Buy the Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black) image
 
(based on 19 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: All Tripods
Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod Features

Rugged construction at an outstanding value for the advanced amateur, professional photographer, or videographer. Suitable for all photography and video equipment up to 11 lbs.

  • 3-way ultra smooth photo/video fluid-effect panhead with quick-release plate
  • Built-in bubble levels on head and chassis
  • Large reference scale for precise panning
  • Includes FREE second quick-release plate with bubble level
  • Extendable pan handle for video use
  • Removable center column becomes a 4-section twist-n-pull monopod
  • Adjustable lift-n-lock center column with tension adjustment
  • Large D-seclion legs for added strength
  • Locking metal leg braces for added stability!
  • 3-section legs with flip lock levers and heavy-duty rubber feet with retractable leg spikes

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.6 stars
(based on 19 reviews)
68% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(7), Good value(6), High quality(3)
 
Cheap Plastic
By Here we go againVerified Reviewer from pennsylvania on 3/30/2011
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Flimsy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

This is the second one tht broke on me. [...]I am stuck with garbage the I can not use. The screw that hold it open are made out of plastic and snapped off. save your money and buy something that is better made. Sad because this is [$]

 
This is the one!
By MarkwdVerified Purchaser from Cottage Grove, MN on 12/28/2010
Pros:
Heavy duty great price
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Unstable ground windy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

I'm an amateur photographer and I'm taking pictures and video all the time. These range from exposures at night of the sky to landscapes and people. I also shoot a lot at soccer matches and Irish Dance performances so the subject is vast. I love the height of this tripod as quite often I've had heads in the way! The heavy duty legs are perfect and the mono pod is like an awesome free gift. Others mention that the head seems cheap. For the price, it's great and I'm not sure what they're looking for. After using it now for a week or more every day, this is perfect for me!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good legs....Bad head...
By ChristopherVerified Reviewer from Texas on 9/23/2010
Pros:
Legs are stable enough, Nicely tall
Cons:
Head is garbage
Best Uses:
Infrequent use
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

Overall, I think that this was a decent buy at [$] (or close to it, memory?!?). I have owned this for about 18 months.I have a 40D gripped, 580EXII, various lenses. At first this seemed like a deal. Definately better than the $40 combo I had been using. Also, I am 6 feet tall - this is definately tall enough so as I do not have to hunch over. When new this holds my kit mostly steady. Just do not extend the center post to its limit if you go outside, you WILL get movement...I am going to seperate the remainder of this review into 2 sections: Legs and Head...HEAD: it is a fairly standard 3 way head. The pan handle sucks. Let me repeat SUCKS! If you have this or are thinking of getting this, do not tighten this too much... mine snapped off in my hand, in the middle of a shoot. Bad, BAD juju!The quick release plate is a little large, footprint wise. I never had an issue getting it in or out of the release quickly.I also briefly had the issue with the head trying to unscrew off the legs. I realized that the pan release thumb screw, when loosened, would do what I was trying to muscle this to do. Tightened up the head and never had a further problem.Overall, I really think that Sunpac put the cheapest head on these legs that they had available so that they could sell this as a set to you for under $100. If you get this combo set, plan on upgrading the head soon.LEGS: I have been really impressed with these legs so far. They are reasonably sturdy. The monopod as center post is a nice touch. I really like that when the legs are fully extended, you do not have to put the center post up too much to make it possible for me to look out of the view finder without hunching over. This is really a big plus, likely the thing that sold me on it this setup.But since I broke the head last weekend, I had to decide what to do. People please learn from me! If you plan on only using this tripod set a couple of times...by all means. But really, save your money and spend it on a better set - you will outgrow this set in no time, if it holds up!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Disparate Reviews
By Akilez from USA on 5/15/2010
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

Odd that some folks love this device and others..well not so much. I think for it's price point it's quite well built, has exposable spikes in the base pads for better grip outdoors. The fact that the center section is removable and makes a quite nice monopod was a big selling point for me. Some folks don't like the fact that there's no crank to raise/lower the center section and therefore overall height but that is exactly the piece that broke on my last tripod. So it's a simpler and therefore more rugged and duarable design. I plan to use it is as my every day tri/mono pod so sure I'd recommend it. The motion is fluid, the pan/tilt handle is extendable for larger cameras....what else do ya want?

And just to be completely fair they could've thrown in a tote bag although a second quick release mounting plate for another body is a fair trade off. I'd by another one and/or give one as a gift.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
buyer beware-dollar store quality!!!
By t-dub from florida on 12/28/2009
Pros:
Comes with monopod, Sturdy tripod
Cons:
Broke after 2 days, Cheap plastic head
Best Uses:
Doorstop, Self defense weapon
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

I got this as a Christmas gift and it broke after 2 days of use.
The first time using the head cracked at the plastic hinge when adjusting from landscape to portrait shots. It has 5 plastic hinges lined in a row that holds the top plate. The hinge is so fragile that i would only recommend this tripod for a point and shoot camera (kind of overkill for a P&S).

The base is study metal construction, but the head is cheap
Dollar Store Cheap!!!

I will be taking it back and upgrading to a more capable tripod.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Brittle plastic on head
By TimVerified Reviewer from Poulsbo, WA on 12/7/2009
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

I have used this tripod for about 1 year. I mainly use it to film wrestling matches and football games. So it gets used about once per week in season. The top plate where the camera attachment fits broke at the joint. I was surprised by this, as it broke off when arm was being moved... I don't know if it came about because of getting real cold, the than rapid warm-up or too much regrind was used when the plastic piece was formed. All in all disappointing, because I didn't want to have to buy a new tripod so soon. [...]

 
Weak attachment plate
By AVtheArtisteVerified Reviewer from Menlo Park, CA on 9/9/2009
Pros:
Legs are sturdy
Cons:
Attachment plate is weak, Flimsy plastic
Best Uses:
Landscape mode only
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

The attachment plate is flimsy plastic with a thin rubber sheet. A Canon 40D with 24-105 zoom will sag if it is in portrait mode. Manfroto head holds it rock-steady. Quantaray should re-engineer the attachment plate. I will probably replace the head on this, at which time it is not such a great bargain.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value!!!
By The New GuyVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, Ga on 5/6/2009
Pros:
Light Easy to Use Solid
Cons:
No carry bag
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

I am new to photography. So, this is my first tri-monopod. It is a really good buy and works great.

 
Very Good
By MoeVerified Reviewer from Alexandria, VA on 4/19/2009
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

Very good very sturdy i like it

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very stable, tall enough for tall people
By Scott JohnsonVerified Reviewer from Woodstock, GA on 2/26/2009
Pros:
Adjustable leg spread, Bubble level on legs, Great stability, Removable head, Smooth head motion, Two camera plates incl
Cons:
No center column crank, Pan handle too long, Plastic quick release, QR plates too big, Wrong head screw thread
Best Uses:
Amateur video, Landscape photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

This tripod has a nice, very adjustable, very stable set of legs that lock securely. It's easy to set up and level, and the center column slider clamp lets you set it up with less than full leg spread if the situation requires it.

As on all pro tripods, the head is removable. Unfortunately, the head attachment screw is 1/4", not 3/8" as on all other pro tripods, so if you intend to attach a nice Manfrotto ball head, you'll need to use a reducing bushing, which Wolf helpfully does not carry.

One might think that they made the thread 1/4" so that you can attach your camera directly to the top of the monopod. Not so. In fact, a big red card packed with the tripod warns against this, because the 1/4" head attachment screw is so long that it will damage many cameras if you attempt to attach them that way. Not a smooth move.

The included head is rather nice. It moves smoothly and locks securely, and has its own one-dimensional bubble level. The pan handle, a big sturdy one, is really geared more toward video use, and is adjustable from "too long" to "way, way too long." If you have an SLR and need to get your face up to the viewfinder, this is going to be trouble.

The quick-release plates, of which two are included, are plastic and absolutely HUGE. They do lock into place easily and securely, but I hate walking around with that big hunk of plastic on the bottom of my camera. On the plus side, the attach screws have wings so you don't have to hunt for a penny every time you attach a plate to a camera.

Overall, a good buy for the money, but if you plan to attach a pro-level head, bear in mind that you'll need a bushing, and if you want a monopod you can use without a big bulky pan/tilt head attached, look elsewhere.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very highly recommended!!!!!
By BJ in NJVerified Reviewer from Mercer County NJ on 2/21/2009
Pros:
Extra QR head, Nice monopod, Retractable spikes, Sturdy, Tall enough for my 6'1, Very stable
Cons:
No carry bag
Best Uses:
Amateur studio work, Field shooting, Night photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

I am primarily a landscape shooter, though I have shot sports from time to time, and have been through many tripods. I am tough on them and this one, thus far, has stood up to my usage. I am also fairly tall at 6'1" and I like that I don't have to scrunch over while shooting...do not underestimate the importance of this. This tripod has the feel of tripods many times more expensive than the going price of [$]. I do not understand the people who have had issues with the QR head. I have had zero problems getting my camera (Nikon D70S) onto the head and locking it into place, in fact I am able to do this in less time than any tripod I have owned before. The bubble levels are a nice touch, as is the extra QR head.The built in monopod is not exactly gorilla strong but it is more than stable enough for the shooting I do and, again, it is tall enough for me to use comfortably. I do not often use monopods but don't have any reservations using this one.The adjustments and panning are silky smooth and the legs lock solidly into place...the black finish gives this tripod a clean and professional appearance.For the price of this tripod I do not believe that you can find anything better, at least not new. My overall impression is that this is a really terrific buy and a solid platform for your camera. I have used better tripods for sure....but at hundreds of dollars more. If you are on a budget or are not the type who really beats up your equipment, then this just may be your ticket...the ONLY reason it is not getting 5 stars is that it does not come equipped with a carry bag....I highly recommend this tripod.

Images shared by: BJ in NJ

Tews Falls in Ontario, Canada

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

The Chinese Lantern Festival in Toronto

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tremendous Value!
By UPSLarry from Flower Mound, TX on 2/12/2009
Pros:
Dual feet, Interchangeable head, Nice monopod, Smooth, Stable, Tall camera height, Tall monopod height
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

My church was in need of a tripod, mainly for videoing. So I gave them this one.

This tripod has so much going for it. However, let me answer others' concerns:

1. The head unscrews for those who wish to interchange it with a different type of head. The way to keep it from unscrewing is to know how to properly operate it. When panning, the brake must be loosened some--just enough to allow a little friction for smooth motion. The only time it should be tightened securely is when you do not desire to pan. Securing the head tightly AND panning is like holding down the brakes on your car while stepping on the accelerator at the same time. One or the other, please.

2. The camera will be stable if the head is on securely (see 1. above). If the wind is pretty strong, hang your camera bag (or other weight) from the center of your tripod using a piece of bent coat hanger or similar material. This gives it much more stability.

3. The reason it's a little heavier than many tripods is for greater stability. Still, it's NOT that heavy.

An added plus is the very nice built-in monopod. It is great for tall people. In the monopod position, the vertical-positioning handle should be pointed AWAY FROM the photographer.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Maybe the best tripod+head under $100
By chrisVerified Reviewer from Newport Beach, CA on 2/1/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Value
Cons:
Quick Release Broken
Best Uses:
Nighttime Long Exposure, When its Windy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

First, the only reason you only see this product at Ritz is because its made by sunpak for Ritz camera. You can't buy this anywhere else except ritz/wolf/photoalley/or any of the other Ritz Camera Sites.

The quick release is very cheap, it works, and is sturdy, but is hard to get the camera in place without playing with it. Far from Quick.. Takes some playing with each time you want to put your camera on the tripod.

Other then the bad quick release, and not coming with a tripod bag, this is a great tripod.

An earlier review noted the head would unscrew. I see what he is talking about as i thought the same thing when i first got this tripod. Its not broken, its user error. Hand tighten the bottom of the head (the part with the lines) as hard as you can. then loosen the lever and adjust the top =)

The tripod is great, i have used it when it was very windy at the beach on the sand with no problems.

[3 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Extremely poorly designed
By pugdogVerified Purchaser from pittsburgh on 1/7/2009
Pros:
None
Cons:
Bad Value, Low Quality
Best Uses:
Return it ASAP
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

Purchased this as a Christmas gift, and after trying to use it for about 2 weeks,[...]. It's incredibly poorly designed. If you pan the wrong way, the "head" unscrews (there is no catch or lock on it) potentially leading to a *very* expensive disaster.The default "down" position on the head platform, is not horizontal, so you have to mess with it to even get a "straight" shot. Additionally, the latch for the quick release head is so poorly designed, the camera wiggles, and is not held "secure" so trying to line up shots is almost impossible. Also, a moderate wind, or even touching it causes it to bounce.I have never had such a "heavy" tripod made so poorly, and with such poor design detail. The unscrewing head, is completely unforgivable, and this should be pulled from the catalog and market IMMEDIATELY!

 
5 Stars so far ... for a good reason
By AfterImageVerified Reviewer from Royersford, PA on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, Sturdy
Cons:
Cumbersome
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

After returning a poorly designed monopod I picked this unit up and I must say that I was impressed right away. 4 people before me have given this a 5 star rating and I will agree with them entirely. For the price you get both; a sturdy, well designed tripod & a usable monopod.
Actually I'd rate to monopod 4 stars if it were to be offered individually. But, as part of the over all package, it's a nice bonus feature.
The only negative thing I'd have to say about this combo is it is a bit cumbersome. I do a lot of nature photography and this unit is just not as "backpack friendly" as my current tripod. It's on the heavy side and even collapsed it's still a bit bulky. Not terribly heavy but it's no carbon-fiber utralight either. I did not detract any stars for this however as I am going to be using for a task that it's designers were not engineering for. Just concider the weight of the unit if you are planning to haul it to the top of a mountian.

 
more than we expected!
By fredderfVerified Purchaser from sunny isles beach, FL on 12/17/2008
Pros:
Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

our condo is on the 20th floor with water and city views. Binoculars on tripod provide steady, clear views of the surrounding sights. Tripod is sturdy enough to allow clear sightings. Will also use it for camera work in low light.

 
"Just what I was looking for"
By JimVerified Purchaser from Pittsburgh, Pa on 12/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

It was hard to find a reasonably priced tripod that extends to greater than 6 feet.

 
Solid Tripod
By Ronnie TVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 12/12/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

I picked up this Tripod this evening. I was able to take some great shots of the full moon, and some long exposure shots. Solid and fluid are two of the first words that this tripod brings to my mind. I would fully recommend this to any Photographer. From beginner to pro.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product for Canon XTI
By Marcos MoralesVerified Purchaser from Tolleson, AZ on 10/29/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Best Uses:
On the go photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9502TMBK Tri-Monopod (Black):

Such a great tripod, spikes on feet really let you take it anywhere...

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.