Buy the Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Amcor
Located in: Automotive GPS
The Amcor Navigation GPS products boast many of the high quality features found in more expensive brands in the market, including high resolution screen, outstanding mapping software, 21 pre-programmed languages, easy-to-use operating system, stylus, and high quality industrial design. The units feature navigation, MP3 and MP4 playback, photo viewer, blue tooth technology, lighter charger, and internal battery that enables the unit to operate for up to three hours, for use out of the automobile as a personal navigation or entertainment device.

  • LCD Type: 3.5" LCD Full Colour Touch Screen
  • LCD Brightness: 350 cd / m2
  • Display Resolution: 320 x 240 pixels
  • Display: Color
  • Software: Map Nav N Go / Tele Atlas
  • Voice: Clear spoken instructions/ 21 different languages
  • TMC: Connection Port
  • Audio Out: Ear Jack 3.5 (Stereo)
  • USB: Yes
  • GPS Antenna Tooling: Integrated Antenna (optional)
  • Review Snapshot®
    Avg. Customer Rating:
     
    3.7 stars
    (based on 11 reviews)
    82% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

    Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

    Primary use:
    Personal(5)
    Pros:
    Acquires satellites quickly(5), Compact(7), Easy menus(3), Easy to read(7), Easy to set up(5)
    Best Uses:
    Finding specific address(5)
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual user(3), Traveler(3)
    How are you with directions:
    Great w/directions(3)

    [0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

     
    What a Joke!
    By Enlightened Now from Minneapolis, MN on 2/20/2009
    Pros:
    Easy To Read
    Cons:
    Home Address not found, Wrong directions
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual User
    How are you with directions:
    Great w/Directions
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    I purchased this unit for my mom. I am great at directions and never get lost. I decided to test this out and see if it will get me to a new job I will be starting next week. I already had directions and knew the area I was looking for so I wanted to test this product's accuracy. This was the first time I used this or any GPS system and it was the first time I tested it. It failed big time. In 30 miles, it gave me wrong directions TWICE! Once it told me to take a left when there was no option to take a left but the road I was on (a U.S. Highway no less!) curved left. The other failure came a mile later on that same U.S. Highway, it told me to "continue left" and "take a left" when it should have said nothing or continue straight ahead. I knew where I was at so I didn't take the left but if it had been my 65 year old mother, she would have taken the left and then got lost in the middle of nowhere and she wouldn't have been able to describe to me where she was because she wouldn't have known. I am taking this back to the store tomorrow for a refund. I gave it one test and it failed twice in 30 miles. What a joke!

     
    Feature packed at a low price.
    By East Coast Romper from Springfield, VA on 1/31/2009
    Pros:
    Acquires Satellites Quickly, Compact, Easy To Read
    Cons:
    Difficult Menus
    Best Uses:
    Geocaching, Planning Trips
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual User
    How are you with directions:
    Great w/Directions
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    Though I'm one who's pretty handy with maps and what not, I thought it time to join the gps pool and see what all the hubub was all about. Yes I've experience the TomTom and The Navu through friends and relatives and have seen these guide the way but I've never had a personal experience of my own and traveling 12 hours to visit relatives in Canada was a good way to get to know one. First off, it's accuracy is pretty good except when it's in bad weather. At least it's good to me as I have little experience with gps. The more I used it I found it more and more useful with the millions of points of interest as well as the capability to add your own. Features such as arrival time, speed, and the level of customization made me enjoy it even more. I recently used it for a walk down the boardwalk at Virginia Beach and putting it into pedestrian mode, it kept track of me and led me well to various points of interest. The maps are on an SD card which is removable which then you can use the slot to view pictures and listen to music. There's even a port to stick headphones in. My only issue with it is the maps don't get updated and they're not free, nor cheap. Going to the manufacturer's site and a map upgrade costs 60 green ones.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    MY 3900 AMCOR GPS
    By JO JO from CHICAGO,ILL on 12/27/2008
    Cons:
    Difficult Menus
    Describe Yourself:
    Casual User
    How are you with directions:
    Great w/Directions
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    I NEED TO UNINSTALL IT AND REINSTALL IT, I MESS UP ON THE STATES CAN SOMEBODY TELL ME HOW.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Good for the Money
    By OhSnapPhotosVerified Purchaser from N Wilkesboro NC on 9/22/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Good With Directions
    Pros:
    Acquires Satellites Quickly, Compact, Easy To Read, Easy To Set Up
    Cons:
    Flimsy Mounting
    Best Uses:
    Urban Navigation
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    This is the first GPS we've ever owned. Being a fairly competent navigator and knowing how to read maps, I haven't felt a need for one before. But with a new business and a big trip to a new city planned, we decided to invest.I must say this little gadget seems to do pretty well. In a test around town, it would get us where we needed to go - even if not by the route we would usually take. Coming back, by our usual route, it 'recalculated' the route quickly and made reasonable suggestions to get us back to the route it wanted us to take.On a short trip out of town yesterday we did get a little confused. The device seemed to mistake sharp mountain curves for turns, instructing us to turn right or left where it simply wasn't possible.It also seems that in the Fly Over view the system gets ahead of the actual car. Monitoring the speed and distance displays showed that the car was registering anywhere from 38 to 43 mph when stopped at a stop light.The system continued at this pace instructing us to make turns as it came to them rather than as we came to them.Returning to the original view without the upcoming information visible recalibrated the system and corrected its instructions to where we actually were.I must say that this could have been owner/operator error though. We haven't used this system much and may have/had differing expectations of what each mode does.Inputing addresses to remember is fairly easy, although sometimes specific addresses can't be found. For both my parents' and parents-in-law's houses it used a similar but different address to theirs (ex. 104 instead of 106). Both these locations are very rural, so it might do better in an urban area.Installed POI can seem a little limited, but after some playing around I was able to find where fast food restaurants, etc. were located in the menus. Do not expect to find many[...] or similar retailers. At least we haven't found them pre-loaded for our area.Having to preload addresses for a trip oneself would be a major hassle as far as the time it would take, but if you're willing to look up an address in a phone book wherever you are or peruse the list of places that are installed for a suitable replacement then this device should work fine. (Who wants to go to every [...] between home and your destination anyway?)Overall in the limited time we have owned this device and the even smaller number of times we have used it, it has proven to be accurate. We were debating whether it tries to send you via most used routes, quickest, shortest, or what and haven't really reached an answer yet. But, particularly in a new place, the how really isn't such an issue as long as you get where you're going.One handy feature is the display of gas stations on the map view. It also appears to be very accurate, shwoing multiple stations side-by-side in our town. Not sure if you can turn on hotels, restaurants, etc. to have them be displayed, but being able to see gas stations around where you are is very nice.One final thought. The included windshield/dash mount seems to have a 'time limit' on it. It will stick - to the windshield, hasn't stuck to the dash at all yet, but we also haven't used the included dash disk since we've been using it in multiple cars. It only seems to stick for a limited time, though, most likely due to the weight. As we had it on the passenger side so I could operate while my husband drove, it was not such a big deal when it fell off the windshield. But for someone driving alone or if it had been closer to the driver it might have caused some problems. It stayed up for probably 3-4 hours the first time we stuck it up; restuck quickly and easily with no problems; and did not fall again for the rest of our trip, approximatley another 3 hours or so. We did not wet the suction cup or anything like that, simply put it against the windshield and twisted the ring to attach it. The weight of the device in the cradle seems to make it pull away from whatever it is attached to. When the device hangs over the dash - when we tried to attach it - it seems particularly top heavy.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great GPS, especially for the price.
    By Always on the go.Verified Purchaser from Duncannnon, PA on 9/22/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Frequent Traveler
    Primary use:
    Personal
    Pros:
    Acquires Satellites Quickly, Compact, Easy To Read, Easy To Set Up, Reliable Performance
    Best Uses:
    Finding Specific Address
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    The first time I used it I was with a directionally=challenged friend who went home and recommended it to her husband. We sat down and ordered it on the spot.

    [1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    I bought it as a gift.
    By Bulldog OneVerified Purchaser from SAN JOSE, CA on 9/22/2008
    Primary use:
    Personal
    Pros:
    Compact, Easy Menus, Easy To Read, Easy To Set Up, Reliable Performance
    Best Uses:
    Finding Specific Address, Rural Navigation, Urban Navigation
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    It was a gift. Receipient seems to be happy with it. In near future I'll purchase one for myself.

     
    Lots of GPS for not a lot of money
    By JLS from West, TN on 9/13/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Frequent Traveler
    Primary use:
    Personal
    Pros:
    Acquires Satellites Quickly, Compact, Easy Menus, Easy To Read, Easy To Set Up, Simple Controls
    Best Uses:
    Faster Routes, Finding Specific Address
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    Great product for the money

    [0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

     
    What a Great Deal!!
    By Gadget GuyVerified Reviewer from Long Beach, CA on 9/4/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    Bad With Directions
    Primary use:
    Personal
    Pros:
    Compact
    Best Uses:
    Finding Specific Address
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    An great GPS deal!

    [5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

     
    BAD, SO BAD
    By THANK GOD IT IS RETURNABLEVerified Reviewer from CHICAGO on 6/14/2008
    Describe Yourself:
    JUST MOVED TO AREA
    Primary use:
    Personal
    Pros:
    Price
    Cons:
    Wrong directions
    Best Uses:
    None
    Bottom Line:
    No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    TRIED THREE TIMES WITH NEW PLACES TO GO, GOT WRONG THREE TIMES, THANK GOSH I KNEW WHERE I WAS GOING. EVEN WHEN I WAS AT MY HOME STREET, IT WANTED ME TO TURN AROUND AND GO ANOTHER WAY>

    [9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Awesome GPS for Price
    By Jack 007 from Texas on 5/22/2008
    How long have you owned it:
    One-to-three months
    Describe Yourself:
    Frequent Traveler, Gearhead
    Primary use:
    Business
    Pros:
    Acquires Satellites Quickly, Compact, Easy Menus, Easy To Read, Easy To Set Up, Reliable Performance, Simple Controls
    Best Uses:
    Faster Routes, Finding Specific Address, Planning Trips
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    Picks up Sat very quickly and has a simple to follow interface. I specifically prefer the hard rubber design of the GPS case. I have dropped GPS before and the hard rubber case is a bonus!

    [12 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

     
    Great features, great value.
    By Biker Dave from Columbia, MO on 4/23/2008
    Pros:
    Durable, Good Value, High Quality
    Cons:
    Can't use other maps
    Bottom Line:
    Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Comments about Amcor Amcor 3900 GPS Navigation System:

    For the price you can't find a better value.

    Powered by PowerReviews
    Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.