Buy the Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: Backpacks
Designed to accommodate serious digital photographers, the Quantaray Pro Backpack will hold even large Digital SLR'swith a long lens, like an 80-200 f/2.8 attached, as well as numerous other lenses and accessories. Its padded camera compartment is removable to convert the U-110 to a casual backpack. There is also a separate padded laptop compartment to complete the transportation of your digital camera system.

Ever wish you could conveniently, and safely, carry an MP3 or portable CD player with you to listen to your favorite tunes while backpacking? The Quantaray Pro Backpack U-110 features a special compartment to do just this. Simply put your player in the compartment and run the headphone wire through the special grommet.

Carefully designed and constructed, the Quantaray Pro Backpack is made with the finest materials and accessories to meet your desired needs.

  • Main compartment has removable SLR Camera Insert to accommodate books and files.
  • Back Drop section to accommodate most 15.2-inch laptops.
  • Constucted from thickly padded foam & water resitant 600D Nylon.
  • Ergonomic handle & Shoulder straps for stress relief and comfortable carrying.
  • Tripod carry-on system.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Adjustable harness(4), Comfortable(4), Easily accessible equipment(6), Strong construction(5)
Best Uses:
Protecting gear(7), Storing gear(7), Transporting gear(7)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5)
 
Good Pro Bag
By FlipsVerified Purchaser from Tega Cay, SC on 8/19/2008
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Strong Construction
Cons:
Cumbersome
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue:

I pack this bag full of my Nikon D300, 2 lenses, light meter, reflector, tripod and my laptop. Other than it being very heavy when full, it is a great bag. Zippers seem to be of quality construction. I will carry my gear anywhere with this bag and it fits under the seat in the airplane!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for Overseas carry-on
By Senior TravelerVerified Purchaser from Greeley, CO on 8/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue:

I took 5 trips in 5 months and this was my carry-on for the plane and still held all my camera equipment. I used it to hike up Machu Picchu and to the Sun Gate for awesome pictures. I took it on a cruise of the Baltic Sea, Hawaii and to Cancun. I really used this case and it held up great. It holds my SLR with two lenses and a media viewer plus all the cords and books I need. I love this case.

Images shared by: Senior Traveler

Hiking Machu Picchu

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Wonderful camera pack!
By Judy the photographerVerified Purchaser from DeWitt, MI on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue:

I use the backpack to take my camera on walks down dirt roads, on rides in our power boat, to horse shows, family events, and festivals. So far it has held up wonderfully and protected our camera and extra lenses perfectly!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Value
By Ryan the RyderVerified Reviewer from Lake Elsinore, CA on 2/9/2008
Pros:
Adequate space inside, Adjustable dividers, Easily Accessible Equipment, Great Bag For The Money, Non-camera bag looks
Cons:
Cheap Zipper on Inner Bag, Expansion on front pocket, Laptop pouch a tad small
Best Uses:
Multiple format storage, Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue:

I was originally in the market for one of the expensive big name bags of similar specs. I just happen to stop by a Ritz camera the night before a trip and thought I would get the bag as a back-up bag for my eventual purchase of a "pro" bag. I figured this would have limited use but it became my everyday bag. It survived the trip as a carry-on. I probably would not check it in (mostly because of the theft factor). It does well to protect your camera equipment but I would have my doubts about my laptop in the hands of baggage handlers. I decided not to buy the pro bag as for the money this was half the cost and has most of the features.
I use this bag to carry my DSLR with a compact & long zoom lens attached. The adjustability of the included dividers allows a perfect fit and maximizes use of the space. I carry a few other lenses and even have room for the chargers, a four-filter wallet, my Arctic Butterfly case, extra batteries, card reader and cables on one side and my point and shoot digi, compact mini DV camcorder and cables on the other. I also like that I can remove the entire camera compartment to use the bag as a regular backpack though I've never actually done so. See below for my complaint about this compartment zipper and its failure.

The outside pockets attached to the main compartment flap are decent but are primarily used for relatively flat items such as pens, note pads, memory cards and mini dv tapes. A nice touch is the headphone opening so you can put your MP3 player in the bag and still listen. My concern is with a bag full of equipment and if you have a longer mp3 player the compartment can be tight and create a bending stress on your player. Also the flap does have an inch of expansion. But that expansion is directed internally. So the camera compartment would have to be removed in order to take advantage of that expansion. Particularly since the camera compartment sits an inch above the zipper line and makes the "expansion" an inch of intrusion into the flap compartments. Hence my comments about only storing relatively flat items.

The mesh bottle holder on the one side is a good feature. The tripod straps could use a minor improvement. They function well and seem pretty sturdy after a year of use carrying my 7lb tripod and other lighter tripods. But I think the strap design can be improved a little. I would have preferred quick release buckles or at the very least a hem sewed at the ends to keep the straps from slipping completely. But this system is easily changed out with new straps.

The laptop compartment fits my 15.4 HP widescreen very snugly. Maybe a little too snuggly as I am concerned with a bending stress applied to the laptop. It fits my thinner 14.1 inch standard-screen laptop perfectly. There is an additional section that can hold papers but not anything bulky or oddly shaped.

After a year of use which included air travel and some camping/hiking excursions but mostly weekend kids sporting events the bag/seams are holding up. My biggest gripe is the non-YKK zipper on the camera compartment. This has failed a number of times and is probably this bags biggest detractor. The zipper does not always close and will separate towards the bottom. Very annoying. The only thing that keeps me from retiring this bag as a camera bag is that the flap holds the camera compartment closed when zipped up. Other nice touches are the "rubberized" bottom and plastic cleats for when placing your bag on the ground in an upright position. Not sure if it the rubberized bottom is waterproof but this has seemed to keep the bag dry when in contact with damp ground for a limited amount of time. The cushioning on the back serves as protection for you and the laptop. It has raised portions made of a mesh material that allow for airflow as well as cushioning when the load is pressed against your back. The shoulder straps also have the same "breathable" material and distribute the weight reasonably well with a little pressure on the inside of the shoulders. The top handle is at the right height for holding on to while sitting on my smaller rolling luggage's telescoping handle. It has also held up well to the weight of the contents (5-20 lbs at times) when I use a carabiner to hang it from fences etc at my kids soccer and baseball games.

Overall, this bag is a good value. Especially considering the features and quality compared to the name brand bags. You will sacrifice some features and maybe some quality over a pro bag but for the money this bag surprised me as a solid daily-use bag. It fit all the equipment needed to capture my kids sporting events. It also looks like a regular, albeit ugly, backpack. Which is nice because I don't like my expensive equipment to attract the wrong attention from thieves and such.
Camera compartment zipper, expansion and laptop compartment are my biggest complaints.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Value
By CutunVerified Reviewer from Vega Baja, PR on 5/17/2007
Pros:
Easily Accessible Equipment, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue:

Recently bougth this bag and I'm in love with it!!. Big enough to carry all of my gear but not huge. Love the straps for the tripod and the headphone outlet. I also like the capacity to take out the camera compartment, this way I can leave the camera home and use it as a regular backpack as well.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great pack!!
By Rick from VA, USA on 5/11/2007
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Lightweight, Lots of storage space, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue:

Just got it and am already impressed. It meets all of my photography needs as well as an every-day bag for taking planner, paperwork, etc. (as well as camera and equipment) back and forth to work. One drawback (not the pack's fault) ... it does not fit my widescreen laptop. My laptop is about 1/2 inch too deep (front to back). But that is not really why I got it, so I am not complaining.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
super buy!
By pro-photo from south florida on 3/18/2007
Pros:
solid build, lot of space
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue:

excellent gear for field jobs, very protective, holds my 15.4" laptop, the equipment protective enclosure can be removed as a whole, so you can use the backpack for other purposes.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good
By dirtfan21Verified Reviewer from Pine Island MN on 12/29/2006
Pros:
Adjustable Harness, Comfortable, Easily Accessible Equipment, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Protecting Gear, Storing Gear, Transporting Gear

Comments about Quantaray Urban Gear U100 Pro Backpack, Blue:

awesome Backpack for your camera and labtop

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.