Buy the Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Camera Batteries
Lithium Battery for Canon Products
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to install(5), Fast charge(4), Long-lasting(7), Reliable(5), Widely compatible(3)
Best Uses:
Digital photography(8)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon BP-511 Battery
By MajorVerified Purchaser from Canada on 2/23/2009
Pros:
Easy to Install, Fast Recharge, Long-Lasting, Reliable, Solid Construction
Best Uses:
Digital Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery:

Used as a backup battery

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fast Charger
By Rick HeroVerified Purchaser from Minneapolis on 11/3/2008
Pros:
Easy to Install, Fast Recharge, Long-Lasting, Reliable
Best Uses:
Digital Photography, Mobility
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery:

I bought an extra one just in case, but the first one lasts like the bunny

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
BP-511 Lithium Battery by Canon
By SophieVerified Purchaser from Palmer, TX on 10/1/2008
Pros:
Easy to Install, Fast Recharge, Long-Lasting, Reliable, Widely Compatible
Cons:
no cons
Best Uses:
Digital Photography, Mobility, Photography, Power Equipment, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery:

I am the Yearbook teacher at Palmer High School in Palmer, TX. I have used nothing but Canon products for the past 10 years. The equipment from Canon is excellent, reliable, and worth every penny. Thanks for making my class easier.

Sophenia Aue

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Replacement Battery
By SoAZMomVerified Purchaser from Arizona on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Easy to Install, Fast Recharge, Long-Lasting, Widely Compatible
Best Uses:
Digital Photography, Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery:

I bought this as a replacement for the original battery that came with my digital rebel. The original lasted well over 3 years of pretty heavy use. Two complaints: For some reason this battery must be sized just a hair different that the original because it sometimes pops out of place; and it does seem slow (even on a full charge) compared to my original battery

 
You get what you pay for!
By RodVerified Purchaser from Illinois on 8/2/2008
Pros:
Long-Lasting, Reliable
Best Uses:
Digital Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery:

Costs more than generics but, works great in camera and charger. No compatable issues.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stick with the Canon
By BB from Providence, RI on 1/9/2008
Pros:
Long-Lasting
Cons:
None, None except price
Best Uses:
Digital Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery:

Stick with the Canon. I purchased a Lenmar brand at the same time that I purchased a Canon Bp-511 and the Lenmar was a dud. I would say it had about 5% the life of the Canon. I'm not kidding. Maybe I got a Lenmar lemon but the Canon blows my mid that it can do so much before a charge.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Yes and no to RagTimeBill's response...
By Photo_EnthusiastVerified Reviewer from Southern California on 10/14/2007
Pros:
Widely Compatible
Best Uses:
Digital Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery:

I agree with RagTimeBill's conclusion that it's probably safer to stay with a known quantity, i.e., Canon battery products. However, common sense says that there are less-expensive brands of provable quality and reliability that can be found--and I know they exist. In fact, I'd be willing to wager that Canon outsources the manufacture of their accessories, such as batteries, and has their name affixed.

That being said, concerning not interchanging battery models, the information on Canon's official product website, as well as their printed material (that I have seen) lists a selection of battery models (within a given spectrum) that are interchangeable in its cameras. I have an EOS 30d DSLR, purchased within the year, that came with a Canon BP-511A battery, and not the Canon BP-511.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Darn Good Battery, But Be Careful!
By Ragtimebill from Broken Arrow OK on 9/17/2007
Pros:
Easy to Install, Long-Lasting, Reliable
Best Uses:
Digital Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon BP-511 Lithium Battery:

The OEM Canon BP-511 battery is tops. It holds a good charge for a long time and will shoot a lot of pictures. The thing to watch out for is that there is also a BP-511A battery that will fit a camera where the BP-511 was original equipment, but the power requirements are different; it is designed for a camcorder and has higher requirements (because of the motors, etc.) and is reported to have damaged cameras where it was replacing a BP-511. Also, other manufacturers other than Canon make an equivalent BP-511 battery, but these appear to have a dismal track record with users. Better to stick with the original, both manufacturer and model, if your camera calls for this particular battery.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.