Buy the Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash image
 
(based on 21 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Camera Flash Units
The SB-900 i-TTL Speedlight leads the Nikon Creative Lighting System delivering the portability, power and versatility to support any photographer's creative lighting imagination.
  • Nikon's Flagship Creative Lighting System Speedlight: Powerful and versatile SB-900 works as a stand-alone flash, featuring wireless operation as a Commander or wireless remote light source.
  • Control up to three remote Speedlight groups and an unlimited number of compatible Speedlights: The SB-900's Wireless Commander Mode offers wireless control at the master Speedlight position. Four wireless channel options allow you to manage wireless conflicts in multiple photographer environments.
  • Streamlined controls and menus: The Rotary Select Dial sets key flash functions quickly?a prominent Master and Remote control switch simplifies wireless operation.
  • FX/DX format identification: Automatic FX/DX switching optimizes light distribution angle.
  • Expanded Auto Power Zoom Coverage: The SB-900 provides zoom coverage from 17-200mm in the FX-format and 12-200mm coverage in the DX-format.
  • Choose from 3 light distribution patterns: Improve light quality by selecting Standard for general illumination, Center-weighted for portraits, or Even for groups or interiors.
  • User-friendly firmware updating: Allows uploading of performance enhancement developments to the SB-900 with select Nikon digital SLR cameras.
  • Color gel filter identification: The SB-900 automatically identifies mounted color gel filters and adjusts the camera's auto white-balance setting with select Nikon digital SLR cameras.
  • Flash Tube Overheat Protection: An added measure of safety is provided for sustained high-speed bursts.
  • Drip-proof mounting foot cover (Water Guard): for enhanced moisture protection (optional).
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 21 reviews)
85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(16), Durable(11), Easily interchangeable(4), Easy to use(4), Fast recycling(12)
Cons:
Heavy(8), Slow recycling(3)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(11), General purpose(17), Night photography(8), Photojournalism(8), Portraits(15)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Professional(3), Pro photographer(5), Semi-professional(4)
 
Good things come to those who wait
By Mike the PandaVerified Purchaser from Miami, FL on 2/2/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

I use this for work. I am a Nightlife Photographer and this works great. Now i can use it with my SB-800 and do off camera storbe. Am very satisfied and would deffinatly recommend to others

Images shared by: Mike the Panda

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail
 
A lot of versatility and a lot of bang.
By Super MaxVerified Purchaser from Houston, Texas on 10/11/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Extremely Versatile, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Superior Bounce Flash, Versatile
Cons:
A little heavy
Best Uses:
Bounce flash is the best, Fill Flash, General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

You can't go wrong with more power. The Nikon SB900 has the power and the versatility any photographer would want in a speedlight. It's bounch flash capabilities are the best I have found even with 12 foot cielings! It is well worth the price to have this "flagship of the Nikon Speedlights.

 
"EVEN" Feature
By DanVerified Purchaser from PA on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

I LOVE the "even" feature for taking latge group shots! No longer are the people on the end darker than the rest!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ground breaker for portably flashguns!
By NikonianVerified Reviewer from Colombo, Sri Lanka on 5/19/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Convenient controls, Durable, Easy To Use, Light concentration, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Bit too big
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Use of gels
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

This is a great product, and definitely one of the best portable flashguns I've come across. A great improvement over the previous SB-800 from Nikon. Everything's great including the ability to change light concentration, the new gel holder is a welcome addition. What I find unusual and displeasing is that the plastic stand now has a plastic threaded socket, where previous stands had metal sockets. This is not very durable on most photo sets I've been working on and is a poor compromise for a product of this price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Functions as it should
By BobVerified Reviewer from Pittsburgh on 5/7/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

The folks who are having problems with overheating are mis-using this flash. No flash is designed to fire at full or near full power for long periods of time. Raise your ISO! I have photographed many weddings with these flashes and never had a problem with my SB-900's. Great flash! BUY ONE! Learn to use it correctly! You will love the results!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Impressive
By Mr BobVerified Reviewer from Ellenton, Fl on 3/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

could not believe the recycle time, shooting a dance one shot after another. with the head versatility (swivel) I practically eliminated shadows. At this moment very pleased.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash!
By NickVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 3/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Powerful Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

This is a great flash. However as the above reviews detail it can have some issues if you do not use it correctly. When used as an on-camera iTTL flash in low light and high shutter speeds this flash will burn through batteries like crazy! Maybe 60-80 shots tops and expect overheating issues if you are shooting 1-3 shots a second. An external hi-output battery is a MUST for those conditions. Used in moderate light a set of 4 lithiums will last you two days of shooting. Used in manual mode I have gone 3-4 days without issue as long as im not nuking everything with 1/1 or 1/2. That said the power of this flash is AMAZING. You will be astounded with what you can light and the housing can take a hell of a beating.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Torn on how I feel.
By Picture ThisVerified Reviewer from Appleton, WI on 2/22/2010
Pros:
Fast Recycling, Powerful Output
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

I'm torn on how I feel about this flash. The output is great. I'm a wedding photographer and have had consistent beautiful pictures with it. The cons are it overheats and does quickly. I bought October 2009 used it for 5 weddings and 3 Fashion shows in the middle of the last show it stopped working. It will not turn on. I'm sending it back for service.

[6 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very un-reliable and not worth the money
By The photog guy from Delaware on 10/19/2009
Pros:
Versatile
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

If your a "hi-tech" lover that does not need consistant reliability, you'll love this flash.. otherwise, it is heavy, noisy, and overheats WAY too easily.I only bought this because my SB-800 died and that model is discontinued. If you have an SB-800 and use it professionally, dont upgrade!! Twice in eight uses, it has overheated during a critical moment that I had to capture. Once that happens, it takes 10 - 15 minutes to come back to life. Very un-reliable. Also, less powerful then the SB-800. For close to [$], I would demand better. Have a nice day!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Overheats constantly
By Rocky from Charleston, SC on 10/12/2009
Cons:
Bulky, Heavy, Not Interchangeable, Slow Recycling
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

After only a few minutes of shooting the over heat shutdown occurs. Then you have a 10-minute wait before you can shoot again. It was so bad I quit using it and only used the studio lights to light up my models. If you're only going to shoot one or two shots, its fine. Shooting anything time sensitive (wedding, sporting, models), it is a waste of time and money.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
TERRIFIC SPEEDLIGHT
By VicVerified Reviewer from Fallon, NV on 3/6/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

Outstanding for all types of photography. I use with Nikon CLS and have replaced all my studio stobes with SB-900s. Great for on camera use also.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash
By StacyeVerified Purchaser from Memphis, TN on 2/2/2009
Pros:
Durable, Reliable
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

Got this flash for my husband for his birthday. He loves it! A lot of functions so a little tricky to initially figure out, but great flash! Tons of capabilities.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not good for professional use
By GlennVerified Reviewer from Weston, FL on 1/16/2009
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

This flash overheats quickly so you have to by-pass the sensor. Recycle time is not as good as the SB-800 and battery life is poor. I experienced these problems with a newly purchased SB-900 so I exchanged it for a new SB-900 and had the same issues. I have heard these same complaints from other Wedding photographers. Don't sell your SB-800.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I Would Buy This Product
By JayVerified Reviewer from Decatur, Ga on 12/24/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

Family, Sport

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best one yet
By Capt KirkVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 12/11/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Wedding/Event Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

I have used for general work, sports, and portraits.

Without a doubt, the most versatile and best flash I have ever used.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just Great
By jimmydVerified Reviewer from South Carolina on 12/1/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Fill Flash, General Use, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

Every so often a thing comes along that needs very little description, this is one. I at first I only bought this for my D700, both were the latest and greatest. Now my plans are to get two more SB-900 units. I am 65 and have been shooting since I was 11 and this is by far the greatest flash available.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
AWESOME RESULTS
By kendude62 from chicago,Illinois on 11/11/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

I can't say a bad thing about this flash, the worse thing is just a bit heavy, compared to other flashes. But does a much better job then any flash I've come across.Great for weddings, and professional sport events.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
This flash was more than I expected!
By BrownVerified Purchaser from Fairfield on 9/4/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Quiet
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

I like the many function the flash has to offer.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
After over 1500 pictures
By ShutterVerified Purchaser from North Dakota on 9/1/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, The controls are easy to
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

The controls are easy to use and adjust.The wireless feature works great with the sb800.It is heavy and is noticeably so on a flash bracket. I did not like the Flash Tube Overheat Protection it took ten minutes for the flash to work after it kick in during full power use in a large group shot. Over all I do like the SB900.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Shedding some light.....
By RogVerified Purchaser from Maryland on 8/26/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use, group shots, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

While the zoom noise is noticeable, I've found no distractions while shooting... The ability to change types of light patterns is very useful... I've only had this flash for a month, but have not found any situation that it cannot handle with ease... Using both SB-900 and SB-800 flashes together as 'master' and 'remote' is a big plus to many lighting problems...

Images shared by: Rog

Abbie - on camera SB-900

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[16 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
WORTH EVERY PENNY
By EMVerified Reviewer from San Antonio, TX on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-900 AF Speedlight Flash:

I was skeptical at first about paying so much for a flash, but it was worth every penny. You can do so much with this thing. What can't you do?--make a sandwich. The controls are easy to use and adjust with just one hand. I love that you can use this off camera with out any cords or additional accessories that have to be bought. It is a great package and has everything you need. It would be neat if the flash also accepted the recharable Nikon camera batteries--just a wish, but I guess "AA" batteries will stay the standard for some time. I haven't counted the number of flasshes per set of batteries, but it's more than I got from other flashes. I LOVE it!!!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.