Buy the Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash image
 
(based on 95 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Camera Flash Units
Featuring Nikon's next generation i-TTL(TM) flash control technology, the SB-600 Speedlight delivers automatic balance fill-flash and advanced wireless lighting capabilities for outstanding results and creative possibilities. The SB-600 is seamlessly compatible with the D70 digital SLR camera's built-in speedlight as well as the Nikon D2H professional digital SLR. The SB-600 effectively integrates with the Nikon SB-800 Speedlight, both individually and in arrangements of multiple SB-600/800 speedlights, offering consistent i-TTL control for automatic and accurate lighting for creative and complex situations.
  • Versatile Remote Speedlight for the Creative Lighting System
  • Available Options with D2H Pro Digital SLR and D70 Digital SLR: i-TTL Mode, Advanced Wireless Lighting, FV Lock, Flash Color Information and Wide Area AF illuminator
  • i-TTL Flash control : Accurate, seamless fill-flash capability under the most difficult, tricky lighting situations
  • FV Lock (Flash Value Lock) allows photographers to change the compostition or zoom for the shot while maintaining desired lighting of the subject
  • Auto FP High Speed Sync Mode when used with D2H Pro Digital SLR delivers needed fill flash in bright light or with wide aperture Nikkor lenses

Designed for a variety of customers ranging from experienced and amateur photographers to beginning enthusiasts, the SB-600 incorporates a host of new features designed to make flash photography simple, accurate and creative. As part of the newly evolving Nikon Creative Lighting System, the SB-600 includes support for Nikon Advanced wireless TTL operation, and can function as a remote flash when controlled by the SB-800 Speedlight or the D70 digital SLR camera's built-in speedlight set to Commander Mode. Additionally, the SB-600's Auto FP High Speed Sync Mode allows it to fire at shutter speeds as high as 1/8000 second when used with the D2H professional digital SLR camera. Other major features include Flash Value (FV) Lock, flash color information, wide area AF illuminator and built-in modeling flash.

SB-600 Continuing Advanced Wireless Lighting - The SB-600 speedlight features wireless TTL technology first introduced in Nikon's SB-800 Speedlight. Photographers using the SB-800 as the Controller can employ up to three groups of compatible Speedlights, with any quantity of compatible SB-600 and SB-800 speedlights within each of the three groups, to achieve Advanced Wireless i-TTL exposure control. Most major functions of the SB-600 can be controlled remotely by the master SB-800. Photographers using the D70 digital SLR camera's built-in speedlight as the Commander Speedlight can employ any number SB-600 speedlights within one group for wireless i-TTL operation. The SB-600 can be remotely controlled either in i-TTL mode or manual mode for maximum creativity. Used with the D2H, the SB-600 can employ up to four individual frequency channels, and three groups of flash units. The selection of channel settings help photographers avoid inadvertently triggering flashes not being used by them. Used with Nikon's D70 camera's built-in i-TTL speedlight as the Commander, the SB-600 settings require use of Channel 3, Group A. In addition to the wireless capabilities, the SB-600 offers a host of additional features for Nikon's Creative Lighting System.

FV-Lock - FV-Lock (Flash Value Lock) is comparable to the way an AE-Lock functions in a camera for ambient light exposure metering. Once the camera measures a correct flash value, the SB-600 locks this value until the photographer resets it -- helping to maintain the flash value exposure as the photographer adjusts composition for a scene.

Auto FP High-Speed Sync Flash - The SB-600's Auto FP function can be used with the Nikon D2H to automatically fire the speedlight in i-TTL mode at shutter speeds up to 1/8000 second, offering excellent opportunities to use flash in brighter light, with faster aperture lenses and for faster action scenes.

Modeling Flash - A modeling flash feature in the SB-600 fires a stroboscopic burst of light for approximately one second, allowing photographers to visually confirm lighting and shadow effects before shooting.

Auto White Balance Adjustment using Flash Color Temperature Information - The SB-600 achieves a high level of color accuracy when used with the D70 or the D2H. With changes in the duration of light emitted by any speedlight, there are always slight variations of color temperature. Using the D70 or D2H in Auto White Balance mode, the SB-600 communicates these slight variations in color data back to the D70 or D2H and the camera's auto white balance system implements the fine adjustment needed for overall excellent white balance.

Manual Mode - The SB-600 also offers a full manual mode with power ratios from full power to 1/64 power, in 1/2 step increments for independent flash output control and creative lighting effects.

Custom Settings - Custom settings in the SB-600 allow photographers to personalize the speedlight according to selected preferences.

Wide Area Illuminators - The SB-600 features a wide area illuminator that assumes autofocus assist functions in low light conditions. The Illuminator covers all AF-points in all Nikon SLR cameras, including the D2H's new 11-point AF sensors, giving photographers the freedom to compose their shots creatively and shoot with confidence.

Additional features - Additional features in the SB-600 include a large LCD screen, ergonomic controls, a rotating flash head which tilts horizontally and vertically, accessory filters for special color effects and emulation of fluorescent and incandescent lighting, front and side ready-light indicators for easy viewing, and a locking flash shoe.

The SB-600 is compatible with all Nikon digital and film SLR cameras, achieving performance that is limited by each camera's capability. The SB-600 will realize full i-TTL control when used with the D2H or D70 digital SLR cameras, and D-TTL control and Auto Aperture Flash (AA) when used with the D1, D1X, D1H and D100 digital SLR cameras. The SB-600 will offer TTL and Non-TTL Auto Flash control when used with all Nikon film SLR cameras.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 95 reviews)
94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(69), Durable(39), Easily interchangeable(16), Easy to clean(6), Easy to use(48)
Cons:
Heavy(15), Slow focus(4)
Best Uses:
Back-up(4), Fill flash(43), General purpose(69), Lighting(8), Night photography(40)
Describe Yourself:
Beginner(7), Casual user(10), Enthusiast(41), Photo enthusiast(3), Professional(8)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)
 
Great Flash
By AlecVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 1/2/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Great for price!

 
Love it!!!!!
By MomVerified Purchaser from MA. on 12/24/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoor action
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I was having trouble taking pictures indoor with my Nikon D40. This flash allows me to take action shots indoor that are clear and bright.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon external flash
By jimboVerified Purchaser from Beach Park, IL on 11/22/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Provide needed light vs. built-in flash on camera

 
Excellent
By PjcVerified Purchaser from Elkin, NC on 11/22/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
General Use, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Great flash. Easy to use, light weight, compact, great recycling time, excellent for sports action.

 
SO Happy with lighting
By SamVerified Purchaser from TN on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Cons:
Cost
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I love that it has the diffuser attached. It is really easy to use. The batteries make it a little heavy but you can get use to it.

[0 of 22 customers found this review helpful]

 
[...]
By mike the criticVerified Reviewer from houston tx on 6/5/2010
Cons:
Weak Output
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

very bad product

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash!
By B.Bee from New Castle, DE on 12/24/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I got this product as a last minute addition to my collection for Christmas Photography and it is a great flash! It works very well with my D60 and D200. Great Portrait shots and indoor landscape shots. If you are considering this product but are hesitant because of the price, buy it! you are getting a great deal.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works Great with my Nikon D90!!
By TMHVerified Reviewer from Boston, Massachusetts on 11/15/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I bought SB-600 about 2 weeks ago. Using with my
Nikon D90 DSLR as a wireless remote flash. Works
great. Bought an omni bounce 600 Diffuser to go with this flash and picture quality got even better.

Images shared by: TMH

Used SB-600 as a remote flash....

Image Thumbnail

Two SB-600: one for subject & other for background

Image Thumbnail

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing!
By TJ GesnerVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 10/29/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I've been using this flash with my D40x and it's been giving me some amazing results! I also have the SC-28 Remote Cord which makes it extremely versatile. I'm using it for photoshoots, live performances, and party/nightclub pictures. I still have the first set of batteries in it and its still going, I've probably taken 600+ pictures on one set of batteries.
Love it.

Images shared by: TJ Gesner

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
nice equipment - better get 2!
By CJL from hinsdale, il. on 10/3/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

i have used this flash everywhere with fantastic results.
for best results, use it off camera with the Nikon CLS and a bounce card to fill your shadows.
with Auto FP turned on, you can actually overpower the sun.

well worth the money.

Images shared by: CJL

yes... the lights were on in the room.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Such an easy flash
By [@]Verified Purchaser from Scottsdale, AZ on 9/30/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I use this flash several nights a week covering stories for the newspaper. The flash is very easy to use and works great in low light situations. I strongly suggest buying rechargeable batteries, for the best recycle times and they'll pay for them selves pretty quickly if you use this flash a lot. With rechargeable batteries, I've been able to get about 250 consistent flashes before the recycle time slowed down then eventually died at 300 flashes.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Reliable and adaptable
By Deb the teacherVerified Reviewer from Oswego, NY on 8/31/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, School events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Inside or outside, I use this flash with my D80 and D50 for wedding party and family shots, as well as for candids. As a fill flash outside, I don't worry about squinting as there is no sun on faces. With candid dance shots inside, the recovery is quick so I take shot after shot without missing a thing.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great
By HorsemanVerified Purchaser from Kansas City, MO. on 6/21/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky, Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Still learning

[9 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Flash
By shutterbug from Albany, NY on 6/18/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I use this when I'm doing wedding photography. My only complaint is that it doesn't show you when the battery is low, so you don't know it until it is not working...by then, you've missed your shot.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy thid product again
By JoeVerified Purchaser from San Antonio Texas on 6/16/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I will put the unit trough it paces at a family picnic reunion of over 200 persons. Hoping the fast recovery help to take enough pictures to fill the albums.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exellen product
By NikonFanVerified Purchaser from Kansas City on 6/2/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

It's a great product like my D80 and like it very much.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this flash
By Brown HunterVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, North Carolina on 6/1/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output
Cons:
Not Interchangeable
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

This flash is easy to use and in this case you do get what you pay for.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight
By AmyVerified Purchaser from Kansas City on 6/1/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Use on my Nikon D80. Great especially with being able to remotely talk to each other with out any extra cords or accessories when the flash is detached from the camera.

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great flash!
By DonVerified Purchaser from Burbank, CA on 5/30/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Perfect complement to the Nikon D90.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works like a charm
By Fo the PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 5/29/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output
Cons:
Can be hard to turn on
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I have a Nikon D70 which tends to shoot a little dark. I use the flash all the time to even things out and make my pictures lighter. An advantage is that when you turn the camera off, it powers down, so you don't waste batteries, which by the way last a long time.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
SB-600 Rocks!
By Eastside JackVerified Purchaser from Cincinnati on 5/29/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I bought the SB-600 to use with my Nikon D-80. The technology marriage that Nikon has developed really is something else. The ability to use the SB-600 as a remote flash directed by the D-80 built in flash is very cool. No extra parts needed. The other very impressive thing is that the flash cycles quick enough to use the multiple picture function of the camera. It cycles immediately! If you own a Nikon Digital SLR, this is a must purchase!

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
good product from reasonabaly price
By grazusVerified Purchaser from Chicago Il on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Powerful Output
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

good

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash
By keithwendling[@]Verified Purchaser from New York, NY on 5/11/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Great product. Works just as expected. Still going strong on my first set of batteries too!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
No complaints
By the shooterVerified Purchaser from Houston, Tx on 5/8/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

The only thing that I was disappointed about is that it can only be a slave flash in wireless mode. Other than that it is a great flash for the money, and I would recommend this product to anyone!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
All the quality I expected form Nikon
By BBVerified Purchaser from South Carolina on 5/7/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

It's everything I expected from Nikon. I have looked at a lot of others, hands down, the better of them all. I did'nt want to spend the extra bucks, but now I'm glad I did.BB

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Speedlight SB-600
By SpudVerified Purchaser from Montana on 5/6/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Price
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

These are great wireless remote flashes. I use two for off camera portraits. They work flawlessly with my Nikon D90. To find out how to set up wireless speedlights go to DTown TV.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good product
By BobVerified Purchaser from Big Apple on 4/23/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

It is very helpfull at the parties and family
photos

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Extremly easy to use. I love it!
By ChristineVerified Purchaser from Southbury, Ct on 4/14/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

[...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
NOW THAT'S A GREAT INDOOR SHOT!
By LIFELONG EXPLORERVerified Purchaser from HICKORY, NC on 4/14/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I TRAVEL AND NEEDED FLASH FOR INDOOR SHOTS OF PUBLIC PLACES, SIMPLE OUTDOOR EVENING SHOTS, CASUAL PORTRAITS OF FRIENDS AND FAMILY

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product for the money
By Mom of 3Verified Purchaser from Bolton, CT on 4/13/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I bought this flash to photograph indoors (especially in florescent lighting) and am very satisfied with the results.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon SB600 speedlight
By CharlieVerified Purchaser from Waterford, Mi. on 4/13/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Excellent performance as a fill flash. Even if you are looking directly into the sun it works great

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really like the flash.
By MommylouVerified Purchaser from Toney, Alabama on 3/18/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Got a D60 for Christmas and the builtin flash just was not enough. The SB600 was just what I needed.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash!
By DonVerified Reviewer from Kennett Square, PA on 3/10/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Versatile
Cons:
Chews through batteries
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

This is a great flash. Slightly less powerful than it's big brother, the SB-800, but it's fast and light. It works seamlessly with my D200 when mounted on the hot shoe. The Nikon CLS and iTTL take most of the guesswork out. The best part is the SB-600 can be remote controlled wirelessly with the built-in flash on the D200

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash!
By Missyblue from Draper, Ut on 3/10/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

It works great with my Nikon D80, they were meant for each other!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best and simple
By pena645 from Sacramento, CA on 2/26/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I use the wireless system, and believe me it's a whole new world of freedom and creativity.

Images shared by: pena645

Wireless used being used

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just like advertised.....
By trhodesVerified Purchaser from Longmont, CO on 2/23/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

The SB 600 does everything advertised and does it very well! Easy to use and flexible in manual settings.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Flash, Superb Pictures
By FireFighter MikeVerified Reviewer from Delaware on 2/18/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Cons:
Cant Find One
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

compared to the previous quantaray flash that i ordered this is hands down the best flash i have ever owned. Took it out of the box put batteries in it and before i knew it i was producing excellent pictures in low light areas

Images shared by: FireFighter Mike

mmm milkbone

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

good to the last crumb

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Great Flash
By Photo OpsVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 2/17/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Great flash. Good recycle time.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Speedlight Delight
By Bill the RealtorVerified Purchaser from Silverdale, WA on 2/11/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Great unit. Very versatile and recyles quickly. Far better and more compact than other units I have used in the past. I use it to shoot pictures of homes and it does an outstanding job of providing the appropriate lighting under differing situations.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Backup Flash
By Quality Image Professionals, LLCVerified Purchaser from Newberry, Florida on 2/3/2009
Pros:
Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

The SB600 is a great second/backup flash. If your profession requires a backup flash then get this flash as backup to the SB800. It is a great flash and can be used in conjunction with the SB800 as a slave flash. This not only gives you a backup in cases of emergency but also gives you some versatility. The only negative thing I noticed was the SB600 eats up more batteries than the SB800; I don't know why.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash Nikon SB-600 AF
By GuyVerified Purchaser from East Hampton NY on 2/2/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Great to fill in unwanted shadows; to illuminate night or day shots, easy to use.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good unit.works great with my Nikon D7O
By The Wee ScotVerified Purchaser from Florida on 1/27/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Somewhat bulky for camera
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Had considered a pricier unit but could not afford it. This unit seems to be adequate for my needs.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product!
By mksimon1Verified Purchaser from Clarksburg, WV on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Powerful Output
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I'm just beginning to use this product and overall am happy that I purchased it. It is a bit heavy and I'm hoping that as I use it more, I'll get use to that.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great speed flash but...
By logicmobileVerified Reviewer from Poway CA on 1/20/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

it would be nice if there is a battery back pack for this. overall is ok, it does the job but wanted to shoot multiple frame per second but cant keep up.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Power on demand
By sky6Verified Purchaser from Fort Lauderdale on 1/18/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

When you need more flash than the camera flip-up, just snap on this puppy and fire away.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love my new flash for the nikon
By fatty photoVerified Purchaser from Mankato, MN on 1/12/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I love my nikon and the lenses and the flash what I use it for is taking lots of pictures of my grandkids, they are growing so fast.It is a little heavy but I can deal with that after I see those pictures,they are clear and everything in the background are so sharp too.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great flash
By Pat BudayVerified Purchaser from Pottstown, PA on 1/11/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I take baseball pictures; I love the flash

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I am completely satisified
By G.GVerified Purchaser from Cookeville Tn. on 1/7/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Powerful Output, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I take candid shots . I like low light; this flash is great at capturing that perfect light. As of yet. I have no cons. Great all around flash

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE IT
By Photogirl48Verified Purchaser from South Jersey on 1/1/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Powerful Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

This is a really great Flash for the price.. Easy to use and light weight for the size.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Loved this flash!
By MandyVerified Purchaser from Weslco, TX on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use, Wedding/Event Photography
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Great flash, case is very protective, dropped it once and nothing broke.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
SB-600 A Great Addition for my Nikon D80
By PhotomanVerified Purchaser from Blairsville, GA on 12/2/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Focus flash is excellent, Powerful Output
Cons:
No Cons found
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

The SB600 is a great addition to my Nikon D80. The focus flash illuminates the subject and allows the background to go dark.

Images shared by: Photoman

A Thanksgiving at the Church

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a great product!!!
By ShutterbugVerified Purchaser from Garland, TX on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output
Cons:
I haven't found any yet
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

This flash is all that I expected from Nikon. It works great with my Nikon D40.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
NIkon Speedlight is Okay
By GWVerified Purchaser from Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany on 10/31/2008
Pros:
Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Cons:
None that I can find
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

No issues so far ... only in use for three weeks ... but excellent results so far ...

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great flash
By SDboyVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 10/22/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I was so amazed how much better the pictures turned out.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon SB-600
By glenjustVerified Purchaser from Clinton, IA on 10/20/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

This is a very capable flash unit. I was debating on whether I should get the 600 or one of the other Nikon flash units. I am extremely satisfied with this unit. It can be used as a replacement for the built-in flash giving a much faster recycle time and more flexibility in low light situations. The auto-zoom feature matches the setting of the camera lens to give the appropriate light for the field of view automatically, or you can manually adjust the zoom. It also has a built in diffuser that stores in the flash unit so it is always available. This is a fully programmable flash unit that you can adjust the flash compensation through the camera. You can also remove the flash unit to use it as a slave triggered by the camera's built in flash. The unit takes standard AA batteries which can be alkaline or rechargeable. The unit did not come with a battery charger.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Never Lets Me Down"
By monijfkVerified Purchaser from Kamuela, Hawaii on 10/11/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Performs, Quiet
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

A must have...it's a great addition, never lets you down and always does it's job.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
The only flash you would ever need!
By Dan, the freelancing man.Verified Reviewer from Ft. Lauderdale, FL on 10/9/2008
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I am a freelancer who photograph's for the media and do all types of photography. This is by far the best flash I've ever used. You can change the degree vertically as well as horizontally to get the perfect lighting you need. I love this flash and I rarely have to use studio lights for my photo shoots. Great flash!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best bang for you buck!
By ShepdawgVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 9/24/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Heavier than SB-400
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I like the ability to bounce the lite unlike the smaller SB-400. Best for your money unless you are a pro. All the best features of the bigger, more expensive SB-800, at a better price and gives you the ability to bounce the lite unlike the SB-400. [@] I use this to check everything. One of the best sites for everything photography.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Light your moments
By Hardeep SinghVerified Purchaser from Farmington Hills, Michigan on 9/23/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast, Lightweight, Quiet
Cons:
Found None
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I am not a professional so my review is completely based on its usage, easiness and performance.

Its a great product and Nikon have again kept its mark. Very easy to handle, very fast and performance is truely what is expected from a Nikon product.

No second thought.....if you are looking for a Flash.

[2 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Its not bad
By HobbySnobVerified Reviewer from savannah, ga on 9/20/2008
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I'm having a few issues with this flash at the moment. I'm hoping to get the kinks worked out soon. when I bought the flash, a couple months ago, it worked wonderfully. However, it does seem to eat up batteries far faster than I had expected. I'm no longer in love with this flash... It has a slow turn around time as well.

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love the SB-600-Great Tool
By nikon nutVerified Reviewer from Harrisonville, Mo on 9/17/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Wedding photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

We own all three models of Nikon flashes. The SB-600 fits all of our needs. This flash is more dependable than the SB-800 for consistent shots across a room. The ajustable head is great for bounce shots off walls, ceilings and reflectors. The SB-400 reaches across rooms but gets more red eye. Spend the extra dollar for the 600 and enjoy it.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excelent Flash
By SusieVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 9/7/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy to use, Fast Recycling, Quiet
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

So far mostly taking pictures of the grandkids. This flash coupled with the Nikon D60 is a great combination when trying to get the action of 8 grandkids all moving at once.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent AF Flash
By Doctor BVerified Purchaser from Orlando, FL on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Easy to Use; features bounce flash capabilities and built-in diffuser for softer portraits.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Absolutely Amazing Results.
By Camera GuyVerified Purchaser from Albuquerque, NM on 8/16/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Great results at 85mm
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Group events, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I had a need to shoot a puppet show using 85mm zoom. The SB-600 performed very well. The exposure was well balanced, for a sequence of three shots.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good flash for a reasonable amount
By FranklenVerified Purchaser from Mullica Hill, NJ on 8/15/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I use this flash when I need a little extra light and as a fill flash. Works well with the Nikon D40x I have and all the lenses. Worth the money.

[1 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash but not the best!!!!!
By FrankVerified Purchaser from Richardson, TX on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I wish I could spend the extra money and get the SB-800

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great flash for the novice/expert!
By DaveVerified Purchaser from Burb of Wichita, KS on 8/9/2008
Pros:
Adjustable, Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, In building in dark rooms, Night Photography, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Used for lots and lots of indoor photo's where the room is slightly to very dark. Just one of the better features is the ability to "push/throw" the light out a great distance from the camera making the "perfect shot." Fully charged batteries last for several hundred photo's, still and action! It just keeps on steadily flashing with just AA batteries. I wish I had purchased the lager flash now... but am PERFECTLY happy with this one! Definately an increadable purchase! Get yours today!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great flash for the price!
By webbed foot photographyVerified Purchaser from Los Alamitos, CA on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Quiet
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Great low-cost flash to use as a fill flash or as a wireless strobe. The Nikon system is nice and I use two of these wireless, without having to have a PocketWizard or remote. Most of the time I use natural light, but when I need to I trust this flash.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lightweight flash that packs a punch
By Photopro48Verified Purchaser from Tidewater, VA on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Great at close flash need
Cons:
Limited distance
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

This is a outstanding flash that works well alone or with the SB-800. I find super when used on second camera for close portraits when softer light is needed. Been using the SB-600 for years and has never let me down.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really Great Nikon Quality
By MarkVerified Reviewer from Johannesburg, South Africa on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling, Great value for money, Lightweight, Quiet, Real Nikon quality
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Simple and easy to use.Plug and play application. No professional knowledge required to get started

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash
By lacsullVerified Purchaser from Montgomery, AL on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I've really enjoyed using this flash. It's all I need for the pictures I'm taking right now.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash
By photochicVerified Purchaser from Bratt, FL on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Cons:
A little dark at times
Best Uses:
General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

This flash is extremely fast in recycling - less than 2 seconds! Easy to use. Sometimes my pictures are a little dark, though. It's great for outdoor pictures for a fill flash. I use it for weddings and get great results.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Eats up batteries...FAST"
By RTVerified Purchaser from Maryland on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Battery Hog
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I really like this flash (use on my Nikon D 80). I think it's efficient and works very well - and versitile. BUT it eats up batteries like I can't even believe. It's a pain to always carry around 4 extra AAs.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect Marriage to my D300
By JimVerified Purchaser from Cumming, GA on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Just plain dependable, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I found after getting my new D300 I could shoot in low light without flash so well that I'd have very little need for my SB600. I was wrong! It' as perfect in sunlight for fill and inside for effect with perfect color balance. It's never come out of my bag with a dead battery or not performed as it should. I'm still learning it's potential. I may accessorize it.

Images shared by: Jim

Stars of 'Cabaret' at our church (bounce flash)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Church production of Caboret

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best yet
By I Give SmilesVerified Reviewer from Suisun City, CA on 7/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Professional Quality
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Pet photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

When you want a professional quality photo this has the features you need

[0 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awful experience
By dissatisfied and angry from charlotte, nc on 7/12/2008
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Slow Focus
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Worst product I have seen to this point from Nikon. On my first attempt to use it, the flash wouldn't fire. Lost a whole night of shots due to the poor workings of the item as it continually malfunctioned not working in sync w/ camera. At one point, the flasf turned itself off and wouldn't come back on for extended period of time.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
awesome for the money
By burke420Verified Reviewer from douglasville, ga on 2/20/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Attach Securely, Even Light Source, Powerful
Best Uses:
Car photography, Dark lit areas, Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

easy to use, and i havent read the book ..YET! it has a great zoom on the flash for better output... def. gets rid of shadows on dark places, easily and has a good ability to bounce light of walls too!

Images shared by: burke420

1st night shot out of camera

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tonnes of value for the buck!
By Steve-oVerified Reviewer from Alameda, CA on 1/28/2008
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Pros:
Attach Securely, Even Light Source, Great bounce flash, Long Lasting, Powerful, Quick recycle times, Very easy to read screen
Cons:
Not universally wireless
Best Uses:
Birthdays, Evening action shots, Special Events, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring photog, Parent, Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I grew tired of the weak built-in on my D50 and needed to take quick sequential pictures. SB-800 was too far out of my budget so the 600 works great! Adding a (slightly modified) simple business card slipped between the wide-angle lens and the top of the flash makes for a wonderful bounce card (like the SB-800). My only wish is that it worked wirelessly with my D50, but alas it only works as a slave to an SB-800, SU-800, D70, or D200. For the money you don't get much better.

Images shared by: Steve-o

Skin tones smooth w/ indirect flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
highly recommend
By chefrj from Chicago, Illinoi on 1/4/2008
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Quiet
Cons:
Battery power
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I used the flash indoors at a banquet hall. the pictures came out great. was a little disappointed on the turn around time for the flash to go from shot to shot.

please use rechargeable batteries.

I compare the shots with and without the flash I was very impressed with how the pictures turned out in the banquet hall with the flash. without it I couldn't have gotten such clear pictures. I took mosly portrait.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great addition to gear
By nikongirlVerified Reviewer from new hampshire on 12/31/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Just got this a day before christmas, as an early present. Initially I found it intimidating, but using it in bl I found it very easy to use as fill flash for those christmas morning memories. I am glad I had a day to read the manual, although that was less helpful than some online research. Given some time I think I will find it to be a can't-shoot-without piece of equipment.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worthwhile FLASH
By HenryVerified Reviewer from Dahlonega, GA on 10/29/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I enjoy working in poorly lit areas, either with a tripod with long exposures or using flash. It's a whole new field when you go from taking pictures with the pop-up flash to taking it with an SB-600. While not your SB-800, the options are plentiful. Turning the lens at many angles gives you freedom to bounce it off any surrounding wall or ceiling and working it as a slave opens up even more possibilities. The recycle time is good, the battery life is good, the light output could be a little better. Overall, it's an excellent flash!

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
good for less than a year
By UpheavalVerified Reviewer from Grand terraca CA on 10/14/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quiet, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

worked well for the first mounth,then the screen started to blink constintly. the camera store could not figure it out. then one day it just stopped working all together. Never dropped or dameged. the price was right for me at the time.

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
worked till it stoped working.
By lear from Prescott valley,az on 9/19/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Nice options
Cons:
Stop working after 7month
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Night Photography, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

worked great then one day it wouldn't fire.

[6 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash Untill It Breaks
By Nate from Baton Rouge on 5/15/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Cons:
Stopped working
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Great flash but only after four months it stopped working.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful product
By Lover of photographyVerified Reviewer from Upstate NY on 4/11/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Remote mode
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Photography, Photojournalism, Sports Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I think this is a great product and the price is right I own this flash and it has helped me in all lighting situations especially when I did a batism in a darker than normal church. The recycling rate is very fast I love the swivling capability its very flexablr

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash for the $$
By HOCHY from Prince George, Canada on 3/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Strong Construction
Cons:
Needs a Quick Sheet
Best Uses:
Lighting, Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Manual is a bit overwhelming for a newcomer. It would be nice to have a basic sheet to say what settings or ways to use it.
I did have a few bad shots initially due to a manual setting being added while playing with it. A reset fixed it but it was too late.

Worked well with boardroom night shots and Nikon 300mm zoom.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Makes a big difference
By TexasEdVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 2/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Focus Assist, Lightweight, Power Save Mode, Uses AA batteries
Cons:
Remote mode is difficult
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Several people told me to get the SB-800 for $[...] more. After looking at the features I cannot figure out why. The main difference is that the SB-600 lacks the controller mode, but you don't need the controller mode for the first speed flash you buy, only if you have more than one. So save the $[...] and get the SB-600 and if you need another speed flash get the SB-800.This flash is great indoors and makes a big difference in color of indoor photos when used with the flash white balance setting.I also like that it has a power save mode that conserves the batteries.This unit uses AA bateries which is a bonus in my book. I have several sets of rechargeable batteries I can use without having to buy a Nikon proprietary battery.I have had a few missed flashes when taking many pictures in succession but this is rare and I think it is opoerating within specifications.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
No flash in the pan
By The WhipVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Fast Recycling, Strong Construction, Wireless remote mode
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Photography, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I bought this with my Nikon D80, and love it! I particularly like the ability for my D80 to control it remotely for TTL exposures.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
SB-600
By GMANVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

The SB-600 is a great beginner flash or fill flash coupled with the SB-800 as the primary. In the future I would probably start with the SB-800 unless money is a big factor. either way you cannot go wrong.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
More power, inobtrusive focus aid light.
By SkiDogVerified Reviewer from Grand Haven, MI on 2/18/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy to use, Very capable
Cons:
No wireless remote use
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Very happy with the performance, good power, versatile, only thing lacking is the wireless remote function.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Everything you need in a flash!
By counselor gone photographerVerified Reviewer from KC MO on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy to learn, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Reliable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Photography, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I use to take a lot of photos with film cameras years ago. When I switched to digital, I remembered how much fun it was to try different lighting, and be challenged to do new things. THis product gives lots of options, and is great for the pro or someone new to the hobby. I would recommend this, and have.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
The SB-600 AF Speedlight is amazing!
By Cheeseburger.Verified Reviewer from USA, TX on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography, Sports Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

I've had this for a little while and I absolutly love this flash! This really does help with those tough lighting situations. I would reccomend this to anyone who is wanting to buy a flash for their camera! Buy this product! It is so cool! What I love about the SB-600 is the avaliblity to turn the flash head anyway how you want it!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash
By danomano31Verified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Enough power for nearly all your flash needs without the weight of the SB-800. After hundreds of shots I could have only benefited from the sb-800 once or twice.

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the money...
By THO9900Verified Reviewer from SE TX on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Strong Construction
Cons:
Size is a bit large
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Multiple flash lighting, Photography, Photojournalism, Sports Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

A great flash and worth every penny I paid for it. It comes in the box with the flash, instructions written in English and Spanish, and a carry case. At first it looked like it would require a slight learning curve, but after using it, I found this was not the case.

There are several lighting modes that can be used with this flash. If you get this flash, I highly recommend you do some searching around the web, as there are some great guides on which mode is better for which lighting situation out there. If nothing else, sticking to TTL/BL will get you through.

Combined with the tilt and pan of the flash head, and freedom to switch modes, provides a lot of room for adjustment to get a great picture.

Out of the box it provided me with great results and after adding a flash diffuser, even better. 4 Ni-MH digital camera AA's powered it well over 150 flashes without them showing a sign of dying. Now I use Ni-MH rechargables and get just as good results, without worrying about the cost of more batteries.

An added bonus is the wireless capability of the SB-600 when used in conjunction with the SU-800 Wireless Speedlight Commander head, the SB-800 Speedlight flash, or the D80 or D200 DSLR cameras by Nikon. This allows you to use both camera mounted, and tripod or hand held Sppedlights simultaneously to light your subject. I've seen portrait style results from professional photographers using the multi-speedlight setup.

Coming from 35mm to digital photography from an absence of a few years was a bit daunting at first, but after using the " it's on or it's off" modes of the old SLR flashes, the SB-600 is a welcome addition to my gear.

I highly recommend this flash, and even if you are just the casual photographer and never shoot much more than the annual Christmas day dinner and birthday parties, I think you will be well served by the SB-600.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every penny.pity its gone
By ArmistarPhotoVerified Reviewer from Baltimore,MD on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Club and band photography, Free-lance, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction, Versatility for value
Best Uses:
Club Photography, Fill Flash, Lighting, Low light shooting, Night Photography, Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon SB-600 AF Speedlight Flash:

Best Flash for this price range.Very Versatile.Only recommendation would be to install tracking chips; or for the warranty to cover loss/theft. About a week ago, someone broke into my car and stole my D50 with the SB600 and a fisheye lens.All police did was take a report and take down the serial numbers. [...] But other than that..amazing products.

Images shared by: ArmistarPhoto

club shot example1

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

club shot example 2

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

RitzCamera.com Response: Nice photo
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.