Buy the Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod image
 
(based on 27 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: All Tripods
The Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 is an exciting new full-size model tripod specifically designed to meet the needs of today?s rapidly expanding ranks of digital shooters. This new tripod features rugged, virtually all-metal construction, superb finish and detailing, enhanced setup convenience, are lightweight, and provide outstanding stability. The Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 has ergonomic black twist locks on its 0.9-inch diameter legs, 12-inch split center column, minimum operating height of 13.8 inches, minimum folded length of 23.2 inches, and weighs 3.8 pounds.

The Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 is a full size tripod; extending to 61.8 inches for convenient eye-level viewing, and providing a heavy-duty 11-pound load capacity- but both fold compactly for easy portability. The QSX-DigiPro 8500 features black, 3-way panheads with quick-release platforms, three-section, titanium polished legs, infinitely adjustable locking split center columns, original aluminum color chassis, grounder capability, and a neoprene sleeve on one leg to facilitate cold-weather handling.

Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.1 stars
(based on 27 reviews)
60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Folds away(6), Good footing(3), Lightweight(13), Stable(14), Unfolds quickly(11)
Cons:
Poor quality(11), Unstable(3)
Best Uses:
Home(6), Long exposures(9), Photography(12), Portraits(9), Sports/action(3)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(4), Enthusiast(11), Photo enthusiast(5), Semi-pro photographer(3)
 
Make Fun Have Fun
By Grandma2Verified Purchaser from Pueblo, CO. on 3/7/2011
Pros:
Good Stability, Good value, Unfolds Quickly, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Home, Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I use this product on almost all my photos. Before using a tripod my pictures were blurry. Now,after using this tripod my pictures are clear. I like the fact that it has the quick release, and the 3-way panhead. I am a beginner and learning. This has made it alot of fun by letting me be creative in adjusting it's feature to fit my needs.

 
Seems Pretty Good
By CCBCYSVerified Reviewer from Cheyenne Wyoming on 5/22/2010
Pros:
Good Stability, Lightweight, Unfolds Quickly
Cons:
Leary about the plastic
Best Uses:
Home, Night Shots, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

It seems like this will work for me, I am an enthusiast photographer and my SLR camera does not have image stabilization at all so I needed something that would work for me, so far so good. I would recommend this for someone with similar interests like me, but the professional photographer may want something that is a little higher on the quality side

 
Great Tripod
By JgomesVerified Reviewer from Worcester MA on 12/30/2009
Pros:
Good for macro, Good Stability, It gets low to the ground, Unfolds Quickly
Cons:
Have to crank head tight, Not tight enough head
Best Uses:
Home, Landscape/Scenery, Moon, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I got mine at the local Ritz a the mall and olved it. It has fully ajustible legs and the head can be attached to the center colum to be upside down for macro. The only problem i have is that you have to crank down the pan head when i use my 600mm lens cause it tends to drop

Images shared by: Jgomes

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
very poor quailty
By BlackdragonVerified Reviewer from West Park,Florida on 10/12/2009
Pros:
Unfolds Quickly
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

Have this tripod for about 4 to 6 months and it was still in the box until today went to tighten vertical handle and was striped out so never got to use it. Can't take it back because do not have the receipt anymore. Guess I'll just get rid of it and buy something more reliable. 10 years ago got a no name for less than half the price and just got rid of it because a leg got bent. It was great.

 
Fantastic for the price
By creid from asheville, nc on 8/18/2009
Pros:
Folds Small, Good Stability, Unfolds Quickly
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

Fantastic tripod for the price. Very stable. Heavy duty construction (this is actually also the negative). The purchasers who complained that they broke it apparently drive cars over all their new tripods. This is a Midrange tripod usewise. It is too heavy to lug around backpacking and you dont want to use it as a High end studio tripod. But to carry in your car and pop out when you need it a great tripod.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for your first tripod!
By esphotoz from Albany, NY on 7/5/2009
Pros:
Good Stability, Unfolds Quickly
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I have only found one real draw back to this item... The "head" bolt came loose and was tightened several times. I found after I had placed Lock-Tight on the bolt threads the tripod has been one of the best I have owned. Also, one of the handles to the head stick out when floded up... Cumbersome to deal with, but you will get used to it... Great for entry level to moderate use photographers.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
DONT BUY THIS!
By richromVerified Reviewer from Hayward, CA on 7/2/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Long Exposures
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

Just bought one and took it out for a test. Just 10 minutes of use, one leg just slipped out. Gonna bring it back to Wolf Camera. Extremely not satisfied.

 
Tripod is junk
By kev from slc, ut on 6/5/2009
Cons:
Unstable, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

This thing is a real peice of garbage. The quick release does not fit snug creating a lot of movement when using. Don't buy this tripod not steady at all, and the twist locks are a real pain.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awful! Total waste of money
By ChrisVerified Reviewer from Vancouver, WA on 4/17/2009
Cons:
Cumbersome, Junk, Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I bought this tripod from the local Ritz camera shop, took it out to the park a block away, and within ONE HOUR the leg tightening bolt snapped off and the horizontal hold lever was stripped. Absolutely useless. I'll be taking it back in the morning.

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for the price
By Bill the car guyVerified Purchaser from Lake Havasu City,Az. on 1/20/2009
Pros:
Good Stability, Lightweight, Unfolds Quickly

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

Have not used it yet,But looks and feels great for the price

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Can't beat it for the Price
By DeeVerified Purchaser from Murfreesboro, TN on 8/27/2008
Pros:
Folds Small, Good Stability, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I love it that I can attach it with seconds to the base the base fits the bottom of my Cannon XTi just perfectly and I can mount and shoot in seconds ..

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent and versatile
By LTCDunkVerified Purchaser from Sharpsburg, GA on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Folds Small, Lightweight, Unfolds Quickly, Versatile
Best Uses:
Stabilization, Videography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I have four of these that we use for creating student-made movies. They have several features that make them extremely versatile for filming in awkward places and angles, such as castle windows.

Images shared by: LTCDunk

Tripod in low setting.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Tripod in high setting

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[8 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't buy this....
By CLVerified Reviewer from Elk Grove, CA on 7/30/2008
Pros:
Good Stability, Lightweight, Unfolds Quickly
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I bought this from the local Ritz and have owned it less than 3 months and one of the screws has already broken and has become stripped and can't be fixed. [$] Junk.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this again
By Camera MOmVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 7/28/2008
Pros:
Good Stability, Lightweight
Cons:
Wish it had carry case
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

This is a great product for the money. It is quite sturdy.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The right amount of bang for the buck
By Bytor57Verified Reviewer from Layton, UT on 7/22/2008
Pros:
Folds Small, Good Stability, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I hike into promising places for that one great still. I find this tripod to work exceptionally well for my purposes. I have not had my camera topple over yet. Its light weight is a plus while carrying extra gear.

[9 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Search for something better.
By Diverdown from Chesapeake, Va on 6/12/2008
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Shody Materials, Unstable, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

Bought this at a local Ritz camera location about six months ago. Within the first two months one of the threaded adjustment handles snapped. It was not from over tightening although, in order to hold my Nikon it did need to be pretty tight. Knowing this, I was very careful.

[10 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Only good for VERY LIGHT use, if that!!
By Ruth from CT on 5/31/2008
Pros:
None
Cons:
Twist Locks-Blisters, Unstable, Waste of Money, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Hold Completely STILL
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

Nature, macro, indoors, action, still photography.

It's been about a year now and now it's too dangerous for my Canon XTi, even with a small lightweight lens. What's wrong...Let me count the ways...
Twist locks-Never Again-they'll give you blisters. Very unsteady when in any other position than short.-I still wouldn't even trust that.
The legs have become loose in such that they do not stay in the angled position! This is the worst - every time you need to move the tripod, you have to actully hold the legs apart in order to set it back down. DEFINATELY not for field work, or anything in which you need to move.
Oh, the adjustments are NOT fluid and are rigid and many times do not hold it's set position.

Plus the center column is loose, it wiggles.

You cannot even breathe on this or it will through off your shot.

If you value your camera and photography - wait and spend a little more and get a real tripod.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pick another tripod
By The dude with a broke tripodVerified Reviewer from Carrollton Texas on 4/5/2008
Cons:
Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I have had this tripod for about two months and the top of the leg broke making the tripod useless. I will see if Wolf/Ritz will work with me… I doubt it. Before the leg broke the other issue was the head. It was hard to get the tilt to tighten enough (without over tightening) so the camera would not nose down.

Images shared by: The dude with a broke tripod

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stable platform
By RobberymanVerified Reviewer from Spokane, Wa 99228-0715 on 2/25/2008
Pros:
Good Stability, Unfolds Quickly
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

This platform, allows a stable platform for my long night exposures. With multiple cameras at locations, the tripod allows for multiple camera interaction when used with each camera having a tripod attachment attached. Although the long time exposures take plenty of time when bracketing, the tripod allows for simple post shoot editnig when using 4-5 images combined from each location to minimize extreme bright lights, and also extreme areas of darkness. To do so requires a stable platform that will not move at all. This one does that for me. [@]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bought for my daughter in college
By BillVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 2/1/2008
Pros:
Folds Small, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

Bought as Christmas gift for my daughter at college [...] She only used it a few times before one of the legs extensions broke (one of the twist lock pieces fell out). Its was 45 days since I bought it so Ritz doesn't cover it. Now have to work with the Mfgr which I am not looking forward to. Would not recommend this because the twist lock design is evidently not reliable.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Sturdy
By Baby PixVerified Reviewer from Denver, CO on 1/12/2008
Pros:
Good Stability, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Photography, Portraits, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

This tripod is great! Very stable. The two adjustments are very nice and it is so easy to pop off my camera when I see that perfect shot and I need to have my camera free. I feel very secure leaving my expensive piece of equipment on it.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
rock
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Fairfield, CA on 12/3/2007
Pros:
Good Stability
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

wow, the reviews seem subdued...I'm actually surprised at the price. It's very cheap [$] and the tripod construction is extremely simple, but frankly it feels like something built from stock pipes at [...](it's heavy duty compared to the weak sauce that other tripods are built on). That's why it's heavier, so you won't feel like you are mounting your hardware on a shakey foundation....which is the whole point. The height... I don't think it can be beat in this size catagory. The two adjustment handles are fast and unique because you have control like more expensive ball head units. The two features that got my to buy it were height (i'm 6.1 and can't stand bending into the view finder) and the two control handles. Outside of that i'm stoked for [$]. I'm shooting Canon 40D with the big Sigma 80-400 APO DG with optical stabilizer and have attached the lense direct to the tripod.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Mine already broke - though proper use
By AndreiBcVerified Reviewer from Bucharest, Romania (formerly Milwaukee) on 11/29/2007
Pros:
Good Stability, Unfolds Quickly
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

Got mine over the internet... One of the screws is already loose and cannot repair it here in Romania.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Tripod for the Money
By LonePiperVerified Reviewer from SW PA on 8/24/2007
Pros:
Decent Price, Easily Adjusted, Good Footing, Lightweight
Cons:
Finger Biter, No Bubble Levels, No carry Handles, No case, Will Slip if not careful
Best Uses:
Home, Starter Tripod
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

I was looking for a good starter tripod and settled on this one. It seems pretty solid most of the time. You do have to be aware to lock in the legs tight so that it doesn't start to slip, but not so tight to crack the grips. I don't mind the quick release since this is my first one like that. Past tripods were all screw on/off so this one is a bit upgrade for me. One thing that I feel is missing is there are no levels anywhere on the tripod. I plan on adding at least three, one bullseye level on top of the leg junction and either 1 bullseye level on the head or two regular levels if I can figure out good placement. Overall so far it seams to be a good investment, but I would like to see a case included or better yet, handles or some way to attach to a backpack or case.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Happy to use it
By Lynxette from Philadelphia, PA on 6/23/2007
Pros:
Good Footing, Height, Locks In Tight, Rugged
Cons:
No carrying case
Best Uses:
City, Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

This one is sturdy and steady tripod. The big plus is it's height - 61.8 inches (157 cm).

I bought it to take pictures of birds. Went near the river today, where wind blows straight into your face and it's impossible to hold steady camera in the hands. Tripod really did its best to make my pictures sharp. I had no difficulties to adjust and use the panheads. Tripod legs have 2 lock-positions to spread them out.

The only bad thing that there's no carrying case. It's not a big deal, I, 28yo woman, carried it for 7 hours around the city and my hands did not get too tired. But prepare to spend some $ if you hate such type of sports.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sturdy Tripod at a Great Price
By g00dfellaVerified Reviewer from Brunswick, NY on 3/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Good Footing, Locks In Tight, Rugged
Cons:
Difficult To Adjust, Jerky Movement, No Carying Case
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Special Events, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-DigiPro 8500 Tripod:

If you're looking for a sturdy tripod this one is great for the price. Once you have everything locked down it doesnt move. The only negatives are that the tilt handles are a little difficult to tighten, and the quick release head can be difficult to remove and put back, the center column doesnt move that smoothly, and it's also a little on the heavy side. It all just takes a little getting used to if you usually use a smaller lightweight tripod.I am shooting with a Nikon D70 with the 18-200 vr and a sherical panoramic head, and this thing holds them all really steadily. So if you are using a lot of gear and want a tripod that will hold it all solidly for under $[...] this is the one for you.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.