Buy the Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Battery Chargers
  • Includes 4 High Capacity 2500 mWh 1.6 V Ni-Zn rechargeable batteries
  • More power then Ni-MH batteries
  • Exclusively for recharging 2 or 4 AA/AAA Ni-Zn batteries in one hour
  • Built-in switching power adapter for worldwide use
  • Four independent charging channels with microprocessor control
  • LED indictors show corresponding charging state
  • Volateg/current algorithm detection system
  • Automatic charging current selection for AA and AA batteries
  • Temperature sensors avoid battery damage for overheating
  • Short Circuit protection
  • LED display indicates charging mode:
    Power off: LEDs off
    Charging: red LED on
    Charging complete: green LED on
    Damaged battery: red LED flashes (please replace battery)
  • Smart channels protect against reversed polarity
  • Input: 100-240 V AC 50/60Hz
  • Output (avg): 2 AA batteries 1500 mA, 4 AA batteries 750mA, 2 AAA batteries 700mA
  • Trickel charge current (avg): 120mA
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
2.3 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
31% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Fast charge(8)
Best Uses:
Home(4), Professional camera(6), Travel(4)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(8), Pro photographer(3)
 
One Time Use Batteries
By Jim from Ark-La-Tex on 11/17/2010
Pros:
Quick Charge
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

I have 2 sets, one set charged once. The other set is on its 3rd charge but I have 0 faith in it.

 
Defective Product
By JohnnyVerified Reviewer from Manhattan Beach, CA on 3/30/2010
Pros:
Two worked
Best Uses:
Don't know
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

Out of four cells, two didn't work at all. [...]

 
Don't buy
By Leroy from Washington DC on 3/7/2010
Pros:
Quick Charge
Cons:
Flimsy Construction
Best Uses:
Home
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

Charged them once and they never worked after that. Batteries dead wated [$] on what I thought would be quality batteries!

 
DO NOT BUY!
By SouthpawVerified Reviewer from St. Louis, MO on 2/8/2010
Pros:
Quick Charge
Cons:
Dead, Defective, Unreliable, Will Not Charge
Best Uses:
Professional Camera, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

I bought this charger set and 2 additional 4-packs of batteries (12 batteries total.)
Only 6 of the batteries still work. The other six stopped working, most after 2-4 charges.

There is no info on the packaging or website on who to contact for customer support.
Obviously by all of the similar feedback on the site here, these batteries should be avoided!

 
Unreliable
By al from Arizona on 1/3/2010
Pros:
Long lasting at first
Cons:
High failure rate, Unreliable
Best Uses:
None
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

I bought two sets of these batteries and a new charger to use with my DSLR and flash. Initially I was impressed with both the quick charge time and long life of the batteries -- until I went to re-charge, at which point one battery in the first set refused to charge. The charger showed a blinking red light and I had to test each battery in the set before I could identify which one was causing the error.

Within two or three more charges, another battery had failed, leaving me with a 25% failure rate in an unacceptably short time period. Now the entire set of batteries refuses to hold a charge for more than fifty to sixty shots. They're basically unusable to me after approximately five total charges. It's extremely disappointing to invest in batteries and a charger and find them to be of such poor quality.

 
Only 5 recharges battery dead!
By jong-jong from warren, mi on 1/3/2010
Pros:
Quick Charge
Cons:
Low battery life span
Best Uses:
Professional Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

I bought this at discounted price at closing ritz camera store in great lakes crossing in michigan when they about to close last year.I used it and it is working good with more than 1000 shots full power on my sony hvl-f42am flash.Since i shoot much outdoors i only used it for only few times and recharged it 5 times since i bought it and the sixth time red led light flashes indicating to discard the batteries.

 
Problem not charching after first charge
By up4travel from Minneapolis, MN on 1/1/2010
Pros:
Lightweight, Rugged
Best Uses:
Professional Camera, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

Same problem as other users with regard to several cells not taking a charge after initial charge and the red blinking light remains on indefinitely. At least 3 out of 8 I have confirmed have this issue.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beware. Not consistently rechargeable.
By Steve from warrenton, va on 10/4/2009
Best Uses:
Professional Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

These looked and sounded good until they were put to actual use. At first charge they were fine and had decent life. The problem comes with subsequent charges where the unit's red light flashes indicating to replace the battery. 3 out 4 of my batteries "flashed to replace" and they had only been charged once before. I saw another review where the user had the same problem. Buyer beware.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worst support
By Macho from San Jose, CR on 9/1/2009
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

I bought 16 of them, only 5 of them are able to charge, cannot find any support or manual on the charger any where at the web. IT SUCKS!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Battery
By BrettVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 7/1/2009
Pros:
More shots faster flash
Cons:
Premium price
Best Uses:
Home, Professional Camera, Travel, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

I replaced my Sony Ni-MH AAs with the SuperZ's and got maybe twice as many shots. The flash also recharged faster.

My biggest surprise is when I put them in my electric travel toothbrush. Wow. Have been using a month and haven't had to recharge them.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love these new batteries!!!
By Nelle's NanaVerified Reviewer from Martinez, CA on 6/2/2009
Pros:
Eco-Friendly, Great performance, Quick Charge
Best Uses:
Home, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

I just got my new eco-batteries last week and used them this weekend to take pictures of my grandchildren! I love the fact that they are priced right, and I feel I'm doing my part to make sure my grandchildren aren't left with a bunck of alkaline batteries disposed on their planet........

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love them!!!!!
By SayCheese99 from Los Angeles, CA on 6/2/2009
Pros:
Lots of pictures, Quick Charge
Best Uses:
Home, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

Thse batteries are GREAT! I was able to take sooo many pictures with them. I also read that these are more earth friendly which makes me even happier than the loads of pictures I was able to take. No more Duracell or Energizer for me!!

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good
By Sky_ManVerified Reviewer from NJ on 5/22/2009
Pros:
Quick Charge
Best Uses:
Professional Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

I've tried using other rechargeable batteries but they never seemed to work as well as new high energy disposable batteries. These new batteries have performed great. I would recommend.

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good performance for one time use
By D-60 photographerVerified Reviewer from Honolulu, HI on 5/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

The salesman recommended these for my Quantaray PZ40X II flash unit that I use on a Nikon D-60. The first charge was good, taking a little over an hour for a full charge, and I was impressed with the performance. I was able to take 2-3 shot bursts on my D-60 with the flash firing on each shot. The fourth shot didn't have the flash, but still I was impressed. The time to recharge was okay, between 5 to 10 seconds or so before I could fire off another burst of shots. Overall battery life was good. (Sorry I am not sure how many shots I fired, but it was enough to keep me happy!) So I bought a second set of four batteries.

However, there must be something wrong with the charger. I have been unable to charge any batteries since the first original charge. According to the blinking lights, it is telling me that the first set of four batteries are no longer usable. So I tried to charge my second set, but no luck. It seems like that unless you get the charger set exactly the right way in an outlet, it won't charge properly.

I will be going to see if I can exchange it for a replacement.

I would give these batteries a 4+, but the charger seems to need a lot of work. It does not seem to sit well in the outlets, so I have yet been able to recharge any of my batteries.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
New technology for todays needs
By PascalVerified Purchaser from Prevost, Canada on 3/25/2009
Pros:
Almost no shelf discharge, Lightweight, No problem in the cold, Quick Charge, Rugged
Best Uses:
Wireless microphone
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

With almost no shelf discharge, quick charging, and no decreased performance in the cold, they are perfect for application where you need to have batteries ready anytime anywhere. When you don't know when you will be using batteries but need them to work when needed, these are for you.

[9 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
Danger
By DIMONVerified Reviewer from HOLLYWOOD on 2/7/2009
Cons:
DANGEROUSE
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray 1 Hour Super Z Charger for Ni-Zn Batteries by Sunpak:

Don't buy. I had Nikon Sb 600 flash. I got this batteries and the flash stopped responding. I got another sb600 and just after a few minutes of working it burnt it. There is some kind of problem with voltage or smth. Both times the flash wouldn't take charge any more. With other batteries it worked for years. Beware

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.