Buy the Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: All Tripods
Lightweight convenience for travel. Recommended for compact cameras, DSLR's, and camcorders.

  • Designed for today's DSLR cameras
  • Convert from a full size tripod to a monopod in seconds
  • 3-way ultra-smooth fluid-effect pan head with quick release plate
  • Include a free second quick release plate
  • Built in bubble level
  • D-shaped 3-section legs for enhanced support with oversize flip lock levers
  • 1/4-inch 20 threaded screw at the bottom of the center column tube
  • Heavy duty rubber feet with retractable leg spikes
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.7 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Good value(3), Lightweight(3)
 
Great for Price
By BetsyVerified Reviewer from Port Huron, MI on 5/24/2011
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Lightweight, Locks In Tight
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Travel, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod:

This is very Light weight, so easy to take along. Mono-pod fits inside tri-pod, easy to pull out when needed. Fits inside carry on suit case.

 
I bought a 2nd one !!
By Just BritsVerified Reviewer from Hinsdale, IL on 12/30/2010
Pros:
Compact, Easily Adjusted, Good Footing, Lightweight, Locks In Tight, Smooth Movement
Best Uses:
Home, Portraits, Sports/Action, Video
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod:

I do wish a FULL Parts Manual was included [...]

 
Love it!
By SuzanneVerified Purchaser from Georgia on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Easy open, Monopod is convenient, Stable
Best Uses:
Group, Low light
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod:

This combination tripod/monopod is stable, yet easy to set up and light to carry. The monopod is convenient and easily accessed.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
To Light
By Mary the LightweightVerified Purchaser from Ft Myers, FL on 1/28/2009
Pros:
Good Value
Cons:
Low Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod:

Okay, if you need a light tripod for on the go. But, for studio or high traffic areas I would not recommend it. There are times when I need a light tripod when I am walking on long trails for nature photos when it comes in handy. The level on the front is great.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent, needs light touch not to break
By McBAMVerified Reviewer from Florida on 1/7/2009
Pros:
Easy to use, Lightweight
Cons:
Medial Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod:

I received this as a Christmas present but didn't open it til last night (1-06-09). It was so simple to set up that I didn't need to read the instructions to do so but just to be safe I did anyhow when I was done. The flip locks are great and much easier to use than metal knobs that have to be screwed and unscrewed (esp. in the dead of winter with nearly frosbitten fingers- yes Florida can get that cold and I'm originally from the Northeast-lol). I had no problems attaching the Quick Release Plate to my camera and then attaching it to the 3-Way Panhead.... it seemed quite easy to take the camera off and on quickly (one of the first things I tested). The only problem I had is that when I went to fold it back down this morning and tried to tighten the Elevation Lock Knob the base snapped and cracked. Since the locking parts are partly plastic and not steel like I'm used to at my job (school photographer) I made sure not to do it too tight but it broke anyhow. Now mind you I'm only a 5'3" woman so for you tough guys out there be careful (lol). SO I'm going to take it back and exchange it for another one and see how it goes and only time will tell how it fares. I'll write another review then and tell you all how it went and how the new one is doing.
M.A.B.M.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not bad for the money
By RichVerified Reviewer from Arlington, VA on 12/22/2008
Pros:
Good Value, Versatile
Best Uses:
Casual Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod:

I think some reviewers are expecting too much from a [$] tripod. I own units up to a $400+ carbon fiber tripod that I use for fine photography while backpacking, so I have experience with good equipment. I chose this as a gift for a budding photographer. It is a great starter tripod with some nice features including the two plates, easy conversion to a monopod (if you really want to cut weight and are willing to compromise stability), built-in head (although I'd prefer to add my own), and feet that quickly convert from rubber to spikes. This won't be as steady as a pro unit, but if you're spending [$] you're probably not shooting pro pix.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't bother with this tripod!!!!
By BraniffVerified Reviewer from West Des Moines, IA on 11/29/2008
Cons:
Low Quality
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod:

I purchased this tripod some years ago and have used it from time to time with some success. However, when I tried to take pictures of fireworks last night, I found out that I could not get the plate under the camera unjammed in time in order to maneuver the camera so I could capture the best bursts.

Moreover, there is no way that I can weight down the center column (as many photography manuals urge), which would be helpful when it is windy or when the ground is not level. And I am five feet nine inches tall, which required me to crouch down in order to work the tripod equipment. But the clincher was when I tried to loosen the lever for the platform on which the camera rests in order to maneuver the platform--the lever fell off the tripod!

I am planning to buy a new tripod; this one will not be missed.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quantaray QSX 6601 tripod...
By Photo-Nick from Atlanta, GA on 11/5/2008
Pros:
You get what you pay for
Cons:
Unstable and tilts easily
Best Uses:
For consumer usage only
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod:

I don't recommend this tripod for professional work. The tripod is unstable, wiggles, and the head hardware causes the head to easily tilt making more work later when needing to level the images in photo editing software. This is a real flimsey tripod.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Product
By BrentboyVerified Reviewer from Coral Springs, FL on 10/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-6601TMBK Tri-Monopod:

Its a great product. Its a tripod and a monopod and comes with 2 camera mounts as well. If you carry two cameras then you just have to snap each one in. No need to have to take the mount on and off. I highly recommend this.

Images shared by: Brentboy

Just an example of a picture I took with it.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.