Buy the Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)

The sleek PowerShot S3 IS digital camera offers you high resolution, an extra-long zoom, advanced yet easy-to-use movie functions plus great new shooting options. Also, with Image Stabilizer technology, images and movies taken with the S3 IS are sharp and smooth, even when the camera gets jostled. It's everything you need to capture the fun, excitement and beauty of your active life - wherever it takes you!

Great features, amazing resolution, fantastic zoom - Feature-rich, compact 6.0 Megapixel digital camera with super long 12x Optical Zoom and UD Lens. Engineered with Canon's sophisticated Image Stabilizer technology, the S3 IS Digital ELPH gives you the shake-free performance that makes your pictures sharp and clear. No matter how close you zoom in, the S3 IS Digital ELPH keeps everything stable. All you have to think about is your subject.

Awesome, steady shooting with phenomenal clarity - Canon Optical Image Stabilizer technology and ISO 800 for steady shooting and excellent sharpness and color. This is a camera that could make it on looks alone. But wait until you see its performance. The 4x optical zoom brings you in for intimate close-ups. The 6.0 megapixel CCD produces images of impressive quality with resolution that lets you create big prints.

Advanced imaging technology improves every photo - DIGIC II Image Processor and iSAPS Technology for superior image quality, faster operation and lower power consumption.

DIGIC II Image Processor - Canon's DIGIC II Image Processor is designed to improve processing speed and image quality, so DIGIC II provides markedly faster startup, autofocus and playback, plus it assures that every image is more colorfully vibrant.

iSAPS Technology - iSAPS Technology is an entirely original scene-recognition technology developed for digital cameras by Canon. Using an internal database of thousands of different photos, iSAPS works with the fast DIGIC II Image Processor to improve focus speed and accuracy, as well as exposure and white balance.

Because great shots can happen anytime - Exclusive MovieSnap feature allows for taking still images while shooting movies. Now there's no need to interrupt your movie when you see a great shot. With the S3 IS's MovieSnap feature, you can simply press the shutter to capture a full 6.0 megapixel still image at any time while recording a movie.

Create high-quality movies with the touch of a button - With the new Movie Button, record high-quality 60 fps QVGA (320 x 240) continuous movies without switching modes, and use advanced features such as optical zooming during the movie and Stereo Sound. Now you can produce high-quality, 60 frames-per-second movies without switching modes. Canon's new Movie button makes everything simple. It even gives you access to all the advanced features you want for making movies like optical zoom. You'll hear the difference, too: the S3 IS is equipped to record in stereo, with a high sampling rate, adjustable microphone level setting and wind filter option for excellent sound quality. Movie-making has never been easier!

Shooting Modes - Advanced presets for the best possible photos under certain conditions


    Auto - The camera chooses all the settings so you can concentrate on your subject.
    P Program - Access advanced exposure compensation features while shooting mostly automatically.
    Av Aperture-priority - You define the aperture to either isolate your subject or have clarity throughout the entire picture, and the camera will choose the corresponding shutter speed.
    Tv Shutter-priority - You select the shutter speed to stop or blur action, and the camera finds the appropriate aperture. With slow exposure times, Canon's noise reduction system activates to ensure low image noise.
    Manual - The ultimate in creative control, you set ISO speed, exposure compensation and white balance.
    Portrait - The camera sets a large aperture, focusing the subject and artistically blurring the background to make your subject "pop."
    Landscape - For front to back sharpness, the camera sets a small aperture.
    Sports - Ensure highly accurate autofocusing when shooting fast-moving subjects.
    Stitch Assist - Build awe-inspiring panoramas by neatly aligning sequential images.
    Movie - Shoot in VGA (30 fps/15 fps) and QVGA (60 fps/30 fps/15 fps) for up to 1 hour or 1GB.

    Special Scene Modes


    Foliage - Capture brilliant shots of autumn foliage, greenery and blossoms.
    Snow - Shoot clear snow scenes without darkened subjects or bluish tint.
    Beach - Get clear shots of people at a sunny beach without darkened faces.
    Fireworks - Grab brilliant images of skyrocketing fireworks.
    Indoor - Reduce blur and improve color accuracy when shooting handheld indoors.
    Night Snapshot - Get natural-looking pictures with brighter backgrounds and subjects lit by flash.
    Color Accent - Choose to retain a single color in your image while other colors turn monochrome.
    Color Swap - Select a color and replace it with a color you specify for special effects.
    Digital Macro - Shoot larger-than-life close-ups with one-button simplicity.
    Stitch Assist - Build awe-inspiring panoramas by neatly aligning sequential images.

    My Colors (Final image may vary depending on picture composition.)

    Vivid - Yield vibrant shots with dramatic high-contrast.
    Vivid Blue - Emphasize the sea, sky and other blue areas.
    Vivid Green - Add vivid dimension to greens for extraordinary nature shots.
    Vivid Red - Charge up red objects in your images for extra impact.
    Neutral - Produce images of subtle, elegant tonality.
    Sepia - Recreate the look of vintage photographs.
    Black & White - Deliver enhanced clarity - especially useful when shooting text.
    Positive Film - Combine Vivid Blue, Vivid Green and Vivid Red to achieve a positive film effect.
    Lighter Skin Tone - Make your subjects' skin tones lighter.
    Darker Skin Tone - Darken skin tones a shade.
    Custom Color - Finely adjust brightness and vividness, and set your preferred balance of blue, green, red and skin colors.

Shoot and view wide images - 16:9 Widescreen for full-screen viewing on widescreen TVs and computer monitors. The PowerShot S3 IS includes a widescreen resolution option, producing images and film clips that are perfect for your widescreen TV or computer monitor.

The complete print solution - Print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloading, plus ID Photo Print and Movie Print with Canon CP and SELPHY Compact Photo Printers. The PowerShot S3 IS' Print/Share button makes direct printing easier than ever. Simply connect the S3 IS Digital ELPH to a Canon CP, SELPHY or PIXMA Photo Printer or any PictBridge compatible photo printer, press the lighted Print/Share button and print! Also use the Print/Share button to transfer images to a computer (Windows and Macintosh).

Connect the USB interface cable to your Canon digital camera and a PictBridge compatible photo printer. Press lighted Print/Share button. You'll have long lasting, professional quality prints in minutes.

Direct Photo Printers - For desktop large-format printing, try one of the Direct Photo Printers that allow you to print without a computer in one of two ways: plug your compatible PowerShot camera into the Direct Photo Printer using the supplied USB interface cable, or simply insert a memory card into the supplied adapter. You can also connect the printer to your computer for more options. Print high-resolution, borderless images as postcards or 8.5 x 11-inches sheets within minutes.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(14)
Pros:
Accurate colors(14), Great resolution(14), Nice features and settings(14), Rugged(9), Simple controls(10)
Best Uses:
Everyday(15), Low light(7), Outdoors(14), Portraits(8), Sports/action(8)
 
Great step up from Point and Shoot
By mhaeVerified Reviewer from Alpharetta, GA on 3/15/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

This camera is a great step up from a point and shoot, but takes some time to get used to. The movie function is phenomenal!!!
A tripod and additional rechargeable batteries are a must with this camera.

 
a great camera
By king from atlanta ga on 3/11/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

it works great

 
Nice Camera For The Price
By Blue MoonVerified Reviewer from Portland, Oregon on 3/6/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Swivel LCD
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

I purchased this camera last summer. It takes great pictures. The colors are very good and pictures are sharp. Love the swivel LCD screen that allows you to take photos at any angle. My biggest complaint about this camera, however, is it's inability to focus on almost anything up close. I do a lot of flower photography, and the camera just can't focus on anything close. It's been very frustrating!

Images shared by: Blue Moon

Japanese Gardens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Japanese Gardens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Excellent Digital Camera
By Dr. AlVerified Reviewer from Chattanooga, TN on 2/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

Excellent digital camera. Easy to use in all photo situations. Wonderful pictures.

 
Solid Performer! Solid Value!
By FilmalotVerified Reviewer from Laguna Niguel, CA on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Excellent color registry, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Superior Optics
Cons:
Awkward On/Off Switch
Best Uses:
Best Non-SLR DigiCam, Everyday, Outdoors, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

An outstanding, "feels-good-in-your-hands," solid offering from Canon. This is not a simple point and shoot camera, unless you want it to be. There are enough options to keep even the semi-pro contented. Check out the competition first and then come back to Canon quality. My only negative comment is directed at the peculiar On/Off switch - not a problem, just an irritant. Quality for a reasonable price.

 
excellent choice
By mannyVerified Reviewer from dallas, tx on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Little pricey
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

very please, little pricey though but happy to use at every opportunity

 
With more zoom comes more weight.
By Crazy about CamerasVerified Reviewer from Lake George, NY on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Quite Heavy
Best Uses:
Everyday, Far Away Subjects, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

Great resolution, great zoom, just wish it wasn't so heavy. Don't get me wrong. It still is lighter then the SLR models but when you are used to a compact camera with a wrist strap the extra weight with a neck strap is hard to get used to. Everything is a compromise though. Bottom line. Love the camera but considering getting another compact for everyday use. Keep this extended zoom camera for my kids sporting events.

 
More than I had imagined.
By ram1945Verified Reviewer from Spring Hill, FL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Comfortable in hand, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Have not found one yet
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Macro mode, Outdoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

I upgraded from a Canon A430 to the Canon S3 IS. Love the S3 IS easy to use and very good manuals.

Images shared by: ram1945

In BW mode, Manual

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Excellent photo
 
A camera worth a thousand words!
By FoeToadVerified Reviewer from Ellsinore, MO on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

The Canon PowerShot S3 IS, is the best buy choice. Anyone interested in quality photos will be happy with the S3 IS features. Image stabilization will change your usual fuzzy photos into sharp and clear images, and the 12X lens will allow you to frame your subject to perfection.

 
Best Camera for the price
By Josh the PhotoguyVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas, NV on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Low Blur, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Indoor Sports, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

This camera is the closest you can get to the Canon XT without spending the extra money. It has settings for all types of exposure. Great for still shots of nature and portraits. It did a lot better than I thought it would for sports. Very close to professional grade. It exceeded my expectations. I love the fact that you can edit the automatic settings already on the camera and you can of course make your own.

 
Great Camera
By DrewVerified Reviewer from Buffalo Grove on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Digital zoom resolution
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

This is my first pro-sumer camera, which I purchased after scouring reviews for the best zoom cameras available. It came down to this or the Panasonic Lumix model. This decision makers were the one-touch video record mode, and the ability to zoom while shooting video, which is great for shooting my kids' sporting events. The only negative is the decrease in resolution quality when shooting at maximum zoom. However, loss of quality while using digital zoom tends to be an issue with many cameras, so I'm not particularly surprised. I have ordered an aftermarket telephoto lens to increase the optical capacity; we'll see how that works. All in all a great camera that (nearly) does it all!

 
i like it
By s3user from vermont on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

works well for me

 
Excellent step up to a DSLR
By KarlosVerified Reviewer from Camarillo, CA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Photography student
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Enough Features
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

This is an awesome camera, and anyone wanting more out of a point and shoot, but doesn't quite want to spend the big bucks on an SLR should seriously consider this camera. The only beef I have with it, is that the aperture doesn't go any smaller than f/16, making it a poor choice if you do a lot of outdoor photography or travel, where a lot needs to be in focus. It is for this reason I'll be upgrading soon to an SLR where I can utilize that extra functionality and keeping this camera around as a backup.

The use of the SD memory card is terrific, it's available cheaply through a lot of different stores.

The only other thing I don't like about the S3-IS is that the batteries are AA and Canon expects you to supply your own, instead of including a battery pack and charger, which would have made the camera smaller and lighter in design. Batteries can get expensive, and I use up one set of 4 AA's in about 512mb's worth of pictures, forcing me to change the batteries 2x before filling up my 1gig card. Rechargeable AA's are definitely in order.

Images shared by: Karlos

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great shots.
 
Outstanding Features and Performance
By StanVerified Reviewer from Orange,CA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls, Stills or video in any mo, Two shutter releases
Cons:
No external flash connect
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

Only notable lack is no external flash contact.
Two separate shutter releases and ability to
instantly shoot video while in still mode or
take full-resolution stills while shooting video
is a unique and valuable feature.

[38 of 69 customers found this review helpful]

 
great!
By pic. geek from kaneohe, HI on 11/17/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Canon Powershot S3 IS Digital Camera:

I had problems after about 3 months with it making an exploding noise. I had to return it and get a knew one.[...]

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.