Buy the Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak image
 
(based on 24 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: All Tripods

The new QSX Compact Monopod provides sharp images and steady viewing with digital and film cameras, camcorders, binoculars, and spotting scopes. Super-compact and lightweight, it's 16-1/2-inches long in folded position, weighs 14.4 ounces, fits easily in most camera bags and packs, and is far easier and quicker to set up than a tripod. Its multiple anodized metal leg sections extend to 60-5/8-inches for comfortable eye-level shooting, and it's got a locking ball head for fast adjustments

Other features include: Comfortable neoprene handgrip and leg-lock rings, handy neckstrap, and an ingenious belt/waist clip that fits into the rubberized leg tip so you can use the monopod as a chest pod for fast-action photography and maximum maneuverability in tight places.

  • QSX Compact Monopod Locking ball head for fast adjustments
  • Neoprene handgrip and leg-lock rings
  • Handy neckstrap
  • Chest pod adapter clip
  • limited lifetime warranty
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
2.7 stars
(based on 24 reviews)
50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Compact(19), Lightweight(23), Opens quickly(8)
Cons:
Unstable(8), Unstable joints(10), Weak clamps(4)
Best Uses:
Reducing noise (ISO reduction)(5), Sports photography(6), Stabilization(15)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(3), Casual user(3), Enthusiast(6), Photo enthusiast(7), Semi-pro photographer(3)
 
Good monopod for video work
By DaveVerified Purchaser from Poulsbo, WA on 9/28/2010
Pros:
Belt clip, Compact, Lightweight, Opens Quickly
Best Uses:
Choir, Sports/Action, Video
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I have bought two of these mono-pods. I use the mono pod primarily for videoing soccer games or choir concerts. The monopod has a belt clip that you can use to clip the monopod to your belt. Combined with a neck strap this provides a very stable platform for video work on the side of soccer field. I find that I can watch the game with only occasional glances at the video display as long as I keep the camera pointed at the right direction by moving my body.

I mentioned that this was the second time I bougth this because I used the first one so much that I eventually broke it. You do have to be careful to not lose the belt clip which is held in place by friction (I lost it on the first one, but it was still usable, just not a comfortable). I also ended up losing the neck strip which clips to the top with a metal clip. I replaced the neck strip with a home made strap.

I did find that the lower two extensions on the monopod have somewhat of a tendancy to collapse on you if applying too much force since they are held in place by springloaded snaps unlike the upper extensions that are held by twist type clamps. This didn't bother me since I mostly use the monopod collapsed down and hooked in at the waist.

Overall I think this monopod is reasonably priced and very functional if you are to use it like I do for sports or music events. But, it probably wouldn't be as good for supporting a heavier camera fully extended.

 
Don't bother, not worth your money
By Granite StaterVerified Reviewer from New Hampshire on 12/20/2009
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight, Opens Quickly
Cons:
Unstable, Unstable Joints
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

This is extremely unstable, especially with the bottom sections extended, they wobble and collapse. Don't bother, you are wasting your money.

 
just not up to it
By RobVerified Reviewer from Wakefield, MA on 10/6/2009
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Unstable Joints
Best Uses:
Sport Photography, Stabilization
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

Just not that well-made. The first time I used it, I had trouble with the bottom sections not opening, then the bottom three sections came out completely. Not very stable with the bottom sections extended, using a zoom on a DSLR. I will use it a bit longer, but will need to upgrade soon. It's better than nothing, but not by much.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Would not buy again
By Germany BertVerified Reviewer from Heidelberg, Germany on 6/8/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Unstable, Unstable Joints
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

This item might be ok for a small point and shoot buy can not handle the weight of my D40 with 18-200 mm lens. If you are shooting a D-SLR buy something else.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I don't understand the negative reviews
By Greg from Lynchburg, VA on 6/5/2009
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight, Opens Quickly
Cons:
Weak Clamps
Best Uses:
Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

With due respect, I think some people must be awfully hard on their equipment. I recently took this monopod on a two-week hiking trip to Utah, and used it continuously without any problems, except for occasional slippage of the joints. It was an EXCELLENT investment.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Breaks Easily
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Texas on 5/28/2009
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Unstable Joints, Weak Clamps
Best Uses:
Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

This product broke 2 months after I bought it. Leg would not lock into place and any time I placed pressure on it, it would slip up intot he sleeve.

 
LIGHTWEIGHT
By ARTUROVerified Purchaser from SAN JUAN P.R. on 2/19/2009
Pros:
Lightweight, Opens Quickly, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

LIGHTWEIGHT
STRONG
COMPACT

 
Single pole, multiple uses!
By photo techVerified Purchaser from philadelphia, pennsylvania on 2/8/2009
Pros:
Compact, Excellent extension, Lightweight
Cons:
Lanyard rings flimsy
Best Uses:
3rd hand to change lens, Long Exposures, Reducing Noise (ISO Reduction), Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

great to position on belt while walking through forest ready to take unexpected action photos of wildlife having nice steady hand with help from the monopod.

good price.

the threads to lock down could be wider and speedier i think.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't buy this product!
By Joel from Albuquerque, New Mexico on 2/7/2009
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Unstable
Best Uses:
Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I found it hard to extend the legs and they frequently would collapse while in use. They do not lock easily. While trying to extend the legs this week, they pulled upart and would not go back together so I had to just throw the monopod away. This product is not worth it at any price.

 
Okay for the price
By darhodyVerified Reviewer from Riverside RI on 1/3/2009
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak lower legs
Best Uses:
Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I bought this monopod for the times I did not want to carry my tripod. I am not thrilled that the lower legs are not twist lock, but they have not collapsed on me. Since I would not trust any monopod no matter how much it cost or what the quality is, I always use it with the camera strap around my neck. I do like the way it fits neatly on my camera back pack. I use it with a Nikon D60 and a Canon EOS Rebel and it provides me the stability I need for off hand shooting. If you want a heavy duty, dual purpose monopod, this is not for you. But then, why would anyone expect a heavy duty monopod for this price? I would recommend this to friends but with some reservations.

 
Good for a spare...
By Coffee Tree PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 12/27/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Unstable, Unstable Joints
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I knew not to expect much because of the low price; while this product is okay, I found it to be kind of flimsy. It has to be either fully extended or just the first (between the locking rings) leg extended, otherwise the lower leg segments collapse really easily. Don't expect it to support a lot of weight either. The package says as much, so read before buying.
I liked the feature of the 'belt clip', but really would like to have a quick-release mount like you'd find on Quantaray's tripods.
Overall, this is a good product for the casual user, or as a backup, but if you're really looking for something more solid or expect the product to stand up to some abuse, then put the money toward something else.

 
Not worth it
By Dug10367Verified Reviewer from Deltona, FL on 12/4/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Unstable Joints, Weak Clamps
Best Uses:
Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

Hard to open first day I got it. While on vacation 2 days later it didn't open to full height. Worked the last leg out and it totally pulled apart, basically the entire thing fell apart after that and couldn't use it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
You'll be sorry
By TimVerified Purchaser from Huntington, WV on 10/16/2008
Cons:
Unstable, Unstable Joints
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I was very disappointed in the quality of this product. I knew that for the price it was certainly not going to be pro quality. The whole point of a monopod is to give you a stable platform. This product fails miserably. Ritz should consider removing this from their inventory.

 
Ok Product
By GermanyBertVerified Reviewer from Heidelberg, Germany on 9/19/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Unstable, Weak Clamps
Best Uses:
Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

This monopod is okay for the price but I would not buy another one and if a friend asked me about it I would recommend buying something different.

 
light
By KenVerified Purchaser from Brookfield, WI on 9/2/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight, Opens Quickly
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

Not bad for the price. light and compact. I had to add a seperate baseplate so I can get a quick release. Used it during sporting events for the kids and it worked out great.

 
"Don't judge a book by its cover"
By mrdisney223Verified Purchaser from So. Plainfield, NJ on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight, Opens Quickly
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Portraits, Reducing Noise (ISO Reduction), Sport Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

Not bad for the price, good and sturdy, light easy to store especially when you carry as much camera equiptment as i do, I do recommend, enjoy

 
Compact and portable
By janpilotVerified Purchaser from Goose Creek, SC on 8/23/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Sport Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

It's portability and light weigh design are the best features, not as stable as I would have liked (maybe I needed a bigger one or a tripod?) The ability to use it short ie: on your chest or abd was a + as well

Images shared by: janpilot

Denali South over look ;shooting the Alaska range

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Taken at midnight June 21 08

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Great Product
By BellaVerified Purchaser from Southeastern Idaho on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Belt Clamp, Compact, Lightweight, Opens Quickly, Strong Construction
Cons:
Unstable Joints
Best Uses:
Reducing Noise (ISO Reduction), Sport Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I love the compact size. The last segment is thin and unstable. The belt clip does help with additional stabilzation when you don't want to fully extend the monopod. It's a good product to use when I travel and for those tight places where a tripod is just too bulky. I use this unextended when I am sitting on a gym floor photographing sports and dance.

 
I love it!
By dogwriterVerified Purchaser from Jamestown, NY on 8/14/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Final joint a bit spindly
Best Uses:
Sport Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I love that it is lightweight, and doesn't take up the room of a traditional tripod. I also like the gradations of height...easy to use standing up, or sitting down, and there's that handy strap and belt clip for bracing it against my body if that works best.
I don't have a heavy camera, or a long lens; it might not work as well with those, but for my camera, and what I use it for, it is terrific!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
You Get What You Pay For
By SonyAlphaMale from DC metro on 5/26/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight, Opens Quickly
Best Uses:
Reducing Noise (ISO Reduction), Sport Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

It's true. Don't get this monopod expecting a two-for-one walking stick and camera stand, for pete's sake. I was a little bothered by some of the reviews of this otherwise acceptable monopod here and elsewhere. It's not the best possible, but the manufacturers charge hundreds of dollars for those. I put nearly 20 lbs of pressure before it started to give, and it wasn't even the bearings on the last section(s), it was the twist lock. Would recommend, but with cautions.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Should have bought a more robust monopod
By Big D from Kansas City, MO on 3/6/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Unstable, Unstable Joints
Best Uses:
Walking Stick
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I was somewhat satisfied with the product for about a month. I did not extend the lower legs often because of the instability. I found it was easier to take good shots without using it. Then it began to fall apart. The joints use thin plastic components that broke easily.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Disappointing at best, flimsy for sure.
By newtonikonVerified Reviewer from North Richland Hills, Tx on 1/8/2008
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Bottom portion collapses, Unstable, Unstable Joints
Best Uses:
Reducing Noise (ISO Reduction), Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

Tried to use the product for stabilization but it is very flimsey.

 
too flimsy
By OC camera guy from Orange County , CA on 8/11/2007
Pros:
Ball head, Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult To Adjust, Flimsy
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I got this monopod for my birthday. I was excited about it because it has the ball head. I pulled it out of the packaging to find that the legs don't adjust in the same manner as most of the monopods/tripods I've used with the screw-type locks. I figured I could work around that though.

When I telecoped all the sections to get it to it's max height, it was very flimsy with my Canon 10D. The bottom 2 sections actually retracted on their own, almost making me drop the camera/monopod.

Luckily I was given the receipt with it. I returned it the very next day.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good accessory
By JimVerified Reviewer from South Carolina on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Good Footing, Lightweight, Locks In Tight
Best Uses:
Special Events, Sports, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX Compact Monopod by Sunpak:

I'm very happy with the monopod. It's much easier to take on trips than a tripod and it's light enough to carry around with ease. It provides good support and a stable foundation for when you are on the go and want good steady pictures.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.