Buy the Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only) image
 
(based on 56 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital Cameras (All)
The Spirit of Photography. Welcome to the next generation of digital SLR photography-the Canon EOS 40D. The EOS 40D combines Canon's tremendous know-how in both the digital and photographic worlds, creating a camera that not only does everything one would expect of a traditional digital SLR, but one that incorporates staggering leaps forward in technological innovation. With new features like Canon's EOS Integrated Cleaning System, Live View Function, a more powerful DIGIC III Image Processor, plus a 10.1-megapixel CMOS sensor, a 3.0-inch LCD monitor and more, the EOS 40D elevates digital photography to new heights, enhancing the shooting experience, and delivering images one could only expect from a Canon.

Huge Sensor for Tremendous Photographs - Superb image quality: 10.1 Megapixel CMOS Sensor, extensive noise reduction technology, and 14-bit conversion for outstanding color tones and gradations.

Canon's large-area CMOS (complementary metal oxide semiconductor) sensor captures images with exceptional clarity and tonal range, and offers the most pixels in its class. This APS-C size sensor (22.5 x 15.0mm) has the same 3:2 ratio as film cameras, enabling an effective angle of view that is 1.6x the normal EF Lens focal length. 14-bit A/D conversion means fine transitions from light to dark tones, and a significant drop in digital and shadow noise. The EOS 40D has an extensive ISO range (from 100 to 1600, plus ISO 3200* in extended mode) which is selectable in 1/3 stop increments. The EOS 40D's CMOS sensor uses much of the new technology first seen in the EOS-1D Mark III camera. New manufacturing techniques mean each pixel is more sensitive to light, and less area between pixels is wasted on the sensor. The on-chip noise reduction electronics are also entirely new, and combine with the sensor's general design for less digital noise and better high-ISO performance than ever before. This results in larger, clearer, sharper and more detailed photographs right from the start. * Standard output sensitivity. Recommended exposure index.

The Speed to Capture Anything You Can Imagine. Outstanding performance: 6.5 fps, burst rate up to 75 consecutive JPEGs or 17 RAW images and DIGIC III Image Processor.

Developed to maximize performance between the capture and recording stages of digital photography, the EOS 40D's DIGIC III processor is faster and more powerful than ever. The latest-generation DIGIC III Image Processor works in concert with Canon's CMOS sensor to achieve even higher levels of performance. The entire electronic system is totally re-designed, giving the camera its incredible combination of speed and image quality. Digital noise is significantly reduced in shadow areas, and color reproduction is superior.

The EOS 40D is one of the fastest digital SLRs offered at this price. It shoots up to 6.5 fps, making it ideal for everything from wildlife to sports. It can capture up to 75 JPEGs, or 17 RAW images in one burst. Whether it's the 0.15-second startup time, the high-speed mirror drive, the brief shutter lag time (only 59 msec), or the predictive AF focusing for capturing the action, the EOS 40D will amaze and delight photographers who don't want to wait for their camera when they're ready to shoot.

The Strength to Handle Anything - Strong, rugged build quality: magnesium-alloy exterior, shutter durability-tested to 100,000 cycles, top speed 1/8000, top x-sync speed 1/250.

Solid Build - The EOS 40D has a solid, substantial feel that complements its compact dimensions. Designed to withstand the rigors of everyday use, the EOS 40D's exterior is constructed with lightweight and ultra-rigid magnesium-alloy that fits perfectly in the hands of the photographer.

Rugged Shutter - The EOS 40D is designed to perform flawlessly, again and again. It has an improved high-speed and durable shutter unit, designed to respond in an instant, reaching a top shutter speed of 1/8000 sec. and tested to a remarkable 100,000-cycle shutter life. A top flash sync speed of 1/250 sec. ensures full flash flexibility in bright or dim light.

Sharp, Fast Focus, No Matter the Light - New AF system with 9 cross-type sensors, and world's first diagonal high-precision cross-type AF at center point with f/2.8 and faster lenses.

The EOS 40D takes some of the most advanced features from Canon's professional cameras and incorporates them into its design. It has a newly designed, high-precision 9-point wide area AF that uses cross-type points with lenses f/5.6 or faster, enabling the camera to focus faster, more accurately, and in ever more complex lighting. Each of the nine AF points has this cross-type coverage, a first in Canon AF SLRs. Adding to this AF performance, the 40D incorporates a diagonally mounted, high-precision cross-type sensor at the center AF point that is sensitive to both vertical and horizontal lines when fast lenses (f/2.8 or faster) are used, for for added accuracy and precision with these wide-aperture lenses. It's the world's first AF SLR where both lines of a cross-type sensor offer high-precision AF coverage. All focus points can be chosen automatically, or accessed using the 40D's intuitive, thumb operated Multi-Controller.

Spot Metering - The EOS 40D also includes a spot meter function that measures roughly 3.5% of the center of the image.This new metering function, added to Canon's impressive Evaluative, Center Weighted averaged and Partial-metering modes, gives the photographer even more choices for custom-tailored shooting.

Highlight Tone Priority - This vital Custom Function lets photographers get even better detail in bright highlights, even in contrasty lighting conditions. It's beneficial for nearly any type of picture, from mid-day shots on a safari to portraits in sunlight, where a user may encounter bright highlight areas where he or she wants to preserve details. Finally, there's no impact on the camera's shooting speed or burst rate when Highlight Tone Priority is engaged. It takes full advantage of the EOS 40D's new 14-bit per channel conversion, meaning there are 16,384 distinct tones from darkest to lightest in each color channel.

The Promise of Perfect Images - EOS Integrated Cleaning System, Picture Style settings, Spot metering, and Highlight Tone Priority for advanced in-camera image control.

EOS Integrated Cleaning System - Photographers who must change lenses in dusty environments will find the advanced Canon EOS Integrated Cleaning System a tremendous time saver. Dust that settles on the sensor surface is removed using ultrasonic vibration. This Self Cleaning Sensor Unit routine is automatically activated whenever the camera is powered on or off. (It can also be manually activated.) A special collar positioned around the sensor collects the loosened dust. Dust particles can also be automatically removed via software. By shooting a plain white subject, the photographer can acquire dust position data that is transmitted along with the image (whether JPEG or RAW). Canon Digital Photo Professional (DPP) version 3.1 or higher software can then be used to manually or automatically erase the dust spots. It's not one feature, it's a built-in system to minimize the effect of dust in high-resolution digital images.

Self Cleaning Sensor Unit - A key element of minimizing dust is preventing it from clinging to the front surface of the imaging sensor. To combat against this, the EOS 40D features a Canon-designed Self Cleaning Sensor Unit. The low-pass filter at the front of the sensor shakes off dust automatically with ultrasonic vibrations, removing dust from the sensor assembly.

Dust Delete Data Detection - Dust that may still remain on the front of the sensor can also be erased with software included in Digital Photo Professional (DPP) Version 3.1 or higher. A simple test shot of a plain, white object can be taken, using a menu setting. This Dust Delete Data image is analyzed in-camera, and the location and size of any remaining dust is added to any subsequent pictures taken. This data is transmitted along with the image, whether JPEG or RAW, and can be either manually or automatically erased in Canon's DPP version 3.1 and up. This added software option ensures the cleanest possible image, perfect for printing or archiving.

Picture Style settings - With Picture Style technology and the EOS 40D, photographers can recreate characteristics of their favorite films. Color, saturation, sharpness and contrast settings create noticeable variation in the saved image. In addition to six preset Picture Style settings (Standard, Portrait, Landscape, Neutral, Faithful and Monochrome), users can create three additional settings for their particular photographic style.

Picture Style Settings
SettingDescriptionSaturationSharpness
Standard (default setting)Vivid, sharp images; usable in a wide variety of conditions; optimal for direct printing without post-processing.HighSlightly High
PortraitWarmer skin tones, with slightly more contrast than Neutral.Slightly HighSlightly Low
LandscapeExtremely bright, saturated and sharpened images, with emphasis on blue and green color saturation.High Green-BlueHigh
NeutralLow sharpening, contrast and saturation: the ideal starting point for image-editing in the computer.LowNone
FaithfulAccurate reproduction of the subject's colors based on colorimetric data; assumes 5500K light source.LowNone
MonochromeBlack & White images; adjustable contrast, sharpening, as well as color toning and effects of traditional color filters.None (Monochrome)Slightly High

The most diverse composing options available in digital photography - Large 3.0-inch LCD monitor and advanced Live View Function with new options for reduced shutter time lag and quiet operation.

Live View Function is a powerful feature on the EOS 40D. It enables viewing your subjects directly on the huge 3-inch LCD monitor. It's easy to magnify any part of the scene 5x or 10x for precise manual focus. But now, one press of the AF-on button gives instant access to AF; Live View Function returns as soon as the button is released. Users can even choose a grid overlay, perfect for keeping straight lines in your subject straight in your pictures. In the Studio, Live View Function can be used remotely via a computer through the EOS 40D's USB connection, or wirelessly or via Ethernet with the Wireless File Transmitter WFT-E3A attached. Live View Function also adds a totally new method for near-silent shooting, with two silent shooting modes. A new AF ON button, positioned for easy reach with the right thumb, can instantly allow AF whenever it's depressed in Live View Function. (Live View Function is temporarily cleared for AF, and returns immediately when the user's thumb is removed from the button.)

Shooting and Sharing Made Easy - Wide range of accessories, including interchangeable focusing screens, extensive remote control options, and new battery grip BG-E2N.

EF & EF-S Lenses - EOS 40D is compatible with all Canon lenses in the EF and EF-S lineup, ranging from ultra-wide angle to super telephoto lenses. Canon lenses employ advanced optical expertise and micron-precision engineering to deliver unprecedented performance in all facets of the photographic process. Special optical technologies, such as Aspherical, ultra-low dispersion, or fluorite elements are featured in the universally acclaimed L Series lenses, and Canon's Optical Image Stabilizer technology in select lenses minimizes the effect of camera shake. Through Canon lenses, photographers can truly maximize the quality and liberating performance of the EOS 40D.

Flash Photography - The EOS 40D features the acclaimed E-TTL II flash metering system. With any of the flashes in the EX Speedlite line, E-TTL II provides reliable flash output whether shooting fill-in flash pictures in sunlight, or using flash in total darkness. With E-TTL II, the exact same 35-zone metering sensor used for measuring ambient light is also used for flash metering - giving even finer metering command of the image area. If you prefer a broader area for flash metering, there's a menu setting to change to Average flash metering?where the entire 35-zone area is measured evenly for flash exposure.

Canon's Speedlite 580EX II is perfectly suited to the EOS 40D. It has improved reliability of communications through the direct contacts, has a metal flash foot, and is dust- and water-resistant. Other new features include a PC socket on the flash unit, and an external metering sensor for non-TTL auto flash if desired. With the EOS 40D, you can set most flash settings directly from the camera's menus. It has the same power as the previous Speedlite 580EX (maximum guide number of 190 ft./58m at ISO 100) and, when mounted on the camera, automatically compensates for the camera's sensor size, enabling high output flash, with more flashes per charge. It includes an AF-assist Beam, which works in conjunction with the EOS 40D's focusing system, and automatically sends color temperature information to the camera when the flash fires, for more accurate white balance rendition with flash photography

Software - Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk (Version 15.0)

The EOS 40D comes bundled with an updated Canon EOS Digital Solution Disk, which features powerful software programs designed to extend the EOS experience to the computer. These include Canon's ZoomBrowser EX for Windows? (Version 5.8), ImageBrowser for Macintosh? OS X (Version 5.8), Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.1), the totally new Picture Style Editor (Version 1.0), Canon's EOS Utility (Version 2.1), RAW Image Task (Version 2.7), PhotoStitch, and PTP TWAIN Driver. Each application is designed to perfect captured images and streamline the digital workflow. ZoomBrowser EX v.5.8 and Digital Photo Professional v.3.1 for Windows are compatible with the new Windows Vista operating system, too.

Digital Photo Professional (Version 3.1) - is an image processing program that enables high-speed RAW image processing, high-speed previewing for real-time image adjustment and support for sRGB, Adobe RGB and Wide Gamut RGB color spaces. Because it's CMS (Color Management System) compatible, Digital Photo Professional allows for easy image layout and printing in Adobe RGB in conjunction with Easy-PhotoPrint and PictBridge printers. It also features the Dust Delete Data Detection tool for cleaner images.

EOS Utility (Version 2.1) for Macintosh or Windows - handles the connection between the camera and computer, whenever they're connected via USB. It allows remote controlled shooting from the computer, handles downloading of images from the camera to the computer, and allows seamless linking to either Canon's ZoomBrowser/ImageBrowser or Digital Photo Professional software once images have been copied to the hard drive. Furthermore, it's used to upload settings back into a USB-connected camera.

ZoomBrowser EX (Version 5.8) for Windows and ImageBrowser (Version 5.8) for Mac OS X - are the easy, user-friendly options for viewing and editing of JPEG and even RAW image files. Both allow viewing of numerous types of images including finished TIFF and BMP files. Both also have a variety of search options for finding images, allow re-naming of single images or batches of files, and offer a variety of options for printing without using a separate image-editing program.

RAW Image Task (Version 2.7) for Windows/Macintosh - This software is an integrated component of ZoomBrowser EX (Windows) or ImageBrowser (Mac). It allows processing of RAW images from EOS cameras, including the new EOS 40D, with a variety of adjustment possibilities. These options, as well as the overall color, contrast and look of RAW Image Task, closely mimic the characteristics of Canon's in-camera JPEG processing.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 56 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(22), Excellent in low light(12), Fast shutter speed(22), Good battery life(11), Great picture quality(7)
Best Uses:
Art(26), Documentary(13), Fun(30), Home(7), Landscape/scenery(6)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(31), Photo enthusiast(3), Professional(12), Semi-professional(10), Semi-pro photographer(4)
 
Canon Delivers!!!
By randoucheVerified Reviewer from DeKalb, Il on 7/8/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I use this camera weekly... love it. It's quick and to the point. Hi-quality photos, great for travel and studio.

 
Wonderful Camera
By LekoVerified Reviewer from NH on 6/29/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Splendid in low light, Strong Construction
Cons:
A bit expensive even now
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

For a professional photographer this camera is incredible. It is fast, smaller than the full frame Canons, and can handle its own in durability.

I am not really a pro though. I shoot in full manual almost exclusively, and for that, my xti, is annoying. The reason is, it demands you hold down a button while turning a wheel to adjust the aperture.

The 40d is an an incredible upgrade getting around this with a second dial on the back of the camera. Though it is a bit bigger and heavier than my xti, it is also much better in low light.

The 50d is good too, but has too many megapixles (they add noise). This is the sweet spot of Canon's low end line. It is too bad they do not add this interface to the rebel. But I understand.

 
From Rebel to 40D, a great upgrade.
By RSHelgersonVerified Reviewer from Longview, WA. on 6/18/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction
Cons:
Location of onoff switch
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Photojournalism, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I have owned this camera for the past year and a half and have no real complaints. I have never owned a camera that I have been more happy with. I am a converted Nikon owner and very pleased with the Canon 40D.

Images shared by: RSHelgerson

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great upgrade from Canon Rebel
By mrmud2Verified Reviewer from Anacortes Washington on 5/11/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Strong Construction, User programable, Weather resistant
Cons:
Need to learn features
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Still life photography, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I purchased this camera to step up from the 6.3MP Digital Rebel with had a limited shots of 4 continuous frames at 2.5fps. This camera has plenty of extras such as 2 settings in continuous (3.5fps or 6.5fps). Then with being able to shoot up to 65 frames (JPEG) or 17 RAW it has met most all the situations that I have encountered. While shooting quick single shots, focus is quick and the string before the processer needs time out, is normally very accomidating. Once trained to think out what dial to adjust, this unit provides quick metering adjustments while still monitoring through the viewer.
Live view is a plus while on tripod shooting still life images. It allows camera to possition at near ground level and set up shot without having to bury my face in the dirt to set up the shot.
Highlight alert allows warning of blowout of lighting in image while previewing and therefore enables a chance to retake shot with altered settings. Bracked shooting is also easy to perform as well as shooting white balance bracketed shots.
Summary, both the Canon 40D and 50D have features that seriously expand the ability for the intermediate photographer. I personally recommend purchase the extended battery pack which doubles the shooting time (uses 2 batteries instead of the single), has duplicated shutter and function buttons for vertical shots, and enables installation of Canon's hand strap the allows the camera to grip the hand like a loose glove and improves grip confidence while shooting and holding the camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent camera!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
By GabeA from Salt Lake City,Ut on 2/28/2009
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Image Stabilization, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Landscape, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I received this camera from my wife for Christmas and I was very impressed with it. It is constructed very well and has held up in some very harsh weather conditions. I did have to send it in to the service department beacuse of a line that appeared in all of my shots. The service dept took care of this problem in a timely manner. You will love the quality of pictures that you get with this camera. I am still getting aquainted with digital after conevrting from film. I have used Nikon film cameras for many years and now switched over to Canon. I am glad I did and wished that I have done it sooner. I mainly use this camera for landscaping and architecture photos. All of my shots had came out very sharp and detailed. You will definetely love this camera.

 
Great camera, decent price
By Rob the action guyVerified Reviewer from Rocklin, CA on 12/23/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Silent mood, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscape, Portraits, Sports
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I have shot with several cameras over my carear, and with the exception of the 1D mark III, its the best camera I have worked with. The body felt very comfortable in my hands and was a very comfortable weight, it wasn't too light and felt like a toy, nor did it feel like I was lugging around a brick. The high FPS also helped out when I was taking wakeboarding pictures and they came out very clear. Overall I was so impressed with it I convinced a cousin to buy one for himself and gladly stand behind it.

 
a piece of art.
By mohammed from detroit.MI on 11/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy To Use, Extremely well design, FANTASTIC CAMERA, Fantastic lcd, Fast Shutter Speed, Great Image Quality, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Noneperfect
Best Uses:
Art, Art by itself, Fun, Landscape, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

the camera itself is a piece of art.if you love technology and japanese car,then you know all is about logic and beauty of simple design.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent DSLR
By Brooke the StudentVerified Reviewer from Decatur, AL on 9/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I am a photography student and this camera is great for my needs. It allows for an easy transition between auto and manual. Heavier than most DSLRs, which I like because I can't stand the light cameras. Takes AMAZING action/sports shots. I'm having some issues with corrupted images, and just got it back from the shop, so hopefully this has been fixed.

Images shared by: Brooke the Student

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Excellent upgrade from an older model
By Oscky RoldanVerified Purchaser from Plano, Texas on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Love everything about this camera

 
Fantastic!
By Mark from Los Angeles, CA on 8/18/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

A solid camera and a great upgrade from the 10D.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value for the money
By donegal16125Verified Purchaser from Greenville, PA on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Onoff switch is small
Best Uses:
Fun, Landscapes, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I am getting back into photography after a few years and I wanted digital and have always used Canon products. I love the adjustable view finder..great for us older users. The menu options are clear and easy to read.

The manual could be better. And the on/off switch is very small.

Images shared by: donegal16125

373

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
This camera is superior to any used
By Barb the Go GetterVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 7/31/2008
Pros:
Accurate colors, Affordable, Auto focus, Auto sensor cleaning, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Art
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Sensor Cleaner is an invaluable addition
Easy to change lenses

 
Review of My Canon EOS 40D
By richburnVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Loud, Shaky Operation
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I bought this my first DSLR to be able to use interchangeable lenses in digital with a quality camera. Allowing for the differences in depth of field for so-called equivalent focal lengths, I am very happy with this camera and would repeat the purchase if I had to do it over.

 
good camera
By rdm2Verified Purchaser from Mulvane, Kansas on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

good camera for hobbist & professional.

 
great digital slr very very happy
By travismVerified Reviewer from oc. california on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I have to say i love this digital slr, i have been out of the photo game for 13 years, i decided to get back in and purchased the xsi, but quickly realized it wasent for me too small, too slow, too plastic, but great pictures so I upgraded to the 40d and could not be happier, the 6.5 fps is great you really get a chance to catch anything you want, i shoot alot of sports so its great, every exspression water splashing everything, the body is solid, it feels great in your hands sure its a little heavier but im not worried about it falling apart either, canon makes it easy to step up to great digital shots with a short learning curve, i find myself really looking forward to getting out and seeing what i can do each time i shoot. this camera is great!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Perfect Upgrade from the Canon Rebel
By Col BenVerified Purchaser from Roseville, CA on 7/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

The 6.5fps is amazing, as is the feel and balance with a larger lens.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
really great, pick this over the rebels!
By MoniqueVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 7/25/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I bought this camera back in march as my first digital slr and it is amazing. I do not feel like someone would outgrow this quickly as just a "learning" camera, I think it's one to stay for a while. I was deciding on either the 40D or the Rebel XTi and I am glad I chose this - the live view LCD is what sold me. it is really helpful for many things, especially previewing white balance. the camera is sturdy, solid and slightly heavy until you get used to it, but I think these are good qualities that make it very durable. I use this camera with a not-so-great kit lens that came with my canon film slr and I still get really great results. even printed photos from my cheap, old, HP printer look great.

 
SUPERB EXCELLENT - Professional Feel
By Abbadabba from Salt Lake City UTAH on 6/30/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy to use, Easy to use and learn, Fast shutter, Fun to use, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

It is the most fantastic camera that I have ever used. It is also the type of camera that I had always dreamed of. it is SUPER easy to get going immediately with superb photo qualities and fun even for my 12 and 15 year olds to shoot great pictures. I feel like I have advanced to the professional level.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome camera to shoot terrific photos!
By DJ PhotosVerified Reviewer from Granada Hills,CA on 6/14/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Pricey but worth it
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

These comments are for anyone who truly enjoys taking above the top photos. Anyone can point and shoot photos, now you have the control to master the talent of awesome photos. I've tried many 35mm, medium format and digital cameras in the past. This is a CANON in every form possible. They dedicate themselves only to manufacture the greatest photography products. Where many have tried, and failed; Canon leads the competition.
Rugged construction and ease of use is amazing. You have the option to create your own style of exposure and shutter speed for starters. The capabilities are endless to capture exactly what your tastes may be. The tab menu gives you instant selection choices. Once you've tried the varied options you will never doubt Canon's reputation. Want extreme photos to display proudly? This IS your camera. My grandpa always said, "You get what you pay for, if you're lucky."
This Canon EOS 40D is money well spent.

 
Canon EOS 40D Best Model Yet !! ??
By Creative Man from Buffalo, NY on 6/4/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easiest to Operate, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
No Cons
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Personal Photos, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Canon outdid themselves on this new model !
Simply; I dare you to find a "Better Bang for your BUCK!!" > After all, Where All watching our money these days Right ?

 
Nice Canon Improvements
By Ray TVerified Reviewer from Idaho Falls, ID on 5/3/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

This camera works great for wildlife - especially action shots. With a 2.8 lens, it tracks movement perfectly. The price for its features is not bad.

 
A huge step up
By Bill from Freehold, NJ on 4/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

From my previous Canon digital SLR (10D), this is a HUGE improvement. The larger LCD makes it easier to see your images, the construction that makes it feel like a weapon (of course for shooting), the programming features all make this an excellent purchase. Not a con, but I wish that setting the WB was a little easier (K ranges, not those ?cute? icons).

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Upgraded, Completely Worth the Price!
By TwelvizmVerified Reviewer from Portland, Oregon on 2/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I started with a Rebel XT. But, I needed something with room to grow. The XT became too limited for my needs after only 4 months.

The 40D delivers all that is promised in the product listing. If you are considering upgrading, do it! This camera is really worth it's price.!

Images shared by: Twelvizm

2006 VW GLI

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Best Camera I have ever owned
By John EvansVerified Reviewer from Yuba City, CA on 2/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Simple yet complex, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I love the camera, it takes all my EOS lenses.
The 28-135 lense is nice. I hope it holds up. It has a little more side-to-side play in the telephoto extension than I expected. It is easy to use, yet has so much to learn. The battery lasts forever (especially compared to my old digital camera). I can take about four hundred shots on a single battery and I have three so I should never have a problem. I love the image stabilization and the large LCD. The only con i could think of, was i would love the Live LCD to work in more situations, but may be it is just user training.

 
EOS 40D
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Westminster, Co on 2/1/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I use this camera mostly for nature and sport photography. Shooting in Monochrome for both is amazing, throw in the fact that you can take pics with the LCD screen and it throws it over the top. In its creative zone it is very veritile and ready for anything!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
would love to have
By llp from Murfreesboro,TN on 1/19/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet
Cons:
None yet
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I have the 20D and would love to own this one as well. The upgrades are great!

 
Great camera
By acltrainmanVerified Reviewer from Valrico, FL on 1/17/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Exposed LCD
Best Uses:
Fun, Railfan photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

This camera will supplement 2 other Canon cameras, one being a Canon Elan 7 film camera for slides and the other is the XT by Canon. I especially like the larger size than that of the XT model.
I got the 28-135 IS USM lens with the camera and its fantastic.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera for Commercial Use
By KryslockphotoVerified Reviewer from Dallas, Texas on 1/11/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Extremely Fast, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not Any
Best Uses:
College Gymnastics, Fun, Low Light Sports, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Upgraded from a 20 D and primarily shoot 3200 ISO with a 70-200 f28IS canon lens. This camera rivals a mark II with it's digic III processor and large view screen for the Over 50 eye's. Best value for the price and quality of camera being offered on the market today!

Images shared by: Kryslockphoto

This was taken at a high school basketball game.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 70-200 F28 IS 3200 ISO

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic
By MantisVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 1/2/2008
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I recieved this camera for christmas so I could use it for school, and though school hasn't started I have already taken many, many pictures.

The controls are comfortable and intuitive. I like the fact that it has two scroll wheels making it much faster to access different functions than the older rebel xt. Color is great.

Live view works best with a tripod, but it is a great function for product photography.

The only complaint I have is the power switch is slightly awkward.

 
Awesome camera!
By NC_Photographer from Raleigh, NC on 11/16/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Great battery life, Great Pictures, Great resolution, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Am extremely pleased with my purchase. This is by far the best camera for the money that I have seen.

 
Canon did it again
By The Mirror ManVerified Reviewer from Cape Coral , Fla. on 11/6/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
PicCounterOnlyHas 3Digits
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Great bang for the buck. Perfect as a back up or pair it with a good high end lens for amazing shoots. Love all the features Meters,Aperture preview, 6.5 FPS, 3" Screen, picture style, built in B&W filters(digital), Built in fill flash

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon's Semi-pro master!
By gleep52Verified Reviewer from Colona, IL on 11/2/2007
Pros:
Anti-dust system, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Digic III processor, Fast Playback, Live view, Lower noise at high ISO, Low noise, Pro Features, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
Shutter sound
Best Uses:
Art, Astronomy, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel, Weddings, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional, Semi-professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I have never been happier with a purchase regarding camera equipment. Canon really came through with this camera. I know there is competition out there with their pros and cons too - but I couldn't be happier with this price for quality. A lot of the same features the Mark III has... a fraction of the cost.

Noise at 3200 ISO is very similar to ISO800 on my 30D and between ISO400-ISO800 on my XTi. Simply amazing stuff. Night sports photography has never been easier for me now. So yes - to answer the age old question - lenses are great - but YES the body DOES make a difference.

The highlight tone priority and SO MANY other features really make this a new and highly enjoyable experience.

Disappointment was only found with live view:
I expected the live view mode to have no shutter noise at all - but it still makes noise - very strange noise as well, as it clicks two or three times to take just one picture - albeit a lot quieter clicking. There is also a mode that you can delay any noise for as long as needed by holding down the shutter... won't take multiple shots this way - but at least it doesn't scare off wildlife for one good shot.

Trying it first hand is the sure sell. Seeing the pictures at ISO3200 with noise reduction turned on (using the digic III) will astonish anyone. (Compare it with a ISO3200 shot from a 30D as an example)

Hands down best camera on the market at this time. Priced to match perfection too!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Many Great New Features
By Dave from Florida on 11/1/2007
Pros:
Auto ISO, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I have A 30D so I will only mention upgrades. I could get good avalable light photos by setting camera to 1600 ISO and using time variable with my 50mm 1.4 lens. I like new autovariable ISO up to 800. You get more shots well focused on subject than with D30. You can also frame shots through the rear screen in the dark. This camera is a major upgrade. Burns a little more battery than D 30 so carry extras.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Impressive
By RK from Menlo Park, CA on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Fast shutter, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sporting events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

A substantial step up from Digital Rebel. The only downside is if you like the 6.5 fps shutter speed and the chance to really capture that magic moment in the midst of all the action - you take lots more pictures than you're used to, and then have to review them all. At a recent martial arts seminar, I filled up a 4gb flash card in about 40 minutes (about 900 images), and took almost 4,000 images over the course of the weekend.

 
EOS 40D Canon SLR
By David G.Verified Reviewer from Taunton, Mass. on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

This is a great camera. I waited for Canon to release it, and it was more than I expected it to be. Good solid camera, quick, very responsive. Takes great shots.

 
Good enough for pro use
By Terry from Las Vegas, NV on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Grid is wonderful, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Commercial photography, Environmental portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I also use a Canon 1Ds Mk II and there are times that I don't need that huge file size. The Canon 40D more than does the job as a back up to my full frame camera. I highly recommend this camera to anyone who wants the best.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Finally, a great film replacement!
By BlackdogVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Excellent image quality, Feels good Good heft, Great Software included, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Cons:
V-grip not built in
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Prosumer, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

The 40D made the jump from my Canon A2E film camera to the digital world. Great images, Cropped 8X10 looks as clear as a 4x6. Great higher end family/pro-sumer camera. High FPS for action, Raw or JPEG for image control, Canon EOS lenses.Comes with Canon's software. Very natural transition / familiar controls for a Canon owner.
Very satisfied-I do not feel limited by the camera or film anymore!

Images shared by: Blackdog

Bald Eagle, Houston Zoo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Canon 28-135 IS

Dew Drops

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Canon 28-135

 
What a great camera!
By ChefrubiVerified Reviewer from Denver, Colorado on 10/30/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Fun, Landscapes, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I take a lot of pictures in the Colorado Rocky Mountains as we go 4-wheeling every weekend. This camera is great for scenery, wildflowers, the changing of the aspen in the fall, the elk in Rocky Mountain National Park and then back home for family pictures. I've used Canon since the original Digital Rebel (including Rebel XTI and EOS 20D) and the 40D truly is the natural evolution of a great camera!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great upgrade to the 20D and 30D
By DebonaireVerified Reviewer from Thornton, CO on 10/14/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
Not Full Frame
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

My wife and I have been shooting with a 20D for over a year now (good camera within itself), but we have been wanting a DSLR with better color quality and picture dimensions than the 8.2 MP of the 20D. The 5D was a little out of our price range and the Rebel XTi was next in line for us to look at for a 2nd camera. Then, by surprise, the 40D was released. This was the incremental step we were looking for towards a 5D. The 40D is faster (6.5 fps), broader ISO range, easier customization, larger viewing screen (3.0 in), and the increased image quality (10.1 MP) we were needing.

Images shared by: Debonaire

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this!
By AtruVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 10/5/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I bought this camera as a backup to replace my Rebel XT (that has seen better days). I think it is a really fantastic camera for the price. It handles high ISO's so much better than the XT did and has many focal points, which is also a plus. I think it is a wonderful camera as a backup or for someone that is Semi-Pro.

 
Great upgrade from the 20d
By tampaphotogalVerified Reviewer from tampa, fl on 10/4/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

The new menu interface takes a while to master. The bright viewfinder is a nice addition, The 3 inch lcd screen is great. The shutter is quieter than the previous cameras I have owned.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really enjoy using this camera.
By MacVerified Reviewer from Derry City, N.Ireland. on 10/2/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Press, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I have been using Canon EOS cameras for years, first the EOS5 then the EOS1. Then when I made the more to Canon DSLRs, my first outing was a 10D, which was a good camera, some minor gripes, then got myself a 30D which I thought was a cracking camera, but then a 40D arrived for me about a week ago..........well clear the decks. Nikon catch up !
This is an absolute fabulous camera, love the resolution,love the speed and especially love the 1D Mark 3 style 3inch screen.
I work for a local newspaper here in Northern Ireland, and also do private and freelance work, covering anything from parties to rugby, and my cameras get a fair bit of stick, especially with the fowl Irish weather, they get soaked frequently, and cold, but they have never let me down.
I really like the shutter sound of the 40D and the 6.5fps is really useful. The only thing I think I will never of rarely make use of is the live view.
I have a 17-40mm L & 100-400mm L and the 40D works sweet with both. Anyone out there that reading this, buy a 40D you won't be dissappointed. I have attached a sample photo.

Happy snapping !!!

Canon Fan ............

Images shared by: Mac

Taken a few days ago with my new Canon 40D

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
It's Everything It Claims to Be
By gerryVerified Reviewer from Ft. Worth, TX on 9/27/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen
Best Uses:
Home, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I've been using an Olympus E-1 for several years but wanted something a little better in low light, fast action situations. I actually went to buy a new Olympus battery and the salesperson told me about the new 40D. Unfortunately, he sold me on one but didn't have one in stock! Spent the next couple of days reading everything I could get my hands on about this camera. Took the plunge which meant changing out all of my lenses, flashes, etc but I'm really pleased with it so far. I use it primarily now for taking football photos for my son/school. I've only had it for two weeks, but my photos are great.

 
Love it
By meg from philadelphia.pa on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I love this camera

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Upgraded from an XT
By Jsheets19Verified Reviewer from Philadelphia, PA on 9/23/2007
Pros:
Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Quiet shutter, Rugged
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I have been extremely pleased with my decision to upgrade to this camera. I outgrew my Canon XT and despite the nice feel of the small size in my woman hands, I needed something better. My dream camera was the 5D but as soon as this came out trumping many of the features I found desirable on the 5D, I knew it was time. I re-analyzed my need for full frame, and it just didn't justify the additional $1,000.

So here I am 1 month into using this camera, I still have yet to appropriately use out all the functions but it has been so wonderful for my professional photo shoots with kids, and everyday hobby use. I did have some color issues with the LCD but switched it over to BRIGHTNESS and it is been flawless since. The bigger LCD is just beautiful!

I am very happy with my decision. The camera is a bit bigger than what I am used to but feels so sturdy in my hands, the grip is textured well and I can hold it with one hand when necessary.

I did buy this body only since I have my focal ranges covered already, so no comments on the lens.

Images shared by: Jsheets19

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
40D hits the Sweet Spot!
By JohnMVerified Reviewer from Oceanside, CA on 9/22/2007
Pros:
Beautiful color, Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great tonal range, Rugged
Best Uses:
Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Have been using film SLRs for decades and digital SLRs since they first arrived. Have used the 20D since it was first sold. While I would like a few higher end features, the 20D hits that sweet spot of price, quality and feature set better than anything on the market. Beautiful color, better tonal range than the 20D, faster, quieter. Definitely justifies the upgrade.

Recommend buying the body only and then one of Canon's outstanding lenses (L style for the best, or one of the EFS specific lenses if can't justify the L quality premium (e.g., Canon-EF-S-17-85mm-f-4-5.6-IS-USM-Lens)). With that combinatin and the Canon bounce flash (580EX, which is a joy to use), I can create high quality, semi-pro photographs in almost any situation except those requiring long telephoto or extreme wide angle.

 
The New Canon 40D
By Keith "Always Ready" WalkerVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 9/21/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Having owned the 20D (as well as owning the 1D IIn and the XTi), the 40D is a major advance in almost every direction. I cannot think of any real negatives aside from the obvioius need of a one button access to mirror lockup. The improved motor speed (6.5 fps) makes this a near ideal second camera to the 1D and an extremely capable camera in it's own right. The reduced noise at ISO 800 makes this a very capable camera for many different uses. The viewfinder is brighter. The menu interface is more intuitive and the LCD screen is excellent. One concern is the battery life in winter temperatures. My 20D never performed well in the cold. I'm hoping that they 40D is improved in this area as well. Auto ISO is an interesting feature that I can see being useful, especially now that the sensor performs so well at the higher ratings. I bought this as a kit bundled with the 28-135 IS lens

 
Todays best IQ for the price.
By LEEVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 9/17/2007
Pros:
Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Low noise, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I was looking at a 5D until I saw this camera. This camera has features that truely make it a pro-consumer camera. If you are interested in the 5D but afraid to lay down the cash for fine camera with older tech, this may be the right camera for you until a 5D replacement is out. Besides not being FF, my photos look like what I would expect from a camera costing twice as much.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
As Goldilocks Says
By AmyLRVerified Reviewer from Lacey, WA on 9/16/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I upgraded from a Canon Rebel XT. I just got my 40D 2 days ago and used it yesterday at the fair. Full auto worked extremely well--I'm looking forward to digging into the controls. The camera feels sturdier than my XT and it just feels right in my hands, even though i have very small hands. I wear very thick glasses and the viewfinder is the first viewfinder that I have really enjoyed using--does not feel as though my view is truncated at all. The menus are more clearly laid out than on the XT, and the 3" LCD screen on the back is phenomonal.
There is no real perceptible lag between turning the camera on and being ready to shoot, and the auto focus is blazingly fast. I also think the 40D is a very good value for the money, especially since Canon has adopted several of the features from their flagship camera. The auto cleaning sensors are a nice touch as well.
I highly recommend this camera to anyone who is looking to buy a high quality DSLR. If this is your very first camera, you might want to get a simpler one to learn from instead, then move up to the 40D. The 40D is not overly complicated in my mind, but the amount of customization and options on settings might be somewhat daunting to someone completely new to photography. All in all, a real winner for Canon!

Images shared by: AmyLR

Chain Saw Dragon Carving @ the Fair

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Newborn Piglets @ the Fair

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every penny!
By jempappasVerified Reviewer from Morris plains, NJ on 9/16/2007
Pros:
Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Rugged
Best Uses:
Does it all
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

[...] Haven't put it down since I got it! This baby is it! Nothing shoots 6+ frames/sec in this price range. Great pics! Don't go blind reading previews and stressing whether you should wait for a 300D. Save the [$] price difference, and get a good lens. Get it - I promise you won't regret it!

 
Excellent Upgrade From Canon Xti
By Keith C.Verified Reviewer from Washington, DC on 9/15/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Rugged
Best Uses:
Any use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Have progressed from film SLR's to digital point and shoot to Canon xti to the 40D. Without a doubt, the 40D is an outstanding value providing excellent Canon performance at an extremely reasonable price. I love my xti but decided I was ready for the next step. I considered other cameras but after fairly extensive review decided the specs on the 40D should meet my needs today while allowing for growth. Also, the quality of the Canon line was an important factor. While I have only had the camera for a short while, I am very impressed and would recommend it to any enthusiast (it may be a bit much for a very casual user - try the xti or the lower end Nikons). Features which deserve special recognition include the quality of build, the 3" display, the speed and accuracy of the AF, the wide variety of setting options and overall quality of photos. Would I have any additions to a wish list for a future 50D? Sure, but for the near future, I think Canon has an obvious winner with exactly the right combination of technical quality and pricing. [...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buying another for backup
By DwayneVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 9/13/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I already purchased a 40D and was going to keep my 20D as a back-up, but fell in love with the 40D as soon as I opened it. Several new features make this a "bang for the buck" camera without a doubt. So I decided to sell my 20D and replace it with another 40D.

The camera body is more sturdy, self cleaning sensor, LARGE LCD screen, several new menu options and much better AF in low light then the 20D.

Shutter noise is more then 1/2 that of the 20D.

Nice thing is my BG52 battery grip and eye piece work on the 40D as well, so there was no need to replace these items which was a good move on Canon's part.

The ONLY downfall is that Photoshop CS3 does not support RAW images from the 40D yet, but I would assume the upgrade from Adobe will be out pretty quick.

Great camera... By far the best I have used and well worth the investment.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
All that it's supposed to be and more
By TheShooter from East Coast on 9/13/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

This baby does it all and then some. IQ is excellent, high ISO is on par with 30D, maybe even better and 2 MP more resolution!

The custom settings on the dial rock as do the MyMenu settings. 6.5FPS, LiveView with 5x or 10x maginifcation for zoom, what else do you need?

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it so far...
By T1 PhotoVerified Reviewer from Cleveland, Ohio on 9/5/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

I just up graded from an Olympus Evolt500 and I will stress the up grade statement.... This camera makes me feel like I have a rugged piece of equipment in my hands as soon as I pick it up. I have only had my 40D for 2 days now and being my first Canon product, I have found it very easy to use thus far. I know I have only scratched the surface at this point, but I have found the menu options and the general functions of this camera to be far easier to use than the Olympus. I'm very glad I waited for the Canon, I was this close.... to just moving up to the 510 from Olympus, glad now I didn't. The 3" LCD is Awesome! I love the ease at which you can zoom in to check out the details of your shots to ensure you got what you wanted out of the shot. I can't wait to go to my son's football game after work tonight to really test out this new shutter.... Just from messing around at practice last night, I was amazed at how fast this thing was. Focusing was a little out, but I'm sure it was probably operator error at this point. I'll try to post more as I get a chance to put this baby through the ringer, but so far, I love it!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
What the 20D,30D wish they had
By ttorfinVerified Reviewer from Comstock MN on 9/3/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

Right out of the box you can't help but love this camera. The 3inch screen is incredible. It makes looking through a 2.5 screen on any other digital SLR seem like a toy. This is the camera of the future. The color on the 3 inch screen is amazing. The 6.5 fps is just the best for action shots. This camera can also take great close up portrait pics. Had the camera for 24 hours and I hate to put it down. Go buy this camera you will not be disappointed, just trust me. I shoot dirt track racing photos and this makes that job seem too easy, but that is a great thing. The normal buttons have been moved from the left side to the bottom and I can say it is not a problem, especially when you consider you are viewing your photos on a 3 inch screen. 10.5 meg. pixels way better than the 20d and 30d. More file formats, 24bit RGB for jpeg and 36 RGB for raw, and on and on. You better run to your camera store righ now if you want one of these any time soon. Where I bought them, they got 8 in on Thursday Aug 30 and by Saturday all were gone.

Images shared by: ttorfin

carousel horse - merry go round

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail
 
The 40D is a nice step up from the 30D
By Wildlife PhotomanVerified Reviewer from Nashua, NH on 9/1/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Excellent in Low Light, Fast Shutter Speed, Good Battery Life, Good sized screen, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EOS 40D Digital SLR (Body Only):

The 40D is a nice step up from the 30D. The controls should be familiar to anyone who has used an EOS - Canon seems to know what works, and retains the same comfortable feel from one model to the next. Some of the controls that were to the left of the 30D screen are now along the bottom due to the larger LCD. That LCD and the ability to compose a scene on the LCD, are useful new features. The sonic CCD cleaner is also a big plus, particularly if you change lenses a lot. I wish they would have included a lens hood with the 28-135mm IS USM lens though!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.