Buy the EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black) image
 
(based on 56 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Canon EOS Digital Rebel camera now has a new, faster, even smaller, brother. Sibling rivalries aside, the 8.0 megapixel Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR adds resolution, speed, an extra dollop of creative control and enhanced comfort in the hand, to one of the smallest and lightest digital cameras in its class. Despite its advancements in ergonomic design and technology, this easy to use EOS digital camera is compatible with all of Canon''s EF lenses including the EF-S lenses.

The new EOS Digital Rebel XT camera has increased resolution, speed, responsiveness and energy efficiency while the size and weight have decreased, making it more comfortable to hold and use. Indeed, it is nearly three ounces lighter and more than a half-inch smaller than the original EOS Digital Rebel model.

  • High-performance digital SLR with 8.0 Megapixel CMOS Sensor and DIGIC II Image Processor.
  • Smallest and lightest EOS Digital SLR to date.(as of February 2005)
  • Fast 3 frames-per-second shooting with 14 frame burst and 0.2 second startup time.
  • High-speed, Wide-area 7-point AF with superimposed focusing points.
  • USB 2.0 Hi-Speed interface for quick downloads.
Rebel Without A Choice No More - The EOS Digital Rebel XT camera will take its place alongside the original 6.3 megapixel EOS Digital Rebel camera that placed a high resolution digital SLR into the hands of SLR Photographers.

The EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR Body is offered with Canon''s high-quality EF-S 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 zoom lens.

While many of the feature advancements and innovations on the new EOS Digital Rebel XT digital camera are inherited from Canon''s recently introduced upper level model EOS 20D SLR , the two cameras'' most striking technological similarities are their use of Canon''s newly-developed, large single plate, high sensitivity, high resolution color CMOS imaging sensor technology. While the size of the APS-C CMOS sensor on the EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR is fractionally smaller than the APS-C CMOS sensor on the EOS 20D camera (22.2 x 14.8 mm versus 22.5 x15.0 mm respectively) accounting in part for the cameras 8.0 vs. 8.2 megapixel resolution rating, individual pixel dimensions are identical, and they both provide the same effective angle of view, equivalent to 1.6 x the normal EF lens focal length.

Finer Photos Faster - The new EOS Digital Rebel XT digital camera can shoot up to 14 consecutive Large/Fine (8.0 megapixel) JPEGs, five RAW files, or four RAW + Large/Fine JPEGs at a rate of up to three frames-per-second. The EOS Digital Rebel camera''s smaller buffer permits bursts of only four Large/Fine (6.3 megapixel) JPEG or RAW frames at a rate of up to 2.5 frames per second.

While reprising the Digital Rebel SLR''s ISO range of 100, 200, 400, 800 and 1600, Canon raised the Auto ISO setting on the Digital Rebel XT model to 400 in order to help improve image quality, reduce camera shake and brighten the scene behind the subject when taking a flash photo. The new Digital Rebel XT camera also offers 12 exposure modes that are user selectable at the turn of a conveniently placed dial. The exposure modes take into account virtually all shooting conditions and preferences are: Full Auto, Portrait, Landscape, Close-up, Sports, Night Portrait, Flash Off, Program AE, Shutter speed-priority AE, Aperture-priority AE, Manual and Auto Depth-of-Field AE.

In addition to its lossless compression 8.0 megapixel RAW image file option, the Rebel XT Digital SLR offers users the option of shooting in a range of sizes and quality JPEG settings (based on shooter''s preference, need and end-use requirements) from large (8.0 megapixels) and medium (4.15 megapixels), to small (2.0 megapixels). Within each resolution option, the user may also select quality settings: large/fine, large/normal, medium/fine, medium/normal, small/fine and small/normal.

RAW Power - What''s more, where the original Digital Rebel camera required dedicated software to extract embedded middle/fine resolution JPEGs from the larger, uncompressed RAW image file, the new Rebel XT model saves RAW and large/fine resolution images as separate files on the Compact Flash card. The user also has the option of selecting RAW (8.0 megapixel) files only, saving valuable space on the CF card. As with the EOS 20D, the Digital Rebel XT camera''s RAW files are denoted by the CR2 extension.

Creative Control - Among the new features found on the EOS Digital Rebel XT camera are user selectable metering and AF modes, flash exposure compensation control, improved E-TTL II evaluative flash metering and for the first time in this product category, custom function control. The Digital Rebel XT SLR even offers a monochrome mode for consumers who enjoy the subtleties and shadings that only black and white images offer. These additional controls greatly increase the creative power of the Digital Rebel XT, without taking away any of the automated functions that made the original Digital Rebel so popular with beginning photographers.

The Rebel XT camera incorporates nine of the Custom Functions previously found on the EOS 20D model. Designed to fine-tune camera operation according to personal preferences, the custom functions offer users a set of programming options for the SET button/Cross keys, as well as control over long exposure noise reduction; flash sync speed in AV mode; AF start from the shutter button or AE lock button; AF assist beam; mirror lockup; E-TTL II metering patterns, and shutter curtain sync.

All This and most powerful SLR imaging engine, DIGIC II provides high-precision and high speed, natural color reproduction including high-saturation, bright subjects, improved auto white balance, along with increased white balance correction control and white balance bracketing (another legacy of EOS 20D advances), compared to the original Digital Rebel camera.

The white balance correction control is a digital color filter that works like a light balancing filter or a color-compensating filter. Both the blue/amber bias and the magenta/green bias can be adjusted to +/- 9 levels. While the blue/amber bias adjustment is standard on the original Digital Rebel model, the Rebel XT camera''s additional magenta/green bias adjustment provides increased color compensation from the earlier model.

The Rebel XT SLR''s white balance bracketing mode enables the camera to automatically take three images for every shot snapped, each with a different bias setting. The user can then select the best shot and discard the other two. White balance bracketing can also be used in combination with white balance correction. The benefit of all of this white balance wizardry can be found in the photographs with colors captured accurately and precisely under a wide range of conditions.

In addition to the legion of image quality improvements, DIGIC II speeds up the camera''s performance from start up that is ten times faster on the EOS Digital Rebel XT model than it is on the EOS Digital Rebel with the original iteration of DIGIC (.2 of a second on the EOS Digital Rebel XT model compared with 2 seconds on the EOS Digital Rebel camera).

Utilizing the same 7-point autofocus system as the EOS Digital Rebel camera, the new EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR is capable of analyzing where a subject is -- even when it is off center - and almost immediately bringing it into focus. It can also analyze subject movement and automatically select locking or tracking AF modes as needed. These features simplify the camera''s operation and optimize its performance. The Digital Rebel XT allows users to select locking or tacking AF modes independently, adding a new dimension of creative control.

What''s more, even though both Digital Rebel SLRs use that identical 7-point autofocus system, the Rebel XT model''s new DIGIC II chip actually help increase the speed of autofocus calculation and hence the responsiveness of the autofocus itself. For greater creative control, both cameras also offer users the option of automatic and manual focusing point selection.

Another feature improved by the presence of DIGIC II is the speed of the direct printing function, which is PictBridge compatible. DIGIC II also produces faster startup times, faster CompactFlash card writing speed; and approximately 10X faster data transfer speeds thanks to the processor''s new USB 2.0 high-speed interface. As an added bonus, the DIGIC II chip is so efficient, it actually reduces the EOS Digital Rebel XT camera''s power consumption (and extends battery life) by approximately 35-percent. Indeed, this new Rebel XT camera is so energy efficient, it is powered by the same lighter-weight NB-2LH battery pack used by the PowerShot S60 (as opposed to the larger BP-511A battery pack used by the original Digital Rebel model). While the NB-2LH battery and charger are included with the Digital Rebel XT camera, both a new vertical grip (BG-E3) that accepts up to two NB-2LH battery packs or six AA-sized batteries and an AC Adapter Kit (ACK700) for powering from an AC outlet, are available as optional accessories.

E-TTL II: Exposure Control In A Flash - The new Rebel XT camera also features the next step in the evolution of evaluative- through the lens exposure control, E-TTL II. Though compatible with all Canon EX-series Speedlites, this ?smarter? new E-TTL II system helps ensure that, even in situations with highly reflective subjects or backgrounds or when shooting in most other similarly difficult lighting situations, the image will be optimally exposed.

The E-TTL II system compares the ambient light with the reflected pre-flash off the subject reported in all 35 metering zones and selects the areas with a small difference to be weighted for flash exposure calculation. This system also helps eliminate or underweights areas with large differences, recognizing them as an extremely reflective object in the background or a highly reflective subject.

Bundled Software - Both the Rebel XT Camera and lens kit and the body only kit are shipped with three software discs including EOS Digital Solutions Disc 10 featuring ZoomBrowser EX, ImageBrowser and ArcSoft PhotoStudio together with other utilities, another disc containing Digital Photo Professional 1.6 for RAW file conversions, and a third disc containing PDF versions of the instruction manuals for each application.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 56 reviews)
98% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Beginner(10), Casual user(8), Enthusiast(41), Professional(12)
Pros:
Accurate colors(27), Easy to use(3), Great resolution(31), Large clear LCD(12), Lightweight(4)
Cons:
Not good in low light(12)
Best Uses:
Art(13), Documentary(6), Everyday(31), Fun(17), Low light(8)
 
everyone should have one
By snap happy patVerified Reviewer from the woodlands, TX on 12/27/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use and learn, LIghtweight, Quiet
Cons:
Slow shuter speed
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

rocket pics show great detail

 
great camera!!!!!
By 13 year old with a DSLRVerified Reviewer from WA on 12/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Compact, Quiet, Strong Construction, Very strong
Cons:
Small LCD
Best Uses:
Everything
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

It gives you a perfect shot every time.Also it is very strong.My tripod tiped over a wall with a 3 foot drop on the other side and the camera still took the picture like nothing happed.

 
Great Camera for Creative Photographer
By KJBlack3126Verified Reviewer from Palm Harbor, FL on 12/17/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I bought this camera after years of using point and shoot digital cameras and missing the features of my old 35 mm film SLR. With this camera I can easily take great shots at night (Cinderella's Castle, fireworks, neon lights) as well as daytime shots with multiple lenses. I can even take black & white photos with a professional look. This camera is easy to use and offers full auto to full manual modes with a level inbetween so all levels of experience can quickly take great pictures. Great deal for the dollar!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love my Digital Rebel
By Mar from San Francisco, CA on 12/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Great Digital SLR Camera. This is my 2nd Digital Rebel, and I enjoyed using it. Just the right size, not heavy and not bulky. Great for taking your kids sports, especially Soccer, and Baseball. For Indoor shots, I would recommend an external flash. You cannot beat the quality of the camera, and the quality of the pictures for the price.

Images shared by: Mar

Taken from Rebel XT, with Canon 18mm-55mm Lens.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Perfect Camera!!
By NzBornVerified Reviewer from San Ramon on 12/14/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I am a Canon fan and have been using Canons forever, but this camera had everything i ever wanted. Whether it was to take out to the beach or do a detailed art experiment, this camera offers everything you need.

 
So much fun
By TheresaVerified Reviewer from Bridgeview, IL on 11/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

It takes the best pictures. Everyone loves my camera and wants me to take their pictures. It is the one item I owe that gives me so much pleasure.

Images shared by: Theresa

The end of a perfect day in Hawaii

Image Thumbnail
 
Thank You Canon!
By Myphotography47Verified Reviewer from Orlando, FL on 10/25/2007
Pros:
Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Love my digital rebel. This is my second digital rebel and cannot see myself going with anyone else. Thank you Canon for such great cameras! I recommend this camera to anyone who wants to shot SLR Digital without hesitation.

 
Love this camera!
By AshleyVerified Reviewer from New Hampshire on 10/23/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Use for sports/action photography. Great with portraits.

 
I love my Digital Rebel XT.
By camping fanaticVerified Reviewer from Detroit, MI on 10/8/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

No matter what the subject or the rush for taking the picture, the Canon XT has pulled it off and left me happy with the results. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a Digital SLR.

 
Low Price, amazing camera
By Bring Blink BackVerified Reviewer from olney, maryland on 9/13/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Controls, Quick start up, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

This camera has amazing image quality for its low price. Great for entry-level SLR users. This was my first SLR camera and I loved it alot. Not complicated to use. has 6 auto settings, and 6 manual. Nice battery life. Eyepiece could be longer, but you can buy accessories for that. i have dropped it on a carpeted surface and it still works. and it was in a wooden shelf that was being hammered on, and it still works. Reccommend buying

Images shared by: Bring Blink Back

A frog at night

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
The perfect slr for beginners
By DaisieVerified Reviewer from sac town, ca on 9/11/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
there arent any
Best Uses:
Art
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I researched digital slr's for about a year before I decided to actually buy one. I decided on the rebel XT. It's smaller which is great having small hands. The weight of the camera is perfect taking it along on my hikes and four wheeling trips. I am very hard on my camera's and love that my rebel is so durable. The camera itself is awesome for a begginer user who is a first time SLR owner, it's controls and functions give you all the options you could possibly want. However canon is wonderful in the sense that they have always made thier product as user friendly as possible. In short I love my camera, and i love canon! Buying this camera has made me a die hard canon fan for life!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This Camera excels in all areas
By JMCFIRSTSTATE from Delaware on 9/1/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Easy to use and learn
Cons:
I don't know of any cons
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I've used this camera for fast paced sports including football and horseracing, for landscapes and studio work and I have used heavy lenses on it including the Sigma 135-400 APO f5.6 and have obtained excellent results. Perhaps a working professional would want the tough as a brick 30D or higher, but for this hobbyist, it is an excellent camera and when I upgrade, it will be for the next Rebel.

Images shared by: JMCFIRSTSTATE

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT!!
By shaynaVerified Reviewer from florida on 7/30/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

This is my first SLR and I couldn't ask for better! You may have to take some of your time to read the manual so you can know the controls on the camera, but besides that, it's perfect! [...] (and trust me, that is pretty cheap!). I'm so glad I bought this camera. It has made my portfolio 10 times better! Buy this!

Images shared by: shayna

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Allrounder
By Chait from Worcester, MA on 6/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great Pictures, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Loud, Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, FASHION, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Pricey however great tool at hand of a knowledgeable User

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
So-so
By DSLR junkieVerified Reviewer from Pennsylvania on 6/12/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

After one year and been using it for travels and family fun, I have decided it is time to upgrade. Being female, I don't have large hands and find the camera difficult to hold comfortably and when some serious lenses in the front of the camera, the balance is way front heavy.
My other issue with it is that I can take several images of the same subject and in the same light conditions, just shortly after each other, and yet the White balance isn't similar or even accurate 70% of the time. Using manual WB would probably solve that, but many times I don't have the time or will to use manual WB.

Otherwise, it is a neat little camera and a great learning DSLR for beginners and if you want to use only small and light lenses, like the kit lens or the 50mm.

I would recommend it to a friend under certain circumstances, depending on the friends needs!

Images shared by: DSLR junkie

fun for travels

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Great camera for all around use!!!
By TerryVerified Reviewer from Harker Heights, TX on 6/5/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I love this camera!!! It is very versitile and has endless capability.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Pleases
By SethVerified Reviewer from Irving, Tx on 5/7/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Great color contrast, LIghtweight, Quiet
Cons:
Low lite issue, Now half the price
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

it's been a great camera to capture family times and some sports. It has some issues with low light and high speed.

Images shared by: Seth

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Good starter camera
By ThorspawnVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 4/21/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
DIM LCD, Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

First time with an SLR.
Plenty of easy settings that take good pictures, plenty of other lenses available.
Has plenty of user controllable setting.
Can do a good job enlarging the pictures.

 
The best camera for a beginner
By RM7065Verified Reviewer from Orlando, Florida on 4/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Action, Art, Documentary, Fun, Hobby, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I have never owned an SLR camera before. This is my first SLR camera and I have to say I have been missing out. I went from a Kodak easyshare 4MP camera to this and I have not looked back since. The camera is feature-rich. Has great presets for those who rather spend time taking photos rather than tweaking the camera. At first you will want to leave the camera on Auto but once you spend time with it and learn its functions, you will quickly move to the creative side. Overall this camera is great for both amateurs and advanced photographers. It is great for action photography.

Images shared by: RM7065

Using Quantaray 70-300mm lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Using the included 18-55mm lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Great Camera
By cameraguy from san francisco on 4/9/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Cons:
Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Art
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

i enjoyed using this at my kids birthday party, quick easy to learn...

 
Great Camera
By April RussoVerified Reviewer from Clermont Florida on 3/23/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Student
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

The camera has great creative control.easy to use
all around great camera

Images shared by: April Russo

Drink Coke It's a classic

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Toys

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product, Picture of Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By Ryan the HawaiianVerified Reviewer from Nebraska on 3/16/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I had been scouring the web for 2 years before I bought this camera...had a great offer that I couldn't turn down and I snatched it up. Overall the photos are of great resolution. Could maybe use a polarizer or UV filter...some of the edges on items are a little fuzzy but, for my level, this is a fantastic buy. The next purchase? A different lens and more filters.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice camera
By AprilVerified Reviewer from Clermont,Florida on 2/28/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Student
Pros:
Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I like my camera!

 
Great camera
By NicoleVerified Reviewer from Greencastle, PA on 2/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

The only downside to this camera is the 18-55mm lens isn't good for long range shots - I bought a different lens and also you can't take pictures by looking at the LCD display - has to be through viewfinder. Otherwise great for price!

Images shared by: Nicole

My teddy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Love this camera!!!
By jeanette from DFW, TX on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

This is an excellent camera. It is the first SLR in the family and has been great to learn with. Highly recommend it.

 
Canon XT big disappointment
By Vic in HellVerified Reviewer from Hell, MI on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Great Resolution
Cons:
Complicated Controls, Flimsy Construction
Best Uses:
Boat anchor
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

The Canon XT has been a big disappointment for several reasons. 1) I have had the camera for 1 year and it has needed repair twice. I am a proffesional and handle the camera with care, but it has had some software or electronics problems. 2) I have two high end f2.8 Sigma lenses for my Canon film cameras that were my favorite lenses. Niether one works with the Canon XT. I believe this was poor engineering on Canon's part if they wanted their film camera users to be happy when they converted to digital.3) 1.8 inch display screen is too small to see. I find it interesting that my 3 year old pocket camera Fuji e550 has a larger display screen.4) The color saturation is flat and does not record the color richness nearly as good as my 3 year old pocket camera Fuji e550.Looking back over the 20 years I have been using Canon cameras, noting that every Canon camera and Canon video camera I have owned has had problems and needed service, I think I would never purchase another Canon camera.Victor Banta [...]

 
A Great Camera
By Joekid714Verified Reviewer from Zanesville, Ohio on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Convenient, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I acquired this camera due to the fact my older film rebel's apparatus that exposes the film would not open all of the way on every shot.I liked the ease of use of the camera and quality shots I was able to get so I went with the same camera only digital.I have not been disappointed.It is an easy to use camera which has been very good in most of the situations I find myself in when I want to have a photo to remember where I was.It is also a very excellent camera because it has the flash attached to it so I don't need to carry around another item when travelling.It's truly amazing that I can now see what I have photographed immediately after the picture was taken to see if I have captured exactly what I desired.It has great depth,quality,color reproduction,clarity, and a superb auto focus to eliminate the need on my behalf to be exact.I highly reccomend this camera for the novice enthusiast whom wishes to get the most out their abilities to get photo's that will be cherished for the years to come.

Images shared by: Joekid714

St.Louis, MO near the arch

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Nighttime, Using Product, Made with Product

A Big Cat at the Cowboy Museum in Oklahoma City,OK

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Indoors, Using Product, Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the nice photos.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
EOS Digital Rebel
By JerryVerified Reviewer from Mount Pleasant, SC on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Good camera for the price.

 
My dream Digital Camera!
By GrameeVerified Reviewer from Goose Creek, SC on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Pro Wanna be
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Easy to learn to use, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

It is a little weighty if you are used to the tiny digitals but handles minor "shake" well.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bought the package - everything I needed
By ZVerified Reviewer from Baltimore, MD on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
none found yet
Best Uses:
Everyday
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Enjoyed ease of use & quick start-up.

 
Great addition to my camera armada
By Photo Joe from Saint Cloud, MN on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Lightweight, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Weak built-in flash
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I bought this camera as a digital addition to my existing Canon Rebel 2000 35mm camera. All my accessories work with both cameras with no problems, so I have confidence that any additional accessories I acquire in the future will work with both as well (though I seldom use the Rebel 2000 any longer since getting the Digital Rebel XT). As with most cameras of this type, the built-in flash is quite weak, however anybody buying a camera of this caliber would most likely go right with a hot-shoe flash unit of some flavor and not waste much time with the built-in flash. Pictures right out of the box using the pre-sets are great and require little re-touching, and once one learns to manually tweak the setting to match the scene conditions this camera takes awesome pictures. Admittedly I have little to no experience with competing products to the Digital Rebel XT, but I have had such good luck with this camera (and the Canon brand in general) that I don't feel the need to pursue anything else.

 
Best bang for your buck!
By LC....the wannabe photographer!!! :-) from Harrisonville, MO on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Love this camera. Take it with me....EVERYWHERE I go!!!!!

Images shared by: LC....the wannabe photographer!!! :-)

Easter 2006

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Easter 2006

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Thank you for the photo. Very nice!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Highly Recomened
By Matt from Saginaw on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I'm in love with my camera

 
Money Well Spent
By nbessetteVerified Reviewer from Sparks, NV on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Looks cool, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls, Versitile
Cons:
Is cheaper now than b4
Best Uses:
Creativity, Everyday, Low Lighting, Low Light with Tripod, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Although it is much cheaper now than when I bought it when it first came out, I would do it again. I think that it was one of the best large purchases I've ever made! I would get the new XTi too if I wasn't so poor! (college) This camera is perfect for those wanting to get more involved with photography with the ease of digital! The features are easy enough to use/understand for beginners but give more advanced users the tools they need too! You don't need to spend $2000+ on a DSLR if you aren't planing to super-size your images. If you want the best 8MP DSLR you should look no further!

Images shared by: nbessette

Kyoto streets w/ tripod and shutter control

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Humming Bird/Telephoto lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice photo!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
beautiful camera, worth every penny!
By Jon Andreas PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Ny on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Compact, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I have shot a cuple weddings with this camera and it has done nothing but great things, i would recommend this camera for enthusiasts and backups for professionals. I love this camera.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for Novice
By StephanieVerified Reviewer from CT on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Love this camera, easy to learn on, amazing pictures!

 
good rebel
By Matt the fotodude from mississippi on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I liked the product overall i just felt like something was missing though but it performed very well.

 
Awesome camera!
By Connie SVerified Reviewer from Alger, OH on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Yearbook photography
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Wonderful camera, I love it! I use it on a daily basis and this camera is well worth the price. The photographs have brilliant color and clarity, and often look like they were taken by a professional!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Light, fast, lots of control options
By Boxster2004Verified Reviewer from DFW TX USA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

My brother had a prior-generation Digital Rebel before me and some of his photos, especially shots from the upper rafters at a college basketball game, convinced me I wanted to move up to such a digital SLR. I've now had the XT for 6+ months and am extremely satisfied.

The controls make it easy to switch modes, with each set to a specific condition, something I do often in photographing kids (some flash, many natural). The auto-focus is crisp and quick except under low light conditions, but the latter's not unexpected.

With lots of 35mm SLR experience, I was pleasantly surprised at the light weight of the unit, even when I mount a longer zoom lens.

I thought the lack of a preview image might be a drawback but I've found I seldom thought about it when using the camera, and that's despite still periodically using a Canon PowerShot that does have an active screen preview which I will sometimes use to frame scenes.

The one control that I find inconveniently located is the self-timer/single/multiple shot button, which is to the upper right of the image screen, just below the mode selection wheel. That spot is where I tend to put my thumb and I have on occasion switched modes unintentionally. I have to remind myself to avoid placing my thumb there. (I think that control would be better placed lower or over near the screen menu buttons)

The pop-up flash and flash exposure adjustments are OK but at times limiting. I do plan on adding a better flash unit but haven't yet decided how far up the scale to go.

Triggering slave flashes took some experimentation - Canon does not offer much help on that topic, but otherwise has a pretty extensive online help library.

Battery life has been noted as very good in reviews and so far I've certainly found that to be the case, although I normally use a non-Canon battery with about 60% more capacity. Still, I was expecting a more power hungry camera and to date have not often been able to bottom out the battery.

In sum - good camera, great resolution, easy to handle, solid company behind the product, and only minor quibbles.

 
Great Camera, Works Well w/my Mac
By AmyLRVerified Reviewer from Lacey, WA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Controls Not so Intuitive
Best Uses:
Everyday, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

The Canon Rebel XT is my first digital SLR--I wish I had bought one sooner! This camera takes some outstanding pictures. It feels very comfortable in my hands, and is easy to use in auto mode. The menus and settings take some effort to get used to, but it's worth it. Canon's lens selection choices are excellent.

There are several handy user guides for the Rebel XT & XTi--I would recommend getting one of those to help you get the most out of the camera.

 
Great Starter SLR
By NeceeVerified Reviewer from Maryland on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I wish this product had an adapter for my flash kit

 
Perfect Backup Frame, or First Time SLR.
By Eric FarewellVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, Georgia on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I travel 6-9 months each year, much of it on a motorcycle. This camera is my "travel frame" and it's journeyed from Florida to Alaska, Pennsylvania to Mexico... It's been in at least one motorcycle accident, and has been abused to the utmost of my ability.


I'm up to almost 60,000 actuations with little to no problems. All that's needed is a good cleaning every so often.

Great starter camera, or backup rig... My only wish, is that I had the ability to change the onboard flash settings like I can with my Nikon.

 
Amazing !
By Svana1 from Stroudsburg PA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I have several brands, makes and models. This one is the most reliable. Lenses are interchangeable with other canon SLR's. product for price is fantastic.

 
Wonderful camera for any biginner
By meisdeanoVerified Reviewer from Richmond, VA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Wonderful camera that I would recommend to anyone! I've never had a problem with it. It was an upgrade (investment) from a 5mp Sony Cybershot and I couldn't have made a better decision!

 
My first SLR and definitley not my last.
By Cesar the Graphic DesignerVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Excellent Battery Life, Great Resolution, Nearly-Endless Upgrades, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Everyday, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

This camera is great for anyone who is wanting to enter the SLR Digital Photography Arena. Very intuitive and easy to use for the beginner. Yet, robust and feature-full to satisfy even the seasoned professional.

I have taken this camera to Cancun, Hawaii, Seattle, Los Angles, and getting ready to take it on a month trip to Italy. I wouldn't trust any other camera.

My favorite features are:
• The rate at which this takes pictures. Match this camera with a high speed card and you have little to no lag time. So you can constantly take picture after picture.
• The lightning fast start-up speed. Flip the switch and it is instantly on. You'll only have to worry that you left the lens cap on so you'll never miss another shot again.
• The near-endless ammount of upgrades. Lenses, filters, flashes, tripods.

My only con is that the bundled 18-55mm lens leaves much to be desired. I recommend a 18-200mm for a well rounded everyday lens.

Images shared by: Cesar the Graphic Designer

Picture quality outdoor. Downsized for web.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Quality downsized for internet.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Great phtos, thank you.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love It
By PicturePonyVerified Reviewer from Tioga Co, PA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

This is my first digital SLR. It is a great camera for the begginer to entry level pro. I worry about the light weight plastic body all the time but have done no damage to it yet!
I can't believe how much my photography has improved since there are no film costs!
The only disadvantage is it is slow in RAW mode and poor for low light action.
Love my Rebel

Images shared by: PicturePony

Taken the first week I had my Rebel.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Good action shots in good light.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Wow! Great images.
 
Great Quality for the price
By BryonMKVerified Reviewer from Kirkland, Washington on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Little small for big hand, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Like each Canon Camera I have bought it has beat expectations. I love this camera, the only thing is it could have been a little bigger, it fits great in a lady's hands but men's its a little small. Other then that issue its great value, I have recommended this to many friends and relatives, from begginner to Semi Professional.

Images shared by: BryonMK

My african grey.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice photo.
 
I feel the need for speed!!!
By ChrisVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I think this is a great camera. It takes beautiful pictures. You have to play around with all the features on account that the manual just doesn't give you enough information. My more novice friends have a tough time using the camera (holding down the exposure button halfway while you wait for auto focus), so it is tough to hand off the camera and get in a shot. It is much faster than a digital camera, but not fast enough to get great action shots. It is big, so traveling with it require ample space. I am overall very happy with this camera. The quality of the pictures is fantastic.

 
Great camera
By Empire Imaging NWVerified Reviewer from Bellingham, WA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Great Resolution, Lightweight, Nice custom settings, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
a little "plastic"
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Great camera for what it is. Lightweight and smaller than most in this price range. This equals a great camera with the ability to travel with the camera without breaking your back... or bank. A great entry level camera for the digital SLR market.

 
Great Buy
By Eli "The Sniper"Verified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Fashion Photographer, Getting started
Pros:
Fast Shutter, Great Resolution, Love continuous mode, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Easy to get dust in lens, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I would recommend it as a beginner's camera. For the more advanced users, definitely not. I'm already looking for a second higher quality camera.

For being my first dig SLR, its great - alot of features, of the higher quality lenses. But after using it, little things come up - In low lighting, it doesnt always pick up true colors or all the colors. It gets dirt in the front lens which to my understanding it shouldnt. I had to send it to Canon to get that cleaned out. Otherwise, resolution is great - great flexibility in creative modes. I hardly use automatic modes.

 
Canon keeps getting better!
By bax from Riverside, CA on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Promo photos for school
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

I began with the digital Rebel and then purchased the XT for our school. Easy to use though the XT is a bit small for my "huge" hands. Once I got used to it I don't even notice. Love the versatility and picture quality. I recommended it to my son and he went with the XTi which he loves. As far as I'm concerned, you can't go wrong with Canon. [...] Easy for my students to use.

 
Great Camera
By gwhizVerified Reviewer from Kansas on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Nice Features and Settings
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Great camera, pop up flash works well for close ups but would get an add on flash to be sure for once in a lifetime photos

Images shared by: gwhiz

great detail!

Image Thumbnail
RitzCamera.com Response: Very nice.
 
I love this camera
By Kemi from Chicago, IL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, New to SLR's
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

For a beginner, the instruction manual is horrible for learning how to use the camera and controls. I had to buy a book about the camera from Barnes and Nobles and it was really helpful. Besides that, I love the camera. Am versy satisfied with my purchase.

 
Great camera
By wild manVerified Reviewer from Canton, CT on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Easy to Use, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Versitile
Cons:
Not many
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

Its a great camera with a fast memory card there is virtually no limit to this camera. It has great resolution and can easily be used by both starting photographer and pro. There are lots of buttons but they are much more intuitive than other cameras and is easy to operate with gloved fingers. The only downside would be that the battery life could have been slightly better, but its not that bad I usually get about 200-300 pics before the battery runs low.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
love it
By jacobVerified Reviewer from mentor oh on 2/5/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

i love this camera

[16 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Camera out there for the price
By Alex GVerified Reviewer from MA on 12/27/2006
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Canon EOS Digital Rebel XT SLR 8-MP Camera w/Canon 18-55mm AF Lens (Black):

This Camera is definitely the best camera out there for the price. It has 2 million more mega pixels than the Nikon D70, It is light, and has amazing features such as programming your own white balance and adjusting your own sharpness/color preferences. I would Recommend this camera to anyone, except don't get the junky kit lens, get it body only with the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8...great starter lens

Images shared by: Alex G

Amazing color and DOF with the Canon 50 f/1.8

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

A+ camera

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.