Buy the Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod on http://www.ritzcamera.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Quantaray
Located in: All Tripods
Ever wanted a travel tripod that was tall enough to be considered a serious tripod but actually small enough to travel with? No this is not an oxymoron. Here is tripod that starts out very small. It weighs less than 2 pounds and collapses via instant setting legs to a mere 13 in. . When you are ready to use it shoots up to a very practical 53 in. in literally seconds. A quick release shoe makes it easy to attach your equipment in a -blink. With an included carry bag your tripod is always ready and waiting to go.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.4 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
62% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Compact(5), Easily adjusted(4), Lightweight(6)
Cons:
Slips out of position(3)
Best Uses:
Home(4), Travel(7)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect for travel
By NormanPVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA on 6/9/2009
Pros:
Compact, Easily Adjusted, Lightweight, Locks In Tight, Smooth Movement
Best Uses:
Home, Outdoors, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod:

Many years I traveled with the Hakuba Branner S5 tripod as it was considered the Lexus of small tripods. Finally, I got tired of the flimsy screw that attaches the plate to the camera. It is not designed for use with a coin or simply with fingers, because it has a flip up metal band. Unfortunately, to flip it is so difficult! When I have seen the Wolf camera Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod by (also known as HI-PRO 9000), I fell in love with it instantly. It is much more sturdy than the Hakuba and very easy to operate.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not so great
By DawneVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas, NV on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Compact
Cons:
Slips Out Of Position
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod:

I bought this tripod for my mother as a Mother's Day gift. The first time we tried to use it, we realized that one leg won't lock. The little metal knobs that are supposed to hold the extentions in place do not stick out enough. So, we have to return it. Also, the head that attaches to the camera has a button next to the place you screw on the camera. You have to push down the button every time you rotate the camera to screw it on. I'm not a pro, so maybe I was not attaching it properly. But, it's not rocket science and that was annoying.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bought for travel purposes
By KepdawgVerified Purchaser from Miami, FL on 3/31/2009
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult To Adjust, Jerky Movement
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod:

I wasn't sure about this product when I bought it due to mix reviews; however, I found the tripod to be satisfactory. I just returned from a backpacking trip to Greece and Turkey where I used the tripod frequently. I loved how it folded up to a compact size and was easy to carry around, but adjusting/retracting the legs was sometimes difficult. I found the clamps that held the legs in place performed well even though previous reviews had stated that these clamps did not perform well.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for Travel!
By The PerfectionistVerified Reviewer from Costa Mesa, CA on 1/25/2009
Pros:
Compact, Good Footing, Lightweight, Small Footprint
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod:

Camera needed for close macro technical photos; images used for proof of product warranty.Quick setup, stable camera support. Easily fits in supplied bag into camera bag.[...]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Still Not sure of value
By BBNVerified Purchaser from Manassa, Va on 1/3/2009
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight
Cons:
Flimsy
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod:

Although the tripod looks and feels well designed and built, the leg extensions are held in place with push balls. Because these lock on the upper side of the slide tube and there is no reenforcement of the tube end, these designs have a tendency to deform the tubing and/or malfunction over time. That will be the telling story, how well does it work over time and how quickly will the locking mechanism wear out.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not the best
By BmanVerified Purchaser from Greenville Sc on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Lightweight
Cons:
Slips Out Of Position, Unstable
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod:

Its alright for the price. I would spend a little more for the next model. The lower legs do not lock in good. It will keep sliding down when you move it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Portable but poor construction
By JeromeVerified Reviewer from Morgan Hill,CA on 7/19/2008
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Good Footing
Cons:
Slips Out Of Position
Best Uses:
Home, Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod:

The lever that controls the tilt adjustment broke or became loose thread after 1 trip. Are there parts for this, probably not.

[7 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Most usable for ameture photographers
By sachindevjiVerified Reviewer from San Jose, CA on 6/22/2008
Pros:
Easily Adjusted, Lightweight, Locks In Tight
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Quantaray Quantaray QT-100 Compact Travel Tripod:

If you are ameture and advance ameture photographer, idea of tripod is you should be able to carry and feel comfortable with it. This tripod is very easy and only 13 inches folded length. I have used it since 2000 and tried all sort of photography with my slr, external flash and 18-135mm zoom lense. Its abs fine for me. The strength of this can be improved but you won't get everything in this price anyway. Try this tripod, its worth.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 RitzCamera.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.