Buy the PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black) image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)

Chic, Modern Minimalism, Yet Sophisticated. Canon looked to the very first ELPH for inspiration when designing the PowerShot SD1000 Digital ELPH, and came up with a quintessential iteration of the icon: slim, clean-lined and fully flat. Inside, the SD1000 Digital ELPH looks only to the future: 7.1 megapixels, a 3x optical zoom and advanced DIGIC III ensure top-quality images, while focus is fast and sharp and red-eye is automatically corrected. The large and more colorful LCD screen now has a tough, anti-reflective coating that makes it as durable as it is beautiful.

Slim, stylish 7.1 Megapixel Digital ELPH with 3x Optical Zoom lens - Great design is just part of the PowerShot SD1000 Digital ELPH story. Inside is all the power you need to capture the moments of your life - beautifully.

The 7.1 megapixel CCD records a wealth of detail - enough to let you enlarge and crop at will. Images are rich and sharp with lifelike depth. The camera''s Genuine Canon 3x optical zoom not only gets you in close, but performs with all the clarity and brilliance you''d expect from the world''s leader in advanced optics technology.

Chic modern minimalism in the ELPH''s classic Box & Circle design in two color variations to suit your personal style - Chic modern minimalism in the ELPH''s classic Box & Circle design to suit your style. Canon''s designers looked back to the original ELPH when creating the PowerShot SD1000 Digital ELPH, and came up with a classic that manages to capture the soul of ELPH while simultaneously looking to the future. The famous box & circle design is incredibly slim and impossibly flat: the ultimate ingot.

DIGIC III Image Processor with improved Face Detection Technology and Red-eye Correction for sharper images and improved functionality - With DIGIC III, you get images of superior quality, the camera functions at top efficiency and battery life is significantly enhanced. What''s more, DIGIC III enables Canon''s newly improved Face Detection Technology and Red-eye Correction to give you better, more true-to-life people shots. Simply press the Shutter Button halfway down, and the PowerShot SD1000 Digital ELPH automatically pinpoints the faces in the scene and chooses the ideal focus point. To keep every face looking bright and natural - without scary red eyes - the camera controls exposure settings and flash, so every shot is just what you were shooting for.

DIGIC III features Face Detection AF/AE, which finds multiple faces in the frame and sets the most suitable focus point, when the shutter button is pressed halfway. And an additional feature, Face Detection FE adjusts the flash, based on a person''s face on the screen. Exposure and flash are controlled to ensure proper illumination of both the faces and the overall scene, eliminating the common problem of darkened or overexposed faces.

Red-eye Correction detects and automatically corrects red-eye during playback for both regular and flash photography. In unusual cases where red-eye is not automatically detected, it can easily be corrected manually during playback mode from the LCD screen.

iSAPS Technology is an entirely original scene-recognition technology developed for digital cameras by Canon. Using an internal database of thousands of different photos, iSAPS works with the fast DIGIC III Image Processor to improve focus speed and accuracy, as well as exposure and white balance.

Vivid, high-resolution 2.5-inch PureColor LCD with scratch-resistant anti-reflection coating for easy on-camera viewing - The camera''s 2.5-inch LCD screen gives you the big picture, whether you''re shooting, reviewing or showing off your images. This extra-durable, high-resolution screen with tough scratch-resistant coating on the anti-reflective, PureColor LCD screen offers a crisp, clear picture to make shooting, playback and using the camera''s menu functions especially convenient. Clear and bright, it also features Night Display for easy viewing in low light.

ISO 1600 and High ISO Auto to reduce image blur and expand low-light shooting capability - The PowerShot SD1000 Digital ELPH features new ISO 1600 and High ISO Auto settings that reduce the effects of camera shake and sharpen subjects in low-light situations, giving you greater flexibility for shooting.

Five movie modes including 30 fps VGA, Time Lapse and Fast Frame Rate - With a highly flexible movie mode, you can create the movie that''s perfect for any application. Select from VGA (640 x 480 pixels) and QVGA (320 x 240 pixels), with frame rates of 30 fps and 15 fps for recording up to 1 hour or 4GB. Also choose from Fast Frame Rate (QVGA; 320 x 240 pixels) recording at 60 fps for up to 1 minute, Compact Movie Mode (QQVGA; 160 x 120 pixels) recording at 15 fps for up to 3 minutes, and Time Lapse (640 x 480) recording at 1 or 2 sec. intervals. The PowerShot SD1000 Digital ELPH supports the USB 2.0 Hi-Speed standard, so you''ll enjoy the fastest possible data transfer speeds when using a USB 2.0 Hi-Speed compatible computer.

Shooting Modes: Advanced presets for the best possible photos under certain conditions.


    Auto - The camera chooses all the settings so you can concentrate on your subject.
    Manual - The ultimate in creative control, you set ISO speed, exposure compensation and white balance.
    Portrait - The camera sets a large aperture, focusing the subject and artistically blurring the background to make your subject pop.
    Night Snapshot - Get natural-looking pictures with brighter backgrounds and subjects lit by flash.
    Color Accent - Choose to retain a single color in your image while other colors turn monochrome.
    Color Swap - Select a color and replace it with a color you specify for special effects.
    Digital Macro - Shoot larger-than-life close-ups with one-button simplicity.
    Stitch Assist - Build awe-inspiring panoramas by neatly aligning sequential images.
    Movie - Shoot in VGA and QVGA (30 fps/15 fps for up to 1 hour or 4GB), Fast Frame Rate (60 fps for up to 1 minute), QQVGA (15 fps for up to 3 minutes) or Time Lapse (640 x 480 for 1 sec/2 sec. interval). -
Special Scene Modes

    Foliage - Capture brilliant shots of autumn foliage, greenery and blossoms.
    Snow - Shoot clear snow scenes without darkened subjects or an unnatural bluish tint.
    Beach - Get clear shots of people at a sunny beach without darkened faces.
    Fireworks - Grab brilliant images of skyrocketing fireworks.
    Aquarium - Achieve proper flash-free exposure and natural hues at indoor aquariums.
    Underwater - Capture underwater images with reduced backscatter effect. -
    (Note: Optional Waterproof Case WP-DC13 required for shooting any underwater images)
    Indoor - Reduce blur and improve color accuracy when shooting handheld indoors.
    Kids & Pets - Reduced focusing time freezes fast-moving subjects, so you won''t miss those special shots.

Print/Share Button for easy direct printing and downloading, plus ID Photo Print and Movie Print with select PIXMA Photo Printers, CP and SELPHY Compact Photo Printers - The PowerShot SD1000 Digital ELPH''s Print/Share button makes direct printing easier than ever. Simply connect the SD1000 Digital ELPH to a Canon CP, SELPHY or PIXMA Photo Printer or any PictBridge compatible photo printer, press the lighted Print/Share button and print! Also use the Print/Share button to transfer images to a computer (Windows and Macintosh).

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to keep clean(10), Easy to setup(12), Large clear LCD(13), Short lag time(9), Simple controls(11)
Best Uses:
Art(5), Fun(13), Travel(12)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(5), Enthusiast(10)
 
The smaller it gets- the better it gets.
By SjVerified Reviewer from Alva, Oklahoma on 12/21/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

This is my second power shot and it is amazing the extras that have been added. It is a little thing with a great deal of punch. The only down, it is easy to get a little flash burn without using some manual adjustments.

Images shared by: Sj

Easy macro for flowers

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Easy to use, gets good pics!
By skk5635Verified Reviewer from indianapolis, in on 12/13/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

I was up and running right out of the box(I charged the battery first). Takes some getting used to using the LCD screen to aim camera instead of an eye hole.

Images shared by: skk5635

hello world.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Canon is a Camera Company
By DieterVerified Reviewer from South Elgin, IL on 11/29/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

I like it, it is small, sturdy not the cheap plastic feel. Fast, you have to buy a fast chip in order to get the fast response time.

Images shared by: Dieter

622

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 8339

 
excellent camera
By Christian from Denver, CO on 11/3/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality, Very compact and user frd
Cons:
Low light pictures
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

The camera is very easy to use, switch from camera to video feed. Even my wife can use the camera. I no longer have to carry a camcorder and a camera, can do both. Great picture quality and easy to transfer photos to computer. Batter charges in about 60 mintues and will last through more that 200 pictures. The only issue I have is you cant adjust the speed fast enought to take night pictures of moving objects, like kids.

 
PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black)
By Budding Photog from Renton, Wa on 10/3/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
No IS
Best Uses:
Art, Back up for SLR User, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

I love this camera and the only reason I gave it 4 stars in because it lacks IS. Images are very sharp though.I have used it on vacation and during concerts and it worked very well. The minimal manual controls allow for more artistic pictures and help in low light situations. The "Indoor" feature is best for low light. [...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
BUY THE SERVICE PLAN!!!
By skram22Verified Reviewer from Rochester, MN on 10/2/2007
Pros:
Nice and small
Cons:
Duribility is VERY poor
Best Uses:
Fun
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

Beware! This camera is not well-suited for heavy use. I dropped the camera from a very short distance, and the flash bulb stopped working. I sent it in to Canon, and they wanted [$] to fix it. What a racket!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I made a great decision!
By Kacey from Midland, NC on 10/1/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

My daughter has a large, bulky, competitor's brand camera and has fallen in love with my little compact. I am buying one for her birthday so that she can pack in her diaper bag to take instant anytime shots of my new grandson!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent & Powerful Camera!
By Shyam KannamVerified Reviewer from Redmond, WA on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Bright Pictures in Dark, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Strong Construction
Cons:
Improvement on RedEye
Best Uses:
Fun, Great Family Camera, Personal Use, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

I'm a real fan for Canon cameras especially in compact cameras. Their technology is the best in class.

I love this camera for several reasons, including it excellent picture quality in low light conditions. I'm proud that I purchased this camera. It is very easy to carry and excellent battery back-up while on vacations.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great little camera
By BrianVerified Reviewer from Natick, MA on 9/22/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Easy Setup
Cons:
Menus are not intuitive, Small controls
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

Easy to use if you just want point and shoot. The color accent and color swap is fun to use, but I wonder how long it will be before you forget about it.

It's skinny, but still has a view finder.

 
Great digicam for beginners and pros
By Camera crazyVerified Reviewer from Tempe, AZ on 9/15/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fun timelaps video featur, Great manual settings, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

I was very impressed with this camera. Even though it i so small, it is easy to hold and use. The pictures turn out great. It has an impressive amount of easy and fun to use manual setting compared to others in its class. Videos are decent quality and the time-laps feature is fun to play around with. It is amazingly fast on startup and during operation. I am very glad I ended up choosing this camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this camera!!
By RonVerified Reviewer from Orange County, Ca. on 9/6/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Compact, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

I have had other digital cameras in the past (sony,nikon, & polaroid) and i have been the happiest with this one. I would and have recommended this camera to others. Definately *****

 
Second SD1000
By NicoVerified Reviewer from Houston, Texas on 7/18/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, fits well in a guys pocke, Short Lag Time
Cons:
it can sometimes feel too
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

Great camera. Purchasing my scond one after getting ours first one stolen while on vacation. Real Bummer!

 
Great Camera
By JoyVerified Reviewer from Whidbey Island, WA on 7/6/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Fantastic Face Detection, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

I absolutely love this camera. It is so easy to use. The picture quality is awesome. The added face detection feature always makes the faces appear with natural light. I keep the camera in my purse and when I'm ready I slip it in my pocket so I'm ready for that perfect shot. I recommend this camera to everyone

Images shared by: Joy

Flowers

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
land sea and air-fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!
By YVONNE from RIVERSIDE,CALIFORNIA on 6/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel, Underwater reef and fish, Videos are fabulous
Describe Yourself:
Gardenflowersfamily, Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Vacationscubasnorkle
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

PICTURE PERFECT FRAMES,LONG VIDEO TIMES OF ANY SUBJECT,BLOWHOLES,FISH,REEFS,VOLCANOES,THIS CAMERA MADE OUR HAWAII VACATION SPECIAL.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT POINT AND SHOOT DIGITAL CAMERA
By TravelerVerified Reviewer from Kansas on 4/28/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

I have owned this camera for 6 weeks. Although I did not expect perfect shoots…that is what I almost get. Perfect colors, good low light operations, good travel size, and a long list of options for a small camera. Even the wife uses it!!!!! If you are looking for the perfect travel camera that will give the best shots for the size this is it!!!! It even has the optical view finder. It is hard to find that on most digital point and shoots now. I use that when I am in low light or no light situations and don’t want to bother the people around and behind me. Also you can get twice the number of shoots when you use the view finder instead of the screen. Perfect camera. Could not be happier. I might add that I bought it in the store and that the sales person was very helpful and knowledgeable about this camera!!!!!

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Package Contents
By Tommy from California on 3/19/2007
Pros:
Nice Features and Settings

Comments about Canon PowerShot SD1000 Digital Camera (Black):

Just wanna add the package contents:
PowerShot SD1000 Digital ELPH Body
Lithium Battery Pack NB-4L
Battery Charger CB-2LV
SD Memory Card SDC-32M
Wrist Strap WS-DC2
Digital Camera Solution CD-ROM
USB Interface Cable IFC-400PCU
AV Cable AVC-DC300

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.