed are just great.

Images shared by: rcangeli

Volcano from Helicopter 1/125 @ F5.6 ISO 400

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Hibiscus 1/30 @ f/11 ISO 200

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product, Tamron AF AS XR DI 28-300

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
one of the best
By luke skywalkerVerified Reviewer from cornwall On. Canada on 1/30/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I have purchased small digital cameras prior to purchasing the rebel xti, and this camera rocks!
It's easy to use and it takes great pictures, worth every dollar! I also like the fact that you can purchase additional lenses.
Great job Canon!!

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
XTI Rocks
By RICH from BOSTON MA on 12/13/2006
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Simple Controls
Cons:
Lack pic on lcd
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

This camera ROCKS. w ehave had several canon products over the years 2 rebel 35mm and a small digital at first and then we went to the XTI, if the price doesnt scare you off . YOU WILL LOVE IT!!! the only thing that i didnt like was the lcd doesnt show the "picture" prior to shooting it there is no "view" mode prior to taking the shot. thats just the lazy digital user in me! however there is a cool feature that shuts off the screen prior to shooting so it doesnt bother you as your taking your shot..

GOOD LUCK LIKE I SAID IT ROCKS!!

[13 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
MR.FIJI LOVES CANON PRODUCTS
By FIJIMANVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS, NEVADA on 11/26/2006
Describe Yourself:
BEST FOR EVERYONE, Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Simple Controls, VERY SIMPLE
Cons:
CAMERA GRIP
Best Uses:
BLACK AND WHITES, Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

I AGREE WITH "OLDSWABBYMATE" FROM FLORIDA ON HIS REVIEW, BEFORE MINE ON THIS CANON EOS REBEL DIGITAL XTI.
WE PURCHASED THE SECOND DIGITAL REBEL (THE XT) AND WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED BY THE OUTSTANDING RESOLUTION AND PERFORMANCE AS COMPARED TO THE CANON 20D & 30D.
THIS REBEL XTI IMPROVES ON THE PREVIOUS MODEL WITH BETTER RESOLUTION, LARGER LCD, 9 POINT AF AND THE ANTI-DUST SYSTEM FOR THE SENSOR CHIP.

CANON DOES IT AGAIN, BETTER THAN "THE OTHERS".

[53 of 56 customers found this review helpful]

 
AS GOOD AS THE NIKON D80
By OLDSWABBYPHOTOMATE from FLORIDA on 11/10/2006
Describe Yourself:
EX-PRO NOW ENTHUSIAST
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
SOMEWHAT SMALL IN STATURE
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi Digital SLR Camera Body Only, (Black):

WHEN I FIRST PHYISCALLY COMPARED THE D80 AND THE XTI SIDE BY SIDE AT A LOCAL PRO CAMERA STORE, I HAD INCLINATIONS MORE TOWARDS THE D80 BECAUSE THE SIZE AND WEIGHT SAID "SERIOUS SLR". THE XTI ALMOST FELT LIKE A TOY DUE TO IT'S LESSER SIZE AND WEIGHT. BUT AT NEARLY $300 LESS, AND THE QUALITY OF THE IMAGE BEING NEARLY IDENTICAL, I CHOSE THE CANON BECAUSE IT ALLOWED THE EXTRA MONEY TO BUY AN ADDITIONAL LENS. SIDE BY SIDE, I HAVE ALWAYS LIKED CANON LENSES JUST SLIGHTLY OVER NIKONS (PROBABLY BECAUSE IN ANCIENT TIMES THE CANON HAD INTERNAL MECHANISMS AND LINKAGES WHILE EARLIER NIKON SLRS DID NOT--JUST A CLEANER SLR BACK THEN). QUALITY OF IMAGE AND CONSTRUCTION ON NIKKOR AND EF CANON ARE, TO ME, EQUAL. THE ONLY ADVANTAGE THE D80 SEEMS TO HAVE NOW, IS THAT IS SHOOTS MORE FPS WHEN NEEDED. BUT AFTER ADDING ON A BATTERY GRIP, EXTERNAL FLASH GRIP, THE CANON MAKES ME VERY HAPPY. I CAN'T WAIT TO GET IT OUT AND DO SOME SERIOUS LANDSCAPES. MAYBE DO A PORTFOLIO. AND YES, I DO KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT, I WAS A NAVY PHOTOGRAPHER, DID TUTORSHIP UNDER THE SON OF THE LEGENDARY D.W. GRIFFITH, HAVE SEVERAL INSTITUTE CERTIFICATIONS UNDER MY BELT, AND HAVE USED MEDIUM AND 35MM (SLR) FORMATS FOR YEARS. AFTER MY NAVY STINT I CONTINUED DOING PHOTOGRAPHY FOR ENJOYMENT, NOT FOR PROFIT. I AM A HARDY ADAMS AND FEININGER FAN. TO ME, PHOTOGRAPHY IS MORE ART BY USING WHAT IS PRESENTED BY NATURE OR THE SUBJECT THAN MANIPULATING IN THE DARKROOM (OR ON THE COMPUTER).

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.