Buy the Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray by Sunpak
Located in: Camera Flash Units
The new Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 flash is a lightweight, compact and full featured digital SLR flash for digital and film cameras. The Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 has many advance features, such as easy to use controls, articulated hotshoe, wide angle panel and EV adjustments. With a high guide number of 65 (ISO 100/feet), the XLF-50 can provide superior illumination in any situation. The Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 is compatible with the latest Nikon i-TTL TTL flash technology for seamless integration for ease of use.

The Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 flash has a high guide number of 65 (ISO 100/feet) which will offer a much greater flash range over built-in flash units found in entry level digital SLR cameras. Flexibility is what the XLF-50 is all about with a 180 degree swivel control panel and hotshoe assembly for complete self-contained storage. Being so compact in the self-contained mode, it is small enough to fit in a pocket or bag at only 3.5-inches deep and less than 7 ounces.

When taking photography to the next level, the XLF-50 incorporates a bounce head with detents. For wide angle lenses or additional light diffusion, the easy to use self-storing flip-down diffuser panel makes images come alive. To be in control of flash output, the XLF-50 has five EV adjustments in one half stops for getting the perfect exposure or for use for special effects or control of flash output.

The XLF-50 flash runs on 2 AA Alkaline or Ni-MH batteries which keep it small and compact and at the same time provides up to 200 flashes at full power. In addition, the XLF-50 incorporates auto power off feature to keep batteries from going dead.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(10), Durable(8), Easy to use(17), Fast recycling(5), Good power output(5)
Cons:
Slow recycling(9), Weak output(4)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(11), General purpose(15), Night photography(7), Photojournalism(4), Portraits(11)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(10), Semi-professional(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not sure yet... Slow recycling time
By photo777Verified Reviewer from Atlanta, Ga on 10/1/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Great price, Lightweight
Cons:
Limited in ways to turn, Slow Recycling, Weak Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

In the process of turning photography hobby into pro photography work. This was a great first buy! The price was right when you look at all the equipment to have to buy. It's fine for general use. The light output is fine. It just needs more light and more ways to turn it. Casual users would be fine using this flash.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Alternative to a Nikon SB 400
By DazzlerVerified Reviewer from Fruitport, MI on 2/13/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

This is a great fill flash for the price. Cheaper than an SB400, a little slow to recycle but worth it for the $$$ savings.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great for travel and close up shots
By GeraldVerified Reviewer from Cleveland, Georgia on 1/20/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Weak Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

The Quantaray XLF-50 flash is small, light weight,ideal for traveling light. Easy to use, just attach to camera and turn it on and you are ready to take pictures! The flash weighs very little so you hardly know you have it attached. The hot shoe rotates into the body which shortens it and allows you to easily carry it in your pocket.The flash rotates 90 degrees so you can bounce the flash off the ceiling. I have a Nikon D50 which has a prefocus light and I was able to take pictures in total darkness.The only negative aspects of the camera is that for the size it is not as powerful as other flashes, guide number of 20 meters at iso 100 and does not swivel. Great flash for the price!

Images shared by: Gerald

Prissy,our house cat

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Willow, sleeping, flash was bounced

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
GOOD PRICE AND GOOD PRODUCT
By savedsoulVerified Reviewer from Reading, PA on 9/25/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

I like more than my Nikon SB-600 for being comfortable and practical, I love

[0 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
My pictures turn out horrible.
By PetzclubVerified Reviewer from Pasadena Texas on 7/30/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus, Weak Output
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

Its very difficult to point and aim this thing to get it to light up the picture. You have to absolutely have it pointed perfectly to get this flash towards you object, its not supposed to be rocket science, its photography.

Images shared by: Petzclub

See how dark?

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

dark again

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Value - Excellent Product...
By BrianVerified Purchaser from Philadelphia, PA on 6/22/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

This is a great product for the average Nikon user. The flash is easy to use and control, it has a built-in diffuser, and the ability to angle the flash to acheive different lighting/flash effects. It is extremely lightweight and is low-profile. It cycles quickly, and it has become an important and useful addition to my Nikon D40 camera.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for what it is.
By jollyrogerVerified Reviewer from san francisco, CA on 5/8/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Weak Output
Best Uses:
General Use, Social Gatherings
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

Got this on sale for [$] including tax. For what it is it's a great flash. Although, incrementally more powerful than the pop-up flash on my rebel XT, the XLF-50's has a fill area that's wider with the diffuser and its AA power supply means it won't drain your camera's battery. With a GN of 20 you won't be getting huge parties or any significant distance but for social get together's where a larger flash might be intrusive it's perfect.Operation is simple and straightforward. A great substitute for the on-board pop up flash.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exceeds my expectations!
By osusanaVerified Reviewer from East Texas on 4/2/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

This flash is perfect for my needs. It's light weight and I carry it in my purse along with my G9.The diffuser and bounce flash add to the value!

Images shared by: osusana

My grandson.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Canon G10 Sunpak-50

Family Xmas

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Canon G10 with Sunpak-50, Using Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Gigantic Little Flash
By Troy TVerified Purchaser from Virginia Beach VA on 3/29/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Not Interchangeable
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Fits in nicely, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

This flash fits in nicely where the little on camera fails but without having to have a SB900 or some other larger Nikon flash. It won't fill a room but it is good for most general shots and a lot lighter to use.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great flash for a fair price
By Matt Hunter from Birmingham, Al on 3/23/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

The bottom line for the XLF-50 is that it really helps to get a better picture due to its performance and ease of use. It allows you to fine tune the amount of flash needed. It is also small so it's easy to keep in your shirt pocket for example. Because of the angle of movement of the flash and also the built in diffuser, you can get just about any result you desire. Just remember it's limits: one pic every 5 seconds and not for distances over 35 feet

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product for the price
By MelvinVerified Purchaser from Hampton, GA on 3/12/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

Great product for the price.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Much better than the built in flash!
By AceVerified Reviewer from Dresden, Tennessee on 3/9/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Powerful Output
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

I think the flash works great.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Much better than the built-in flash
By oldguy 606Verified Purchaser from Chicago IL. on 2/23/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

I was shooting a wedding and very pleased with
the performance except for the recycling time.
With fresh batteries the recycling is a lot
faster.
I would recomend this flash for for anyone that
needs a reliable flash for general shooting. It's
a great general use compact flash. The price is
the best part.

 
I would buy this product again
By BettyVerified Purchaser from Wisconsin on 2/9/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

Easy to use

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
What I was hoping for
By No such thing as a nicknameVerified Purchaser from Fort Worth, Texas on 1/27/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Powerful Output
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

I'm a beginner, but this flash has been great for what I use it for, mainly fun photography. I would recommend this to others who are getting started and use their camera's for everday pictures.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash for the price
By calehanVerified Purchaser from Greeneville, Tn on 1/15/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

I got this flash for everyday use. I love that it fills well. I just wish it had a better recycle time.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
IT IS A LITTLE MUSCLE CAR...
By ORTHOZACVerified Reviewer from ZACATECAS, MEXICO on 1/14/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Portraits, SHORT RANGE PHOTOS
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray by Sunpak Quantaray by Sunpak XLF-50 Flash for Nikon:

I USED THIS LITTLE WONDER AT DISNEYLAND LAST CHRISTMAS HOLIDAYS WITH GREAT SHORT RANGE RESULTS( 12-15 FEET), THE DIFUSER FOR PORTRAITS IS HANDY AND HELPS TO GET NICE AND WARM SKIN TONES, AND WITH 5 LEVELS OF INTENSITY ALLOWS YOU TO TAKE GOOD FRAMES ALMOST INSTANTLY. ELIMINATES SHADOWS WHEN WIDE LENSES ARE USED... IT FITS IN TROUSERS OR JACKET POCKETS... VERY LIGHT AND NON BULKY.

Images shared by: ORTHOZAC

PACKING DAY

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

BELLE WITH GIRLS

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.