Buy the Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel image
 
(based on 20 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: All Tripods

Here's the latest addition to the Quantaray Digital Flash line-up. The New Quantaray 900WA Digital for Canon is fully dedicated and E-TTL compatible. It is designed to work seamlessly with any Canon digital or traditional SLR. The new lower profile and metal flash foot will insure many years of reliable flash photography.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.3 stars
(based on 20 reviews)
63% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(9), Durable(5), Easily adjusted(4), Easily interchangeable(4), Easy to clean(3)
Cons:
Heavy(4), Inconsistent output(5), Slow recycling(4)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(4), General purpose(6), Home(4), Lighting(3), Night photography(4)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(10), Professional(4), Semi-professional(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
perfect
By kirstenjoVerified Purchaser from Mississppi on 3/13/2009
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Good Footing, Locks In Tight
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Home, Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

This is my first flash and I am very happy with it. I am still learning, but so far it's been great. I have to get use to having weight on top, but other than that it's perfect.

 
Easy to learn and use...
By PhotoguyRyanVerified Reviewer from Riverside County, CA on 2/18/2009
Pros:
Compact, Easily Adjusted, Good Footing, Lightweight, Locks In Tight, Smooth Movement
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I use the camera for on camera flash, and off camera fill and highlight. It didnt take long to go thru the modes, shoot with various adjustments, and didnt have any problems getting the lighting I wanted. It pretty much does what I need it to. I get about 200 full power flashes to a good set of alkalines. I even went and bought a second, to give more off camera flash capability.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Off-Camera Flash
By Barrett .50 Cal from Honolulu, HI on 1/30/2009
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Good Footing, Lightweight, Rugged
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Strobist kit
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I purchased this unit over three years ago. I originally used it on my camera and it performed great. Now I use this flash as a part of my Strobist lighting kit.

The optic slave is excellent for use indoors. It works well with umbrellas and softboxes.

It's not as versatile on the camera as a 580EX or 580EX II. If you have the $$, get the 580EX II. Otherwise this is a decent alternative.

 
Good flash for the money
By xprtshotVerified Reviewer from Albany, NY on 1/26/2009
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Locks In Tight, Second curtain sync, Usable as a slave
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Special Events, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

Have had good consistent output from this flash. Second curtain sync has enabled a faster shutter speed when it was needed

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash
By LinuxFanVerified Reviewer from augusta georgia on 1/3/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Quiet, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I bought this for my canon 40D. It works great on camera and off as a slave to the built in pop-up flash. The instructions are easy to understand and there isn't a huge book to read to learn how to use the flash. This flash really improved my pictures, I wasn't really expecting that drastic of a difference but for the casual shooter without studio lighting you have to see the difference to believe it. You are cheating yourself if all you use is the pop-up flash. If the canon speedlight isn't in your budget, get this you can always use it as a slave later if you upgrade to a speedlight.

 
Fair for the price
By Sasha Grey from San Jose on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quiet
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

The most important issue is that there is no online manual to download. Thats garbage. How much would it cost to scan a manual and place it online so customers can download it?

The recycle time is a bit slow for me and mine tends to eat batteries like a kid to ice cream and cake. Maybe its because Im at full most of the time.

Also I cant seem to see the Fstop designation on this. Not a built in feature...so calculating for guide numbers, even though you dont need to doesnt allow me the latitude I need to do extras. In other words, I like to know where I'm at so I can add a stop or two.

Its better suited for a slave or for someone who needs something completely automated. For the price though, its fair.

 
Excellent Flash
By Mert from Davao City, Philippines on 8/1/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Cons:
Quite small LCD panel
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

Overall, this product is great especially if you know how to make this flash unit be totally dedicated with your Canon Rebel XT or XTi. The metal hot-shoe is a big plus factor. This is very ideal for flash photography yet the price is very affordable.

 
It's big, but its well worth it.
By NickVerified Purchaser from Florida on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Quiet
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

It has alot of features to it, not for beginners.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
OK Flash no product support.
By PSmith from Kentucky on 4/19/2008
Cons:
No online product support, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

OK flash for the money. No website for Quantaray. No manuals available online. Most flash accesory supplier do not reference parts for Quantaray (ex. Quantum)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works Excellent, On and Off Camera
By Paradise Exposures from Honolulu, Hawaii on 11/17/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Portraits, Professional Work, Slave Flash, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I've owned this flash for two years now. I originally used it on a Canon 300D and it worked fine. I haven't had any under or over exposure problems from the flash. I used it a lot for bounce flash and also made a bounce card to go with it. I now also own a 580EX and use the QDC-900WA as a slave flash. It's convenient with the built in slave function for Canon flash units, all I have to do is dial in the flash power and it fires whenever my 580EX fires.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works Great!
By Cowboy BillVerified Reviewer from Rocky Mount, NC on 10/16/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast Recycling
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I too was having exposure problems with this flash until I learned that with the Canon Digital SLRs, you must use any setting OTHER THAN AUTOMATIC AND USE MUST USE EXPOSURE COMPENSATION. In other words, when I set the flash exposure for + 2/3 and the camera exposure for + 2/3, and the camera on P, all exposures were correct. This is not a fault of the flash. It is apparently inherent with the Canon line of digital cameras - including their own branded digital flashes. Once you heed this warning, you will love this flash!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
3 of my close friends made a big mistake
By Big MIKEVerified Reviewer from Houston, Texas on 6/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Church-school photo club, Professional
Pros:
Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Inconsistent Output, TTL Mode all pic underexp
Best Uses:
No good use
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

3 of my close friends made a big mistake, when we all bought the QDC 900WA DIGITAL ZOOM FLASH; Particularly in the TTL Mode you never get the same exposusure at the same setting 2-times in a row, it is almost always under-exposed or extremely underexposed...we all ended up not using this as an on camera flash, but only as a off camera fill flash, 3 different photographers, same sub-standard, non-professsional, horrible, dark-underexposed results!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not Worth IT!
By Upset and FrustratedVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 5/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Inconsistent Output, Slow Recycling, Stopped working
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I used this to take pictures at my friends wedding. After about 3 pictures it decided to stop working. Turned it off and on again, still didn't fire off. The pictures came out dark! I will be returning it ASAP. Spend the extra money on a better flash, it will be worth it in the end.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for a short time
By Country PhotosVerified Reviewer from Gosport, IN on 5/16/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Inconsistent Output, Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Photography
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I purchased it in January and worked great for 3 months, now it doesn't seem to be in sync with my camera. Sometimes fine, other times, not so fine. Changed batteries, made sure attached to camera properly...did not help. Disappointed.

Images shared by: Country Photos

Frozen in time

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Going strong for 2 years now
By DPVerified Reviewer from Memphis, TN on 4/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Lighting, Photography, Sports Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

Owned it for 2 yrs now. Use it for HS sports under the lights. Done everything I've asked of it and still going strong.

 
Inconsistent Output
By jn from chicago, Il on 4/11/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Fast Recycling, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Inconsistent Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I use this flash with my Canon XT. It is not consistent. Sometimes it works well, sometimes it is very dark. I have tried various exposure adjustment on the camera, yet it still only exposes correctly about 70% of the time.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
First few pictures were fine, then...
By DisappointedVerified Reviewer from Salt Lake City on 4/1/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Cons:
Inconsistent Output, No Flash, Weak Flash
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

First few pictures were fine, then output was inconsistent. At times, flash would be delayed or not work at all. Removed and reseated the unit, changed batteries, to no avail. It appeaered that the flash was not "communicating" with my Digital Rebel XT. I finally removed the unit and used the built-in flash and received better results.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Get's gthe job done.
By Chris S.Verified Reviewer from [...] on 2/15/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I am an amateur photographer and this flash gets the job done. I am happy with its output. Has a fairly long reach, and the iTTL works great with my Nikon Digital.
I have used it for indoor shots as well as an outdoor fill flash. It could be a little bit faster, and it does get warm when used heavily, thus the 4 stars, however I have and will recommend this flash to a friend.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for 3 pics :(
By XeroidVerified Reviewer from Western NY on 1/30/2007
Cons:
Weak Construction
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I use my camera mainly to take family pics and as photographer for the booster clubs for school activities my kids are involved in. This looked like an affordable alternative to a Canon flash for my Digital Rebel XT, but I was extremely dissapointed to have it stop working after only 3 pictures. I will be returning it tomorrow.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quality Unit for the Price
By Flash from Forestville, MD on 1/8/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Photography, Photojournalism

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QDC-900WA Digital Zoom Flash for Canon Digital Rebel:

I purchased this item because someone stole a bag with gear in it and I needed an additional flash for a major shoot. The unit worked well although it was not designated as my workhorse. It had consistent output and the metal hotshoe is a plus. [...] A substitute is just that...a substitute. The auto zoom is a plus as well as the digital display and front mounted ready light. Price was descent and it can be used as a slave so I gave it 4 stars.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.