Buy the Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver) on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver) image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: All Tripods
Special Purchase Value!
  • Limited Lifetime Warranty!
  • Three-way ultra-smooth photo/video fluid-effect panhead with quick-release plate and bubble level
  • Extendable pan handle for video
  • Includes Tripod Carry Bag
  • Quick-Lock Leg Levers
  • Locking metal leg braces for added stability
  • Extends to 74.8-inches
Rugged construction at an outstanding value for the advanced amateur, professional photographer, or videographer. Suitable for all photography and video equipment up to 11 lbs.

  • Designed for today's DSLR cameras
  • 3-way ultra-smooth fluid-effect pan head with quick release plate
  • Built in bubble level
  • D-shaped 3-section legs for enhanced support with oversize flip lock levers
  • 1/4-inch 20 threaded screw at the bottom of the center column tube
  • Heavy duty rubber feet with retractable leg spikes
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
2.9 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
55% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easily adjusted(3), Lightweight(3), Stable(4)
Cons:
Poor quality(5)
Best Uses:
Long exposures(5), Photography(6), Stabilization(4)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Photo enthusiast(5)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Do not Waste your $
By TrankoniaVerified Reviewer from Littleton, CO on 3/26/2010
Pros:
Unfolds Quickly
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Shots
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

This is my second attempt with this product. After only one use with the first one, one of the leg clamps simply broke. I take really good care of my equipment. This was without question faulty workmanship. I returned the unit to a Rizt store and they did replace it although it was a bit of a hassle as I had to get the manager involved since the sales clerk was trying to deny the request.

The second unit...used it 3 times and the pan screw stripped because of the cheap plastic used. This makes this tripod worthless as you cannot prevent the camera from moving which defeats the whole purpose of a tripod. I also noticed that the small crank that is used to raise/lower the head has a crack in the plastic housing that holds it on.

Overall I have now learned my lesson.

1. I will never purchase a cheap tripod again.

2. Sunpac products fell off my list of vendors

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Fluid Head broke
By BladeVerified Reviewer from Raleigh nc on 12/23/2009
Cons:
Cumbersome, Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

The fluid head broke explained. The swivel that allows the camera to be positioned up or down just flat broke after three uses. Cheap.

Images shared by: Blade

swivel on the head just broke-cheap

Image Thumbnail
 
Great for the price
By Photo guy from Chicago, IL on 12/2/2009
Pros:
Good Stability
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

For the price this tripod works great. I used this tripod with some of my long exposures of the city skyline and the photos came out great.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cant Beat It.....
By pinhead712 from Chicago, IL on 10/19/2009
Pros:
Folds Small, Good Stability
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

I give this unit 5 stars based simply on value. I needed a new tripod for videography and photography in small clubs. The actual stated max height of this unit is about 74", but I believe (without measuring) that it is actually a little taller than that when fully extended. I will say that the crank for raising the center post is not as fluid as I would like (especially when lowering) but does work. The movement of all working parts is smooth. I really like the fact that this unit weighs about 6 pounds, in the bag slung over your shoulder it is not heavy, and it feels really solid when on the floor and loaded with equipment. Are there better tripods out there? Of course!! But for [$], you cannot get a better value considering the features that this unit has. I am pleased and would recomment this to a friend.

[1 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't waste your money
By TrankoniaVerified Reviewer from Littleton, Colorado on 10/11/2009
Pros:
Good Stability
Cons:
Cumbersome, Heavy, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

[...]I treat all of my equipment very well so this indicates very poor material workmanship.I really would have expected an 80.00 Tripod to last more than 6 weeksLook elsewhere[...]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Poor Quality
By RobinVerified Reviewer from Nashville, TN on 9/27/2009
Cons:
Unstable, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

I have had to exchange this tripod twice. It has broken 3 times during regular use.
The swivel handle has broken off twice and a rubber base on one leg has broken off.
This is just not a professional quality product.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth twice the price
By SanteePhotog08Verified Reviewer from Santee, CA on 4/9/2008
Pros:
Good Stability, Reasonable weight, Solidly built, Unfolds Quickly
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Photography, Portraits, Stabilization
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

I purchased this product due to its weight, wide base, apparent stability, ease of use. and center post height. With the lower attachment point for macro photography and the additional items such as a spare attachment plate, two levels, center post tension adjustment, and so on I think you would be extremely hard pressed to find a better deal. I rated this product comparing it to similar tripod lines/levels for the price. It is not a [$] tripod so my expectations reflect that reality.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for the money
By randy in az from Phoenix, az on 2/24/2008
Pros:
Folds Small, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

Mine broke after 14 months of video use - pretty good for the money in my opinion.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bang for your buck
By JoeVerified Reviewer from Glendale, CA on 10/24/2007
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Lightweight, Smooth Movement
Cons:
Quick release is garbage
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Special Events, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

The pros far out weigh the cons. Overall very well make easy to use tripod. The legs move up and down with ease, the ability for quick balancing is great for for quick setups. The one draw back that see with this tripod is the quickrealse. The idea is great the execution is not. When the camera is mounted and you try and pan around the actual camera will rotate, losening it. To sum it up its a good lightweight easy to use tripod. [thumbs up]

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sturdy, Solid, Smooth!
By ChiefVerified Reviewer from Saunderstown, RI on 10/11/2007
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Fluid like panning, Good Footing, Great height extension, Lightweight, Locks In Tight, Rugged, Smooth Movement
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Professional Work, Special Events, Sports, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

This tripod is somewhat heavy (around 6lbs I believe) but I think that's a plus! I just upgraded to this 9500[...]. I have a Nikon D40x with a wide angle 18-55 and a 55-200 zoom with a 2x teleconverter. the wally world tripod was way to light and flimsy. This tripod is solid and my camera doesn't shake in the wind like it used to. The quick release head is solid. If anyone had an issue with it then I'd have to say it's because they had a defective model. I bought mine from [...] and am satisfied, as usual. (no I'm not an employee and no I'm not getting a kick back)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Legs are fine, quick release is junk
By BradTX from Austin on 9/28/2007
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Good Footing
Cons:
Flimsy, Heavy, Jerky Movement
Best Uses:
Not at all
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QSX-9500 Heavy-Duty Tripod with Fluid Head (Silver):

Not impressed. Everything is solid except the quick release mount. Allows movement of the camera/ lens.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.