Buy the Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon image
 
(based on 13 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray by Sunpak
Located in: Camera Flash Units
The new Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 flash is a lightweight, compact and full featured digital SLR flash for digital and film cameras. The Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 has many advance features, such as easy to use controls, articulated hotshoe, wide angle panel and EV adjustments. With a high guide number of 65 (ISO 100/feet), the XLF-50 can provide superior illumination in any situation. The Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 is compatible with the latest Canon E-TTLII flash technology for seamless integration for ease of use.

The Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 flash has a high guide number of 65 (ISO 100/feet) which will offer a much greater flash range over built-in flash units found in entry level digital SLR cameras. Flexibility is what the XLF-50 is all about with a 180 degree swivel control panel and hotshoe assembly for complete self-contained storage. Being so compact in the self-contained mode, it is small enough to fit in a pocket or bag at only 3.5-inches deep and less than 7 ounces.

When taking photography to the next level, the XLF-50 incorporates a bounce head with detents. For wide angle lenses or additional light diffusion, the easy to use self-storing flip-down diffuser panel makes images come alive. To be in control of flash output, the XLF-50 has five EV adjustments in one half stops for getting the perfect exposure or for use for special effects or control of flash output.

The XLF-50 flash runs on 2 AA Alkaline or Ni-MH batteries which keep it small and compact and at the same time provides up to 200 flashes at full power. In addition, the XLF-50 incorporates auto power off feature to keep batteries from going dead.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.5 stars
(based on 13 reviews)
73% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(5), Easy to use(10), Good power output(3), Lightweight(9), Versatile(5)
Cons:
Slow recycling(4)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(3), General purpose(10), Portraits(6)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Semi-professional(3)
 
Ritz knows their buisness..
By RichardVerified Purchaser from Coldspring, Texas on 11/18/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Powerful Output
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

Canon said there was no flash that would fit my old Canon camera...Ritz had several and at a great price...Canon wanted to sale me a new camera and flash.....

 
Very Pleased
By CSJVerified Reviewer from South Carolina on 9/2/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

I couldn't go wrong with this. I have a D40x and wanted an inexpensive flash to work on my craft. Saved me from going "all out" for a SB600 or above.

 
Not compatable with 5D Mark II
By WILL★REFUSEVerified Reviewer from Saint Clair Shores, Mi on 6/27/2010
Pros:
Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling, Weak Output
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

I bought this simply for the price and to use it as a slave. However it doe's not work with my 5D. I tried it on my XTi and got decent results for the price. However I plan to return it. It would be a great little speedlight for my 5D if it actually worked with it.

 
Check compatibility
By Clay from Brentwood, CA on 1/16/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

Does not work with the Canon 7D

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I expected more From this Flash
By KristinaVerified Purchaser from Virginia on 6/2/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Not For a real Photograph, Slow Focus, Slow Recycling, Weak Output
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

Not a good flash at all
In Seven hour's I went though 4 AA's
My Photo's Looked bad with this Flash.
I had to fix every Photo I had taken that day
Witch was Three hundred Sixty
I would not recommend this flash to any one
Janet Brooks

Images shared by: Kristina

Had to Fix lighting+Red eye The lighting is wrong

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Speedlight for Nikon
By 600mm from Chicago, IL on 4/5/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

This speed light has great range. It is very simple to use and has similar results as more professional grade speed lights. Not to mention, but it has a great price included.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Flash for Canon
By MacVerified Purchaser from Zephyrhilld, FL on 2/16/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

The new Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 flash is a lightweight and that is the biggest reason I purchased it. It's flash brightness over ride helps a great deal with a bounce flash, This is a great unit for the price.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Little Flash!!!
By PhotoBugVerified Reviewer from Orlando, Florida on 2/2/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

I bought this for my G10 and SX10IS. Wanted a small lightweight flash with bounce. This is the perfect travel companion. Functions perfectly.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would recommend it!
By TAVOVerified Purchaser from RESEDA, CA on 2/2/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

LIGHTWEIGHT, VERY GOOD FILL IN

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
It didn't work with 5D Mark II
By DriveredVerified Purchaser from Pequannock, NJ on 1/18/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Not Interchangeable
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

The flash may work with other Canon cameras but it didn't work with my new Canon EOS 5D Mark II.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works great with my Canon G10
By PatVerified Purchaser from TX/SC on 12/28/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Clean, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

The perfect size for my small camera. The hot shoe connection folds up inside the body. Very compact. The wide angle diffuser works great even on macro shots. It's easy to adjust the flash exposure compensation but I've rarely had to use it. The ability to tilt the flash up to 90 degrees to bounce the flash off the ceiling is a definite bonus! I'm very pleased with this product and would definitely recommend it.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
xlf flash
By MartinVerified Purchaser from Seattle on 12/17/2008
Pros:
Easy To Clean
Cons:
Bulky, Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Getting started

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

for portrait shot

its easy to use

uses a lot of battery power

[21 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very cool
By rangVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 11/20/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Quiet, Versatile
Cons:
Diffuser latch
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Canon:

I bought this flash to replace the Canon 220EX I had been using with my Canon G9.
The thing that really bugged about the 220EX was it's inability to bounce flash. Canon already has that other Silver high power flash brick for P& S's ...why couldn't they design the 220Ex to as a bouncable model. DUH.
Well this little Sunpak does the trick very well. Even smaller footprint, GN# of 60 or 65 and you can bounce the flash. Takes less batteries too...only two AA's. And way easy output controls. Talks ETTL
Only drawback...the flip down and around diffuser panel should be designed to "click" into the stowed position and "click" into different bounce positions so it would stay upright when the flash unit is positioned vertically. That way you could bounce the majority of the output up and some forward.
First tests seem to be ok with a LensMate adapter and WA and TP lens as well.
If you have a G series get this flash.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.